Old 5th May 2024, 01:52   #5581

Re: Review: Skoda Octavia (3rd-gen)

Originally Posted by the1984@doctor View Post
Any experienced FNG whose services have been taken by the group members, may be shared to ensure a professional work and near to OEM standard work.
Carmed is really good in Bangalore, they have a state of the art facility and lot of high end cars get serviced there.
Myself any a few other Octavia owners I know are very happy with them!
speedracer05 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th May 2024, 08:33   #5582

The majority of the mileage done in my Octy 1.8Tsi AT, is in the highways. I would have easily covered more than 55k kms on the highways. Because of it, my windshield is having lot of stone marks - small small marks which causes the light ( sun light/ opposite vehicle beam) to scatter and the vision is not what i would prefer.

Experts, need your help and suggestions on how to remove these small stone marks which are spread across the windshield.
Old 8th May 2024, 09:08   #5583

Review: Skoda Octavia (3rd-gen)-screenshot-20240508-9.05.038239am.png

Buddies, How do I change the highlighted section to reflect the data since car was started. Currently only details since refuelling are shown.
Old 8th May 2024, 10:54   #5584

Originally Posted by vivek.ks View Post
Attachment 2603637

Buddies, How do I change the highlighted section to reflect the data since car was started. Currently only details since refuelling are shown.
Press the scroller on the right once. It cycles between since refuelling, long term and since start.
robby0707 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th May 2024, 23:53   #5585

Hey guys, need advice on a purchase decision. I have shortlisted 2 Octavia’s, one is a June 2019 registered 46k kms run 1.8TSI listed for 16 lacs and another is a October 2021 registered 40k kms run 2.0TSI listed for 23 lacs. I, obviously, am inclined towards the 2.0 TSI but my spouse is not convinced that spending 7 lacs extra would be worth it. I understand that the engine is better but what about the gearbox? Is it DQ250? Any idea on the reliability of the newer model?

2021 car is under warranty but I will need to travel from Pune to Mumbai to check out the car. 2019 car is in Pune and is in a good condition. Suggestions please.
Old 12th May 2024, 00:26   #5586
SLK

Originally Posted by TDIRaghav View Post
I, obviously, am inclined towards the 2.0 TSI but my spouse is not convinced that spending 7 lacs extra would be worth it. I understand that the engine is better but what about the gearbox? Is it DQ250? Any idea on the reliability of the newer model?
While 23L sounds like a lot of money for a car that has been discontinued and 16 sounds better!, ignoring that I'd think the 2.0L should be the ideal choice. The gearbox in 2.0L is not DQ 250 (which was a very old 6 speed), this is something new DQ3** and is known to be better, because it is not dry clutch like the DQ200 in the 1.8tsi.

The only advantage I see of the 1.8tsi is the sunroof!, and a slightly unique road presence, as the 2.0L looks like 'mini' Superb. (but looks are subjective).

The shift-by-wire in the 2.0L is good enough for me to choose that over the 1.8Tsi. But for now I'll hold on to my 1.8, can't seem to see any worthy alternative .
Old 12th May 2024, 00:31   #5587

I understand that the engine is better but what about the gearbox? Is it DQ250? Any idea on the reliability of the newer model?
The 1.8 TSI engine is actually on par, if not better, than 2 TSI in regular Octavia. 1.8 TSI is more mod friendly too. Also MK3 Octavia is overall a more fun to drive car as MK4 has more softer suspension setup. But new Octavia has better interiors than previous, though sunroof is missing.
However the biggest differentiator is gearbox in 2 TSI which is wet clutch (DQ381 - hope I am correct here), a much reliable unit than DQ200 in 1.8 TSI.
Personally I would go for the newer one. Actually you won’t go wrong with either of the 2.

Last edited by sunikkat : 12th May 2024 at 00:35.
Old 12th May 2024, 00:32   #5588

Hey guys, need advice on a purchase decision. I have shortlisted 2 Octavia’s, one is a June 2019 registered 46k kms run 1.8TSI listed for 16 lacs and another is a October 2021 registered 40k kms run 2.0TSI listed for 23 lacs. I, obviously, am inclined towards the 2.0 TSI but my spouse is not convinced that spending 7 lacs extra would be worth it. I understand that the engine is better but what about the gearbox? Is it DQ250? Any idea on the reliability of the newer model?

2021 car is under warranty but I will need to travel from Pune to Mumbai to check out the car. 2019 car is in Pune and is in a good condition. Suggestions please.
would recommend you to get 1.8 TSI in pune only. Get it checked at Skoda ASS and check the service history thoroughly. You will be saving 7 lacs which is a huge amount and you can modify your 1.8 TSI after using it for sometime. It has 7 speed DQ200 gearbox with paddle shifters which is fantastic to drive.
Old 12th May 2024, 06:55   #5589

I own a 1.8TSi (6+ years old/74k km and still going strong!) and have driven 2.0TSI of my colleague a lot. 1.8TSi is better than 2.0TSI and even he acknowledges it. The drive difference might be because of the dry clutch of 1.8Tsi vs wet clutch of 2.0Tsi. Wet clutch is supposed to have less failures compared to dry one.

If 1.8Tsi is a 2019 model, then you should be able to take the " any time warranty" at INR 49k. Earmark a lakh for the probable clutch failure. Even after all this, the gap is still high to a 2.0Tsi and my suggestion would be to go for the 1.8TSi, of its maintained well and has the full service history from Skoda.
Old 14th May 2024, 07:33   #5590

Thanks for the suggestions. My better half decided not to spend more than 20 lacs, so we are sticking to 1.8 TSi models only.

I checked out 2 cars yesterday, one is a 2018 manufactured and Jan 2019 registered vehicle with a local dealer. This is a 46K run Style AT model quoted at 16 lacs. I could see pain overspray on rear right door so I reviewed the service history thoroughly and it was done from Skoda workshop but a really shabby job. Tyres were changed from Skoda workshop as well and run only 7K kms so almost new. I can negotiate a bit and maybe get the price down closer to 15 lacs.

2nd car was with Spinny and it's a June 2019 1.8TSi L&K model quoted at 18.50 lacs which is not negotiable. Tyres are new on this one as well and last service was done 5 months back, insurance valid till October. So, no major immediate expenses apart from some rubbing and polishing work. This car is run 56K kms so I am not sure if the 3 lacs premium over the style model is justified or not? The age difference is only 6 months between the 2 cars. Even on this car the rear right door is repainted but seems to be done right. I have bought a car from Spinny previously and understand there is no negotiation with these guys but I feel that they have overpriced by about a lac here.

My wife is leaning towards L&K due to ambient lighting, both of us do not care much about the sunroof so it is not a deciding factor at all. I will also be listing my 2019 Vento 1.2TSi run for 30K kms on TBHP shortly.
Old 14th May 2024, 09:30   #5591
SLK

My wife is leaning towards L&K due to ambient lighting, both of us do not care much about the sunroof so it is not a deciding factor at all. I will also be listing my 2019 Vento 1.2TSi run for 30K kms on TBHP shortly.
Well L&K was always 3L more than style and there are quite a few relevant differences too. Airbags, premium tail lamps, virtual cockpit, electronic and memory driver seat, keyless, TPMS, Canton sound system, some hooks etc.

The premium is generally worth it... these small luxuries help make your experience so much more satisfying. However gimmicky, when I use auto parking it puts a smile on my face .

Sunroof is good to have because it gives a roomy feeling to the cabin (without ever opening it) but if you park outside, it will need regular maintenance which may not be cheap.

See this and decide https://www.carwale.com/skoda-cars/o...2021/brochure/

Last edited by SLK : 14th May 2024 at 09:40.
Old 15th May 2024, 07:30   #5592

Thanks for the suggestions. My better half decided not to spend more than 20 lacs, so we are sticking to 1.8 TSi models only.
This is a very sensible choice. I have following suggestions
- Go for L&K models only, the extra bits would let you enjoy the car more and later on a better resale
- Prefer cars that are under Extended Warranty - EW. This would ensure peace of mind for you.
- If EW is not available then check with Service Center if EW can be purchased for the car. If the car has been serviced only in Skoda Service centers, EW should not be a problem.
- Drive the car on bad roads and check if there is a noise coming from sunroof assembly.
- Spinny's QC is typically superficial and it's best that you do your QC on your own.
- Keep an eye on OLX. Create a search for Octavia on OLX like https://www.olx.in/noida_g4059326/q-...earchCall=true Use tools like https://visualping.io/ to check if there is any new listing.
This is how I got my 1.8 L&K with EW and 26k on ODO only.

Wish you all the best.
Old 16th May 2024, 09:56   #5593

Originally Posted by SLK View Post
Well L&K was always 3L more than style and there are quite a few relevant differences too. Airbags, premium tail lamps, virtual cockpit, electronic and memory driver seat, keyless, TPMS, Canton sound system, some hooks etc.
Correction! In ~September 2015, the original Elegance/Style variant was updated to Style Plus and the following added:

1) Side Airbags at rear (making a total of 8). Maybe L&K had an additional knee airbag making a total of 9.
2) KESSY (Keyless Entry/Exit with Engine Start-Stop button).
3) Smart Link for mobile phone connections. Not sure if it will support Apple Car Play. EDIT: Supported both wired AA & ACP
4) Paddle Shifts on steering wheel.
5) Rear View Camera with display on the Head Unit.

Further, I am unsure if the tail lamps were more premium in the 2018 L&K. TPMS (passive based on wheel sensor) was very much there in my 2016 Style Plus. Pretty sure it had a driver only powered seat too.

I know because I bought and owned one of these first MY16 models for 6+ years.

See this: https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...ml#post3798681 (Skoda Octavia gets a new "Style Plus" variant; Anniversary Edition launched)

On a different note, dug out an ancient picture of 2 x MTBs loaded at the back, albeit one with the front tyre off to avoid scratches. In the 330i, I might just be able to fit one cycle tyre if I take everything else out!
Review: Skoda Octavia (3rd-gen)-octy.jpg  

Last edited by itwasntme : 16th May 2024 at 10:14.
itwasntme is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th May 2024, 12:40   #5594
SLK

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
Correction! In ~September 2015, the original Elegance/Style variant was updated to Style Plus and...
More correction: In Gen 2 of MK3, Style Plus was renamed to L&K with some feature additions and Style continued as a lower version. I have attached the link to Gen2 brochure, you may want to see that.
SLK is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th May 2024, 13:23   #5595

Originally Posted by SLK View Post
More correction: In Gen 2 of MK3, Style Plus was renamed to L&K with some feature additions and Style continued as a lower version. I have attached the link to Gen2 brochure, you may want to see that.
Totally corrected . I brain-fogged about that ugly quad-lamp facelift bit.