Originally Posted by Vid6639 Wow. That was fast. Do you have any pictures of your car? Yours is the first petrol AT on the forum.
Did you drive the diesel AT? How does it compare in performance? |
Hey Vid,
Thanks. My scorp was serving me quite fine, but about 3-4 months back my office shifted to ORR (Bangalore)
Commute times were getting horrible and started getting chronic left leg pain. So decided for an automatic.
My criteria was quite simple. My parking space was just enough for the Scorpio. So had a non-negotiable limit on the car size. Plus I needed a car that will be safe, have decent GC and can do the occasional highway runs too.
Didn't want the VW and Ford and hence only the Jazz, City, Ertiga Vxi AT, Scorpio AT and Creta diesel AT was in the initial short list. My family ruled out the City for its low seating. Maruti dealers were committal on Ertiga. I approached both Sireesh and Anant for the Scorpio AT, but both of them never bothered to get back. Anant did offer me a test ride though. My daughters loved the scorp and hence I really tried hard, but the dealership didn't even send a person to evaluate my scorp, this in spite of me ready to pay the balance amount and take delivery! So there went the Scorpio out of the race!
So it was really between Jazz CVT and Creta diesel AT. Loved the diesel for its performance. Especially after I test drove the Duster AMT and Creta diesel AT back-to-back, any AMT was ruled out completely. People that have doubts should test drive the diesel AT. It ticks all the boxes and is really awesome. But given my running of < 1000 kms per month, was wondering if I should spend the additional 8.5lakhs over the Jazz.
Thats when the SA at Trident said that they have a few cars from the first lot of the Creta petrol AT. Apparently they get to make their orders 8th of every month with Hyundai and since they saw petrol AT as an option the previous month, they had ordered. He said they have the color I wanted - Passion Red and if I was ready to pay the booking amount 25000/- he can take it from the yard and bring it to dealership at KR Puram for PDI.
The official team-bhp review had very good things to say about the petrol. RavenAvi's awesome review of the petrol manual was available. Plus there are about 3 petrol manuals in my office and I have travelled in them earlier too. So I didn't have any explicit concerns about the petrol other than the mileage. I managed to find one ix25 petrol AT review from China in YouTube (thanks to sub-titles). I did some quick math - assumed petrol mileage was 7-8 and diesel AT at 12 and given my running in I reckoned that I will probably break even only after 5+ years. So decided to bite the bullet and go ahead even without any test drive.
They had done the evaluation for my Scorp already and there was nothing to negotiate further as anyways Creta didn't have any discounts whatsoever. However the dealer gave me 3M under chassis coating for free and managed to match the insurance quote I got from my insurance agent. So it was informally agreed that if the vehicle passes PDI, I would leave my scorp with them, pay the balance amount by cheque and he would deliver in two days.
So I went to Trident on Friday 29th April. The car was shown to me. VIN check (again thanks to team-bhp) revealed April 2016 manufactured car. Had 9kms on the Odo. Was very smooth in the 20 meter run I had within the dealership. Left the Scorp with a very heavy heart and paid the balance by cheque. Dealer promised delivery on 3rd May as we had a weekend in between. We allowed one day as a buffer.
Things were going really smooth and fast till that time and I was wondering where's the hiccup and that's when it started. First I received a call from the SA late Monday evening - after they had invoiced the vehicle on 30th April - my cheque was cleared on 30th April itself!, that as this is a new variant, they can only deliver the vehicle with temporary registration and cannot pay the road tax till the time RTO approves this variant. I was furious - I believe they knew it from day one, but in their eagerness to close the deal they hid it from me. I realized that other than getting angry I couldn't do anything here, so decided to overlook this and went ahead with taking delivery with temporary registration.
On Tuesday 3rd May, there I go with my family, quite excited at taking delivery of my first automatic car. The welcome at the dealership was nothing. We were met with cold faces with artificial smiles. After waiting for about 15 minutes, the car was slowly driven in to the delivery area. The SA explained to me the basic features of the car and after a small Pooja, I sat inside.
I prayed to my dear parents - both of them not alive - for their blessings. Then pushed the start button. The car made some funny noises and refused to start. It's very difficult to recollect this even now - I was aghast to say the least. Press one more time, the same funny noise and nothing happened! The SA panicked and tried to reach out for the service guys. I tried to remain calm to the extent I could as I didn't want to create a scene there. Instinctively I was sure that the battery was dead (have faced a dead battery couple of times in my past ownership). I asked the SA to check the battery and get a jump start cable. The SA reached out to a few friends of his. They came and checked the fuses and all of them were in-tact. By this time I was sure that this was a drained battery. What was worse was no one from service even bothered to turn up and neither the SA nor his friend could locate a jump start cable
Finally they managed to get a spare battery, opened the bonnet and one SA held the spare battery in such a way that it touched the terminals. Then I went in cranked and voila the engine came to life!
The SA tried to make up for this by replacing the battery. They took out the one in the car and put another one and updated the booklet. They have promised to update their records as well. However the serial number for the new battery was less than the one in my car, still accepted it as it was under warranty anyways.
The Creta comes with a auto cut off feature, that will cut off the battery after 20 minutes, if the car was locked with its lights on. So really no idea how the battery could drain completely. Probably the cleaning guys did all interior and exterior cleaning watching a video and with a/c on!
After a procedural snap, drove the car back home. Topped up en route and did a customary Pooja at a temple nearby in the evening. Car has been running like a dream since then.
However no one from Hyundai nor from Trident have managed to follow up till date. My experience with Maruti and M&M were completely the opposite. Very smooth delivery process, followed up by calls from both the dealership and the company for feedback. However over here till date not a single call
I have driven about 1100 kms till now. Smooth is the word. In the diesel, you get a pushback if you put your foot down on the accelerator pedal. Over here, its not instantaneous. Instead its a smooth and gradual increase in acceleration. In the city there's enough grunt to keep up with traffic. However yet to master the AT so as to make precisely timed overtaking maneuvers. In the highways, 100kms comes at 2250 RPM and at 3000 RPM, the engine does between 120-130. I prefer to stick to 100-110 as my cruising speed. Rarely exceed 130kmph. At 100-110 engine is super smooth at these speeds with zero cabin noise or vibrations. Allows one to have a nice conversation or listen to pleasing music. All of us loved the long ride precisely for this. Ride quality, especially after driving the Scorpio for 6 years, is really awesome. Overall all of us in my family are very happy at the choice. If you want a really spacious 4 seater, with an occasional 5th rider, look no further. This car is a one size fit for the City, highways and no so good roads. Choose the petrol or diesel depending on your run.
Now for some customary snaps...