Old 15th February 2021, 19:59   #361

Re: My first car: 2020 Maruti Suzuki XL6 Alpha MT Review

Alert all Owners: Update for SmartPlay Studio Infotainment System

Which cars are eligible: All cars with Smartplay Studio System(Harman). Basically ones with this kind of interface:

My first car: 2020 Maruti Suzuki XL6 Alpha MT Review-smartplay935x625.png

Which cars aren't: All older cars with Smartplay Audio System(Bosch). Basically ones with this kind of interface:

My first car: 2020 Maruti Suzuki XL6 Alpha MT Review-audio.jpg

Change Log:
  • Android Auto freezing issue resolved
  • Muffled voice issue from microphone solved
  • Sound appears a bit brighter and nicer.

What to do: Update file as of now isn't available in public domain for download. So Please contact your Maruti Dealer/workshop for the update. The update is a 198 MB file. More details of the process in this video:

Some pics of my update:

Old version:

My first car: 2020 Maruti Suzuki XL6 Alpha MT Review-20210215_093119.jpg

Update in process:

My first car: 2020 Maruti Suzuki XL6 Alpha MT Review-20210215_154925.jpg

My first car: 2020 Maruti Suzuki XL6 Alpha MT Review-20210215_155011.jpg

Final Version:

My first car: 2020 Maruti Suzuki XL6 Alpha MT Review-20210215_190743.jpg

Shashi
Leoshashi is offline   (26) Thanks
Old 16th February 2021, 00:26   #362

Thanks Shashi! Could you please share the link from where these could be ordered. I'm interested in the same upgrade for my baleno!

One question, does the gap in the plug need to be adjusted? Or it comes tuned for K series engines?

Originally Posted by Leoshashi View Post
Upgraded to Iridium Plugs: Suzuki puts Denso Iridium ZXU20PR11 plugs in some K Series Engines abroad, specially Japan, UAE and UK. It's normal alternative in India is NGK's KR6A-10. Since I am a firm believer of Iridiums, this is one upgrade which was always on my Radar.

Denso OEM Part Number: ZXU20PR11
Suzuki OEM Part Number: 09482-00602
Price I paid for each plug, including shipping: Rs. 724
Total Cost: Rs. 2,896

Shashi

Last edited by SDP : 16th February 2021 at 07:29. Reason: Trimmed quoted text
Old 16th February 2021, 14:29   #363

Steps for updating Smartplay Studio Infotainment system to MD-0820:

Eligibility: All cars with Smartplay Studio system(Harman) with this interface:

My first car: 2020 Maruti Suzuki XL6 Alpha MT Review-smartplay935x625.png

Note: Older cars with Smartplay Audio System(Bosch) aren't eligible!

Steps:

1. Determine your software version. Long Press Mute + Settings button on your Headunit to enter DEALER MODE. Note the software version. If it reads 1920.1, you are running an old version. Latest version is MD-0820.

My first car: 2020 Maruti Suzuki XL6 Alpha MT Review-smartplay935x625.jpg

2. Download the Zip file attached below, and extract the ".sqfs" file.

3. Format a Pendrive, and copy the extracted file on it.

4. With car off, Insert the pendrive. Turn ON the engine(recommended since you don't want the battery to die during update).

5. Enter DEALER MODE again by Long pressing Mute + Settings button.

Click image for larger version

Name:	smartplay935x625.jpg
Views:	603
Size:	149.1 KB
ID:	2122246

6. Software version tab will appear enabled if your system is eligible for update. Press the software version.

This is how it looks enabled, all bold and pressable:

My first car: 2020 Maruti Suzuki XL6 Alpha MT Review-screenshot_20210216135831_video-player.jpg

This is how it looks disabled, you won't be able to press it:

My first car: 2020 Maruti Suzuki XL6 Alpha MT Review-screenshot_20210216135806_video-player.jpg

7. It will show this window, press Update

My first car: 2020 Maruti Suzuki XL6 Alpha MT Review-screenshot_20210216135842_video-player.jpg

8. The update begins and you don't need to do anything.

My first car: 2020 Maruti Suzuki XL6 Alpha MT Review-screenshot_20210216135852_video-player.jpg

My first car: 2020 Maruti Suzuki XL6 Alpha MT Review-screenshot_20210216135922_video-player.jpg

9. Once the update is over, check software version again by entering DEALER MODE or System Information tab. It should say MD-0820.

My first car: 2020 Maruti Suzuki XL6 Alpha MT Review-20210215_190743.jpg

10. I strongly suggest RESETTING the system to FACTORY SETTINGS after this update.

Congratulations, you are done!

Disclaimer: While the process is fairly simple, do this entirely at your own risk. If you are not confident, approach your Maruti dealer.

A video summary of what you need to do:

File Type: zip MSIL-MD-0820-RC20342A.zip (198.95 MB, 4188 views)

Last edited by Aditya : 16th February 2021 at 22:39. Reason: As requested.
Leoshashi is offline   (30) Thanks
Old 17th February 2021, 13:46   #364

Steps for updating Smartplay Studio Infotainment system to MD-0820:

Eligibility: All cars with Smartplay Studio system(Harman) with this interface:
Hello Shashi,

Thank you for the update. I've updated it on my Ignis.

My first car: 2020 Maruti Suzuki XL6 Alpha MT Review-whatsapp-image-20210217-1.11.24-pm.jpeg

My first car: 2020 Maruti Suzuki XL6 Alpha MT Review-whatsapp-image-20210217-1.12.04-pm.jpeg

My first car: 2020 Maruti Suzuki XL6 Alpha MT Review-whatsapp-image-20210217-1.15.42-pm.jpeg

My first car: 2020 Maruti Suzuki XL6 Alpha MT Review-whatsapp-image-20210217-1.16.28-pm.jpeg

There is quite a noticeable difference in the sound.

- Baby Antu
baby_antu is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 18th February 2021, 14:12   #365

Hey Shashi,

I believe you overlooked this post. If you could help me with the link and if there was any adjustments to be made for the gap!

Thanks for your time!

Originally Posted by lxskllr View Post
Thanks Shashi! Could you please share the link from where these could be ordered. I'm interested in the same upgrade for my baleno!

One question, does the gap in the plug need to be adjusted? Or it comes tuned for K series engines?

Old 18th February 2021, 14:59   #366

Hey Shashi,

I believe you overlooked this post. If you could help me with the link and if there was any adjustments to be made for the gap!

Thanks for your time!
Apologies for the delay in replying, kindly check which plug your Baleno uses. Is it KR6A-10 or LKR6F-10?

Shashi
Old 18th February 2021, 21:24   #367

I checked the manual, it says NGK LKR6F-10

Apologies for the delay in replying, kindly check which plug your Baleno uses. Is it KR6A-10 or LKR6F-10?

Shashi
lxskllr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th February 2021, 07:27   #368

I would be very much interested in these, will the Nexa or Maruti Suzuki authorised service centre oblige our request if we want go for them ? Usually they don’t stock these high end items.

Requesting your guidance as well Shashi, thank you so much
Old 19th February 2021, 20:52   #369

Originally Posted by Abhi_abarth View Post
I would be very much interested in these, will the Nexa or Maruti Suzuki authorised service centre oblige our request if we want go for them ? Usually they don’t stock these high end items.

Requesting your guidance as well Shashi, thank you so much
Don't expect MS to help you with these. I got my plugs carried from UAE. Anyways the plug I used won't be of any use for you. Your car uses LKR6F-10, which is a long reach plug(longer thread area than my KR6A-10).

However, if it were my Baleno, I would have tried plug from New Dzire Dualjet. It uses Iridium plug, NGK ILZKR6F11. Costs Rs. 330 and is available on Boodmo, Part Number 09482M00651. Buy that and compare physical dimensions with your plug. If everything is same, decrease the plug gap to 1.0mm and you can use it[LKR6F10 means heat range is 6 and 1.0 is plug gap, ILZKR6F11 means Heat range is 6 too, and plug gap is 1.1mm, so you have to bring it down to 1mm). This is what I would have done. But please make sure dimensions of your plug and Dzire's is same. I have a feeling that this mod will work!

Shashi
Leoshashi is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 20th February 2021, 17:09   #370

Thanks for your helpful post on updating the smartplay system. I tried to follow the steps and had the new update in my usb drive but my software version is 1820.1 and it is grayed out.

This is a 2019 facelift Baleno with the new interface, saw your photos and the version on yours is 1920.1. Is my car not eligible for update or is my system on a pretty old firmware?
Old 20th February 2021, 18:26   #371

Originally Posted by coolboy007 View Post
Thanks for your helpful post on updating the smartplay system. I tried to follow the steps and had the new update in my usb drive but my software version is 1820.1 and it is grayed out.

This is a 2019 facelift Baleno with the new interface, saw your photos and the version on yours is 1920.1. Is my car not eligible for update or is my system on a pretty old firmware?
IMO you can directly upgrade to new firmware. Possible mistakes you may be doing:

1. Format the PD in FAT system and then mount the unzipped file. NTFS doesn't work sometimes.

2. Insert the PD while car is entirely off, and then turn on the car. If you turn on the car and then insert PD then system sometimes takes time to identify.

Shashi
Leoshashi is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 21st February 2021, 01:45   #372

Upgraded to Iridium Plugs: Suzuki puts Denso Iridium ZXU20PR11 plugs in some K Series Engines abroad, specially Japan, UAE and UK. It's normal alternative in India is NGK's KR6A-10. Since I am a firm believer of Iridiums, this is one upgrade which was always on my Radar.
Thanks for this update Shashi. Wanted to ask a couple of things
  • Where did you source these plugs from?
  • For my Baleno the manual says to replace plugs every 40k kms. Will these plugs have a similar life?
Old 21st February 2021, 01:56   #373

Originally Posted by puneetakhouri View Post
Thanks for this update Shashi. Wanted to ask a couple of things
  • Where did you source these plugs from?
  • For my Baleno the manual says to replace plugs every 40k kms. Will these plugs have a similar life?
Kindly check Post #369 on this very page.

Since they are iridiums, one can easily expect atleast a lac kilometers from them.

Shashi
Leoshashi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st February 2021, 10:14   #374

Thank you so much Leoshashi for putting this info up. I was just about getting fed up my Android Auto (GMaps) hanging on every trip. I had to keep my wife constantly checking that!

Can you also send the link where we can buy the Iridium spark plugs? Is it a DIY or is it better to get it done at a local FNG (I am not much of a DIY person).

[b]Steps for updating Smartplay Studio Infotainment system to MD-0820:

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 21st February 2021 at 10:33. Reason: Trimming quoted post. Please avoid quoting a large post as it inconveniences small screen users. Thanks!
Old 21st February 2021, 10:37   #375

Originally Posted by sparks4077 View Post
Thank you so much Leoshashi for putting this info up. I was just about getting fed up my Android Auto (GMaps) hanging on every trip. I had to keep my wife constantly checking that!
Lol, reminds me of an instance when Gmaps had frozen, and I kept driving unaware for a good 4 km before realising that I am on the wrong way. I actually reached a dead end and then realised the issue.

Also on a recent trip, the HU was restarting every hour or so. Thankfully, after the update, HU seems stable. Fingers Crossed.

Can you also send the link where we can buy the Iridium spark plugs? Is it a DIY or is it better to get it done at a local FNG (I am not much of a DIY person).

I couldn't find any link online where it was available for decent price. Everywhere it was priced 1500+ which IMO isn't worth it.

For Example:

Ebay

Boodmo

Megazip

As I said, I got mine carried from UAE. Hence I have put part number and model number for benefit of all. I believe DBHPian Sankar had once sourced them locally. So if searched, it should be available locally.

Shashi
Leoshashi is offline   (1) Thanks