Old 20th January 2025, 16:57   #1

The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs

Introduction

The urge to own MUVs (or new age SUVs) had caught up, and over the last two years, I was faced with unusual requests from close friends to help them get 7 seaters. Well, getting one isn't a big deal, but the budget certainly is. Remember the 2,32,000 done Innova and the friend was tough enough to take the gamble. What about lesser risk takers? For a budget under INR10L, finding a good 7 seater wasn't going to be easy. Ertiga ZXi AT was one option but rarer to see than a solar eclipse.

This is a brief account of how four friends got real lucky - getting their dream machines for not so dreamy money. Dream Machine = Honda BR-V, and best of all, all CVTs which came only in the V avatar.

The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_1_delivery.jpg

The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_2_frontview.jpg

The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_3_frontview.jpg

The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_4_frontleftview.jpg

Last edited by vigsom : 20th January 2025 at 19:09.
vigsom is offline   (53) Thanks
Old 20th January 2025, 17:08   #2

Re: The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs

BR-V #1 - Born 2017

In Jun 2017, my friend, who had an SX4 ZXi AT with the odo at 83,000km approx. wanted to move to a new car. The SX4 had been wanting attention more frequently than before, and even after rectifying the lower arms, was staring at spend on new tyres and on suspension parts other than the lower arms. I pleaded with him to go the pre-owned route but his family was dead against the idea.

He evaluated the Tata Hexa XMA, but declared the car too big, and then evaluated a Ciaz Alpha AT. One of the Nexa dealerships in Chennai offered him a good deal on a Feb-2017 manufactured metallic beige Ciaz ZXi+ AT (this was equivalent to the new Alpha) with the dealer offering an INR 40,000 discount on the car plus a whole lot of useful accessories. Ciaz ceased to sport the beige exterior after moving to Nexa.

While my friend was processing the quote via a leasing company, the move to the GST regime happened and there was confusion around benefits through the lease plan. Add to that a revision in the price of the Ciaz . Delays in his lease process, pressure from the dealer, and he finally gave Nexa the clearance to process that car for someone else and refund his booking amount.

Later in Jul 2017, he saw the Honda BR-V CVT which was being offered at INR 40,000 off. He also got a good trade in value for his SX4 with an exchange bonus and eventually decided to go with the BR-V. The BR-V was finally his in Aug 2017, and the first BR-V in my club.

The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_1_delivery.jpg

Last edited by vigsom : 20th January 2025 at 18:59.
vigsom is offline   (30) Thanks
Old 20th January 2025, 17:38   #3

BR-V #1 (Contd.)

Advantage BR-V

1. It's a Honda
2. 1.5L butter smooth engine
3. Reliable CVT which goes on and on
4. Super light steering and extremely easy to drive
5. Good FE for a utility vehicle (typical 15kmpl on highways)
6. Loads of space inside
7. 60:40 seats in second row and 50:50 in the third, with still some decent boot space with all seats up

The car is now seven and has never given my friend and his family any heartaches; in fact the only notable failure was a fused puny bulb under the gear lever console and a chattering AC flap motor that he had to pay for.

Maintenance expenses (not the full account but based on information I've gathered)

1. Aug-2019 20,000km service INR 9,700
2. Sep-2021 38,000km service INR13,000 (CVT fluid replaced plus one driveshaft repaced in warranty)
3. Apr-2023 50,000km service INR 10,000 (rodent repellant, AC blower cleaning)
4. May-2024 55,000km service INR 10,000 (rodent repellant, AC blower cleaning)
5. Oct-2024 57,000km First change of tyres from the stock 196/60R16 Michelin Primacy LC to 205/60R16 Yokohama Earth1 INR 30,800 (tyres plus alignment plus balancing plus N2)

Thank You @SmartCat for testing and certifying the 205/60R16. My friend has reported only good things after the tyre upsize.

BR-V at 7 years - except a minor dent on the hood, all paint is stock
The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_1_frontview.jpg

The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_1_rearview.jpg

The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_1_rearseats.jpg

The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_1_viewfrom2ndrow.jpg

195/60R16 vs 205/60R16
The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_195vs205.jpg

White BR-V with 205/60R16 vs grey BR-V with stock size tyres
The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_195vs205_2.jpg

Last edited by vigsom : 20th January 2025 at 19:08.
vigsom is offline   (32) Thanks
Old 20th January 2025, 17:52   #4

BR-V #2 Born 2018, acquired Apr-2023

This was the first of the three used BR-Vs that joined the club. Like I mentioned in the opening post, the drivers to acquire a BR-V were a) need for an automatic 7 seater b) budget preferably under INR 10L. This BR-V came like a stroke of luck. I was in Chennai attending a conference, when this request came in. I checked with a reputed used car dealer, and there she was, at a mere 13,000km on the odo. Checked, cleared for purchase, deal sealed at approx. INR 8.75 lacs and BR-V found a new home. Today, the car stands at just 22,000km and as expected, has thrown no surprises.

Exterior Views
The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_2_frontview.jpg

The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_2_leftsideview.jpg

Interior Views
The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_2_dashview.jpg

The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_2_centerconsoleview.jpg

The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_2_driverdoorview.jpg

The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_2_inside2nd3rdrowview.jpg

The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_2_rearseats.jpg

The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_2_thirdrowview.jpg

Last edited by vigsom : 20th January 2025 at 19:10.
vigsom is offline   (29) Thanks
Old 20th January 2025, 18:31   #5

BR-V #3 Born 2017, acquired May-2023

This episode started sometime in Apr-2023, immediately after BR-V #2 came in. A close friend (Army Officer who left after his Short Service Commission) was advised by his doc to stop driving a manual car as there was a serious issue with his left knee. Automatic ek khoj (search for an automatic) began at 2250hrs that night of Apr-2023. Since Major and his better half wanted a spacious car, look no beyond a BR-V. Sent him a few ads including one that was put up on tbhp classifieds. Some confusion got added to the mix over the next few days viz. getting a brand new Brezza or Grand Vitara from CSD, used Kia Sonet HTX IMT, used Brezza ZDi, used Wagon-R AGS, and finally came this 2017 Honda BR-V CVT in red, done 29,000km. After a few more rounds of confusion of the BR-V vs new Brezza/ Grand Vitara from CSD, the vote went for the BR-V and deal was sealed at INR 8.3 lacs. I got to test drive the car from Kalina to around BKC within a few days of the car coming home. I wouldn't call the experience wow but the car wasn't too bad. The only major expense so far has been a change of tyres.

Front View
The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_3_frontview.jpg

Front Right View
The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_3_frontrightview.jpg

Right Side View
The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_3_rtsideview.jpg

Rear Left View
The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_3_rearleftview.jpg

Driver Door View
The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_3_driverdoorview.jpg

Front Seats
The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_3_frontseatsview.jpg

Center Seats
The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_3_centerseatsview.jpg

Inside View from Rear
The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_3_insideviewhatchopen.jpg

Last edited by vigsom : 20th January 2025 at 19:11.
vigsom is offline   (27) Thanks
Old 20th January 2025, 18:41   #6

BR-V #4 Born 2018, acquired early 2024

Again, in this case, the ask was a 7 seater automatic. Although budget was not a constraint, knowing the use case of the owner, a diesel Crysta would have made no sense. A BR-V appeared on the scene - 2018 manufactured, odo at 57,000km, Doctor owned. This wasn't a super clean car for the front bumper and one headlamp had been replaced, but overall, it didn't seem bad. Deal sealed for INR 8.25 lacs.

Front Left View
The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_4_frontleftview.jpg

Front View
The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_4_frontview.jpg

Rear View
The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_4_rearview.jpg

Rear Left View
The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_4_rearleftview.jpg

Driver Door View
The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_4_driverdoorview.jpg

Instrument Console
The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_4_instconsole.jpg

View from second row
The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_4_viewfrom2ndrow.jpg

Rearward View of the second and third rows
The Story of 1-2-3-4 Honda BR-Vs | All CVTs-brv_4_inside2nd3rdrowview.jpg

Last edited by vigsom : 20th January 2025 at 19:14.
vigsom is offline   (31) Thanks
Old 20th January 2025, 18:49   #7

Summing it up

Four Honda BR-Vs in four shades, all sharing the DNA viz. zero niggles except for the chattering AC flap motor in one of them, and a driveshaft replacement under warranty in one. None of these four have reported issues with the mechanicals, electricals, aircon. Yes, although the car sports the 1.5L that does duty in the City, it doesn't get looked upon as a sporty car. But which used car in India gets you a jewel of an engine, a reliable CVT, paddle shifters, a silky smooth drive, seven seats with still some boot space available all for under 8.5 lacs. Go for it if showing off is not on your agenda!
vigsom is offline   (60) Thanks
Old 20th January 2025, 22:12   #8

Thread moved out from the Assembly Line. Thanks for sharing!
Aditya is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th January 2025, 22:53   #9

I quite like the BRV. I am not sure as to why it failed. The basics if the car were right, guess it lacked the wow factor.

Regarding looks, BRV looks really good even today. I have seen worse cars than BRV and honestly I dont understand the fuss about BRV being called as a not so eye pleasing vehicle.
saikishor is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 21st January 2025, 11:40   #10

Enjoyed reading your post Vigsom. We too bought a BR-V in 2021 at its 4th year mark from Toyota U Trust. It's the petrol S variant with stick shift. Touchwood the car is doing good. Everyone who have experienced this car have appreciated the smart packaging. Best part is that it gathered compliments from family, friends and colleagues. My brother in law who bought a Carens 1.5 NA Petrol recently, was blown away by the audio output of the stock audio system and the on road performance of my BR-V, so much so that he asked if I use higher octane petrol
Storm2.0 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 21st January 2025, 11:48   #11

Originally Posted by saikishor View Post
I quite like the BRV. I am not sure as to why it failed. The basics if the car were right, guess it lacked the wow factor.

Regarding looks, BRV looks really good even today. I have seen worse cars than BRV and honestly I dont understand the fuss about BRV being called as a not so eye pleasing vehicle.
I don't recall Honda running a good marketing campaign as well which might have helped not to sell. So most of the customers were cross shopping with City ( Same engine different body-style) or simply came via references via existing owners like in vigsom's friends case.

On the looks, the front is still very good and sharp looking. I fell it's the side view and the rear overhang which creates a sort of distortion to overall shape of the car, for me it's neither here not there unlike Ertiga, Marrazo or Innova which feel like a complete vehicle in their respective class. Totally agreed though that this isn't the worst looking car whatsoever in our market, plenty of ugly ducklings we have
turbowhistle is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 21st January 2025, 12:24   #12

Such a useful yet under-appreciated car. I have always loved MUVs like the BR-Vs as they make excellent use of space. They occupy roughly the same footprint as a sedan (like the Honda City), but offer more flexibility for carrying extra luggage or passengers. Despite being a fine vehicle, the BR-V lacked the “bling” and halo effect associated with the City in the sedan segment. It came across more as an Ertiga competitor than a premium option.

On a related note, I really wish VAG and other companies would introduce station wagon versions of their sedans in India. Though station wagons haven’t historically done well here, the future could be different, hopefully. In my opinion, station wagons are the best body style for a populous country like ours, whether for families or the taxi market, with only a minimal impact on fuel efficiency or handling compared to their sedan versions.

Anyway, congrats for the BRVs. I'm sure this is a perfect car for each of you on such a friendly budget. And a true Honda hassle-free ownership.
VinsWagen is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 21st January 2025, 12:39   #13

Great post, sir. The BRV was a very practical and sensible car, that lost out because it didn’t have the road presence and bling of a Creta. The van like profile made people think of it as more of an Ertiga rival than a crossover, while the pricing suggested the opposite.

Later, with the price cuts, it even enjoyed moderate success in the fleet market. Today, cars like the XL6 and Kia Carens are building upon the same formula and are enjoying much better sales. Maybe, the BRV was ahead of its times for the Indian Market.
Sanidhya mukund is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st January 2025, 13:05   #14

Originally Posted by saikishor View Post

They really made a mistake by going all-in with the cheap Brio platform. It felt too budget-oriented for the price and damaged Honda's premium brand reputation. They didn't need to compete with Maruti and completely failed to predict—or perhaps care about—the boom in the ₹10-20 lakh segment.

If they had used the same formula with a car based on the Jazz/Fit/City platform, they would be performing much better today, but that’s Honda India for you. I remember my dealer suggesting this as a potential upgrade to my 3rd-generation City during a routine service. I couldn’t help but wonder in what way this car was better than my one-generation-old City. It was essentially just a reskinned Mobilio—good-looking, yes—but with the same drawbacks.

The investment into the Mobilio/Amaze platform is likely the main reason for Honda India’s potential exit. It’s a real shame because I still believe Honda was one of the best car and bike manufacturers globally—a brand that felt like it was run by engineers.

Last edited by Doge : 21st January 2025 at 13:07.
Doge is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 21st January 2025, 19:14   #15

Just to add some comments on the BRV, my Dad drives a Mar-17 Diesel manual. It is his daily driver, after buying our Brio in Sep-14, we were looking for a 7 seater with good milage. We checked the mahindra's, tata's and maruti's, but somehow on the test drive of BRV, my mother felt that the car was really comfy in the middle row with lots of space. Hence it was decided that we will be buying, thanks to Magnum Honda sales rep, he suggested to go for S variant which was no fancy alloys and side step. We got a good discount because of the emission norms were kicking in from Apr-17.
So far it has done 1,30,000 + kms, only major service it had was when it hit 1lakh for the front and back suspension change.

One think I like about BRV is that even though it is based on the Brio paltform, it feels really comfy in the rear and middle row as compared to Brio. I know the mobilio and BRV are related, I feel BRV was made with better suspension setup.
shrezza is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com