The Drive:
Coming to the drive, I feel the engine is really decent one at that. As mentioned before, the gearbox is just plain horrible. If this engine had a better automatic gearbox, the car's performance can seriously utilized because the engine is not slow. The gearbox makes it slow. This engine is best at home between 2000-3000 RPM because it has the most accessible torque in that part of the powerband. Bottom end is also quite usable in stop start traffic. Worst part of this engine is the top end of the power band. It is buzzy, noisy, and yet does not generate that much acceleration. This car is made for the sedate driver and not the hurried one. An overtaking maneuver also takes some planning and quite a lot of time. It will cruise all day at 70-80 but get above that and it struggles to maintain a bearable NVH level. It is a difficult change from the Innova which used to cruise at 100-120 all day and the Civic which was capable of much more.
The handling of the car is nothing to write much about. Being a tallboy, body roll does exist and steering has no absolute feedback. Plus the big steering does not aid in quick maneuvering or direction change. I have to brake much more before taking a corner in this i10 than I have to in my cousin's Santro. I would rate Santro much higher than i10 in steering feedback. The puny 155 section tires also squeel too much and are rather easy to run out of grip. Another reason which means this car is for the sedate driver. The suspension is stiff and ride is very bouncy. Sorry Hyundai but I must confess again, the Santro has a much much better ride that is easily noticeable even to a layman after back to back journeys in each. Just wish the suspension was tad softer because anyways the handling is not great now, might as well get some comfort for it.
The gearbox is so jerky on downshifts and really shake up the whole car when floored and the gear is flummoxed to choose the right gear. It is jerky on upshifts near the redline and the engine note too on the redline is horrible though being compared to the Civic which is a masterclass at the redline (VTEC Kicked in YO!

). This gearbox really brings this engine down. If it was a 5 speed gearbox, things would have been in a different league altogether but the 4th gear feels to strained above 80-90...

the picture above showing it crossing 10K kms
Kitna Deti Hai?
I get around roughly 10-12 kmpl with 100% AC on. The route comprises from Dwarka to Gurgaon which means its mostly on the NH8. It maintains a constant 80-100 km/h with occasionally going to 120. It is not great but it is still okay and acceptable.
Worst I have ever gotten is a rotten 6 kmpl.
Accessories Installed:
- rear sensors integrated with the IRVM.
- Map My India Navigator (dont know the model)
In conclusion:
This car is really really desirable. It is great VFM i must admit because the price on road came to 4.6 lacs in September 2011. I think it is purely built to be a city run about. It is not meant for petrol heads seeking pleasure behind the wheel. It runs out of breath after 100-110 kph so it is not meant for the highway too.
But it can seat 4 in decent comfort and it is got decent equipment for the price. I think I have a different type of respect for this car. The respect for the Civic was unthinkable. I loved it so much I used to take more care of it than I did of myself. The Innova was respected because it was used so much and it just did its duty without breaking a sweat. This is just living the job the Innova had yet a more difficult one because it is always constant compared to the Innova. But it has created a another space in my heart.
Currently the car is at 16875 kms...
PROS:
-decent styling
-good engine
-good equipment levels
-OEM Stereo is decent
-Switches have long lasting feel.
-Mirrors are very easy to live with.
CONS:
-horrible gearbox lets it down.
-tight space for 3 in the back.
-fixed headrests