Old 25th June 2020, 17:37   #46

Re: Skoda Karoq : Ownership Review

@Mr.Perera Congrats. It looks stunning in Black.
Wish many more happy miles. Do Skoda offer the service and maintenance packages for Karoq similar to Octy?

On a lighter note, love your profile pic as I know the context
simplysaj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th June 2020, 17:57   #47

Great review...wonderful car!

Please convey our appreciation to your friend... those are some great photos especially the ones whilst moving, totally look professional!
Amsdoc is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th June 2020, 19:58   #48

Thread moved from the Assembly Line to the Initial Ownership Section. Thanks for sharing!

It is priced at a stiff premium, but my philosophy is = if you really love a car, go ahead & buy it! I have never regretted overpaying for a good car; in the long run, you'll remember (and enjoy) the car...not how much extra you paid for it. I'd bought a used 1st-gen City Vtec for almost the same price as a new 2nd-gen Honda City. Till date, I consider that car as one of my best ever.

Lovely pictures. Your car is going to our homepage today . Wish you a minimum of 150,000 enjoyable km with your Karoq.
Thanks a lot GTO ! I truly agree with your philosophy. I must say after these many days spending more time with the car it definitely doesn't feel as overpriced the way I felt a month back. It does everything so well. In my opinion the Karoq definitely gets the tag for the best 5-seater compact SUV under 40 lakhs.

Originally Posted by BZ25 View Post
Congratulations on your new acquisition! Skoda Karoq is one of my favorite offerings from Skoda yet. I absolutely love those interiors, & that 1.5l TSI is a great engine.

It's a shame that some of these Kia dealers are so incompetent. My family was faced with the incompetency of a Kia dealership who gave the keys to our car at 9:30 PM in the night, when we had arrived over 6 hours ago! Add to that injury the SA took his own sweet time to give us the Fast Tag of our Seltos.

That being said, I'm really happy to hear that you had a good experience with a Skoda dealership. The future looks good for the Czech company. Hope you have some wonderful miles. Do stay safe & take care.
Thanks a lot ! Yes the interiors and the 1.5L engine is the main highlight of the Karoq. Sad to hear that you also had a bitter experience with Kia. They have made a good car, but definitely needs to improve their customer service.

Originally Posted by Latheesh View Post
Congratulations Mr. Perera and black Karoq looks really good. It is much better comparing to boring white/grey. It is overpriced but it does not matter if you keep the car for longer period like your old city. Atleast it has a matching interior quality for the price they ask unlike VW's T-Roc.

Hope boot is big and have enough equipments to take your pet crocodiles Johny and Pinky for outings.
Thanks Latheesh. Yes the Karoq will definitely stay in the family for a VERyY long time. Yes the boot it pretty huge. I can definitely take Johny, Pinky and the rest of the gang. While I am sitting comfortable in the back seat, I can open the centre armrest and have a check on them as well. The boot has 4 movable hooks so that I can hang their feeding bucket, also there is a net with hooks to keep Johny in place if he gets restless. There is even a velcro separator and a torch I can use if Johny and Pinky decide to get a bit Kinky with each other

Originally Posted by Abhinav_2502 View Post
Congratulations on the beautiful new car!

The Karoq has been one of the most impressive launches from Skoda in a pretty long while. Despite the higher pricing compared to it's cousin the T- Roc, it seems to make up for it with slightly more space and a much more premium package, especially in the interiors part.

The other impressive Skoda launch in the past couple of years was that of the Octavia vRS and it seems you have bagged a unit of the same as well for your garage.

Also must say those pictures of the new ride are absolutely beautiful.

Happy Mile Munching with the Karoq!
Thanks Abhinav ! Definitely a decision that I would never regret getting these 2 Skodas in the garage !

Originally Posted by anumod View Post
Congratulations Mr Perera . Loved the feature of reverse camera washer. A must for Kerala climate. Kudos to Skoda for these kind of attention to details.
Thanks Anumod. Yeah the camera washer is a super cool feature !
Originally Posted by Garth View Post
What a good crisp review!!!

Congratulations for your new ride. After reading your review I am in two minds whether to go for the Harrier or the Karoq. I have a Rapid in the garage, so know Skoda's built to last finish.

Happy and safe motoring.
Thanks Garth. You should definitely test drive the Karoq and Im sure you will understand why I love the Karoq so much !

Originally Posted by Vik0728 View Post
Congrats Mr.Perera to you and your father for the latest acquisition. Whether it is the first or the last, your words pretty much expresses the elation your father & family had during the delivery!

Considering the fact that Karoq and T-Roc are virtually the same blueprint, 5 lakhs is quite a premium. However, what really matters is that you share the same petrol head demeanor that your father has, and seems like the "heart-tugging" thingy runs in the family.

I felt so good just reading this line buddy.

Wish you and your family a very happy, fun-filled & fuss free Czech motoring.
Lol ! Thanks. I drove a friend's Creta recently and that 'BING' sound is so annoying !

Originally Posted by ArchieS View Post
I did not even know when this model was launched. Excellent write up Pereira. First on seeing the title,i had the feeling that someone was reviewing some model outside India, cos I never knew this model was launched by Skoda. My real bad.
Actually the car created a lot of buzz because of the 'Expensive' price tag ! Looked like you missed that news

Originally Posted by sgm View Post
Congrats Perara on the new addition. The fit and finish looks nice and clean. The car looks stunning in black. You have managed to take some amazing pictures and especially I liked the ones on the move.
Wishing your family many happy miles ahead. Adding another Skoda shows that you are a happy Skoda customer
Thank you. And the credit goes to my friend for clicking all those wonderful rolling shots.

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
Congratulations on your latest acquisition.

Great review and wishing your an even greater ownership with the KAROQ!!
Thanks Mr Volkman !

Originally Posted by WhiteKnight View Post
Congratulations Mr.Perera!!! Karoq looks way better and proportional compared to Kodiaq. Black colour matches the character too.

Btw, do you have "Crocodile pond", you know what I mean
Thanks WhiteKnight. Actually the pond got dried up now. I have left the crocodiles into my swimming pool ! Swimming with the crocodiles, thats my evening routing now.

Originally Posted by kamilharis View Post
Congratulations Perera for this black beauty,wow!

The car looks absolutely stunning in black shade, with de-chromed front grill it is pure dope. Yes I agree that this car is on the expensive side but it is still worth investing if you have the habit of keeping the car for almost a decade or 1,50,000KM.
Thanks Kamil. The dechroming has definitely made it look much better ! Mafia Spec I must say.

Originally Posted by AlphaPetrolhead View Post
Congratulations to your new acquisition !

I must tell you, the pictures are very well shot ! As if shot by some professional media house. That said, Karoq is a good choice, but I personally feel that it's overpriced.

Drive Safe with the "Czech Mates" ��
Thanks ! Yes the photos were shot by a friend of mine and he clicks some really awesome shots. You can check his profile canonion_eye in Instagram where he has some really dope shots.

Originally Posted by Reinhard View Post
A great car & an equally great ownership review. Rated it well deserved 5 stars. Enjoyed reading through it. Quite amazing photography & attention to details I must say. Skoda won't be shy to request you to use your review for their marketing references I think.

What a lovely car. I always drool a bucket on the sharp chiseled straight lines and flat surfaces on them Skodas. This is one of the FEW brands that have consistently managed to keep the next generation of a car BETTER looking than the outgoing one. Most others have made a hash of things over last decade. Respect to Skoda for it.

Wishing you & your loved ones unlimited safe & happy miles with the Karoq. Stay safe.
Thanks for the encouraging words Reinhard. I hope Skoda gives me a vRS 245 for few months for reviewing

Originally Posted by androdev View Post
Congratulations. The car looks beautiful, I think the premium over VW is justified when you look at the car in person. Happy to see new ownership threads trickling in finally. Refreshing read!
Thanks androdev

Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
Great looking car inside out. Congratulations.

i have one gripe though - they seem to have raised the car and those wheel arches seem to feel empty.
Thanks. In person that wheel gap doesnt look that bad. Well a set of lowering springs will make the car more dope ! Check this grey Karoq below with a set of H&R springs.
Skoda Karoq : Ownership Review-karoq-lowered.jpg

Originally Posted by srishiva View Post
Looks really great with that paint quality. Black gels with panels, lights etc and gives a higher build quality feel. The interior looks of great quality but the colour could get dirty easily.

The omissions are wireless charging and powered tailgate. The price is just a little on higher side. Personally for me in Bengaluru, for the price I would wish to buy something of Kodiaq size
Thanks srishiva. I wish for powered tailgate so badly everytime I close the boot.

Originally Posted by frozen.ash View Post
Congratulations, Mr. Perera! That is one FINE automobile you have got for yourself. Looks spectacular and very premium. Really thrilled for you.

Wow, reading through the review, I am strongly tempted to go get one for myself, too. But unfortunately, my bank balance wouldn't allow me to!

Just love the attention to detail that Skoda has been putting into all their designs. Impressed particularly with the reverse camera washer that is absolutely cool! And there seems to be a part of every European country on the Karoq.

Thank you for sharing your joys with us. And wish you some wonderful miles ahead and many thrilling highway memories on your new beast!
Thanks a ton Frozen Ash.

Originally Posted by Ranjith812 View Post
"Hello Mr.Perera"

Wow!! What an amazing review. Lovely pics

The car looks great in Magic Black. Dechroming around the front grill was indeed a good decision

Congratulations and wish you lots of happy miles ahead.
Thanks Ranjith. The dechroming was a minor mod that made a whole lot of difference in my opinion.

Originally Posted by krishnaprasadgg View Post
Congrats brother. Lovely review and really awesome pics too.

I hope you and your family get to enjoy the car for many many miles to come.

Once the whole COVID situation relaxes do let us know how good the car handles long-distance highway hauls.

Do keep the ownership experience posted.

Krishna
Sure KP. We will plan a trip together in the Karoq soon after all this mess gets cleared.

Originally Posted by JojyKerala View Post
Mr. Perera - great car, great pictures and great review!

Came across 3 things in common between us through your post - Skoda, Trivandrum and Kollam.

Your car looks like a sexy and premium beast - wish you many kilometers and kilometers with the beauty.

For those who are interested in knowing the history behind the name Mr. Perera - it is associated with a popular villain named Jose Prakash. Here is a small video where he is talking and scolding crocodiles while feeding them like they are his own children:
Thanks Jojy. Yeah so many common things, will definitely meet you on the road someday ! Check the below link too. Love the way he gets the ladies out the pool ! Pure Thug Life ! Jose Prakash was one of the greatest actors of the era.

Originally Posted by Behemoth View Post
Congrats Mr Perera! Being the first in India to get a new car is a special feeling and great that the owner is a TBHPian and we will all get to experience your car through you firsthand. The Karoq is a great car and wish you many years of happy Driving!
(I have also been a long standing Skoda owner - since 2010 , when my Yeti was among the first few in India. Even now, I still own my 2012 Skoda Laura which is a great workhorse and I have not been able to find a worthy replacement till date).
You now have latest gen versions of both those cars - the Octavia and the Karoq (which was the Yeti's successor)!
Thanks Behemoth. The Yeti was one of my favorite cars to come to India. A super capable car ! Still today if I see one on the road I turn around and look at it, I feel the design to be very unique too !

Originally Posted by SPB_drives View Post
You are absolutely correct in stating that INR 23 Lacs would have been a perfect pricing. But considering you still went with it means that the car convinced you totally. Congrats on your Karoq - looks quirky (in a good way) and stands out from the crowd!

Also, just wanted to know, did you consider the long term spare parts availability for a CBU?
Thanks SPB. Today I can confidently say the Karoq is even worth 25 lakhs. After spending more time it is a very good product. Definitely close to the levels of a Q3 ! and regarding spares, Skoda very well understands they have a bad reputation for spares, they service already have received the first set of spares for the Karoq. And as per them spares wont be an issue going forward as Skoda wants to brighten their name when it comes to after sales service.

Originally Posted by Delano View Post
Fantastic review, the Karoq is definitely worth keeping a watch out for. Also, interesting to see Skoda price the Karoq higher than its VW counterpart VW T-Roc after the recent consolidation of VW and Skoda in India under the Skoda brand. In India, unlike other countries Skoda leads the group plans for VW and decides on strategy and models for both brands after the recent consolidation of VW and Skoda under the India 2.0 project. https://www.skoda-auto.com/news/news-detail/india
Thanks Delano.

Originally Posted by AZT View Post
Your photography skills are great. Fantastic review, wish you many happy miles with this beast
Thanks AZT.Most of the good photos have been taken by a friend of mine. Thanks to him !

Originally Posted by hareshjethwani View Post
Congratulations Looks smashing in black !
Is this the official review ?
The massive panoramic sun roof looks great. If I could nitpick, it would be the roof liner used for the roof. It should have been a little more darker or a more solid material to avoid the heat coming in, otherwise a really solid car. Happy miles.
Thanks Haresh. Like you said will see how the roof liner will hold up during the summers.

Originally Posted by vb-san View Post
Congratulations! That’s a very well-written review; and great set of pictures to go with. Great choice of color too!

A couple of lakhs less would have made the Karoq look more attractive (especially when compared with the T-Roc) but you look at it as a replacement model for the Yeti, the pricing is not so bad. If I remember correctly, the Yeti had a sticker price of around 23 lakhs. 3 years later, and 2 lakhs extra looks reasonable.
Thanks vb-san !

Originally Posted by DicKy View Post
Hello Mr. Perera!!! trying hard not to make a crocodile joke

And congratulations on the new Karoq.

Looks like quite a few Skoda firsts of recent in TVM.
All started with that Kodiaq media drive.

If planning to use the Karoq just like how the City was used, not an issue with the more than expected pricing. Since your dad seems to love the car!!!

Skoda seems to outdo themselves with the small nifty features. Especially the rear view camera wash feature, first time am seeing it. Quick Google and looks like it's Nissan, as most of the time, came up with this feature in 2013.

Just like how the Karoq is a mini-Kodiaq, let's hope the upcoming VisionIn is a mini-Karoq, or atleast is a watered down Kamiq.
Thanks DicKy ! Skoda has been definitely doing a good job in releasing some good products ! Also if Im right the Kodiaq also had this reverse camera washer feature.

Originally Posted by Gannu_1 View Post
Hello Mr. Perera!

Dude, congrats on the baby Kodiaq! Loved the report and the car. And your Team-BHP handle! Drive safe and have fun.

I hope Skoda goes the CKD route and reduces the prices. Would love to see the numbers in the upcoming months' sales charts.

You meant the bonnet there?

Thanks Gannu ! Oh yeah my bad ! Wish any of the mods could change that to Bonnet ! Since some might find it misleading.

Originally Posted by Pynummoottil View Post
Congratulations on acquiring the new Karoq and a very detailed first impression.
I have been driving a Yeti for 7 years and am still very much in love with it. I had been looking forward to the arrival of the Karoq and the description, has me drooling. However the on the road price is something, I am still a bit concerned about. Moreover, at that price, it's sad that haven't put in the Varioflex rear seats and the virtual pedal for boot opening.
Thanks ! You indeed have a great car ! I really wish Skoda India brought the car with all these great features. But sadly they decided to omit the main feature of the Karoq which are those VarioFlex seats.

Originally Posted by Karan_n8 View Post
Voted 5 stars, very well articulated. Super impressed with the effort you've made of clicking the babe, especially those dynamic shots! I am all for Interiors>Exteriors , ultimately you're going to be inside the car for 99% of the times you're around it. Also completely agree with your dad on the CBU being superior for the simple reason that all those parts are of the European standards. As much as I enjoyed driving our Rapid, I am of the club which suffered the wrath of the poor ASS Skoda (maybe used to) offer. But boy do these cars drive like a car should. Wishing you miles of joy ahead bud!
Thanks a lot Karan. You are right, interiors are a very important factor sadly ignored by some.

Originally Posted by StarBoard View Post
Congratulations Mr. Perera for your your lovely purchase!
Wishing you many happy miles in the Karoq.
Crisp review and lovely photographs. Especially loved the rolling pics. Was about to ask if they were taken by a professional, but you seem to have anticipated the query in advance. for your photographer friend as well. Pics like these make reviews even more fun!
Thanks Starboard. Will definitely convey the message to my friend !

Originally Posted by akshye View Post
Congratulations on your acquisition! Outstanding photography mate!
Thanks mate !

Originally Posted by neeln8 View Post
Congrats Mr.Perera !

Loved your review. The Karoq is quite a looker in black!
Wishing you a happy ownership.
Thanks a lot !

Originally Posted by Sabrish View Post
Congratulations and Happy mile crunching! I had the opportunity to observe the Karoq up close and it screams premium no doubts about it. I can only guess How peppy the 1.5 TSI would be when the 1 liter on the Rapid is doing pretty well.

Absolutely loved the color! Some thoughtful additions from Skoda in many places.
Thanks Sabrish. Definitely a great product from Skoda !

Originally Posted by rijo_tj View Post
Congrats on your purchase. The vehicle looks stunning and seems to be a VFM proposition considering how sturdy Skoda's are usually.

And btw kudos to Rishikesh for clicking some superb pictures. His IG seems to suggest he is a real talent when it comes to automobile photography !!
Thanks Rijo ! Yes, Rishi does take some amazing shots !

Originally Posted by click View Post
congrats Mr Parera & family... she looks lovely and excellent pictures.

I genuinely like the car and was impatiently waiting for the release and specs. But at this price point I am disappointed they haven't included VarioFlex seats, auto tailgate and wireless charging. VarioFlex is the main USP for Karoq model and should have been standard at this price. I shall take the wait and watch approach.
Thank you ! Yes the VarioFlex is a big miss from Skoda. Would have definitely made a lot of sense in a market like India !

Originally Posted by Thanos-VV View Post
Hello Mr. Perera!

Congrats for that smoking hot Car. Looks stunning. Your review is also top rated and well detailed that it gave an added flavor and a virtual drive itself!

And for that catchy handle name of yours. Your handle name selection is superb just like the Skoda cars you have currently.

Wishing you and your family long wonderful happy years of handling and driving pleasure from the Beauty!
Thanks Thanos ! It was a very impulsive decision to use this name ! A big salute to the wonderful actor. Drive safe and please dont snap your fingers ! We have already had enough since last few months.

Originally Posted by megazoid View Post
Hello Mr. Perera,

Congratulations! btw, like someone mentioned, the car pictures look crisp and the photography is refreshing. Easy to drive and the proportions make it a boon in Kerala.
Thanks Megazoid !

Originally Posted by anilkumar View Post
Fantastic Review !!!!
For a very long time I had been contemplating an alternative to Jeep Compass, Your Review and especially the images convinced me that I should look for Karoq as my next buy.
Thanks Anilkumar. You should definitely check the Karoq as well. I am sure your nearest Skoda dealer will have a test drive car available !

Originally Posted by simplysaj View Post
@Mr.Perera Congrats. It looks stunning in Black.
Wish many more happy miles. Do Skoda offer the service and maintenance packages for Karoq similar to Octy?

On a lighter note, love your profile pic as I know the context
Thanks a lot. Glad you like the profile pic ! Yes Skoda offers the same maintenace package like the Octy. I have mentioned the same at the end of my post. 5 year service package is available for Rs 49,999.

Originally Posted by Amsdoc View Post
Great review...wonderful car!

Please convey our appreciation to your friend... those are some great photos especially the ones whilst moving, totally look professional!
Thanks Amsdoc. Will definitely convey the same to my friend !

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 25th June 2020 at 20:42. Reason: Removing youtube url from the quoted post (repetition) + smileys = 2 per post. Thanks! :)
Mr.Perera is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 25th June 2020, 20:50   #49

Congratulations Mr. Parera. The car looks a stunner. Beutiful pics - I lived in Trivandrum for 3 years so loved the pics even more. True that the car comes with a premium but it's worth all the more if you love your car.
TheVegabond is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th June 2020, 21:01   #50

Originally Posted by Mr.Perera View Post

Thanks Anilkumar. You should definitely check the Karoq as well. I am sure your nearest Skoda dealer will have a test drive car available !
Definitely I will check it out
I had owned Skoda Fabia in the past so i'm aware of the built quality and premium feel.
I would want to know how is the gear box in city and also how is the mileage ?

Last edited by anilkumar : 25th June 2020 at 21:03.
Old 25th June 2020, 21:16   #51

Hello, Mr. Perera! Congrats on the purchase The car is an absolute eye-candy in this shade of black. Enjoy the exclusivity!

And those photographs in the 'Exterior Design' section are absolutely professional grade and wallpaper-worthy, kudos to the person who clicked them. It takes much more than a capable camera to get such perfect shots.

Last edited by ram.iyer95 : 25th June 2020 at 21:19.
ram.iyer95 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th June 2020, 21:33   #52

Originally Posted by TheVegabond View Post
Congratulations Mr. Parera. The car looks a stunner. Beutiful pics - I lived in Trivandrum for 3 years so loved the pics even more. True that the car comes with a premium but it's worth all the more if you love your car.
Thanks a lot. Happy to know that the photos brought out your old memories of our beautiful city !

Originally Posted by anilkumar View Post
Definitely I will check it out
I had owned Skoda Fabia in the past so i'm aware of the built quality and premium feel.
I would want to know how is the gear box in city and also how is the mileage ?
Actually since last few days the gearbox have become more smooth. Initially it was a bit restrictive, bit now its very smooth and fast shifting. Nothing negative about it ! I am loving the gearbox. Also since the car is still running in the mileage might be less than the actual figures. The best I saw in a highway drive was 13 kmpl, and during city drives the MID shows around 7-8 kmpl.

Originally Posted by ram.iyer95 View Post
Hello, Mr. Perera! Congrats on the purchase The car is an absolute eye-candy in this shade of black. Enjoy the exclusivity!

And those photographs in the 'Exterior Design' section are absolutely professional grade and wallpaper-worthy, kudos to the person who clicked them. It takes much more than a capable camera to get such perfect shots.
Thanks Ram. Yes he has taken some super cool photos ! Those photos are definitely the best part of this thread !
Old 25th June 2020, 21:38   #53

Congrats on the car. Looks like Trivandrum and I hope to see this black beauty on the road sometime.

Excellent pictures. They really give a better perspective of the interiors - and they do look a class above - compared to the T-Roc or even the Compass.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th June 2020, 21:51   #54

Congratulations on your purchase and for a wonderful review.
I waited a long time for the karoq to be launched and finally bought the Tiguan last year.
I know that the Tiguan is slightly bigger and has a bigger engine, but reading this review makes me doubt whether I should have waited more.
Enjoy.
Sree is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th June 2020, 22:22   #55

Congratulations for the latest acquisition!
An excellent in-depth car review which could be labelled as “The complete Karoq guide for the Indian customer”.
Am curious to know about various driver assist features in the car viz lane assist / emergency brake assist/ blind spot monitor etc.
I am sure you will enjoy the Karoq for years to come as it a heart driven buy ticking most of the boxes right!
moncar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th June 2020, 23:24   #56

Stunning will be an under statement for this Czech beauty.
Any day, will love clean crisp straight lines rather than curves, and no one knows that better than Skoda.
Absolutely love your review and above all those drool worthy Panning shots of car.
You I think will be the first in India to own vRS along with Karoq now.

I'm definitely going to get some panning shots this weekend after watching your pics.
Enjoy your beauty Man !!
Highh5 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th June 2020, 23:30   #57

Congrats on your new steed Mr. Perera. The car is simply fantastic & so is your review. Superb detailing & the pics do equal justice to the car. Some great captures there!
Needless to say that you have some drool-worthy cars in your garage.

I just came across an instagram story by the Code6 Tuners, and seems like people have already started remapping their Karoq’s. I saw one in black from Trivandrum; is it your’s by any chance?

Oh, btw that rear camera washer is Simply Clever!

Wish you many miles in your Karoq.

Last edited by ashvek3141 : 25th June 2020 at 23:32.
ashvek3141 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th June 2020, 02:35   #58

Congratulations Mr.Perera on acquiring the First Karoq of India. The car looks badass in this Magic black shade with the blackened out grille. Kudos to your friend for capturing such stunning pics. Happy miles. Keep Revving!!
mr_freakky is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th June 2020, 08:54   #59

Congratulations! Beautiful looking car. Permit me to offer my opinions on Skoda in general and this car specifically.

I am a former Skoda owner and I love the VW group designs (not Audis as much as VW & Skoda). There are four things that bug me about their cars:

1. Expensive to buy (you are the second largest car company in the world; just make stuff in India boss!)

2. Expensive to own (again... spare parts ridiculously expensive)

3. Painful to own (the legendary Skoda service)

4. Reliability - even with the 12-month service interval, I had more niggles in my Laura than the XUV500 and Hexa that I bought after that. Thank about that for a bit. I am not comparing the Skoda to a Toyota. I am comparing it to a Mahindra and a Tata

As for the design of the Karoq, I think the ideal length (for visual appeal) would be somewhere between the Kodiaq and Karoq. I have always felt that the Kodiaq is a tad too long. This one seems a wee bit short in the rear. Also, anyone else notice that the rear wheel arches look smaller? Interiors are fantastic.
kovilkalai is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th June 2020, 09:50   #60

Congrats Mr. Perera ! Wishing you and your dad many years of enjoyable experience and great memories with the car!!

Very well written review accompanied by some of the best shots of the car from your friend. Loved the shot of the alloy wheels reflected in the pool of water !!

This car oozes premiumness inside out.. the most desirable car in the current market! Thanks to Skoda for bringing international car to our shores.. There are no signs of cost cutting at all.. appreciate the way Skoda has packed lil goodies like LED torch, umbrella, headlight washer.. even a rear camera washer.. simply clever !! these little tidbits shows how much the company loves its customers.. contrary to Japs/Koreans who cut down even on usable features in the name of cost cutting..

A lingering question about CBU cars like these.. maintenance.. how are the service centres equipped to handle maintenance of these imported cars ? Have they received some spare parts as part of CBU norms ? if not, what are the lead times in case of issues ? what were your own thoughts on maintaining it on a longer term ?

Last edited by mankuthimma : 26th June 2020 at 09:58.
mankuthimma is offline   (1) Thanks