TESTING, TESTING 3, 3, 3 
Well well well, “3” is all that’s buzzing in my mind since the time I took the delivery of my BMW 3er this evening. An
Alpineweiss III F30 320d it is, equipped with the M Performance Power Kit (MPPK). APPARENTLY, this is also my 333rd post here on Team BHP!
Here’s a little write up on how it all started;
ONCE UPON A TIME…
My desire to own a 3 series started about a decade ago when I had just stepped into my teen age. Someone in my neighbourhood had just imported a BMW. It was a 3xx and that was the very first time I had a proper look at a BMW inside out. Those were the days when a Bimmer was almost as exclusive as a Bentley is today. I was love-struck with the blue propeller badge, the kidney grille, the rear-wheel drive mechanism, in a nutshell with the whole concept of a BMW. The locality I lived in had many imported/exotic cars but nothing else attracted me as BMWs did. Owning the Ultimate Driving Machine before finishing college was added to my wishlist. I started with the scale models and I can recall that in my entire collection, my favourite was a white pull-back BMW, some variant lol, along with a white Audi TT. So this is how the scene was like until one fine day mom decided to get an X1 for general use at home. There’s also a 525d in the family but sadly I didn’t have a DL at that time which kept me away from the driver's seat of both of them initially. It was hard to resist but as they say the longer you have to wait for something, the more you will appreciate when you get it.
THE MAIDEN VOYAGE
It was only a couple of years back when I got the opportunity to get intimate with a BMW. I had visited Deutsche Motoren with a friend of mine to have a look at the E90 3 Series and took their Alpine White 320d Corporate Edition for a Test Drive. As soon as I pressed the start button there was a

on my face and with the roar of the engine I finally entered the world of Sheer Driving Pleasure!
I lifted my foot off the brake and slightly caressed the gas and there we go. I started off carefully and was taking it nice and steady until reaching the Rajpath signal, which decided to turn red. The sales manager quickly explained me the ‘DS’ mode while we were at the signal. I gently moved the gear lever to the ‘DS’ and said let's give it a go while I rested my foot on the brake. The roads were surprisingly not so crowded and it seemed like a perfect setup to test a Bimmer. He advised me to go easy on the gas as it was an area which had lots of VIP movement and I was new to the ‘DS’ mode and according to him, it completely changed the car’s character. The roads were surprisingly empty. I waited until the signal turned green and as soon as I saw the green light I murmured a line inspired from the movie Iron Man (one of my favorite movies of all time),
‘Sharma ji, sometimes you gotta run before you can walk’, before floooring the pedal! The car pushed us back and had us glued to the seat. I didn't care much about anything else for the next couple of minutes and only the word 'Joy' can define that moment. It was not that I was driving rash or overspending on public roads, it was just that the car felt so much fun. It was the power of the moment...a moment of internal happiness. I’m bad at expressing happiness and excitement at times so the word ‘internal happiness’ should sum it up. I had finally found the reason which makes the BMW folks blabbering the word ‘JOY’.
We then stopped by at the side of the road to click some snaps and while I was at it a long lost uncle spotted us out of the blues and stopped by. He inquired what were we doing and I showed him the car and enthusiastically explained him about stuffs it had to offer. He didn’t seem too impressed and said that the interiors are too basic and didn’t look that great overall. Later on I too felt that the car is too basic and the absence of iDrive certainly made the car feel like a computer without the internet. His expression towards the car kinda took away my excitement to some extent but he decided to accompany us back to the showroom. His red-beaconed Montero followed us as he joined us in the car while we returned to the showroom. He too took the details such as pricing and specs of the car as I sat quietly. I told the manager that I'll get back in an year or so and even on hearing that I won't be buying it anytime soon, he seemed pretty interested on giving us the further details which was a nice gesture. Even though all the bells and whistles were missing I just wanted one as I was just spell bounded by the performance.
BUT THEN :(
Due to some unavoidable circumstances, the purchase got delayed and the E90 reached to it’s extinction globally, though it was still on sale in India I didn’t really want to buy a phasing out model and I knew by the time my purchase would go through there won’t be any E90s left anyway. The manager had told me that the new 3-Series (F30) was supposedly going to cost a lot more than the then incumbent E90 (which is true). Someone had told me that the upcoming F30 was going to be softer and comfort oriented. I was slightly disappointed on hearing all this and lost my enthusiasm to some extent and started considering the other alternatives such as the A4 and the C250 CDi.
The F30 finally launched and as soon as the pics were released I started getting messages from friends... the ones who knew how much I love the 3 series but personally, I wasn't very impressed when I saw it in the official pictures...but the very first glimpse of her in flesh and I was lovestruck! It was like love at first sight! I really tried hard to convince myself that I don’t like the car and tried to find as many flaws as possible but I didn’t succeed. I’m glad I didn’t! I was infatuated by the C250 at that time...Too bad the beautiful motor is now discontinued by Mercedes-Benz India.
ALMOST THERE
My initial budget was around 30L and I was considering the E90 320d corporate edition but the almighty sitting up there always has the best planned for us, and as soon as the things that delayed my purchase got sorted out, grandpa shocked me by saying that he has booked a better car, that is the Audi A6 for me. I was shaken until I came to know that he's still planning and about to book the car and it is not yet booked. I rushed to Audi Mumbai West and thought I'd check the car once anyway. I loved the way it looked but the absence of Quattro on the 2.0TDi was a deal breaker. It’s a disgrace that the Quattro is not given in a car costing around 50L on road. Had a fairly good experience and took the car to the Lokhandwala back road to see what it’s got. The SA was a nice fellow and tried to convince me that RWD/Quattro has no significance in everyday driving condition. "
Sir kya karna quattro ya real wheel drive gaadi le ke!!? It's hardly of any importance" said the sales rep, I took the car to about 60kmph and took a sharp turn and bang goes his head on the window. There was a minute of awkward silence in the cabin after that. This was purely unintentional though as I was just curious to see how the car reacts but it felt like he has got his answer...as they say
"action speaks louder than the words". I invited him to take my car for a ride and take the same turn in the 525d or X1 at double the speed and see the difference and I guess he had got my point by then. Overall, the car felt comfortable over the bumps and had features like Auto Hold, Air Suspension, etc but was just not enough to satisfy the petrol/diesel head in me. After returning to the showroom, he still tried to convince me to take the car as he had almost finalised the deal with my grandpa but it was a humble no from my end. I did give him few references though on which he worked upon. There was also a used S4 up for grabs but it had few cracks on the windshield to which he said it happened while cleaning... but I wasn't given a green signal for a used car.
I told myself and people at home that nothing else will work out and it has to be a F30 and without wasting any more time I decided to book the car. I had driven a friend's 320d before and since I was caught up with some work I couldn't take the official test drive before booking it but I didn't want to get back and delay my purchase just for the test-drive so I called Navnit Motors the same day and told them my requirements and asked for the proforma... I wanted the top end variant because the base one despite being well equipped lacked some features, here is a list of the differences between the base line and the luxury line:
- 209 W, 9 speakers vs 100 W, 6 speakers
- Glass sunroof, electrical
- 17" Multispoke rims with 225/50R17 Tires
- High-Res TFT instrument display with extended contents
- Lights package with ambient lighting
- Sport steering wheel
- Extended bluetooth with audio streaming
- Contact photo display (iDrive)
- Voice control
- Dakota leather upholstery
Then they weren't too sure of white and I wasn't flexible on the colour and only wanted a white or red. Didn't get any update until a couple of days and then I finally got a call from Swapnil, who's also a fellow bhpian and he said that the red one has a booking on it but he can arrange a white for me. He recommended me the saddle brown option for the interior and I'd like to thank him for this as the shade is just too good and I have already got lots of compliments on the upholstery colour. I didn't waste any more time and got the down payment done through RTGS and everything went hassle free there after. And finally, an Alpine White Bimmer was billed to my name!
I decided to manage the registration part myself this time and since it was going to take time, I thought I'd make this period fruitful so ordered the M Performance Power Kit (MPPK).
The overall booking experience was nice and even though there were slight delays here and there everything finished nice and smooth in the end it's all that matters...
I’d give the overall experience with Navnit Motors and Swapnil a 9/10.
AND FINALLY Here she is! 
"
On her way home... "

"
Nature's message... Mornings indeed sound pleasant after I got her and JOY is swinging this thing around with windows down, sunroof open when half the world is asleep"

"
These eyes aren't blue (pun intended) but still it could hypnotise
"
CREDITS
Special thanks to:
lapsi
akshay1234
taranonline
fre2bpowerless
karan561
bluebeem
imp!
///RMan
for their advices on various random stuffs!