Team-BHP - Review: The 2015 Hyundai Verna Facelift (2nd-gen)

-   Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-drives-initial-ownership-reports/)
-   -   Review: The 2015 Hyundai Verna Facelift (2nd-gen) (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-drives-initial-ownership-reports/160839-review-2015-hyundai-verna-facelift-2nd-gen-11.html)

Originally Posted by akhilesh51 (Post 3740375)
I have Verna Facelift installed with MapmyIndia Unit custom built for Hyundai Verna. I bought it from MapmyIndia website for only 20K :) and had accessory shop fit it for Rs. 300.

Originally Posted by drive2eternity (Post 3748088)
Hello All,

Apologies for the delay. Got my Verna S(O) VTVT delivered on Friday, 3rd July. Have driven it for 200kms so far. I would be writing a detailed ownership review later. As I have installed a Caska AVN system, would like to give a few details regarding it.

Just today I was driving in bumper to bumper traffic and happened to notice a verna with this unit and i was surprised since I remem Hyundai didnt have it as standard offering. This is certainly a good upgrade.

Originally Posted by drive2eternity (Post 3735580)
Hello Guys,

Planning to get a sedan and hence visited the following showrooms in Bangalore yesterday: Maruti, Honda, Hyundai and VW. All are pretty close to each other (Near KR Puram Bridge).

Guys, please pour in your suggestions and help me decide.

Not sure if you are already decided or not. But here are my 2 cents since i went through something similar and ended up buying XUV in place of petrol Sedan lol:. My take was that none of the petrol sedans were a winner in any way. All cars had there strenghts. If money is not an issue and you are a enthusiast then City is best bet. If money is a constrain and you want vfm then Ciaz is best choice. 1.4L engine is not as bad as it has been made to sound. If you want really quality feel on the inside but can compromise on space then certainly Verna it is.

Hey Supertinu, I did buy the Verna. clap:
You are absolutely correct in stating that none of the C segment offerings are 'complete'. Each one has its merits and demerits. I finalized the Verna primarily because the only thing lacking in it was rear seat space and comfort. But considering that its just me and my wife who will be using it, I did not consider it a decisive factor.

I felt the City to be coming at a huge premium and 1.4L of the Ciaz was little strained when I floored it during the test drives. :Frustrati

Honestly, I love the XUV, more so in the latest avatar. But considering my tight budget, I could not stretch my reach. Also, I rather buy the top end of any car than buying the lowest spec of another from a segment above. Yet, the XUV remains on my radar and perhaps next time, I shall tame the beast.

Cheers !

Hey akhilesh51, drive2eternity, supertinu & other stalwarts from TBHP,

I am also almost finalizing on the new Verna 4S VTVT S(O) manual transmission. There are couple of points & constraints, of course money is one of them. I do not want a sizable liability to start with. Secondly I wanted a powerful machine 1.6 with 123 ps which is the segment leading one. I did take a TD & was not able to fully fathom the power of the engine in the B2B mumbai traffic but could sense it from the effortless ease with which it surged ahead. I understand that the new City has a very good engine as has been the case always with them but in a much less offering i am getting an equally powerful or a better engine option. The numbers that City are currently making on the chart do not oblige them to offer anything of note on their vehicle whereas I have gotten an excellent bargain. (Almost 60k less & final effective landing OTR value of 10.65 against a Price list OTR of 11.25 ex Mumbai). The Ciaz is not even in the consideration. I drive a 1.4 Safire engine of Tata Manza ( Petrol ) that is decently powerful yet the 1.6 would be in a different league altogether. I have also fallen for the 16" diamond cut alloys on the S(O) & when I had generally inquired for an upgradation of alloys from the lower S VTVT model that has 15" alloys the Hyundai guys coolly told me the price difference was rs 1 lakh. ( I confirmed this in an aftermarket query) I also was not able to assess the quality of the audio during the short TD.

Friends, please throw in your valuable opinions/suggestions & also if there is a need for any upgradation whatsoever with regards to the audio without having to forgo the warranty.
Much eager to know, want to access the vehicle by end of JuLy/1st week of August latest.

Hello Nagesh,

I recently got my S(O) VTVT, which I finalized after a lot of research and analysis. The points which drew me to the Verna were its styling, features vis-a-vis the City V-MT, the discount being offered and the lack of waiting period.

I will not completely agree with you when you say that the 1.6 of the Verna is superior to the 1.5 from the City. The difference of 4-5 BHP is hardly noticed on the road and the I-VTEC unit is a gem of an engine. Please do not remove the City from your consideration merely based on the 1.5 to 1.6 comparison. Both cars offer ample power for the city drive and can easily gather speed when presented an open piece of road. The Verna has a lot of power on tap and just pressing the accelerator sees the speedo needle take off. In fact, a friend of mine test drove my car yesterday and named it rocket (he has an i20).

Totally agree with you on the diamond cut alloys part. These are by far the best alloys offered by any manufacturer.

Audio quality is good, but as I have changed the Head Unit, I would request others to pitch in here with more details.

One area where the City trumps the Verna is the rear seat space and comfort. The Verna has good space and comfort but the City has taken it to another level. This has been a decisive factor for many buyers, so you too should see if it is important to you.

The 4S Verna's suspension has no issues for me. I have driven it till 100kmph on the bouncy Bangalore flyovers and haven't felt any nervousness.

My advice would be to see the features you want and which cars offer them to reach a better conclusion. But as you mentioned you want the car with you by Aug, do ask the Honda guy when can you get a car if booked immediately. I was told 5 weeks of waiting was expected and if I was too adamant on a color, it could go up to 8 weeks. :deadhorse

Hope this helps. Cheers!

Originally Posted by drive2eternity (Post 3751361)

Hope this helps. Cheers!

Drive2eternity, cannot thank you enough. You have absolutely nailed the point home & just confirmed what i have been thinking all along. Thanks very much for that.:thumbs up

No, I am not saying or comparing the 1.6 or the 1.5 machines of either Hyundai or Honda. I know the Honda's have been churning out beautiful machines particularly for "City" which is a legend of some sorts & they have tuned it impeccably for this new " City". However, according to me, they strategically make you pay a premium for every little addition they do to their cars & make a heavy weather of what they have on offer.

If i place Verna 4S S(O) next to City IVTEC VX manual & compare feature by feature, the price difference works out to be a whopping rs 1.6 lacs Mumbai city, including the good discount that i am availing. If City VX offers rear a/c vent, Verna offers Projector lamps & vice versa & hence most of the features are either common or cancel each other out one way or the other.

As i said, currently i drive a Tata Manza that has oodles of rear space on par with D class comfort & neither the City nor the Verna can beat it. When my wife checked the rear seat of Verna she found it alright, better than Skoda Rapid & in fact that point helped me in zeroing on the Verna. I have not checked the new City rear seat, i admit.

The money definitely helped in deciding in Verna's favor plus the overall package that this car has on offer. I am also emboldened by you all Petroheads, who have gone ahead & purchased the Verna. Thank you,

Expecting your usership report soon.

This message is for Arpan Divanji who was also interested in Verna & the discount offered, & had sent me a mail however i could not reply as his hotmail account was not functioning & could not be contacted.
Hi Arpan,
Yes , the pricing is exciting. I did not go through a dealer. Sharayu Hyundai ( Navi Mumbai) was initially offering around 27/30k discount on Verna VTVT S(O).
Then i was guided to a car agent by HDFC people & he in turn has gotten this discount. The components of the discount are as follows,
Regular Discount : 35k
Exchange Bonus : 20k
Disc on Insurance: 15k
The net difference between the Co OTR ex Mumbai & this price is 60k after accounting for stamp duty etc.
I can have a word with the agent & guide him to you as well. Are you based in Mumbai ?
You can mention your correct contact details on my mail to enable me to reply/contact you.
regards,
Nagesh

sorry mods if this was little off topic.:OT

I am surprised that the pricing for the Verna has crept up by 1.3 lakh when compared to the price after the excise duty cut and 1 lakh before the excise duty cut. The SX model with two airbags was selling for 9.99 lakh ex showroom and had good discounts as well. Right now, the SX is selling for 10.9 lakhs ex showroom. No wonder the sales have gone down crashing and Hyundai doesn't seem to care about it. I guess no extra features have been added either.

Originally Posted by Ragavsr (Post 3751732)
I am surprised that the pricing for the Verna has crept up by 1.3 lakh when compared to the price after the excise duty cut and 1 lakh before the excise duty cut. The SX model with two airbags was selling for 9.99 lakh ex showroom and had good discounts as well. Right now, the SX is selling for 10.9 lakhs ex showroom. No wonder the sales have gone down crashing and Hyundai doesn't seem to care about it. I guess no extra features have been added either.

Please note that the current SX is earlier generation's SX(O). We need to factor in accordingly. Although, I agree with you that prices of current gen need to be definitely lower by atleast 50K (without other sales promotions).

Thanks Akhilesh for answering before I could.
What you have mentioned is absolutely correct.

Nagesh, in Bangalore, the City VX was 13.56 OTR while the the Verna S(O) was 11.59 and then after the discounts and it came to 11.23. The City V-MT was a closer match to S(O) at 11.69 OTR.
You have correctly mentioned that the additional features of each negate the ones of the other to a certain extent. But, the City's 175mm tires were a worrying factor. Also, I'd rather take projector headlamps than rear A/C vents.

Originally Posted by akhilesh51 (Post 3752170)
Please note that the current SX is earlier generation's SX(O). We need to factor in accordingly. Although, I agree with you that prices of current gen need to be definitely lower by atleast 50K (without other sales promotions).

The new SX trim might be placed equivalent to the old SX(O) but the S(O) which has taken up the old SX trim level's space comes with only one airbag(Driver Airbag).
For a car costing around 9.8 /9.9 lakhs ex-showroom this is plain stingy. An extra airbag would hardly cost 10000 bucks.
In my state Tamil Nadu,when the ex-showroom prices cross 10 lakh, the road tax becomes flat 15% which results in a direct 50000 increase in prices.
The Honda City has also fallen into this trap with the SV trim costing 10,17,000.

Originally Posted by Ragavsr (Post 3752665)
The new SX trim might be placed equivalent to the old SX(O) but the S(O) which has taken up the old SX trim level's space comes with only one airbag(Driver Airbag).
For a car costing around 9.8 /9.9 lakhs ex-showroom this is plain stingy. An extra airbag would hardly cost 10000 bucks.
In my state Tamil Nadu,when the ex-showroom prices cross 10 lakh, the road tax becomes flat 15% which results in a direct 50000 increase in prices.
The Honda City has also fallen into this trap with the SV trim costing 10,17,000.

Ragav, my friend, you are gravely misinformed. The S(O) comes with driver and passenger side airbags. In fact, the S(O) only lacks leather package, curtain and side airbags and auto wipers compared to SX version. Hyundai have managed to load the S(O) trim with goodies which even the City V-MT doesn't offer, like smart keyless entry and go with push start button, cooled glovebox, auto headlights, etc.

Here's a pic of the Verna brochure for you.

Originally Posted by drive2eternity (Post 3752776)
In fact, the S(O) only lacks leather package, curtain and side airbags and auto wipers compared to SX version. Hyundai have managed to load the S(O) trim with goodies which even the City V-MT doesn't offer, like smart keyless entry and go with push start button, cooled glovebox, auto headlights, etc.

One more very important thing missing in the S(O) trim, that is only available in the SX trim, is the speed sensing auto door locks, which is a big safety feature. I think Hyundai has been very smart in not giving some key features/goodies in S(O), forcing many customers to either think about SX trim, or simply walk away to the competition.

Originally Posted by PearlJam (Post 3752811)
One more very important thing missing in the S(O) trim, that is only available in the SX trim, is the speed sensing auto door locks, which is a big safety feature.

And when I asked about this omission to the service adviser, his reply was that "thats an old feature saar, not seen in any of the newer cars". I'm sure some DIY guy will soon come up with a way to fix this auto door lock on S(O) trims.

Originally Posted by drive2eternity (Post 3752776)
Ragav, my friend, you are gravely misinformed. The S(O) comes with driver and passenger side airbags. In fact, the S(O) only lacks leather package, curtain and side airbags and auto wipers compared to SX version. Hyundai have managed to load the S(O) trim with goodies which even the City V-MT doesn't offer, like smart keyless entry and go with push start button, cooled glovebox, auto headlights, etc.

Here's a pic of the Verna brochure for you.

Well I got confused between the S and the S(O) features. My bad.

However while the S(O) might offer 2 airbags and is equal to the old SX model and the current SX model is equal to the previous SX (O),
1.The S(O) with 2 airbags sells for 10. 9 L which is basically 1 L over the old SX. This is what I wanted to convey in my first post itself.
2. The S model which is selling for 9.9 Lakh (the pricing of old SX) gets only one airbag.

So basically the 4S fluidic Verna has crept up in price by 1 L without any increase in features. For a model basically in its 5th year, such a dramatic increase is unacceptable.

Hey Folks.
How has everyone been? No activity by Verna owners. What's happening at your end?
Is everyone too busy driving their Vernas to glory?

Don't let this thread be dead.

Giving my Verna for 1st servicing this week, any advice?

Originally Posted by drive2eternity (Post 3791340)
Is everyone too busy driving their Vernas to glory?

Giving my Verna for 1st servicing this week, any advice?

I've updated my ownership thread, please take a look here - http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...ml#post3792785. Yes, driving to glory is the right phrase!

1st service will be free, with only washing/cleaning and general underbody checkup. Should not take more than 3-4 hours.