Originally Posted by Altocumulus One question though, did most of your problems with the car increase after the accident or was it always unreliable? Since your odo is in the 90s and your issues like injectors and alternator were changed within 15 to 20k km back, was it because of the damage due to the accident?
The clutch of the Compass is very very sensitive to clutch riding. Some people had to replace the clutch with 1500 km as well on a brand new car. |
Hi, It is unreliable all the time. In a year approximately I had taken 2-3 warranty claims like ABS sensors, horns, clutch etc.
The same thing is confirmed by other customers who I met in the ASS while my car is being serviced.
And there are very less ASS available in the country. The owners I met came to ASS from cities which are 200-300 away from it.
Even the ASS SAs are telling me that all these parts are just regular maintenance items of Jeep Compass and it is the white elephant in this regard.
Yes, exactly. According to my driving style, my other cars don't need clutch replacement till 1L km.
Jeep clutch is expensive at 90k rupees so why its parts are inferior to other brands? If the price is high and quality should also be high but it is not. This is my point friend. The only use of the compass is a thick metal sheet on the outside and after that, everything is inferior to Germans, Koreans and Japanese.
Originally Posted by 07CR I do agree with your analysis Vattyboy. I had a budget of around 30 lakhs recently and had the option of buying a compass. But the facelifted seltos made much more sense to me, especially in its turbo petrol avatar. Reliability and niggle free car is one of my top priorities and in this regard pretty sure it would trump the compass. |
Good choice brother, The Seltos 1.5 turbo also has better performance than the compass.
Originally Posted by aishwaryamaurya Thanks for this post. Very helpful.
Can you please expand on the comparison of Driving experience in the city for both? How does Compass fare? How do they compare in stop-and-go traffic? Overall comfort/driving stress levels in heavy traffic etc.? |
For the city, Creta is better in both Manual and Automatic transmissions.
In manual the clutch of the compass is very hard which is a problem for city driving.
In AT also the tuning of the gearbox is not that great.
Originally Posted by evil_grin Thank you for the comparison and the detailed costs.
I have been in love with the Compass since it was launched. If I can get a BS4 (love the steering wheel) Compass at 8 lakhs I'd be so overjoyed that I might not mind the exorbitant and frequent part replacement cost. It'd be a worthy upgrade to my 2010 Honda City. |
Yeah, but the brokers in between will earn 2-3 lakhs and sell it for a higher price. So buyers will never get it for 8 lakhs while sellers will get peanuts and brokers enjoy in between. But in the case of Creta, there is not much margin for the brokers as sellers have a lot of buyers so they will not sell it for a lower price.
Originally Posted by OpenRoads Great comparison and extremely realistic. I am more or less aligned with your conclusion. And if given a choice (if I had the money to buy a Jeep Compass) I might have still gone with Creta.
For day-to-day travel, Creta/Seltos or any other sub-compact SUVish vehicle (less than 20 lacs) satisfies my needs with all the necessary features included. Occasional highway trips are also not bad.
The only reason I would like to shell out an additional 7~10 lacs would be to feel a little more accomplished among my colleagues or friends with a brand seen differently (more luxurious) and slightly better driving dynamics during occasional 33-digit speed runs. That might just not be enough for me. I would want more. People buy Merc or BMW or Audi not just for the performance alone. It also represents brand, luxury, status and so on. So for me Jeep Compass is a great car but still feels unnecessary unless I need it for the other aspects. |
Thanks, friend.
There is no difference in how people treat you on the road between the Compass and Creta. Both have similar respect. Maybe 80k members of Team-bhp who have more knowledge about cars give a little bit extra respect to Compass but others don't give.
Massive respect is given to me when I drive my Mercedes, and Maintenance to both Mercedes and Jeep is similar as Mercedes is reliable and parts don't fail in it.
. So when Mercedes is taking higher prices for its Car and parts than in real also their parts are good which is not the case in Compass.
So my suggestion to all others is to Skip it and Jump to 3 big Germans or Fortuner( over the long run of 5 years it will be cheaper to drive as it will require low maintenance and an extra amount given while buying it will be recovered in resale).