Old 25th October 2021, 12:27   #406

Re: My Facelifted Jeep Compass S Diesel Automatic 4x4 (Galaxy Blue)

Originally Posted by RealAbhinavRajp View Post
Hey Sehkar - Congrats on your car delivery.

How much did you pay for the 9H ceramic coating and PPF on bumper? Do you see a long term difference when doing ceramic coating? Is it worth doing. I have been thinking of doing the same but wondering whether it's worth or not.

I paid a total of ₹ 40k. Long term difference, not quite there yet to comment. Its been all of 3 weeks since I got it done and the car does look great as of now. I was told that adhering to simple car wash instructions (no dry brushing, using car shampoo, using a bucket of water before/ after shampooing and wiping off excess water in straight line motion) and going back for periodic top up every 6 months (which is part of the package) should give the longevity.

I must say I was impressed with how the PPF helped with a graze on the rear side from a Seltos when I was turning left at a signal last weekend. I was able to wipe the white paint residue from the Seltos with water and there was no damage to my car (and the PPF film is still on).
shekar.ca is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th October 2021, 13:19   #407

Is anyone aware of any discounts going on for the Compass? I've booked the MG Astor, which is coming up to 22L on road Bangalore, so wondering if the Compass is a better buy if we can get some good discounts. Looking for the Petrol AT variant.

Also, have any existing Compass owners checked out the Astor? Keen to learn your thoughts on how the two cars compare.

Thanks in advance!
Naman_Ferrari is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th November 2021, 10:49   #408

Hi everyone…i bought the new Jeep Compass in May 2021 amidst the 2nd wave of the pandemic…have been looking forward to post my buying and experience since past few months…but haven’t been able to do it because I am a newbie to this elite group. Will be doing it very soon. I am planning a road trip to srikalahasti, Hyderabad and Bangalore from trivandrum. Please provide me some valuable suggestions. Thanks in advance.
Old 8th November 2021, 15:18   #409
pms

Recently saw some owners complaining in social media platforms about rattling noises from interiors in Compass with Jeep ASC unable to fix it. Do any of the owners here experience the same or have any other issues that service center is unable to help? I would like to consider Jeep Compass as my next buy if plans go well.
Old 8th November 2021, 20:27   #410

I am currently using XUV500 W8 AWD as my daily ride. Its been 7+ years and i am thinking of changing my ride. Have kept a budget of 25 to 30LPA. Have loved the look of Compass from the initial days, seriously considering it as one of the options.

Can experts JEEP Compass throw some light on the below points?

1. Is the rear seat able to accommodate 3 adults? I am told its not as wide as Tata Harrier.
2. I am based in Bangalore. How is the Jeep dealership & ASS experience here?
3. Looking at an Automatic this time. I am reading mixed reviews on the Automatic.. Some say good for City and bad for highway. What is your view?
4. Is the Compass AT better than Harrier AT?
5. What Fuel efficiency we can look at from Petrol & Diesel versions? I am looking at around 2000Km driving a month which works out to ~25,000km per year.
rave20 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th November 2021, 23:20   #411

Originally Posted by rave20 View Post
Have kept a budget of 25 to 30LPA.
Also depends on which trim of the Jeep Compass you would be looking at. Because in Bangalore the Limited AT Diesel would be 30+ L on road.
Old 9th November 2021, 07:10   #412

Originally Posted by MarutiGuy1977 View Post
Also depends on which trim of the Jeep Compass you would be looking at. Because in Bangalore the Limited AT Diesel would be 30+ L on road.
Petrol AT would be less than 30LPA. Is it worth it?
Old 9th November 2021, 07:23   #413

1. Is the rear seat able to accommodate 3 adults? I am told its not as wide as Tata Harrier.
3. Looking at an Automatic this time. I am reading mixed reviews on the Automatic.. Some say good for City and bad for highway. What is your view?
5. What Fuel efficiency we can look at from Petrol & Diesel versions? I am looking at around 2000Km driving a month which works out to ~25,000km per year.
The rear cannot accommodate 3 adults, it is simply not wide enough. But for two, it is a supremely comfortable place to be in. The bench itself has excellent support and legroom is good. But if you need to seat three on a regular basis, look elsewhere. Harrier/Safari will be more suited.

I’ll rate the Harrier’s AT to be superior to Jeep’s. Torque converter means better reliability and longevity. And it is very well mated to the engine. Jeep’s petrol engine has a bit of lag before the turbo spools and the DCT can’t work around it, it is something you have to get used to. No experience with the diesel AT

Jeep diesel automatic will not be within your budget. Petrol can be a decent option but the Diesel engine is the star. Then again, Tata is running the same engine.

Compass petrol gives 7-9kmpl in city conditions. My diesel manual compass averages around 13kmpl, so expect 11-12kmpl for the automatic. Harrier AT will also give similar mileage, +- 1kmpl.

A big advantage of the Harrier is boot space. Jeep’s boot is i20-Nexon sized, while Harrier can accommodate the entire family’s luggage for the holiday. Overall, Jeep is better from a driving perspective but Harrier is a better family car.
Shreyans_Jain is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 9th November 2021, 08:05   #414

Petrol AT would be less than 30LPA. Is it worth it?
"Worth" is a subjective term. Could be based on fuel efficiency, driving comfort, seating, boot space etc.

Shreyans has rightly called out the difference between the Jeep Compass and the Tata Harrier. Might I add Tata Safari and XUV 7OO to the mix. Perhaps even thr Hyundai Tuscon at that budget.

These cars give "more car per car" as compared to the Jeep Compass.

But at the same time the Jeep Compass (and Tuscon) scores over them in greater driving pleasure and being (relatively) niggle free.
Old 9th November 2021, 14:53   #415

Originally Posted by Shreyans_Jain View Post
The rear cannot accommodate 3 adults, it is simply not wide enough. But for two, it is a supremely comfortable place to be in. The bench itself has excellent support and legroom is good. But if you need to seat three on a regular basis, look elsewhere. Harrier/Safari will be more suited.

I’ll rate the Harrier’s AT to be superior to Jeep’s. Torque converter means better reliability and longevity. And it is very well mated to the engine. Jeep’s petrol engine has a bit of lag before the turbo spools and the DCT can’t work around it, it is something you have to get used to. No experience with the diesel AT

Jeep diesel automatic will not be within your budget. Petrol can be a decent option but the Diesel engine is the star. Then again, Tata is running the same engine.

Compass petrol gives 7-9kmpl in city conditions. My diesel manual compass averages around 13kmpl, so expect 11-12kmpl for the automatic. Harrier AT will also give similar mileage, +- 1kmpl.

A big advantage of the Harrier is boot space. Jeep’s boot is i20-Nexon sized, while Harrier can accommodate the entire family’s luggage for the holiday. Overall, Jeep is better from a driving perspective but Harrier is a better family car.
This really helps a lot.. You have cleared lot of my questions.. Initially i was looking for AT but considering my budget of 30LPA. I am thinking Diesel manual should be good enough.
rave20 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th November 2021, 08:04   #416

Originally Posted by Shreyans_Jain View Post

Thank you for putting it out in black and white here. I am in the market and have zeroed in on Compass Petrol Sport (INR 19.5 lakhs OTR) and Tata Safari XT (INR 20.5 lakhs OTR). It's a shame that Jeep doesn't provide something as basic as fog lamps in a 2 million rupees car.
The next higher variant is Longitude in Diesel, where one ends up paying minimum 3 lakhs extra and gets a 10 year life engine, for the want of fog lamps.
ManishSoni is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th November 2021, 19:31   #417

This really helps a lot.. You have cleared lot of my questions.. Initially i was looking for AT but considering my budget of 30LPA. I am thinking Diesel manual should be good enough.
Having discussed a detailed quote here in Bombay with them for the Petrol AT - it's nearly 27.9L with the extended warranty included etc and financing option benefits / insurance premium "discount" - but other than that.. nothing else.

The petrol motor is just not the same in terms of performance and feedback as the 2.0 Diesel and if you look at where they've positioned the Diesel MT Limited variant - it's actually almost the same or a shade cheaper than the Petrol AT.

The only big negatives to consider in mind are:
1. DPF management and clogging issues. I think the Jeep supports DPF auto cleaning only by being driven above a certain speed/engine rpm for 15/20 mins straight to clear the clogging. Idle regeneration is not an option with the Compass if I'm not wrong.
2. The MT's clutch wear. This along with the DPF issues must be factored with Mumbai's congestion (post covid traffic is insane these days with everyone out on their personal transport). Single digit/sub 50kmph 10 -20 meter stop go bumper to bumper can be a norm with a simple 10-12km distance taking more than 40mins to an hour easy. There have been reported cases on the Compass's clutch giving up rather early. So this is another worry.
3. The feature deletions here and there, most notably, the lack of cruise control on the MT variants even though they offer this in the export markets if I'm not wrong. In fact for what it's worth, our own market has cheaper MT cars from other brands which offer cruise control - so I seriously wonder what Jeep's management were thinking (Partha Datta in particular) when they decided to delete something that would probably be not more than a 10-15,000 Rs? I think someone said it may be possibler to source the OEM module from abroad (the Compass is actually exported to RHD markets around the world from here) and simply plug it in.
4. The multitude of fit,finish, quality and reliability niggles that seemed to be galore with the facelift more than the outgoing version which came across like Jeep rushed the product a bit. Complaints are all over their facebook owners groups, twitter etc. From battery issues, to finicky electronics, ICE/MID issues and the famous rattles and sounds from the dash.

Other than these 4 major areas, the Diesel is hand's down the more rewarding motor to get in my opinion.

I'm now hoping to wait out on the end of the year deals and discounts where they push inventory at lower prices to cushion the depreciation impact. Showroom folks are still adamant with their "Sir we're doing 1000+ a month, waiting times are high - no discounts" attitude. Landmark Jeep in particular are rather poor in customer orientation - which is another worry with this brand. The lack of dealer competition.

Given that all manufacturers are intent on milking profits with the rise in commodities and semiconductor shortages etc - It remains to be seen if Jeep will offer any deals on year end stock. If they do - it would be a no brainer to take it - because the current prices are just too much for what they offer.

With the Mahindra XUV700 killing it - I hope Jeep takes note soon before they're back to the usual 300 - 600 units every month. The XUV700 has some serious kit and performance on offer. The only downer being the 75,000+ booking pushing waiting periods to ridiculous levels, which ironically may again play to Jeep's advantage.

Of course manufacturers have also resorted to the annual "effective 01Jan price hikes" ruse which seeks to pre-empt potential buyers from waiting out on their decision because of year-end expectations. Sad but true!

Last edited by Vandit : 10th November 2021 at 19:40.
Vandit is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th November 2021, 18:01   #418

I am currently using XUV500 W8 AWD as my daily ride. Its been 7+ years and i am thinking of changing my ride. Have kept a budget of 25 to 30LPA. Have loved the look of Compass from the initial days, seriously considering it as one of the options.

Can experts JEEP Compass throw some light on the below points?

Hoping these few bits help in addition to other expert comments .

1. Seating 3 will not be as comfortable as some of the other competitors (Harrier / Safari and few others too) as the seats are actually designed keeping two passengers in mind which You will find obvious seeing the contours or the under thigh support.

2. I had an average experience with the Jeep dealership at Kanakpura road.You will enjoy the test drives though (they will come to any corner of the city any number of times). can check my experience on this thread .Post#354

3. MT is good for highways and somewhat for city(depending on your city kms/per day). Clutch is not as heavy as the one in Harrier which i drove last year while test driving.In Blore - they are a good ~4 Lakhs Cheaper than AT variants in Diesel - my major factor to 'zero-in' a MT .One thing You miss on MTs in Compass are Cruise Control and Drive modes. More of an eye sore are the switch blanks on the steering and gear lever console (rather than actually missing the functional aspect!)

4. For Diesel You can look for an average of 10-12 kmpl for a light foot drive in city .

To add - You will find the infotainment systems and the Rear Camera way better than any of the existing rivals . (Keeping XUV 700 aside for now)

Last edited by suhaas307 : 11th November 2021 at 18:05. Reason: formatting post and removing font-formatting tags
Avanish.07 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th November 2021, 09:51   #419

Originally Posted by Avanish.07 View Post

Hope it does not have any more surprises up the sleeves
What was your on road price?
Old 12th November 2021, 10:27   #420

What was your on road price?
On Road price was 31 lacs Model S MT.