|
Advanced Search |
Go to Page... |
Search this Thread | 274,299 views |
15th December 2014, 00:50 | #1 |
Senior - BHPian Join Date: Aug 2010 Location: PCMC, Pune-MH14
| The new car bug had bit me almost 5 years back in 2010-11. My Indica had completed 5.5 years that time and though I was in no hurry to replace my Indica, albiet whenever I would do so, I wanted to make sure that I go for a vehicle, which would be absolutely trouble free, reliable & would address all the pain points that I had with Indica. Cars that were considered are listed below. Verna: It all started with the launch of New Verna in 2011. I took a test drive very shortly after the launch. Though I was impressed with the specs and loved the drivers seat and cockpit, the rear seat was a deal breaker. Very poor under-thigh support and it was a bit claustrophobic though it had the gem of an engine under the hood. Duster: Then was the turn of Renault Duster. Though it was a soft roader with very good ride and ground clearance, it had very little to offer inside when compared to its exteriors. It never even aroused that kind interest in me so as to compel me to take a test drive. Ford Ecosport: This was the other vehicle, which I was keenly interested in. You won't believe for almost a year I had the red Ecosport as a wallpaper on my desktop at home. Ford had launched the Ecosport with their revolutionary petrol engine, the 1.0L Ecoboost. Had heard & read a lot about this little wonder. This engine had won the International Engine of the Year award & three other awards when the new Focus was launched with this engine in UK & other European countries. All the above said and done, this car too had very little to offer inside the cabin in terms of space. Moreever Ford's high headedness (in terms of long waiting periods) really put me off. It was not at all satisfying my requirement of a spacious 5 seater. Meanwhile in April-2013 there was a new addition in my family and we were now six of us, 4 adults and 2 kids. XUV: The Mahindra XUV5OO was also a very strong contender initially. People had gone crazy by looking at the VFM proposition of this car, they thronged the showrooms & had to depend on their destiny to have their names shortlisted in the lucky draw. But then hardly anyone who was joining the mad rush of booking was aware of the teething troubles the initial owners were experiencing. Clutch failures, grinding noise of brakes, electronics malfunctioning etc and the list was increasing by the day. So I waited for 3 long years for all the initial niggles to settle down, however the XUV niggles thread went on growing like Hanumanji's tail and with that my affinity for XUV kept on diminishing. My elder sister who was one of the earlier adopters of the XUV had to deal with Power Steering failure in a crowded marketplace and even the gear box replacement. That was enough to dent her confidence and even mine. She sold off her XUV within one and a half year of ownership and I lost all the appetite to go for one after going through the horror stories. Innova: The test drive of the Innova made me fall for it. This car had so good driveability even when fully loaded, extremely good visibility, acres of space and ride so comfortable. To top it Innova's reliability and top class service were like icing on the proverbial cake. But on hearing the on-road price of 16.5 lakhs for the V model, I fell flat on my face. That time itself I had made up my mind to go for an Innova, albeit a used one. Ertiga: This car is such a wonderful car for a family of 6, 4 adults and two kids and priced so very attractively. However the punny 1.25 litre DDiS engine and the front wheel drive were the two deal breakers for me. If it had a 1.6 litre or a bigger engine and a rear wheel drive I wouldn't have looked elsewhere. Mobilio: All the hoopla built around this Ertiga slayer died the moment it was launched and prices announced. When I saw this car personally, it made me wonder what was Honda smoking to price this contraption at so atrociously high price. Just making a 7 seater with flexible seating arrangement, plonking a diesel heart with highest mileage in the segment and the Honda badge, were these worth its asking price? Mobilio had lost the battle for me even before it had started. My urge for getting hold of a good pre-worshipped Innova grew stronger by the day. The hunt for the perfect Innova started somewhere in Feb-2014. Went through a friendly agent initially. He showed me Innovas of various vintages. Few of them I test drove:
When probed about the asking price, I was told that it would be in the range of 8.5 lakhs to 9 lakhs. That was hard to believe (though music to my ears), because when I checked out TBHP Used car price calculator it said Rs. 10.42 - Rs. 11.26 lakh if buying privately for same vintage car. If quoted 9 lakhs or thereabouts then there would be no thinking twice and I would straightaway seal the deal. However if it inched closer to 10 lakhs or above, then Ertiga would become a strong contender as in the same price I would be getting a brand new car with 2+2 years warranty, satisfying 95% of my needs. I was not considering Mobilio at all as I had a strong feeling that the Innova was too eager to get into my garage. Fingers were tightly crossed now. October would decide my fate. Fate it was, very very bad. The leasing company got into a deal with DSK Toyota directly and I was not at all considered even to make any offer. In the meanwhile my company was opening a bidding process for CLC cars, which were to be sold off to company employees. There was one Innova with the below mentioned details:
When asked to produce the car documents, my company was not able to produce any documents related to this car. All the documents would be with CITICORP FINANCE, RC Card, Insurance etc. and it seemed this car was confiscated by them. This was an eye opener for me. Had it not been for this wonderful community, I would have never known the underlying facts behind this shady deal. Lesson Learnt: Go for a used car only if the owner is personally known to you, all the documents are in place, full service history of the car is available and most importantly, it is not being sold at ridiculously low price compared to the market price. Come November first week. This was when God planned to land an Innova in my garage. Some sequence of events then: 1. 03-Nov-2014--->TBHP member, Shahbaaz forwarded me this OLX ad, 2009 Innova, V-7 seater, 49K on odo for sale 2. 04-Nov-2014--->Early morning, I droped a text message, to the owner inquiring about expected price and if it was a 7 or 8 seater. Got a call from owner @ 10:00am, which I missed to respond. I immediately called him back and told that I was interested. I could not visit the same day as some important meetings were lined up. I fixed an appointment @ 10:45am the next day. I called up my friend who stays in the same area and he confirmed that he knew this person. 3. 05-Nov-2014--->Visited the owner's home, checked out the car. Price quoted 8 lacs, I started with 7.25 lacs, he came down to 7.5. Then after further negotiation, a value of 7.35 lacs was finalized. I asked him the token amount and he said 2 lacs. I immediately cut a cheque for 2 lacs and confirmed the deal. Made an agreement on a blank paper endorsed by signatures from both parties. The gentleman said that he wanted to get concurrence from his son (who was in US), because the car was on his name. I said fine, I will wait for your confirmation 4. 06-Nov-2014--->No updates on this day and I kept my fingers tightly crossed 5. 07-Nov-2014--->The gentleman confirmed the acceptance from his son. I transfer the balance amount 5.4 lacs to his account (5K was added to the initial deal of 7.35 as the gentleman's wife said that they had spent 12K on two new tyres, hence wanted at least some compensation for that. I agreed to it without much of a debate. After the complete payment was done I noticed that the RC card and the car was still hypotheticated to bank. I was in a jinx. I called up the person to ask if there was any loan outstanding. He said that the loan was foreclosed. I then asked why the hypothecation was not removed. Alternatively I asked if they had the NOC from bank and form 35. He said that he will have to search for it. 6. 08-Nov-2014--->Luckily I got a call that the bank NOC, form 35 were in place. I said that I will come to collect the vehicle at 4pm. Went to their home, handed over sweets to them took their blessings and returned back with the car and documents. All this happened in such a jiffy that folks in my family couldn't believe their eyes that an Innova was standing in my garage. I would like to thank the moderators (Eddy and GTO) for moving my thread to the "Assembly Line" forum and giving me private space to write a detailed review at my own pace. As per the guidelines on posting an Ownership Report on Team-BHP I would try to make it as comprehensive as possible: I will now try to give you a complete report of the car based on the guidelines of the Assembly section: The driving experience: As of now I have used the car only for my office commutes (2.5K kms). I didn't get a chance to take it on long highway trips as dad was hospitalized in the month of November and even now I have to take him to the hospital daily for check-up. Even in city the car is very easy to drive. Though one has to always bear in mind the sheer size of this car it has never been cumbersome. Just imagine this. Daily I return from office well past 11pm and I have to take my car in reverse all the way from entrance to my parking slot and turn it @ 90 degrees in the end. Initially I was very skeptical about performing this jugglery every day. But the huge green house with wide mirrors come in very handy while reverse parking. Rearward visibility is very good through the IRVM and ORVMs. Due to this I purely depend on the beeps of the reverse parking sensors and I didn't find a need for a reverse parking camera. Comfort:
Features: Though this is the top-end V model, one has to bear in mind that it is now six years old and six years back features even in top end models were very few are far in between. Fortunately this car has front two airbags, ABS, power mirrors, door open warning, seat belt reminder for driver and passenger, tachometer, Immobilizer, tilt steering, parking sensors, Power Windows (With Driver side Auto Down), Power Door Lock etc. This was the minimum I was expecting. What is does not have:
What I like:
My daily drive to office (to and fro) is 60 kms. Around 50% of that is on the highway and the rest through city. However I did not opt for the Innova just to take myself to office and back. The main purpose was to venture on long highway trips with my family. Unfortunately didn't get a chance as yet. Comments on the exterior styling & design:
I hope I have been able to post a balanced review that includes all the good and bad things about the car. I have tried my best to be extremely neutral & unbiased. I have accepted the car for what it is, including the pros as well as the cons. Any queries, suggestions, comments are most welcome Sharing some pictures below, which I had taken on the day when I brought it home and when I had seen the car the first time. Dad doing the puja Wifey drawing the swastik Exterior Left Front Exterior Right Front Exterior Rear Right front door open Left front door open Boot Open Interiors Dash-1 Dash-2 Dash-3 Last edited by Aditya : 26th December 2014 at 12:12. Reason: Adding full review to the opening post :) |
(29) Thanks |
The following 29 BHPians Thank AutoIndian for this useful post: | a4anurag, Arun.K, asit.kulkarni93, Balaji31582, chevyman, coolclouds, cyberwhizs, dean5545, Desmosedici, Digital Vampire, girimajiananth, GTO, InControl, john doe, JoseVijay, kashif_baig, KedarB, motorpsycho, mroptimist, paragsachania, parsh, prabhu789, rakesh_r, Rshreyansh, speed kills, swiftnfurious, Tejas@perioimpl, TheARUN, theexperthand |
|
15th December 2014, 06:09 | #2 |
BHPian | Finally you got one. Congrats on your Innova. I'm shocked to see the price of a pre-owned Innova. They hardly depreciate in comparison to other cars. Mine is still going strong at 1,45,000km. I service it at 12-13,000km intervals but use synthetic oil. The best part of the Innova is space in the middle row and the ride quality. I know of atleast 3 people who have sold an Innova only to buy a new one as they are used to this space and ride comfort. I am waiting for the facelift of Innova and Fortuner. Will pick up any of the 2 which I like the most. |
(3) Thanks |
The following 3 BHPians Thank dean5545 for this useful post: | AutoIndian, GTO, theexperthand |
15th December 2014, 06:48 | #3 |
Team-BHP Support | re: Toyota Innova: My Pre-worshipped Black Workhorse Congrats AutoIndian. Thread deserves pics. Even I have developed a soft corner for Innova these days, don't know why. I used to hate it for the value for money proposition it offers - but then compared to recent entrants like Mobilio - Innova is atleast a very capable, solid and spacious workhorse. I hope the upcoming refresh introduces more features, a more powerful engine and a taller sixth gear to make it a better deal for the high asking price. |
(1) Thanks |
The following BHPian Thanks CrAzY dRiVeR for this useful post: | AutoIndian |
15th December 2014, 09:15 | #4 | |||||
| re: Toyota Innova: My Pre-worshipped Black Workhorse
Thank you for your wishes dean5545. Yes finally I could bring home the Innova. It was really a very long wait and my family members were more frustrated than me, especially my father who had lost all his patience. However this wait has been worthwhile. Quote:
Thank you CrAzY dRiVeR. I knew it, there would be a demand for pictures, but kindly bear with me for 6 days. Though I have a current set of pictures, but all of them were clicked before I purchased this car. In the next few days it will be all spruced up and then I want to click it in its complete glory and share here. Hope you don't mind Quote:
Forgot to add one thing in my opening post. When I brought home the Innova, I found out that one tyre was newly fitted, while the others were factory fitted. It meant the tyres were pretty old, almost 6 years old and completed 50K kms. There was no point in extending the tyre life any further, because most of them had minor cracks on the side walls. Hence I replaced all 4 with (almost) new Bridgestone B390 tyres from Lokmanya Tyres, Karve Road. Amost new and not brand new because, few days back a brand new Innova had come to replace its factory fitted B390s and he had four of them in stock. Those had hardly run few hundred kms and he quoted me Rs 5000/- a piece (brand new ones were for 5,600/-). I compared these tyres with the brand new B390 (side by side). The treads were almost same like brand new tyres. Only difference was that there were pebbles/ small stones between the treads (since these had run few hundred kms) and the tyre colour was not as dark/black as the new unused one. I was fine with that, so long as Mr. Ashish Kulkarni was offering me the standard company warranty, even on these sparsely used tyres. Most importantly all the 4 tyre sidewalls had 2314 embossed on them, meaning all these were June-2014 manufactured. I made up my mind in favour of them after looking at that month/year stamp He said that the balancing and wheel alignment charges would be extra, I told fine. He was also ready to buy back my old tyres if they were found in good condition. The old tyres were not in good shape. One tyre had a radial cut, another one was patched from inside. The two others also had some cuts on the treads. My decision to change the tyres proved to be the right one. He said that no one will buy these tyres and asked me if I want to take them back. I told him to keep them with him and scrap them. I didn't wan't to carry those huge tyres in my boot and go hunting behind some scrap dealer just for peanuts. | |||||
(1) Thanks |
The following BHPian Thanks AutoIndian for this useful post: | Nik2772 |
15th December 2014, 11:28 | #5 | |
Senior - BHPian | re: Toyota Innova: My Pre-worshipped Black Workhorse Congrats Auto Indian - wish you unlimited safe miles. This thread now needs pics Quote:
The previous owner was such a car lover and gentle man that he did a full service, replaced the battery with a new battery and put 1K worth diesel (all FOC, after the deal was finalized) when he parted with his car. --Anoop | |
(3) Thanks |
The following 3 BHPians Thank theexperthand for this useful post: | AutoIndian, InControl, vijay_rodie |
15th December 2014, 11:36 | #6 |
Senior - BHPian Join Date: Jul 2009 Location: Garden City
| re: Toyota Innova: My Pre-worshipped Black Workhorse Congrats on your Innova! Wish you many happy miles on it. I use Ertiga and Innova back to back on long highway drives (2-3k kms per trip) and I'm in love with Innova now. During last week trip, Innova returned 17.xx kmpl with 80-90 speeds (As per display) and its much closer to Ertiga figure. Even service expenses are lower at ASS. |
(1) Thanks |
The following BHPian Thanks coolclouds for this useful post: | AutoIndian |
15th December 2014, 11:44 | #7 | |
BANNED Join Date: Oct 2011 Location: Hyderabad
| Quote:
Hearty Congratulations on acquiring the black horse! Happy for you buddy. This car will serve you more than you would want to keep the car with you. Ultra reliable car I must say and I love the Innova if only we had a large family this would be the car I'd choose. We need pictures of the black horse. Anurag. | |
(2) Thanks |
The following 2 BHPians Thank a4anurag for this useful post: | AutoIndian, ecosport rules |
16th December 2014, 00:41 | #8 | |||||
| re: Toyota Innova: My Pre-worshipped Black Workhorse Quote:
Thank you coolclouds. Quote:
Last edited by GTO : 22nd December 2014 at 14:28. Reason: Moved pictures to the opening post :) | |||||
() Thanks |
21st December 2014, 16:52 | #9 |
| re: Toyota Innova: My Pre-worshipped Black Workhorse Not everything was swanky panky when the car was handed over to me. It had some battle scars and wounds that were inflicted on it in it's 6 years of existence. Few examples are shown below. Chipped Paint and dent over RHS front tyre Multiple scratches on front bumper LHS Loose seat cover and the missing seat height adjuster knob Missing "Toyota" Monogram Missing "V" from the 2.5 V |
(5) Thanks |
The following 5 BHPians Thank AutoIndian for this useful post: | GTO, InControl, JoseVijay, parsh, theexperthand |
21st December 2014, 18:42 | #10 |
| re: Toyota Innova: My Pre-worshipped Black Workhorse Now I will let the pictures do the talking. In the next four posts I will share with you the pictorial process of the following fitments:
Front Seats vanished and second row being removed: Middle row seats removed completely: Seat fitment started - Cusion being cut by blade: Clipping rings being gripped in pliers to hold the covers tightly in place: The steel frame at the bottom of the seat: Rings are being clipped to the bottom steel frame: Glue being also applied to the seat cover: The strings of the back rest being pulled together: The first seat to get the new clothes: The seat fitter posing for the camera while applying glue: The driver seat with new clothes being put in place: Front row seats fitted in place with tools scattered on the laminated floor: The middle row seats with new clothes being put in place: Last edited by AutoIndian : 21st December 2014 at 19:47. |
(5) Thanks |
The following 5 BHPians Thank AutoIndian for this useful post: | GTO, JoseVijay, motorpsycho, parsh, theexperthand |
21st December 2014, 18:51 | #11 |
| re: Toyota Innova: My Pre-worshipped Black Workhorse Music System Fitment Electrician removing the factory fitted 2 din system Factory fitted 2 din system removed from its place Electrician sorting out the wiring harness of the new 2 din system Electrician sorting out the wiring harness of the new 2 din system-2 The Pioneer 779BT system in place A closer look at the multicoloured Pioneer 779BT system Last edited by AutoIndian : 21st December 2014 at 19:48. |
(5) Thanks |
The following 5 BHPians Thank AutoIndian for this useful post: | GTO, InControl, JoseVijay, parsh, theexperthand |
|
21st December 2014, 19:08 | #12 |
| re: Toyota Innova: My Pre-worshipped Black Workhorse Floor Lamination Fitment Floor lamination being laid out over the carpet Floor lamination being tucked neatly underneath the centre arm rest The extra portion of the lamination being trimmed with a pair of scissors The lamination in front passenger seat area being laid out A wonder kid staring at my camera while taking support of handrest Another picture of the wonder kid with his innocent stare The extra portion of the lamination being trimmed to make way for seat fixtures Floor lamination being tucked neatly under the plastic in the boot area Last edited by AutoIndian : 21st December 2014 at 19:48. |
(6) Thanks |
The following 6 BHPians Thank AutoIndian for this useful post: | GTO, JoseVijay, motorpsycho, swiftnfurious, The Great, theexperthand |
21st December 2014, 19:38 | #13 |
| re: Toyota Innova: My Pre-worshipped Black Workhorse Side Foot Step Fitment The side steps unpacked and kept aside Fitter with his tools ready to fit the LHS foot step The balancing act The middle bracket out of the three being tightened Another view of the LHS foot step in place and ready to use The RHS foot step being fitted in place The cracked plastic corner of RHS foot step The cracked plastic was immediately replaced by a new one |
(7) Thanks |
The following 7 BHPians Thank AutoIndian for this useful post: | Baddychat, GTO, InControl, JoseVijay, motorpsycho, parsh, theexperthand |
21st December 2014, 20:33 | #14 |
| re: Toyota Innova: My Pre-worshipped Black Workhorse Now its time for some show off. My car was in garage from 20th Dec till 23rd Dec. These four days the following work was done:
Rear show off first RHS rearwards On Opening RHS front door RHS Front Door trim holding bottles On Opening RHS rear door RHS Rear Door trim Middle and third row of seats Front RHS three quarter view-1 Front RHS three quarter view-2 Front RHS three quarter view-3 |
(13) Thanks |
The following 13 BHPians Thank AutoIndian for this useful post: | 9thsphinx, giri1.8, GTO, john doe, JoseVijay, Latheesh, motorpsycho, parsh, phamilyman, swiftnfurious, Tejas@perioimpl, theexperthand, Vasuki |
21st December 2014, 20:51 | #15 |
| re: Toyota Innova: My Pre-worshipped Black Workhorse Some more random exterior shots. The man and the machine. Standing besides the car is my Dad for whom this Innova was brought home |
(23) Thanks |
The following 23 BHPians Thank AutoIndian for this useful post: | 197Horses, 9thsphinx, abhinavinc, Arun.K, Desmosedici, dreamseller, fusionbang, giri1.8, GTO, InControl, JASMEET MATTOO, john doe, JoseVijay, lamborghini, misguidedmisile, motorpsycho, parsh, Samba, Sherlocked, swiftnfurious, TaurusAl, theexperthand, vhharan1 |