Old 8th January 2010, 09:52   #46

I am not getting a good value because people here are not ready to try an AT yet. I have got couple of colleagues who are interested but I am losing about 1 lac. The dealer is ready to pay only about 3 lac.

Would the warranty still be valid with the new owner? Does the new owner has to re-insure the car in his name? Is it possible to transfer the insurance?

By the way, the car seems smooth as silk after the 2nd service. The gear shifting has improved as well. I am expecting better FE than before although I will not have chance to enjoy it.

Originally Posted by blackasta View Post
Hey - you get to drive better cars on better roads there right?
Post an ad in team-bhp classifieds section, and also put an ad in any leading newspaper classified (eg: The Telegraph).
Formalities include a change in registration details (you get the forms from RTO) - AFAIK.
You should expect a good value ,as your car is still within the warranty period.
Old 8th January 2010, 10:54   #47

Originally Posted by sbiswas View Post
My i10 experience is coming to an abrupt end as I am leaving for US by the end of this month. Since I will be away for 5-6 years, I have decided to sell it off. Can anybody guide me on the formalities involved in selling a car to a private buyer in India?
Ensure that you complete the RTO transfer forms and take PAN No., Driving Lic. photocopy of the buyer with photo. Ensure he signs the handover challan with date/time and pays you before taking the car. Send a photocopy of all these documents to the RTO by Regd. Post.

If you do not complete these formalities there is risk of the car being mis-used and if in your name, you will have a lot of 'law and order' problems.
Old 24th January 2010, 22:31   #48

dear friends,

I got my i10 serviced yesterday. It was the third free service. The vehicle had clocked 5951 kms while I gave it for service. Though I had replaced engine oil during first service, they again replaced the same. I was informed by the service personnel that it would be better to change the oil irrespective of the mileage every six months. Is it necessary to do so? please let me have your opinion. This is at Mumbai -
Company owned workshop and service centre.
Old 26th January 2010, 16:53   #49

Would the warranty still be valid with the new owner? Does the new owner has to re-insure the car in his name? Is it possible to transfer the insurance?
The vehicle manufacturers give warranty for the vehicle for a specified period and not for the owners. The warranty will be valid even with the second owner. Insurance can be transferred till the expiry and the new purchaser of the car and yourself have to intimate the Insurance company.
Old 8th March 2010, 10:50   #50

Yes, you have to change the engine oil every 5000 kms or 6 months, whichever is earlier.

Originally Posted by gururaj r View Post
dear friends,

I got my i10 serviced yesterday. It was the third free service. The vehicle had clocked 5951 kms while I gave it for service. Though I had replaced engine oil during first service, they again replaced the same. I was informed by the service personnel that it would be better to change the oil irrespective of the mileage every six months. Is it necessary to do so? please let me have your opinion. This is at Mumbai -
Company owned workshop and service centre.
Old 8th March 2010, 10:54   #51

Hyundai dealer said warranty will not be transferred to new owner.

Originally Posted by gururaj r View Post
The vehicle manufacturers give warranty for the vehicle for a specified period and not for the owners. The warranty will be valid even with the second owner. Insurance can be transferred till the expiry and the new purchaser of the car and yourself have to intimate the Insurance company.
Old 23rd June 2013, 14:18   #52

Re: Hyundai i10 1.2 Kappa Sportz AT - Initial Ownership Report

The soft rubber on the remote is coming off after 2 years of use. I cannot use this anymore. Gone back to using the other non-remote key :(
Hyundai i10 1.2 Kappa Sportz AT - Initial Ownership Report-img_6899.jpg  

Last edited by sbiswas : 23rd June 2013 at 14:21.
Old 23rd June 2013, 14:40   #53

The soft rubber on the remote is coming off after 2 years of use. I cannot use this anymore. Gone back to using the other non-remote key :(
What about warranty? or will Hyundai claim 'natural wear n tear' ?
Old 23rd June 2013, 22:08   #54

This will be covered under wear n tear and not covered under warranty . I had the same issue with skoda remote. But I feel you can ask the company to give you a brand new remote for which they might charge you maybe 2-3 thousand
Old 29th October 2013, 08:03   #55

Hyundai dealer refused to cover this under warranty :(
Cost of replacing one key 9500, both keys 14000 . ASC asked me to use cellotapes instead.

I am deciding to go for a 3rd party remote and replace the stock ones.

Last edited by sbiswas : 29th October 2013 at 08:05.
Old 29th October 2013, 08:19   #56

Originally Posted by sandeep108 View Post
Ensure that you complete the RTO transfer forms and take PAN No., Driving Lic. photocopy of the buyer with photo. Ensure he signs the handover challan with date/time and pays you before taking the car. Send a photocopy of all these documents to the RTO by Regd. Post.

If you do not complete these formalities there is risk of the car being mis-used and if in your name, you will have a lot of 'law and order' problems.
Also - make sure you do not release the car until you have the RTO transfer challan. If you have an agent at RTO , get a B extract copy which will clearly say the vehicle has been transferred to the buyer. Also make sure you do not lose your No claim bonus on the insurance - ask the buyer to buy his own insurance - you are under no obligation to have him ride on your insurance (and your NCB).

I learnt the hard way after not doing this when I sold a scooter more than 15 years back and started receiving a couple of traffic tickets. I then wrote to the RTO saying I had sold the vehicle. I dont get any traffic tickets now (vehicle is probably junk now) but its still in my name and i have no way to do anything since the RC book is with the owner (who probably sold the vehicle to others also).
Old 29th October 2013, 08:21   #57

Originally Posted by hvishwanathan View Post
This will be covered under wear n tear and not covered under warranty . I had the same issue with skoda remote. But I feel you can ask the company to give you a brand new remote for which they might charge you maybe 2-3 thousand
I checked with the Hyundai dealer in Bangalore (Trident) - they quoted a ridiculous price of about Rs.8000/- for the remote key.
Old 29th October 2013, 08:51   #58

Originally Posted by motorguy View Post
I checked with the Hyundai dealer in Bangalore (Trident) - they quoted a ridiculous price of about Rs.8000/- for the remote key.
Then the best and cheapest option is to approach some guy who can custom make a flip key with the standard casing available in the market
Old 31st December 2013, 21:34   #59

Paid 600/- on ebay and got the flip key from a Chinese seller. It took me about 20 days of waiting and then 10-15 minutes of assembly time to fit the electronics from the old key to the new case. Tested on the car. The remote is working exactly as it should be. However, the existing blade will require some filing to fit properly into its new home. Since I don't have any filing tools at hand I'll take it to a locksmith and get it done shortly. I wonder why Hyundai A.S.S. charges 8000/- for such simple things!

Name:  k12.bmp
Views: 1029
Size:  900.1 KB

Disassembled old key parts on left and new key on right. The new case comes with Hyundai logo and looks no different from the stock one.

Last edited by sbiswas : 31st December 2013 at 21:39.
sbiswas is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st January 2014, 01:09   #60

Very well done sbiswas, you know automobile companies in India think that they can charge anything from a customer. The worst part is that they do get away by charging such exorbitant rates. Very few people like you would take some pain to find a solution to such a menace that these companies have created for all of us.

You have helped a lot of BHPians by this post and have shown us a new avenue.

Good luck, and Greetings for the New Year.
mints21 is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com