Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports

Search this Thread
Old 23rd August 2020, 18:48   #1
BHPian

Tata Nexon Facelift AMT : Ownership Review

Introduction

Our new Nexon facelift, XMA (AMT) is now 3 months old and while I have been able to drive it only for 1800 Km thanks to the lockdowns, felt it might be an opportune time to pen down my initial thoughts since I did not see much about the facelifted AMT version. Since I’m a far better photographer than writer (or so I believe), I’ll make this review crisp and to the point.

Tata Nexon Facelift AMT : Ownership Review-img_3465.jpg

Current rides

We have a Swift ZXI in India for a while (2012 model) mostly being used by my dad. We have always been Fiat or Maruti house for past 40 years. Whenever I am in the country, I take long term lease from Revv typically. Outside India, my daily drive is Ford Explorer and weekend fun / track car is the GT86.

New Requirement

Though dad is driving much less these days due to age, we felt the same reason also merited a change in the drive. Our primary needs were auto tranny and safety. Everything else including budget was flexible. After bit more discussion and thought we decided we’d prefer an SUV (or one of the faux ones) given the floods and rain issues that Kerala has been facing off late. None of our runs merited AWD/4x4. Parking at home meant we couldn’t go the big real SUV route – even Duster would have been a very tight fit. That’s also when dad had a rather strange requirement added into the mix - he doesn’t want too many gizmos and definitely no touchscreen (or even if there is touchscreen, for managing basic functions like AC and music there should be knobs).

Cars considered

We considered everything from used Merc GLA to Jazz. But the real contenders were as follows