Old 28th December 2023, 16:32   #1

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT

We recently brought home a Bluish black Jimny Alpha AT.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231224_093326.jpg

PRELUDE

2013 October, we were doing our East to West drive in a Safari and we were moving towards Kibithoo-the eastern most point that civilians could drive to at that time. Quoted below is an extract from that trip's travelogue of what transpired that day...

Originally Posted by hemanth.anand View Post
Day 10, 20-Oct-2013: Walong(AR11)-Tezu(AR11)

From here, Kibithoo was just 6 Kilometres. In another 3 Kilometres, We reached a point where the asphalt roads finished and the mountains were dug up for construction/widening of roads.

Here, at a particular hair pin bend I turned the vehicle only to be greeted but a long and straight heavy gradient. The vehicle didn't have enough grunt to climb up. So I stopped and slowly went back the hair pin.

I then slotted into first gear and with full throttle climbed up the hair pin. The vehicle also moved up the gradient without any problems.
Just as I thought that everything was fine, the gradient kept on rising and the vehicle was not able to cope up. It started to struggle and then the tyres started to kick up a lot of dust but the vehicle didn't move forward

That was the end of it. The vehicle couldn't move ahead and we were stuck in a steep gradient (I guessed it must have been 40 degrees)

Attachment 1254760
Can't move forward

Attachment 1254759
what a place to get stuck

Attachment 1254757
Shall we enjoy the beauty or worry that we were stuck

The vehicle is not moving ahead and we are in a narrow mountain road with a deep valley on the left side and a recently cut mountain on the right side
I put the handbrakes on and stopped. It was one of the scariest positions to be stuck in a vehicle.

Attachment 1254758
How do we get out!

To add to this, a Military truck was about to come down from the top. Luckily for us, he saw that we were in trouble and stopped at the top. Now were started to think what to do.
I decided that I'll go back in reverse. But there was a small curve which complicated things.
I put it in reverse gear and moved backwards but got stuck in that curve. The wheels came too close to the mountain and we got stuck badly.

Then Rajesh told that we could there was a small area where the road was a little wide and we could take a U-turn.
I asked him if he was joking....But he was serious. He asked me to come back and he would guide me. I trusted him.

I moved a little forward and then started to perform this dangerous U-turn.
Because of the gradient, the narrow road and the deep valley, I couldn't see anything. I had to trust him fully. After a couple of reverses and forwards, I couldn't do it anymore.

Attachment 1254761
Lets take a U

I stopped and asked Rajesh to finish the turn. Since he had seen the available space he could do it a little more easily than me. Mohit quickly took some pictures.

By this time the military truck started to come down, adding to the pressure. Mohith and Me guided Rajesh and in another 4 to 5 reverse moves, Rajesh succeeded in turning the vehicle back. The military truck came down and we all came down till we reached the Asphalted road. We stopped here for a breather. It was a relief.

The military truck also stopped and two happy faces greeted us and spoke to us in Kannada!! We were pleasantly surprised.
He then spoke to us and asked what had happened and we told that the vehicle refused to climb. A Little surprised he asked if it was a 4WD. When we said 2WD, he didn't find it surprising anymore.
We spoke for a few more minutes as he was really happy to find tourists from his home state conversing in his mother tongue. He then left us by telling us that the scenes were more beautiful above.

I said we will give it one more try to which Rajesh and Mohith disagreed. They told that some external energy brought us back safely with just a warning and we shouldn't push our luck too far.
I was really dejected but I had to respect my mates. We returned back. Once we reached the "eastern most road" board, we again took a few snaps and drove back. The circuit house care taker was unfortunately correct!
That incident left me dejected and I was like... "If only I had a 4x4 vehicle with me, we needn't have turned back".

When MSIL ad campaign came up with NEVER TURN BACK as the tagline for the Jimny, it immediately took me to that incident in 2013. I wish to go back there and explore beyond Kibithoo and not turn back!

It was the beginning of 2019…a friend of mine bought a brand new Gypsy…the last of its kind. That was when I got introduced to a proper off-roader. I got to drive it frequently. While many saw how bad the vehicle is, I was appreciating the simplicity of it all and the endless mod potential. It is an amazing car and every petrolhead’s dream! After a year of staying stock, the modifications began and I got to see it all from close quarters. The list of modifications done is long and it is not yet completed! With each new trip with the Gypsy, I started to love the car even more. Not everyone will understand this, but driving these classical off-roaders is an experience that can’t be put into words. Even though they are raw, have no creature comforts, they are bone jarring and they are acoustically bad; the thrill, and happiness it gives to a petrol head is something else.

Many of my younger friends and colleagues wanted to drive it and when they got to drive it, they were like “How can drive this thing?”, “The steering is so hard”, “the car is so uncomfortable”, “I expected something else” and they stayed away from it. The Thar changed the ways off-roaders are seen to a huge extent and more and more people started buying it as a daily driver. So much so that Mahindra even launched a 2WD variant!! Anyway…

The Maruti to finally bring Jimny to India? Thread on TBHP was created sometime in the second half of 2019 and it soon picked up some steam in 2021. Like I’ve written above, while the Gypsy was raw, had no creature comforts, was bone jarring and acoustically bad, the reviews told that the Jimny was refined, has lot of creature comforts, plush (relative) and acoustically well insulated! That’s when I seriously started to dream about owning a 4x4 for myself. I absolutely loved the 3-door version, but it was evident that MSIL will only give us the 5-door variant.

Last edited by hemanth.anand : 1st January 2024 at 14:35.
hemanth.anand is offline   (42) Thanks
Old 28th December 2023, 16:33   #2

Re: Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No worrY - The story of our Jimny AT

The Booking

We had two cars at home - My 1.2 Polo GT TSI and my wife’s Alto K10 AMT. If I had to buy a Jimny, I had to give away one of them. The GT has been a good successor to my Punto and I love every bit of it even today. OTOH, Alto K10 was the first car for my wife, and she was still new to driving cars. I never liked the AMT GB on the K10, but due to lack of good options in the budget at that time, we had purchased that. After 6+ years with it and having driven the car in some infamous traffic-prone areas of Bengaluru, my wife is now a confident driver. So, If I wanted to bring in the Jimny, Alto would’ve to go and for that, my wife had to be comfortable with it too.

I was closely following the launch and when it was launched on 12th January 2023, I immediately booked it. Soon after the launch, I called up the closest Nexa showroom (Kalyani Motors) near my home and asked for the booking formalities. One of the sales guys was assigned to me and he told me that the booking amount is ₹11K for both the cars that were launched that day - Fronx and Jimny. Before even I could pay, he called me again and told me that the booking amount is ₹11k for the Fronx alone and for Jimny it has been fixed at ₹25K. I learnt from TBHP that this confusion was there everywhere and Online booking wasn’t yet working for me on the website only for the Jimny. I honestly didn’t understand this, but anyway such confusion was expected during such a big launch.

I always wanted to own a black car but could never own one. I thought I will buy this in Black. Looking at the videos, I wasn’t so happy with the Bluish black. That and the Nexa blue, both looked similar. Green and Red were never considered. I didn’t like the Jimny in White that much. So I ended up booking the Granite Grey. I was told that I can change the colour without affecting the timeline once the test drives begin.

The sales guy called me and told that the finance team are out for the day and the booking acknowledgement will only be sent the next day. They sent it promptly the next day and officially my booking was done on 13th January 2023. I was added into a Whatsapp group on 17th January.

I was closely following the Jimny thread for the next dates. I understood that the test drives will begin in March-April time frame. I utilized these 2-3 months to inform and convince my wife to upgrade the car…mind you, I had made the booking without informing my wife

First step…She was ok to change the car…oh yes!
I showed her pictures of Jimny and she was like “I don’t want a Jeep! It is so manly!”… oh no!
She wanted a small, cute, electric car...oh no!

After some discussion, it was concluded that Small size and Automatic Transmission were the basic requirements.
I tried to reason with her that Jimny is quite small and there is an automatic transmission. But she was like, how is this small! It looks Bulky like a Thar and she cannot drive it everyday to office! I didn’t push the matter further and told her that she can take a look at the vehicle and then decide.

Mid of March, I got an info (again from TBHP) that the Jimny is now being displayed in Nexa showrooms across the country. I contacted the sales executive and he told he’ll confirm as soon as it is available to them. Last week of March it was in Bengaluru and I visited one of the showrooms along with my wife to check out the car. At first sight, my wife felt it was too big, but later I explained that it is bigger than Alto no doubt, but it is pretty much the same size as our Polo, except the height. She couldn’t believe it…I had to show her the brochures to prove my point. She was like “Still, this is so manly!”. I told her that there is nothing Manly or Womanly in cars and she can take a test drive once.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-img20230327wa0011.jpg
My 5' wife checking the Jimny out

As far as I was concerned, I found the car really cute. This was the first time I saw it in person. It wasn’t as small as many had suggested online. It was feeling elongated by proportions; A 3-door Variant would’ve been really compact, but whatever it was, it was good.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-img20230327wa0010.jpg
Front look with the ugly grille

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-img20230327wa0012.jpg
Elongated proportions

What stood out for me was the build quality. It wasn’t like any other Maruti and the good build quality was evidently good. It was officially a 4 seater and it was roomy for 4. Boot space was also good.

Two days later, my sales executive told me that the display vehicle has arrived, and I can come and see. I told him that I already did that 2 days ago! I told him to inform me when the test drives can begin.

When I was reading through the thread, I understood that the media drive was planned by end of May. I was following all Jimny topics on the internet very closely. I must’ve read all the reviews and watched all the videos related to Jimny. There was nothing alarming or surprising in any of the reviews for me. I showed some important reviews to my wife to help her understand.

First week of June, the pricing was announced and to be honest…it was disappointing. This was my post when the pricing was announced...

Easily 2 lakhs more than what it should've been. An aggressive pricing atleast as an introductory pricing should've been offered. Anyway...
Maruti had really got greedy, and the pricing was around 1.5-2 lakhs more than what it should’ve been! I seriously was thinking if I should proceed or not. But if I want a lifestyle 4x4 vehicle, The only other option was a Thar which was 2-3 lakhs more. So, I decided to proceed with the Jimny.

Initially I was thinking of buying it on my own, but with the higher price, I was looking for options to reduce some burden. Manual Transmission (which is 1.2L lesser than AT) wasn’t an option for me as my wife doesn’t drive a Manual. Other option was to go for the Zeta variant (which is 95K to 1.11L lesser than the Alpha). I then went through my company car lease policy, and it was a beneficial option overall. So decided to go for the Top Alpha Variant AT through my company lease. Second week of June, I asked for an invoice from the dealer as required by the company lease policy.

Since the booking time, I was continuously following up with the sales executive for a test drive. While I was getting ZERO response from him or from anyone else in the whatsapp group that was created, I learnt from TBHP again that test drive vehicles had arrived on June 22nd 2023. I went there on June 24th first thing in the morning, with my friend and BHPian avinashsg. I called my sales executive just before going and he told he forgot to call me and inform me that the vehicles had arrived! He told that one of his colleagues will assist me as he was not in the showroom that day.

The test drive

I reached Kalyani Nexa in JP nagar at 10AM sharp in a Gypsy. We were probably the first visitors of the day and hence, in an otherwise small showroom with limited parking slots, there was an empty parking spot just beside the brand new Jimny TD vehicle. Parked the Gypsy beside the Jimny and took couple of pictures.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230624_094940.jpg
The two generations.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230624_094949.jpg
Rishtey mein hum tumhare baap lagte hain!

This one here is a Grey and is very dark shade closer to black. Should've been lighter IMO. This shade of Granite Grey, the Bluish Black and the Nexa Blue are all very similar MSIL should've differentiated more I felt.

One of the Sales Executives came to me and without many formalities, took my DL details and we went to the vehicle to start the TD. While I had seen the Jimny earlier, my friend hadn't seen it in person. While the car was being cleaned, we looked at the vehicle in detail. in another 5 minutes, we were ready to go. I took the driver’s seat. The vehicle had run only 145kms. The Centre console immediately and clearly reminds of the Gypsy.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230624_100031.jpg
Remember this?!

I drove in some small lanes around JP nagar. Due to the recently concluded elections in the state, all roads were smooth and nice. It was the first time I cursed the politicians for having done their work!! Because of this the drive was completely in 2H mode. The slaes executive told that in some weeks, when one or two additional TD vehicles arrive, home TD will begin that will allow or longer test drives. After 5 kms, my friend came to the driver's seat and he drove for another 3 kms till the showroom.

The vehicle we drove was an Alpha AT. The vehicle is so silent inside compared to the Gypsy. Overall suspension is on the harder side and well sorted. Immediate suspension upgrade is not mandatory even for rough road conditions. we were first at a signal and the quick 0-60 was also impressive. It'll serve decent enough on the highways. If you want to race with a good sedan like virtus or slavia, you'll be disappointed but otherwise, you'll be good.

The Gearbox was eager to shift down and hence I felt that the FE figures on the MID were in single digits. Of course FE should be the last thing on your mind if you are buying this car. A Manual mode would've been nice on the AT. But like someone shared a video, Shifting L-2-D can give that manual mode. shifts are smooth and way better that an AMT (but nowhere close to a DSG). The turning radius is big but definitely doesn't feel so when driving. I drove through some really narrow lanes and it was easy to maneuver.

The space management inside was quite good and it doesn't feel small at all. It is officially a 4 seater and it is good for 4. Perfect vehicle for a group of 4 to go on a vacation.

The sales Executive informed that they've received two Nexa blue vehicles for delivery. He informed that some RTO formalities are pending post which it'll be delivered to cutomers in another week or so. Other colours are expected in 2-3 months he told.

While driving back home I took a Picture of the Jimny from inside the Gypsy. For the uninitiated, look at the console

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230624_104312.jpg
Ah now I remember!

In summary, if Gypsy is a human born in 1983, Jimny is the same person all grown up after 40 years... Mature, smart, smooth, planted, capable, Confident, not pretending to be someone else, Small yet sure. if you are all of these and going through a MLC, this is the vehicle for you.

The next day, I visited the showroom a second time. This time it was for an all-important TD for my wife. We took the Alto this time so that my wife could compare the two vehicles. When I reached, I saw a Granite Grey and a Bluish Black parked side by side. It gave me a very good idea and it was here that I decided to change the colour to Bluish Black and I informed the sales executive to change the colour.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-img20230625wa0005.jpg
Alto and Jimny side-by-side

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-img20230625wa0007.jpg
Bluish black and Granite Grey side-by-side

Soon, we started the TD and my wife drove it all along. This time, there were more people and hence we weren’t allowed to drive for long. She couldn’t drive it in narrow lanes which she’d hoped for but it gave her a good idea about the car.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-img20230625wa0006.jpg
Wife taking the test drive

This was what she had to say:

Positives
  • Loved the commanding position and the visibility.
  • Didn’t find it big…A Big Yaaay for me!
  • It was comfortable and was technologically advanced than even our Polo
Negatives
  • This looks so Manly!

Finally she told, “I know that you’ll somehow convince me. The car is small and easy to drive in city and it is an automatic. My two main conditions are met. So, I’ll let you have it!”

The Purchase

After I had submitted the Proforma Invoice to the leasing company, they did all the formalities at their end and the lease company gave the Purchase order to the dealer on July 11th.

With all set, I was continuously following up with the sales executive as to when the car will arrive. He had absolutely no idea. He said the demand is high and the wait times are upto 6 months. With deliveries happening elsewhere in the country, I just couldn’t believe this. I was not happy with the overall booking experience I must say. Mahindra has handled their waiting times more transparently I feel from whatever I’ve seen from friends. Even though there were huge waiting times (and still there are) for the XUV7OO, it has gone according to the booking order. Maruti on the other hand were just adhoc and the booking ID was just a mere number.

Over the next few days, I was offered everything from a Red Zeta to a White MT to a Blue Alpha AT. Everything else apart from the Black Alpha AT which I wanted. Elsewhere, not only were Jimnys getting delivered, People were cutting their Jimnys, going to Ladakh and posting travelogues, putting monster wheels and what not.

Finally On August 23rd 2023, I was informed that the vehicle was at the dealer yard. I had told the sales executive multiple times that only after I do a PDI, he can start the registration process. He told that I can come and inspect only on 1st September as the car will take 2-3 days to arrive from the main yard which is 50km away. On 1st September, He called me to provide insurance document from the leasing company. I told that even before PDI, I didn’t want insurance. He told that if the vehicle was not ok during PDI, insurance can be cancelled too. But if we get the insurance now, registration will be faster. He told that he’ll let me know the PDI date later. I called up the leasing company and chose my insurance and provided it.

On 2nd September, I called to check if PDI is possible. I was informed that the car has arrived at the dealership yard and I can come at around 10:00am which I confirmed. At 10:00am he called me to check if I’m coming and I told that I’ll reach by 11:00am. My wife and I reached the mentioned (3kms away from the showroom) location at 11:00 AM. He told me that he is in a test drive and it’ll take around 10 mins. After 15 minutes I called and he told he’s getting the Keys from the manager. Five minutes later he called me and told “Sir your vehicle is not here and it is still in the main yard and it’ll come after 2 days!” I was totally enraged and gave him a piece of my mind. After all the follow up, confirmations, he says vehicle not arrived! Anyway, I started driving towards home; I would've driven around 200mtrs and I get a call again from him saying “Sorry sir, vehicle is here and I am getting the key!” I had no words! 10 mins later, he came with the keys and took us to the car. We checked out our car completely. There were no red flags that I could see and hence I gave him a go ahead for the registration.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230902_132522.jpg
There it is...

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230902_132531.jpg
Alongside the green

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230902_132513.jpg
Two Jimnys alongside a Fronx in the dealer yard

I had clearly instructed them that I want a fastag from ICICI Bank only. But without even informing me, they had also got a Fastag from IDFC bank! I was totally upset by this. Between all this, he still wasn’t able to confirm the delivery date which is plain ridiculous!

September 6th, I chose the accessories. I Chose the following:
Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-img20230906wa0043.jpg
Added Cargo net and number plate frame to this later

On September 7th, I got the SMS from Parivahan and the car was finally registered! Later that evening, I called up and asked for delivery the next day. Even now he told he will “try to deliver” the car on 8th and cannot promise!!!

8th September, early morning, the sales executive called and told me that there was some pending amount or around ₹2,000/- from my side for fastag and others. Since lease company had paid for the car, My booking amount was to be refunded to me. Even with accessories I had opted, there still was enough balance. I asked to adjust in that and then issue refund. He told that it is not possible as this payment has to be made in cash! I told I’ll do it via UPI or when I take delivery. He told only cash was accepted!!! I told I cannot yield for all their stupid rules and I asked him to pay himself and I’d pay it to him. He hesitated in the beginning and made it in the end. I paid it to him by noon and asked him to update the delivery date.

Overall, the NEXA Experience was by far the worst buying experience for me so far among all the cars that I’ve purchased so far. Maruti buying experience has always been pathetic (speaking from 3 different personal experiences) and Nexa doesn’t seem to have made any changes apart from the branding colour scheme. It’s only because of vehicle in Jimny that I tolerated this.

The delivery

On 8th September at 12:43, finally the sales executive messaged saying they’ll deliver the car in the evening. He told that I can come by 16:00 and the delivery might take at least 1 hour as lot of vehicles were scheduled to be delivered. I went there at 16:45 after wrapping up my office work.

Based on my nephew’s wish, we had ordered a Jimny T-shirt for all of us! I went there in my friend’s Gypsy and I also took along a small gift for the sales executive. As soon as we reached, the Jimny was parked outside and fortunately there was a car parking slot empty right beside it. I parked it there for a good photo-op.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230908_175634.jpg
Black and White

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230908_175253.jpg
Old and New

After some pictures, we went inside and understood that our sales guy was not in office that day! He had informed a teammate of his to take care of the delivery. There were other cars to be delivered and mine was the 5th car I was told. All the documentation was completed by 6PM, we went outside and kept on waiting for the delivery. The sales guy explained all the car features to my wife. While showing the boot space, he told "If you open the floor base, you'll have tools and spare wheel". Since this is the only MSIL car currently on sale with boot door mounted spare wheel, He probably explained what he does with other cars

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230908_181903.jpg
A quick demo of the car

Each car delivery was taking an hour! Our car's sill plate and garnishes were already installed. The 3d mats were kept in the boot. While waiting, we removed all the plastic covers off the seat ourselves and put the 3D mats. The staff told that they’ll do it before delivery but since I didn’t want to delay things further, we did it ourselves. One strange thing that I observed after many days was that the 3d Mats for the driver side has holes but the car doesn't have hooks on the floor to keep it in position!!

Finally at 19:00 my car was taken for the delivery prep. It was neatly waxed and all accessories were installed. The HSRP was installed with the frame.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230908_184559.jpg
Number plate fixing

I told the person to stick the windshield sticker properly and as I was saying that, right in front of me, he pasted it with 2 huge waves and to make it worse, he flattened those waves with his nail and even scratching the blue colour of the sticker! With the OCD that I have, this was like aaargh! If we try to remove, the sticker becomes void, so I had to let it be.

After all this, the car was in the delivery bay and under the black cloth.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230908_191650.jpg
Ready to go home

My daughter pulled the cover off and we were handed over the keys.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230908_191812.jpg
New member to the Family

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230908_191907.jpg
Upgraded!

The delivery responsible person wanted me to give a feedback about my whole buying experience. He had only two placards- “Very good” and “Excellent”. Not having any option of “poor” or “average”, I picked the “very good”. He asked why I didn’t pick excellent. I told him that at none of the stages was the experience good. Very good is also too high actually He said, “Sorry sir, you’ll get a call from Maruti, please rate Excellent there.”
I didn't discuss more and left it there…The sad part for me is that these people are never really sorry when they say sorry!

At 20:30, finally we drove out the Jimny. The fuel was at it’s lowest possible level and we were given a fuel voucher of 5ltr redeemable at a fuel station just opposite the showroom. The traffic was unusually high and to go to the other side (200mts Uturn) it took us 30 minutes. We filled up the fuel fully and also reduced the tyre pressure to 26psi from 45!!! The fuel station attendant reconfirmed 3 times if I indeed need 26psi. We reached home at 21:30! Even though I booked it on Day1, the booking to delivery time was almost 8 months!!!

Bidding Adieu

The Humble Alto, Small Alto, Cute little Alto, Lord Alto...whatever you like to call it, it will always hold a special place like any first car will have. It was the car that not just taught my wife driving but it taught her being independent.

It was used sparingly and usage had further reduced by the Pandemic. It was driven for 28k kms in 7 years that it was with us. My Polo GT TSI which we purchased the same day has run 84k kms. Apart from the AMT, I quite liked the Alto.

Many of my friends, colleagues, neighbors and relatives had asked me multiple times if I'd sell it and if I sell it, they'd told me to inform them. When the Jimny booking was done, I informed all of them. I told that once the new car comes, I'll get it evaluated and quote a price. some of them had either bought a new vehicle, or needed more time or changed plans. Finally 3 of them were interested. After the Jimny arrived, I got the Alto evaluated and quoted a price. While two of them, backed out saying it's out of their budget, One of my ex-colleagues told he'll buy it.

There were some minor scratches here and there which I had informed. Although he had seen my car, he came one day and checked the vehicle from a buyer's perspective. He has happy and confirmed that he'll buy.

On 24th September 2023, he came and drove it home...from being my wife's first car, it went to his home to be his wife's first car!

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230924_151957.jpg
Good bye...

Last edited by hemanth.anand : 1st January 2024 at 15:01.
hemanth.anand is offline   (56) Thanks
Old 28th December 2023, 16:36   #3

My Review of the Jimny AT

What I like:
  • Comfortable on road
  • Capable off road
  • Compact dimensions
  • Comes with an AT gear box
  • Infinite modification options
  • Silent petrol engine
  • Practical for daily usage too (4 doors and decent boot space)

What I don’t like:
  • The ugly silver + chrome grille
  • Dated 4 speed gear box (resulting in low FE numbers too)
  • Power on the lower side
  • AT tuning leaves a lot to be desired
  • Greedy pricing - should've had some more features at this price point

Exterior

It is a compact car and officially too it is a 4-seater car. Most people when they see this car in person for the first time, will say “oh so small!”. The immediate evident thing is that this car is very boxy and any kid can draw it easily. Clean straight lines all around with no unnecessary creases is just how I like it. It stands out among other modern-day cars. Car enthusiasts can immediately see the similarities with its predecessor-The Gypsy King. It is also so similar to the MB G-class that it appears that much more expensive than it actually is.

In stock condition, The front is characterized by a rather ugly silver grill with 7 chrome accented slats in the Centre (I changed it on the second day itself!). The Suzuki S is located at the centre slat. 2 big round headlamps appear on either side of the mesh grille on either side. Indicators are small rounds further outside. If headlamps appear like planets, the indicators look like moons!
The bumper has mesh grill opening at the centre and two circular fog lamps on either ends. The headlight washer is on the bumper just below the headlamps. With the bumper garnish, these washers are hidden but without the garnish, they stick out a bit.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230908_1752531.jpg
The front

From the side, the boxy design is evident and personally it looks disproportional to me. To accomodatethe extra 2 doors, the wheelbase has increased compared to the 3-door version in other countries. This stretched out looks is what makes it look out of proportion. Maybe because I’ve seen the 3-door version. Overall even with this stretching, the length is same as my Polo (and same as the Thar aswell). The stock look on the side has beefed up wheel arches and a plastic cladding on the side that connects the front and rear bumpers. There is an indicator on the fender. All doors have body coloured flap type door handles (I'm in the minority I know but I like these more that the grab handle type). Both front doors come with request sensor and key holes. The doors are quite plain and tad boring. Hence I added the OE door cladding as an accessory.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230910_093135.jpg
The side

On the rear, the spare wheel takes centre stage which comes with a wheel cover. The wheel cover is quite ugly to me and hides the beautiful alloy wheel design. I removed the cover on the second day itself. The bumper has simple almost rectangular tail lamps (some similarity with Gypsy again). The bumper also houses the 4 reverse sensors and the camera at the centre. Behind the spare wheel is the rear wiper. The rear windshield is again a rectangle with defogger coils and NEXA sticker on the bottom right. A High mounted stop lamp and a washer nozzle can be seen on top of the windshield. The hatch has a body-coloured door handle and a request sensor on the left. JIMNY name is below the handle. All grip badging is on the right of the door. The door hinges are covered with black covers. on the right corner of the roof is a cute little radio antenna

I generally debadge all my cars and hence I removed the cheap looking NEXA sticker. I'm thinking of removing the "All-grip" badge. I might keep the Jimny badge but turn it into black or grey but definitely no chrome

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230908_175651.jpg
The rear

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230910_0906461.jpg
Wheel cover removed

Interior

Open the driver door and you’re greeted into a nice all-black interiors. Ingress is not like sit-down but it is not a Climb-up either. It is at a comfortable height for average sized adults. Once you're in the driver seat and close the door, immediately you know that the car is narrow. The door pads are very close to your hands.

Ergonomics are completely different to what we're generally used to. If you look to roll down the windows and it is the first time in this car, you’ll struggle to find the button - it is in the centre console. So is the passenger side window switch. The driver control for the rear windows are in the floor control between the front two seats. operating them is literally a pain for the driver. the rear window switches are not usual ones and because they are not backlit, many people fail to notice it.

The leather wrapped steering wheel is straight out of a Baleno and is quite nice to hold. The steering wheel has music controls on the left and cruise control on the right. The telephone control buttons are behind the music controls. The stalk on the right is for all light controls and the left stalk has wiper controls for front and rear.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_094346.jpg
Steering wheel

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_094320.jpg
The right Stalk for light controls

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_094325.jpg
The left stalk for the wiper controls

Just behind the steering wheel you see the Instrument cluster which reminds you of the Gypsy’s. People who haven’t seen also will find this very nice with two huge dials and a central MID. There are two sticks for cluster brightness adjustment and trip meter reset.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231115_10531001.jpeg
Instrument cluster

The MID is very basic IMO. Time and temperature on top and fuel gauge on the bottom. Just above the fuel meter is the Mode info and odo meter. The central part of the MID gives few info like Overall fuel economy, Overall drive time which will not change after 99:59:59 (have to reset manually), Range and a blank screen. Apart from Range, I don’t find much of the info useful! This can be toggled using the info button on the steering wheel or by pressing the cluster brightness stick on the console.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231031_174546.jpg
MID

On the dashboard, on your right side, you’ll find Engine Start Stop button. To its right are the mirror adjustment buttons. Above those we have the button to turn off the start stop feature. Then there are the usual headlamp levelling rotary knob. Also we have the Headlamp washer button. The headlamp washer functions only when the headlamp is on. There are two empty switch slots too.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231115_10523701.jpeg
Switchgear

Coming to the centre console, the 9” screen takes prominent space. Below that are two rectangular AC vents and a hazard lamp switch in between. Below that are three circular knobs+buttons+display which forms the AC controls. Below that we have 2 power window switches for the front windows and an ASC off button and a Hill-descent control switch. Below that we have the 12v power socket and a USB socket. Below that we have a small space formed by the floor console that can accommodate a Phone. This space is available only in the AT. The buttons on the steering wheel and the centre console are all backlit with in orange colour. On the floor panel, we have the AT gear lever. The Positions are P R N D 2 L for Park, Reverse, Neutral, Drive, 2nd and Low(1st). On the right side of the gear knob, there is O/D on/off button which limits the vehicle to 3rd gear only.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231115_10540001.jpeg
The central elements

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_161704.jpg
The Overdrive button to on/off the 4th gear

As shown in some video, if one wants to drive this like a manual, then the vehicle can be started in L with O/D off, change to 2 then to D and then turn on O/D which will move the vehicle through 1 to 4 gears.

The Gear lever position markers are not backlit. It can be actually backlit but it is a cheap decision by MSIL to omit. Talking of other such cheap cost cutting things…the window switch for passenger side doesn’t come with Auto up/down functionality. It’s only for the driver side. Just think of it, my erstwhile Punto bought 13 years ago had this, my Polo purchased 7 years ago has this!

Anyway…behind the gear selector is the power window switch for the rear windows with lock/unlock button. This is for the driver to operate but even rear passengers can operate it easily. My wife thought this was the only option to open/close the rear windows for many days! There are two empty switch slots here too and 2 cup holders

The handbrake and the Transfer case lever is also located here.

Coming back to the dashboard, On the passenger side we have the left side AC vent and a grab handle (reminding of Gypsy) below which is a glove box. The glove box is decently sized but it is not cooled.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_161515.jpg
Grab handle and Glovebox

On the roof, just behind the IRVM, we have a light panel and mic.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_160446.jpg
mic and cabin light panel

On the door pads, we have the common door unlock lever from 100s of other MSIL cars. A grab handle is located beside it. At the bottom there is a cubby hole and a speaker. The cubby hole is so thin that it can accommodate a 100page note book only. if you want a bottle, you've to buy those flat A4 bottles

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_094450.jpg
Front door pad

The front seats are decently comfortable. Even for long drives, I didn't find any issues with the seats. The Black Fabric has a nice pattern to it. One thing that stands out however are the unnecessarily huge headrest. The Jimny comes with 6 airbags and one pair of those are in the front seats. under the front seat is the fuel lid opening lever. a button somewhere on the dash would've been more premium

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_094403.jpg
Front seats

The other pair of airbags are on the B-pillar and one above the glovebox on the dash and the other on the steering wheel

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_161538.jpg
B-pillar airbags

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_161610.jpg
Dash airbag

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_161744.jpg
Fuel opening lever.
Notice the OE 3dmats which has hook holes while there are no hooks on the floor!!

Moving into the rear, ingress is good but you've to be aware not to place your foot on the side cladding. A caution symbol is printed for this.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_161312.jpg
Watch your step

The rear seats are nice and comfy too but less wider than the front seats. Because of this, under-thigh support is not the best. Both rear passengers will be comfortable but better under thigh support would’ve been desirable. The rear passengers get storage behind the front seats. The road-view for the rear passengers is blocked by the ginormous head rests of the front seats.
In between the seats, the two seat belt buckles are located and here is where the next cheap cost cutting is observed - MSIL has skipped on the weight sensor for the seat that is available at the front seat. Hence the seat belts have to be buckled irrespective of whether there is someone is sitting or not. This is not just cheap but stupid too because after they skipped the weight sensor, they forgot to remove the buzzer related to this. The seats get ISOFIX slots.
The transmission channel is thin but since there will be no 5th person, it’s not a worry at all. There is a roof lamp for second row as well.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_161221.jpg
Rear seats

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_160840.jpg
Isofix point behind the rear seat

The rear seat have a 50:50 split (because its only 2 seats at the rear) and this seat can be inclined at 2 angles. The latch is located at the corner. This is probably one of the nicest manual seat latches to operate.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_161138.jpg
Latch to adjust seat incline

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_161415.jpg
Notice the small incline difference

The door pads have the lock unlock button and a rather uncommon power window switch. Door storage pocket are again thin.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_094624.jpg
Rear door pad

Moving to the boot, it is quite spacious and can accommodate two big checkin baggages. There is a boot lamp and also a 12V socket. The rear passenger can use this or any auxillary devices can be connected for charging. Under the floor there is a small opening that houses the tools.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_160846.jpg
Bootlamp- I put the white LED by removing the stock yellow incandescent bult

The rear door comes with a struct so we need not bother pulling the door. It automatically opens. But many people are not used to this and I have seen people trying to forcefully open the boot door.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_160652.jpg
Boot door opening strut

The boot misses out on a parcel tray. The rear seats can be inclines at two different levels and this lever is easy to operate from the boot.

Last edited by hemanth.anand : 1st January 2024 at 15:06.
hemanth.anand is offline   (35) Thanks
Old 28th December 2023, 16:45   #4

ICE

The 9” screen is a nice LCD screen with wireless Android Auto/Apple car play features. Below the screen are touch buttons for Mute, volume+& -, home phone, music, voice assistant and power. As the vehicle is turned on, The Suzuki logo splash screen appears and the home screen appears. When not paired with any phone, the home screen appears with 4 sections showing paired devices, music, clock and vehicle info. I have an android and Once paired with via android auto, Screen is divided majorly into map, music and message sections. Vehicle info section shows FE and other details

I'm not an audiophile and hence this 4-speaker setup with ARKAMYS surround setup is good enough for me

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_093655.jpg
Home screen
I don't like touchscreens in car as they are a distraction to operate. Layout is nice a big which should reduce that distraction to a certain extent i feel.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_094045.jpg
Music sources-There should've been an Aux

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_093854.jpg
Media settings

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_093845.jpg
System settings

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_093902.jpg
Connectivity settings

I've to mention about the voice assistant. There is a Suzuki voice assistant that wakes up with "Hi Suzuki" voice command or using the button on the steering wheel. But when Android auto is connected, it says "Goodbye" and closes. I tried without android auto and I must say the voice recognisiton is really poor. it understands hardly anything. I didn't find any option to set the default voice assistant to Google. This must be the most useless feature of the vehicle

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_093829.jpg
Vehicle info settings

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_093806.jpg
Vehicle alert settings

I've turned on all alerts and the car says "Good morning, Good afternoon and Good evening" depending on the time. some of my friends have been spooked out
Other alerts like low fuel and seat belt warning is good but creates panic. "Fasten your seatbelt" message and the beeps start real quick and are continuous. Many times I have a habit of slowly getting out of the parking lot and slowly fastening the seat belt, but this doesn't give time. So I'm now getting into a habit of putting on the seat belts first even before starting the car.
The low fuel warning creates even more panic. doesn't give enough time...till the range is 34kms it doesn't say anything. then suddenly, it beeps once and the "fuel low, refuel immediately" message plays and range figure vanishes.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_093709.jpg
Fuel economy

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_093720.jpg
Trip mileage

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_093756.jpg
Refuel mileage

The fuel economy screens and especially the refuel mileage is nicely done and one of my favourites. Every time the vehicle is turned off and the fuel cap is opened, it takes that as a refuel and calculated the fuel efficiency for a full tank (minus fuel already present). May not be 100% accurate but pretty close to 100% I've seen. I had this habit for other cars too but for this it's even more recommended to fill full tank till auto cutoff every time.

I found out the connection between the fuel cap, vehicle start and this calculation once at a fuel station where I stopped and opened the cap. but the attendant requested me to move to another pump as there was some issue. he closed the fuel lid and then I drove to the adjacent pump. there again I opened the fuel lid and that's when I saw another entry here with blank FE figure

Driving the 1.5 AT

The Alpha variant is equipped with keyless entry & go. To start the car, slot into P, depress the brakes and press the start/stop button. The car starts silently when I press the start stop button and it starts idling at around 1000rpm and settles nicely at around 700rpm. The 1.5L, 4-cylinder engine pumps out 103 horses and 134 Nm torque @ 4,000 rpm. Weighing 1.2tonnes, the Jimny feels inadequately powered. There is a blue thermometer tell-tale for some minutes showing that the engine is still cold. After that it disappears (I'd have preferred a temperature reading on the MID). Slot into D or R and there is a small jerk in the beginning. This jerk is felt more when engine is cold. Gearshifts are quite smooth compared to an AMT and then it’s no match for a DSG. Anyway, both are incorrect comparisons IMO; for a TC, this is quite good.

In the city the car is very easy to maneuverer with its small dimensions. Throttle response, low speed drive ability and low end power is satisfactory for normal city driving. Thanks to BBMP we Bengalureans have access to some amazing off-road tracks. My wife is now happy that she need not worry about the roads and can just coast along. Initially she was feeling the car is big (comapared to Alto) but now she is as confident as she was with the Alto. Her one major complaint is that the driver seat lacks height adjustment. She is not tall and would’ve enjoyed this option. Steering is heavier than usual turning radius is bigger than other cars of this size. The long turning radius is something you’ve to get used to but people who’ve driven bigger cars can do it easily.

On the Highway, it tends to shift down quite quickly and doesn’t continue in 4th even with a small reduction in speed. It doesn’t stay is 1st also for long. On the highway, higher gears are sorely missed, and power seems inadequate. The AT is not for sporty drivers. Overtakes need lot of planning. A sports mode or option to change gears manually would’ve been so much better. That said, the vehicle cruises comfortably at 100kmph which is good enough for me. Anything beyond 110kmph is like a stretch and the engine doesn’t like it.

Brakes are adequate and stop the car quite well. The ABS is quite sensitive, and I can feel it a lot compared to my Polo.
Talking about sensitive, the most sensitive part is the Wiper stalk. Especially on highways, when we drive over section where there is a sudden change is road surface level (1 or 2 inches), like a junction to a bridge or a freshly laid tar which is not smoothly transitioned, the wiper stalk is switched on!
Another sensitive one is the Auto headlamp. It is so sensitive that it turns on an off even for shadows of trees! I hence keep it off.
Another feature that is sensitive (or we can call it aggressive)

Cruise control is helpful. I generally put it at 90kph and it just goes on smoothly. Cruising at 100 leads to frequent gear changes which is not a good experience. Another thing I noticed is that the cruise control works only above 40kph only. Cruise control on my Polo works at 20kph and above.

Off the road, With rigid axle suspensions and shift-on-the-fly 4WD system with 3 modes the Jimny is a really capable machine. The 2H 4H 4L can be selected from the "second gear" or "special gear" as people call it. While 2H is a RWD for the normal roads, 4H (slightly difficult terrain) and 4L (extreme terrain) is for off road. Engaging to 4H or 4L is shown on the MID with a 4wd symbol telltale in green. 2H to 4H can be done on the fly at low speeds but just pulling the small lever back. Shifting from 4H to 4L needs the vehicle to be in N and then push the transfer case lever and then pull it further back. You can literally feel the car get grippier. With a brake limited slip differential, hill descent control and hill hold assist, you've a good level of driver assistance. The approach angle of 36 degrees, departure angle of 50 degrees and a ramp break-over angle of 24 degrees are all impressive for a stock vehicle. Due to an overall lower GC (210mm) than Thar and Gurkha, Water-wading depth of ~300 mm is also low. A snorkel will increase this by a good margin. Even with no underbody protection, the components are fairly well packaged and protected compared to Gypsy. Whatever off-road conditions I've taken this to, it has come out impressing me... with each passing day, I understand more and more why this is called a mountain goat.

Cabin is pretty silent and noise is well controlled. with AT tyres and a snorkel I've actually increased the noise but windows up, not much is heard. in 3rd gear the car tried to lug sometimes and this makes a noise. This is amplified by the snorkel. Either depressing the throttle or letting it go is the only option to get rid of this noise.

Kitna deti hain?

This is not the question to be asked for this vehicle. and honestly speaking, I'm not interested. But for the records, here is how much I'm spending on fuel...
The 1.5L AT has an ARAI rated FE of 16.39 kpl.
Pre-throttle control install, city FE I was getting was around 11.5kpl and the best highway FE I got was 13kpl. This was mostly with AC on.
Post-throttle controller install, I have always driven in the ultimate mode and driving it more spiritedly which definitely has had an impact. Within city, I'm getting an FE of 10.5kpl and on highway I'm getting around 11.5kpl. Off-road the FE was around 8.5kpl which is acceptable I feel.
Due to this, overall average FE was 11.6kmpl till the throttle controller was installed and currently the overall avg FE has gone down to 11kpl

Overall, it is a good all-rounder of a vehicle. Easy to drive in city with all creature comforts, Comfortable for 4 people on highways with sedate driving, Capable off roader for some adventure. Unlike Gypsy or Thar, this can be a daily-driver and the only car in the house without any worries.

Last edited by hemanth.anand : 1st January 2024 at 11:59.
hemanth.anand is offline   (35) Thanks
Old 28th December 2023, 17:01   #5

Modifications So far...

Similar to a Gypsy, the mod potential of Jimny is infinite. No two Gypys are same they say...same applies to Jimny as well. Me buying accessories and planning for mods started even before the car arrived!

Starting June itself, after the test drive was done, I started browsing websites for accessories in different countries and started to look out for friends who are returning from other countries. I saw good accessories in USA, Japan and Australia (understandably so)

Early July a relative was coming from US. Based on their available luggage space, I ordered a mobile holder, Cup holder and under bonnet insulation from Amazon website.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_162907.jpg
Cup holder- This really helps keep the bottle/cup cool with AC on.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_161853.jpg
Under-bonnet insulation

The one thing I hated was the grille, so I got the Suzuki mesh grille in August from Bluegarage Bengaluru. There were three options. I didn’t want to go overboard too much...so I didn’t pick the sporty HUGE SUZUKI grill. I liked the Cursive Suzuki grille too but the below one looked the best to me and I bought it. I got it installed on Day2.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230910_093008.jpg
The Sierra Grille

I found some accessories on Amazon India website. I ordered the rear defogger wire cover, door handle storage, rear seat belt buckle, rear bumper tread/sill plates, gear lever floor tray and a screenguard for the ICE screen. These arrived 4-5 before the vehicle delivery. I installed it myself after the car reached home.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_161117.jpg
Seat belt buckle dummy....because of MSIL's idiotic design/cost cutting, I've ended up buying this

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_160542.jpg
Door handle storage

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_160857.jpg
Hooks in the boot

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_162434.jpg
Floor tray

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230909_113857.jpg
Rear defogger exposed connection. Cheap by MSIL

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_160645.jpg
covers to protect the wire

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_160831.jpg
Bumper Tread plate. Prevents scratches while loading into the boot
During waterless wash/detailing, the paint on this sill plate reacted with some chemical and paint is wiped off. I have to get this painted after some time.

A week before the delivery, I was talking to my friend (who owns the Gypsy) about changing tyres for the Jimny. I told that I like the Geolander AT that is on the Gypsy. He then told that he was thinking of changing the steel wheels of his Gypsy and go for MT tyres. So we decided that I can take the Geolander AT tyres on the Gypsy from him and he can go for the MT tyres. We enquired around for the MT tyres and the wheels and finalised on the Maxxis Bighorn 764 MT which was available at Tyre professionals, Basavanagudi.

Since the Jimny was delivered on Friday evening, the first thing I did on Saturday morning was to go and get the tyres changed. Along with some friends, we drove to Tyre professionals. Gypsy got a new steel wheel and MT tyres. Jimny got the Geolander AT tyres from the Gypsy. The stock tyres of Jimny and the stock wheels of the Gypsy were bought back by the dealer.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-photo-collage-maker_2023_12_31_07_52_29.jpg
Tyre swap/upgrade at Tyre Professionals Basavanagudi

The same day I went to Swastikfabs where I got the under body guard and limb riser

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230909_150959.jpg
Under body guard insatallation

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230910_084049.jpg
Limb risers

The next day I went to 3M for front windshield CR70 application. When I went there, they entered the vehicle details and gave me a quote of 13k. (I had paid 11k for my Polo some years ago and so initially I felt ok). Soon, I realized that the windshield of my Jimny and I asked them to relook at the pricing. But they told Jimny falls under medium car and the pricing is 13k. I told them that the windshield is as small as an alto or even smaller, but they told they don’t price it like that. There was a Baleno and an Alto and I got them to measure to show the difference. Baleno windshield is way bigger. Then they told they can’t charge per square feet as it comes in precut sizes. I asked if they give me the remainder of the film. They told no. This really angered me, and I told them that this is unethical and unfair. They should either charge per area consumed or give me the remainder film. The executive there called her supervisor and then unwillingly agreed that they will give the remaining film. I agreed and got the front windshield film installed. The remainder was big enough to install on the windshield again which I later got it installed in another shop.

The same evening, I took the Alto and Jimny together and got the DDPAI dashcam from the alto removed and put into the Jimny. The Ganesha idol too was transferred from the alto to the Jimny

I also ordered a printed copy of the user manual from Printster. very happy with how the print has come. Soft copy has it's advantages but a hard copy is something that is really important IMO

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231230_132925.jpg
User manual

Jaspreet Sahani from Harman impex - The seller on Amazon from whom I had ordered a few accessories then called me to check if I’m interested in more accessories. He told that he will share more accessories that he has not put on Amazon and I can order directly from him. I asked him to send. From the list I ordered a mobile holder, Bonnet struts, armrest and Chassis hole plugs. These were shipped on 15th September and reached me some days later.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-photo-collage-maker_2023_12_31_08_08_45.jpg
Arm rest with Storage

On 15th Sep, Vijay from Swastikfabs informed that the Snorkel is in stock. I went and got it installed the same day. The same day I also changed the tail lamps. This just takes the rear looks of the Jimny to a whole new level.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-untitled.jpg
Functional Snorkel

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230918_110849.jpg
Connections inside

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230916_133046.jpg
Smoked Tail lamp daytime look

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-vid20231112wa0034-frame-0m4s.jpg
G-wagon'esque night time look.

By this time, the wheel hub cap I had ordered from Boodmo arrived. I put this hub cap to complete the look after the wheel cover was removed

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_0932571.jpg
Hub cap

On 19th of September, When I was installing all the accessories that I had ordered from Harman impex, I realised that the bonnet struts can be installed only when there is no snorkel. The snorkel obstructs the strut. I informed Jaspreet and he happily agreed to take it back.

A month later I ordered few accessories from Amazon Japan. That included 2 mobile/gorpo mounts, driver side additional convex mirror, Smoked DRL indicators, smoked fender indicators, keyhole covers, door edge protector and passenger side grab handle storage pieces. Apart from the DRL indicators, I installed all others myself.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_162102.jpg
Smoked Indicators/DRL

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231230_145011.jpg
You can see the the smoked fender indicator, Keyhole covers, door edge protector

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_160556.jpg
passenger grab handle storage

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_082644.jpg
Convex additional mirror

In November, After having driven the Jimny for close to 5k+ kms, It was quite evident that the factory tuning of Jimny is not really the best. More so on normal road conditions. I had no complaints about the off-road performance. My wife who generally doesn’t bother too much came and told me that overtaking is a pain. For me the absence of a manual mode or a sports mode was a put off. I started to look out for options. ECU tuning is something I am vary about and reliable tuning for Jimny wasn’t available either. So I decided that a plug an play Throttle controller is the best option. It is an easy fix and can be removed anytime. On Australian forums, I read a lot of positive reviews about Ultimate9 EVCX throttle controller. I read through it and by that time many fellow TBHPians also got it installed. A friend of mine was returning from Australia and I ordered it through him and on Dec 1st, I got it in my hands. The install hardly took 5mins and I did it myself. I used a magnetic mobile holder to fix it on the left side behind the steering wheel

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_094333.jpg
Throttle controller display module

After the installation, the car changed a lot. It is a lot more fun to drive, the different modes are good. The Ultimate9 mode was the sports mode I was looking for. Gear changes are more smoother and downshifts are slightly delayed. The valet mode and lock mode gave additional peace of mind. This is how the car should’ve been in the first place. The mode and sensitivity can be controlled/changed using the two buttons or your mobile phone using bluetooth

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-screenshot_20231231_124909_ultimate9-tc.jpg
Control on the mobile app

Next, I ordered some more accessories from the Amazon Japan website. LED fog lamp, a Lamp mounted on the spare wheel mount, LED interior lamps and number plate lamps and the gear positions indicator LED. With this all the lights in the car are now LEDs

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_095316.jpg
LED Foglamp (Also you can see the DRL indicators)

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-photo-collage-maker_2023_12_31_08_11_03.jpg
Reverselight / rear work light.

I added a switch for this light instead of connecting directly to the reverse gear. Looking for a better switch though. Also you can see the smoked HMSL here

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231231_093612.jpg
Cabin LEDs- The same for the central roof lamp and the bot lamp

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231229_092134.jpg
Gear position LED (not equally lit but something is better than nothing)

Last edited by hemanth.anand : 1st January 2024 at 15:11.
hemanth.anand is offline   (36) Thanks
Old 28th December 2023, 17:16   #6

The journey so far

As I write this, the car has crossed 8200kms (in just under three months).

A week after the delivery, I had taken the car to Chikkamagaluru. It was raining quite a bit in that area and driving in the wet paths inside a private estate was fun and gave me a good idea of the capabilities of the vehicle.

As much as The AT gearbox irritates you on highways, it performs quite well off-road I must say. The only improvement probably I felt was that the Engine braking is not enough. Even in L (or 1st)…it just runs away downhill, and braking is needed more often that ideal. The Hill descent to some extent aids the driver in such scenarios but that is still using brakes. Talking about hill descent control, it works only when 4WD is engaged. I would’ve preferred it to work in 2WD too.

The small dimensions of the Jimny is really is a gift. It can go in narrow paths and no doubt the Jimny is called a mountain goat. For this trip, we had taken a friend’s Thar Petrol AT with all off-road mods and a well-kitted Gypsy too. This really gave all of us a good idea about the capabilities of all three vehicles. On the highway, Gypsy cruises at 80-90kmph, Jimny cruises at 100-110kmph and the Thar was cruising at around 120kmph. Although the Thar was powerful and could go even higher, pushing it beyond 110kmph was not very confidence inspiring. Comfort wise, the Jimny was the most comfortable for the passengers and the Gypsy was the least comfortable for passengers. Off-road, all 3 vehicles are probably equal in terms of capabilities. Whatever moderate situations we took the vehicle through, all 3 of them did it like a cakewalk.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230916_122109.jpg
the Buffalo and the Goat

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230916_132947.jpg
Which one do you like?

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230916_180001.jpg
The OG joins

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-img_20230917_111228.jpg
Green

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-img_20230917_112416.jpg
Red

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-facebook_1704021901990_7147185879607189490.jpg
Splash!

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230917_120325.jpg
Deep inside the woods

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230917_114335.jpg
Black boys!

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230917_121205.jpg
Terrific Three

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-img_20230917_130242.jpg
The three musketeers

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20230917_130304.jpg
Awesome Threesome

3 weeks after delivery, my brother-in-law took the Jimny to Goa. With 4 people onboard they were comfortable for such a long journey

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-img20231229wa0073.jpg
Go Goa Goat!

End of October, I also drove to Dharwad which was fully a highway drive. While it was just amazing, I felt the need of a 5th gear. I drove quite sedately with cruise control on most of the times. Overtaking needed lot of planning but overall, it was satisfactory. I got the Highest FE so far of 13kmpl during this trip

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231101_000651.jpg
Best FE till date!

Beginning of December, Kalyani motors had organized a test drive event for potential customers. One of my friends who was interested in the Jimny called me and informed about the event. I called up and registered for it.
It was a off-road training track and we could drive Jimnys around. The track included getting up and down steep gradients, Through water pools and slush and rocky terrain, some paths that gave us an idea about articulation etc. It was a basic track but it gave a good idea of the vehicle. My friend was so impressed with the car that the booking was made immediately. By this time the discount offer had been announced and it was a sweet deal.

In the event, I requested the organizers that I want to drive my Jimny rather than the test Jimnys and after some time, they agreed. When the test vehicles which were all stock could do it, my car with the AT tyres went through like a breeze.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-dsc07403.jpg
Let's go swimming

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-dsc07405.jpg
Water wading

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-dsc07409.jpg
Out of the pool

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-videocapture_20231231173455.jpg
Gradient climb

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-dsc07393.jpg
Slush!

Below is the video from the dashcam (speed increased by 4x)

3rd week of December, I went to my native village in Sakaleshpura and also visited some relatives in Chikkamagaluru. I drove through some paths inside relatives' Coffee estates and everyone were impressed by how the Jimny performed.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231224_181807.jpg
On top of a hill

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231224_180032.jpg
Sunset

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231225_075122.jpg
Divine

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231224_150036.jpg
Shorty among the tall

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-img_20231225_214255_622.jpg
River crossing

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231224_144025.jpg
Cooling off a bit

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231224_093326.jpg
Deep in the green

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231224_081811.jpg
Out on the open fields

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231224_081221.jpg
Make your own road!

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231224_083221.jpg
Morning walk

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231223_120152.jpg
Black pepper

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231225_075631.jpg
Black Coffee

Last edited by hemanth.anand : 1st January 2024 at 15:16.
hemanth.anand is offline   (53) Thanks
Old 31st December 2023, 15:29   #7

Service experience

Being an MSIL car, there are no dearth of service centres. The closest one to my home is 2kms away and I’ve got the vehicle serviced there. The first service was for 1000kms or 1month. It is nothing but a water wash and I had this completed 2 weeks after delivery.
Less than two months from the delivery date, 5th of November, I completed the second free service of 5000kms or 6months also. There was hardly anything to be done in this service too. Both of these services were more of inspection and water wash than anything else.

The experience w.r.t ease of booking and door-step pickup and delivery has been wonderful, but the quality of work has not been great. The water wash quality was below average. During the dealer level feedback call, I gave this feedback and all I got was, “Please give excellent rating when you get call from MSIL, we will give you a free wash next time you visit us.”!

Issues faced so far:

At a signal, my wife accidentally touched a two-wheeler in front when the signal turned green. the number plates of both vehicles got stuck. Since this was at idle speed, there was no damage other than a bent number plate and a broken number plate frame. With HSRPs, if we have to place an order online for a replacement plate, we need an FIR. Since the scratches were minimal, I didn’t bother. Replaced the frame and installed the number plate at the service centre when it went for the second service.

Last week when I was driving, I was driving slowly into a temple parking lot with upward gradient. It was probably at less than 20kph. Suddenly the car switched off. I initially thought it was the start/stop system at work. However soon I realized that it was not the case, my foot was not at all on the brake pedal. The car started rolling back a bit. I braked and accelerated again. Nothing happened. I then slotted into P and pressed the start button. The car started but it cranked for longer before it started (like how it happens at the first cold morning start). Not sure what was the reason but this was the first time I experienced something like that not just in this car but in any Automatic I’ve owned/driven. Should get this checked.

On 31st of December, I was driving on a highway near home. I probably was at around 40kph behind a truck. Suddenly I heard a "tak" noise and as I feared, a stone had come flying from the truck and hit the windshield leaving a chip. Since the windshield is more vertical than other cars, even at this speed, there was a chip. Fortunately, it is a small one and not directly inline of the driver's sight. I'm leaving it as it is for now.

To summarize

Overall, I’m very happy with the vehicle (except that I paid more than current/correct pricing). It’s been a good all rounder – The right mix of Comfort and Capability, Size and Style…It's been the vehicle that I always wanted to have. I now wish to go to that gradient in Kibithoo and see what's beyond.

This is the story of my JIMNY - Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No worrY.

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20231230_142643.jpg
Chota Gangsta

Last edited by hemanth.anand : 1st January 2024 at 15:25. Reason: typo
hemanth.anand is offline   (94) Thanks
Old 1st January 2024, 15:40   #8

re: Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT

Thread moved out from the Assembly Line. Thanks for sharing!
Aditya is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2024, 13:15   #9

Re: Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT

Exceptional, unbiased & detailed ownership reviews of cars have started going to our homepage reviews box. It's the ultimate stamp of trust from Team-BHP (as a platform) because lakhs of visitors every month check out reviews from there & make purchase decisions.

Your review has also been included here. Thank you so much for sharing .

Name:  MJAT.png
Views: 1521
Size:  540.5 KB
Aditya is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2024, 13:35   #10

Awesome Review Hemanth!! really enjoyed your writeup....
Indraneel Bhat is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2024, 13:40   #11

Congratulations Hemant. Wishing you many miles of mud, sand, dirt and awesome vistas. Thanks for this detailed review of the mountain goat

Last week when I was driving, I was driving slowly into a temple parking lot with upward gradient. It was probably at less than 20kph. Suddenly the car switched off. I initially thought it was the start/stop system at work. However soon I realized that it was not the case, my foot was not at all on the brake pedal.
While researching throttle controllers, I came across few reviews where folks had posted about similar issue. Their trucks (Toyotas IIRC) went into limp mode while climbing/crawling uphill. Turned out to be faulty throttle controller that was causing this behaviour and after replacing/removing the controller, everything was back to normal. Do check if your evcX is the culprit.

Last edited by procrj : 2nd January 2024 at 13:44.
procrj is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2024, 15:33   #12

Hi, the mods are looking great. where did you get the convex mirror from? I am looking for a similar one. Could you please share any link?
sid18 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2024, 16:57   #13

What a wonderful write up Hemanth.

Congratulations on your new mountain goat. I love the way you have done up your Jimny tastefully rather than going overboard with mods. I went with the same mindset when doing up my Thar.

Nice to see that you are using your car the way it is meant to be. And I must compliment on the wonderful photos. One of the best sets I've seen on the Jimny.

Wish you many happy miles and adventures with your 4x4. Would be awesome to drive together if I land up in Bangalore with my Thar someday.
Dippy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2024, 17:55   #14

Nice review Hemanth, well put together.

The mods and accessories are looking great.

I just got one recently in the same color and added the roof rack and ladder. The roof rack gives the car a bit more height, however sometimes i feel its a bit overkill and negates the cuteness of the Jimny to a certain extent. It also gets some wind noise while going downhill at around 80km and above. Will see if I will retain it. I didn't get the grill with the SUZUKI logo in, instead with a chrome "S" which i didn't fit. Without the logo it looks a bit plane, I'm looking for a SUZUKI logo (loose) to fit in the grill.

Regarding the color i find the bluish black to be the most ideal. This is also due to the fact that being black, the exposed bare metal panels from inside the car are masked to a certain extent, which in some lighter colors feels cheap and out of place. We do not see much exposed metal from inside in modern cars.

Meanwhile I got a message from my SA that Maruti is no more offering any discounts in the Jimny. So the sales are likely to go down again.

Wishing you many happy miles...
Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-19.jpg  

Jungle, Interstate or Metro…No Worry | The story of our Maruti Jimny AT-20.jpg  

Catamaran is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2024, 18:15   #15

Congrats Hemanth and that is quite a detailed review. How are the mods holding up and do you have any buyers remorse on some of them?

How does your wife like the car?

Lastly you do look like Team Bhps own Rishab Shetty
maddy42 is offline   (1) Thanks