Old 26th September 2024, 11:45   #211

Re: Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/65k km up

70,000 km & 35 months of Joyful Ownership

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20240925_145924309_hdr-1.jpg

It has been exactly 35 months since Altroz got to my garage. I have completed the 70,000 km milestone. Thanks to Storme, Punch and Celerio that the monthly average has been 2000 km for Altroz, or else it would have clocked 1 lakh km now.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20240925_145952677_hdr-1-1.jpg

Totally satisfied and happy with the car. There has been no issues except for the AC recirculation motor which was replaced under warranty, twice. The new motor has been working perfectly for the last 20000 km.

I have replaced windshield due to hear crack in the Year 2. Battery was replaced a few months ago. The stock Goodyears were replaced with Continental UC6s at the 50,000 km mark. Completely satisfied with the tyre performance too.

Fuel efficiency has always been excellent. I am using Xtragreen diesel predominantly (3 refills xtragreen and the 4th will be normal diesel and the cycle repeats).

Overall FE for 70,000 km : 17.75 kmpl

For my kind of driving, 18 kmpl is amazing FE!

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-screenshot_20240926113123-1.png

This year saw very less usage of Altroz as I was suffering/recovering from a weight lifting injury that affected my lowerback. Naturally, I was using Storme more. I have driven Altroz more in the last few months.

Completed just 10,000 km this year as of now

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-screenshot_20240926113131.png

Monthly usage stats for the last few months
Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-screenshot_20240926113450.png

You can see the usage graph slump in 2024
Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-screenshot_20240926113443-1.png

To mark the 70,000 km milestone, I gave a nice wash and Wax to the Altroz.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20240922_164942210.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20240922_170707210.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20240922_171215567.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20240922_175600041.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20240922_180426285.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20240922_181033516.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20240922_180946291.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20240923_191408839.jpg

The car still looks fresh out of showroom floor. It will be 3 years old in November.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20240820_192344395.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20240918_093724738_hdr.jpg

At my favourite highway stop

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20240921_190915244.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20240924_094350798_hdr.jpg

With a nice grey harrier

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20240923_071821251.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20240923_071655399_hdr.jpg

Next update will be after the 75,000 km service.

Originally Posted by SaiSW View Post
I think this is the best looking hatch in the market currently, especially in that red shade.

Another thing on my mind after seeing the Racer was if it's possible to retrofit the new 10 inch stereo to the regular Altroz models. Should be relatively straightforward I suppose, since dashboard design is mostly the same?

The current small stereo is a huge turn off for me. I don't want a 55 inch TV on the dashboard but they should have updated the Altroz by now considering the competition.

Same thoughts regarding the front ventilated seats. I think it would be a boon especially in southern states like ours.

Have you talked to the dealership about either, whether they are open to doing a retrofit? I once saw an early MY Tiago with the later MY XZ+ stereo with Android auto. The work was done at the dealership itself.

Drive safe,

Sai.
Thank you!

Indeed the best looking hatch!

I am happy with the 7 inch ICE. But ventilated seats would be a nice addition though. Personally I won't risk that job with the ASC. Will ask them though and let you know.

Originally Posted by amol4184 View Post
The best looking and the worst looking in one picture. Don't know what Maruti abomination that is, but its worse than S-presso.
Haha! I happen to own them both. It's the updated Celerio. A nice little car apt for city usage. Gives terrific FE too. I have driven it 25,000 km and it's flawless in city. But looks department needs some work though. Lol.

Here with my Punch.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20240725_065213132_hdr.jpg

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 26th September 2024 at 11:54.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (30) Thanks
Old 26th September 2024, 12:23   #212

Re: Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 35 months/70k km upda

Brilliant! I have the iTurbo and have the same AC recirculation issue. Any idea what the part number is? My car is out of warranty, so have to pay from my pocket for it.

I am happy with the 7 inch ICE. But ventilated seats would be a nice addition though. Personally I won't risk that job with the ASC. Will ask them though and let you know.
From what I've heard, the new ICE can't be fitted to older Altroz/Punch because the wiring is different. I'm sure there can be a workaround, but messing with electricals is something that I don't want to risk!

I did come across this aftermarket ventilated seat set-up for the Altroz, but unsure about how effective or comfortable it is.

SavoyWalrus is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th September 2024, 08:12   #213

Re: Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 35 months/70k km upda

Indeed a treat to read reviews of your Altroz. The car is a keeper. Wishing many more happy 000's miles.
gauravdgr8 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th October 2024, 15:38   #214

Have a question on iRA app. Just noticed that it’s showing airbag error in the app, however I don’t see any warning lamps on in the dashboard. Have you seen something like this?
Old 20th November 2024, 11:47   #215

75,000 km Service Update

Last oil change was at 60,000 km ten months ago. Altroz usage hasn't been very high this year. Since Tata uses 0W20 engine oil, I didn't want to drive another 2000 km to give it for 75,000 km service. So, I had sent the car for service at the 73,000 km mark a couple of weeks ago. I am also planning to do oil changes every 10,000 km from now on.

Odo : 73,000 km

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20241119_211725972-1.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20241016_101337920.jpg

Service bill was a hefty 14k. Service advisor called me and told that the rear brake shoe had worn out and would need replacement. I asked for a pic as the braking was excellent as always.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-screenshot_20241119221418-1.png

He sent me these photos. I do feel the brake lining still had a few thousand kilometres in them. But since they have opened them up, I gave them the go for new brake lining.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img20241016wa0040.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img20241016wa0041.jpg

Engine oil, oil filter, fuel filter were all replaced. Wheel alignment and balancing was also done. The car felt a lot smoother. Ofcourse it was running on a 13,000 km and ten months old oil in it.

Post Service pics

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20241016_181307938.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20241016_181253408.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20241111_184523317.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20241111_185020127.jpg

Fuel efficiency seemed to improve after the oil replacement. The Altroz diesel wouldn't drop below 18 kmpl irrespective of how it is driven.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-screenshot_20241120112644-1.png

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-screenshot_20241120112538-2.png

I keep shuffling between my 4 rides, specially the Altroz and Safari Storme often. The Punch gets very less attention clocking just about 500 km a month. While I am trying hard to make sure all cars get used regularly, my brother has also given me his brand new Harrier AT so that I use it for a few months and get the engine settled in.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20241014_073624236.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img20241119wa0132.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20241119_081336619_hdr.jpg

Currently I am using a varied range of tatas

Two Alfa Arc cars - 1.5L turbo diesel & 1.2L N/A Petrol MT
1 Omega Arc - 2.0L Turbo diesel AT
1 Modified X2 platform - 2.2L Turbo diesel MT

Among all these cars, the steering I love the most is Altroz, be it aesthetically or ergonomically or in terms of feel and feedback. Meanwhile, it also has the suspension that makes me feel the bad roads the most. Lol.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20241023_153910035_hdr.jpg

A few pics from this year's Ayudha Pooja
Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20241011_084045029_hdr.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20241011_084049499_hdr.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20241011_182625973.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20241011_180903419.jpg

Signing off with a pic of two gorgeous Tata cars

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img20241120wa0042.jpg

With the Altroz Racer which seems to have become a flop

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20241104_093658844-1.jpg

No issues to report. Altroz diesel continues to chug along as a perfect workhorse

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 20th November 2024 at 11:51.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (42) Thanks
Old 20th November 2024, 11:59   #216

Originally Posted by gauravdgr8 View Post
Indeed a treat to read reviews of your Altroz. The car is a keeper. Wishing many more happy 000's miles.
Thank you Gaurav

Originally Posted by asr_b500 View Post
Have a question on iRA app. Just noticed that it’s showing airbag error in the app, however I don’t see any warning lamps on in the dashboard. Have you seen something like this?
IRA has a mind of its own. Just reboot the app or restart the car, it will go away.
Old 21st November 2024, 10:21   #217

Re: Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update

You need to insist on using the right grade of oil. 0W20 is not meant for your diesel Altroz. Either they should stock the right spec oil or you take the right spec oil to the service center. It is not OK to use a lower grade oil just because the service center does not have a higher-grade oil.
Old 21st November 2024, 10:42   #218

Re: Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update

Originally Posted by sagarpadaki View Post
You need to insist on using the right grade of oil. 0W20 is not meant for your diesel Altroz. Either they should stock the right spec oil or you take the right spec oil to the service center. It is not OK to use a lower grade oil just because the service center does not have a higher-grade oil.
Tata uses OW20 even for the Harrier twins. They won't entertain oil that we bring. For my usage, 0W20 is ok for 10000 km.
Old 21st November 2024, 10:47   #219

Originally Posted by PrasannaDhana View Post
Tata uses OW20 even for the Harrier twins. They won't entertain oil that we bring. For my usage, 0W20 is ok for 10000 km.
Does the user manual mention it is OK to use 0W20? If not, then it means that the engine tolerances are not tight enough to use 0W20.
sagarpadaki is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st November 2024, 11:03   #220

Originally Posted by sagarpadaki View Post
Does the user manual mention it is OK to use 0W20? If not, then it means that the engine tolerances are not tight enough to use 0W20.
0W20 is the OE recommended oil grade. They have been using the same since first oil change.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img20241121wa0032.jpg

I mentioned my concern about the 0W20 only this time because it has taken me 11 months to get it replaced. In the past, I would complete 15000 km every 6 months and the oil will get replaced every 6 months.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st November 2024, 15:51   #221

75,000 km Service Update

Service bill was a hefty 14k.
It seems that there are several items which have been added to inflate the bill
1. Wash and Vaccum 795 Rs (Even though they have charged 2275 Rs for major service)
2. Rear brake liner fitment charges for Rs 1416 (Again rear brake drums are opened and cleaned as a part of service)
3. Battery Diagnosis 236 Rs
4. Diagnosis Charges 24 * 7 (What a line item!!) 900 Rs

Don't know why SC add such items even though their charges are higher than FNG and no discount on parts (which one gets outside).
PraNeel is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st November 2024, 16:05   #222

Originally Posted by PraNeel View Post
It seems that there are several items which have been added to inflate the bill
1. Wash and Vaccum 795 Rs (Even though they have charged 2275 Rs for major service)
2. Rear brake liner fitment charges for Rs 1416 (Again rear brake drums are opened and cleaned as a part of service)
3. Battery Diagnosis 236 Rs
4. Diagnosis Charges 24 * 7 (What a line item!!) 900 Rs

Don't know why SC add such items even though their charges are higher than FNG and no discount on parts (which one gets outside).
I paid it before checking the bill only to find many extra charges added. I usually ask them to drop the car home and just UPI the amount before I see the bill.

A lesson to go through service bills point by point before paying them.

With my next service (Safari Storme), I denied battery diagnosis and asked them to remove diagnostic charges. They did. Ended up saving some 1200 and also availed the gold club membership discount which shaved another 1400 off the bill.

It's a fact that dealerships earn more in service than in sales.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st November 2024, 16:19   #223

A lesson to go through service bills point by point before paying them.
Please go through the line items in the estimate itself and let the service start after your approval only. At the end of the service with bill generated there are slim chances of getting these removed, with the excuse that "Sir we have already carried out the mentioned activity"
PraNeel is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th November 2024, 11:39   #224

We had a small TeamBHP meet up at Trichy. BHPians Rahul, Rajaguru, Srikanth and Swami rode on their BMW 850GS, Kawasaki Versys 1000, BMW 1300 GS and brand new BMW 900 GS(TN's first) respectively.

I drove the Altroz to the dhaba with them. It was just a 70 km to and from drive for me.
A few pics

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20241124_114408177.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20241124_114900463_hdr.jpg

The 900GS was still in run-in period

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20241124_114041451.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20241124_114508889.jpg

Thanks to Rahul for this footage

Name:  InShot_20241126_113805972.gif
Views: 224
Size:  5.97 MB

Srikanth rode from Bangalore, while the other three rode from Chennai.

Altroz is in hibernation as I am enjoying this big boy for daily work trips

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img_20241126_093737459_hdr.jpg

There is going to be a new addition to my garage. I recently sold my 2021 Celerio. It's the only car that I didn't even care to start an ownership thread here. A 2024 Swift Dzire in black shade will be replacing the celerio as a tertiary car.

Celerio was uneventful and uninteresting. But reliable for the 3 years and 25000 km we used it.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 75,000 km update-img20241123wa0027.jpg

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 26th November 2024 at 11:54.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 21:08   #225

I drove the Altroz to the dhaba with them. It was just a 70 km to and from drive for me.
Hey, this place looks so familiar. Is this the Punjabi dhaba on the Trichy-Madurai highway, near Viralimalai?
Our friends and I used to have unplanned night rides/drives to the dhaba back in the day in Trichy.
TurboDocRx is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com