Old 8th August 2011, 15:53   #286

Re: Zen and the art of maintaining it

Posted this in another Zen thread, but i think this has more active viewers..

After the above fiasco, my car's timing belt can be heard rotating. The sound was quite loud at idle initially. MASS said it was rubbing against the plastic timing belt cover and replaced that (could see the marks on the old cover). The sound has considerably reduced, but it is still there. I can also hear the clicking sound when i accelerate. (When the surroundings are really quiet).

The SA says this is normal and that all Zen's have this. The thing is i don't remember this being there before i had the electrical problem and all the drama that followed.

The car is running perfectly fine otherwise, good pickup and mileage. Is this sound normal with the Zen ? My true value warranty expires in Oct end, so if anything has to be changed, i'd like to get it done within the warranty period... and i know the timing belt is an expensive part to replace.
Old 26th August 2011, 15:35   #287

Dear Friends I am planning to purchase a 2003 Zen lxi done 45000 Kms
I would be thankful if someone can guide me things to check before taking plunge.
Also what were the features of Lxi model vis-a-vis other models
Old 26th August 2011, 16:42   #288

Originally Posted by drsnt View Post
I would be thankful if someone can guide me things to check before taking plunge.
You should check the How to buy a Used car thread for general things to be checked.

Not sure about any Zen-specific issues.

Lxi has the following over the LX : Power windows for the front, Bottle-holder near the gear-box, Silver finish on the gear-knob.

VXi has the following over the LXi : fog-lamps, rear fog-lamps, rear defogger, rear wiper, Leather steering cover.
Old 26th August 2011, 16:55   #289

^ The Lxi also gets power steering over the non PS LX.
Old 28th August 2011, 00:26   #290

Originally Posted by drsnt View Post
Dear Friends I am planning to purchase a 2003 Zen lxi done 45000 Kms
Apart from the "Buying a Used Car thread" , a few things from my experience with a Zen [now over 1.5lac km] -
  1. Tyres incl spare, wheel rims
  2. Battery [and the charging system incl alternator , belt etc]
  3. A/C - check for leaks and compressor function. Amount of gas can always be refilled
  4. Suspension - Struts for leakage, lower arms
  5. Steering - Check PS components, rack & pinion, excessive play and pull to any side
  6. Brake components incl handbrake - incl servo mechanism
  7. Full service history incl accident jobs if any - check insurance policies
  8. Clutch function [plate could be worn out depending on previous use] & gears
  9. Under body inspection - rust, leaks, damage
  10. All electricals [stock & after market fittings] incl starter
Zen2001 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th August 2011, 00:30   #291

Originally Posted by Zen2001 View Post
Apart from the "Buying a Used Car thread" , a few things from my experience with a Zen [now over 1.5lac km] -
  1. Tyres incl spare, wheel rims
  2. Battery [and the charging system incl alternator , belt etc]
  3. A/C - check for leaks and compressor function. Amount of gas can always be refilled
  4. Suspension - Struts for leakage, lower arms
  5. Steering - Check PS components, rack & pinion, excessive play and pull to any side
  6. Brake components incl handbrake - incl servo mechanism
  7. Full service history incl accident jobs if any - check insurance policies
  8. Clutch function [plate could be worn out depending on previous use] & gears
  9. Under body inspection - rust, leaks, damage
  10. All electricals [stock & after market fittings] incl starter
Thankx for the detailed list, unfortunately the owner has not replied back to my queries regarding the car also the car is registered in another state,I hope that it might be a good car or else im clearly walking away
Old 10th October 2011, 16:51   #292

I have been offered a zen (infact couple of them) have my concern on which one to pick up one is 99 carb model run 50k, the other one is a 2000 mpfi run 80k. Facing a dilemma on which one to select. Parameters for selection are-

1) Mileage- Which one is more fuel efficient-carb or mpfi in everyday stop and go traffic ? How much can i expect ?

2) Cost of suspension overhaul incase of the mpfi model.

3) Areas to check before purchasing.
Old 17th October 2011, 12:55   #293

Originally Posted by kavesh55 View Post

I have been offered a zen (infact couple of them) have my concern on which one to pick up one is 99 carb model run 50k, the other one is a 2000 mpfi run 80k. Facing a dilemma on which one to select. Parameters for selection are-

1) Mileage- Which one is more fuel efficient-carb or mpfi in everyday stop and go traffic ? How much can i expect ?

2) Cost of suspension overhaul incase of the mpfi model.

3) Areas to check before purchasing.
Hi, I just sold off my 10 yr old Zen VXi 2000 mpfi model. I have had experience of both carb and my mpfi so can tell you from my experience that the mpfi is the one to go as it is more powerful and fun to drive. The suspension overhauling is better done at a private garage and it might cost you around Rs 2000 to 3000 depending on what needs to be changed. If you go to MASS it would cost you more than 10K.
Though I maybe biased but I think zen is still retains the 'driver's car' tag among small cars. You should check for any rusting on the bottom, AC (I had done the R12 to R134 conversion which costed around 8K). Other things to check would be clutch and alternator working. Those might need overhauling or service.
automachine is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th December 2011, 18:17   #294

Mini "explosions"

Hi guys. My Carb Zen has recently started making some "phat -- phat" noises like small explosions under the hood especially on starting on cold mornings, which last till the engine heats up. I run it mostly on LPG since 3 years but have not noticed this issue in the last 2 winters. Switched to petrol starts in the morning, but still the same.

I checked all the pipes/tubes under the hood and none seem to be disconnected. I also had a carb overhaul done a year ago, when all of them were replaced.

There's almost no pick up especially on inclines, engine feels very jerky [as if its missing one cylinder ] till it reaches its optimal temperature. I've also noticed that I need to pull the choke in order to start and keep the engine running till it heats up. This was something I would not have to do till a year ago. After this it runs very smoothly without any noise/jerks/stalling.

Can anyone throw more light on the probable cause of this problem, and solution for the same? Thanks.
Old 23rd December 2011, 14:38   #295

Guys, today my Zen refused to start. It was cranking perfectly, but not starting. Called the nearby mechanic and we reaslised there was no fuel coming to the engine. The issue is with the fuel pump is what he says. A new Zen mpfi fuel pump costs 7300 bucks..?? Could somebody please confirm. He now says he can change only the motor inside the pump for around 3.5 to 4 K. Is this ok ? Will i have problems again if i do this ??
Old 23rd December 2011, 14:49   #296

Originally Posted by fiat_tarun View Post
Guys, today my Zen refused to start. It was cranking perfectly, but not starting. Called the nearby mechanic and we reaslised there was no fuel coming to the engine. The issue is with the fuel pump is what he says. A new Zen mpfi fuel pump costs 7300 bucks..?? Could somebody please confirm. He now says he can change only the motor inside the pump for around 3.5 to 4 K. Is this ok ? Will i have problems again if i do this ??
Yes . A zen fuel pump is expensive . Didnt know it was 7300 INR .If I were you ,I would go to a MASS and get this repaired instead of trying to save some money and get stranded somewhere on the road.
Old 28th December 2011, 17:29   #297

Originally Posted by speedsatya View Post
Yes . A zen fuel pump is expensive . Didnt know it was 7300 INR .If I were you ,I would go to a MASS and get this repaired instead of trying to save some money and get stranded somewhere on the road.
Well, took my car to MASS finally as i didn't want the local mechanic playing with my electronics and then came the other shock.

It seems my fuel tank has been hit from underneath, which had in turn jammed my fuel pump. Since power supply was still there, the pump short and sent back a signal throughout the fuel pump wiring right up till the ECU .

So now they are going to put in a new fuel pump and i have to pray that my ECU works ! If it doesn't, a new ECU is also in the pipeline - costs 15k !

If this is the case, is it safe to source a second hand ECU from some accident vehicle. I have got quotes of around 4 - 5k for second hand Zen ECU's.
Old 19th January 2012, 22:04   #298

Re: Mini "explosions" - update

Hi guys. My Carb Zen has recently started making some "phat -- phat" noises like small explosions under the hood especially on starting on cold mornings, which last till the engine heats up. I run it mostly on LPG since 3 years but have not noticed this issue in the last 2 winters. Switched to petrol starts in the morning, but still the same.

I checked all the pipes/tubes under the hood and none seem to be disconnected. I also had a carb overhaul done a year ago, when all of them were replaced.

There's almost no pick up especially on inclines, engine feels very jerky [as if its missing one cylinder ] till it reaches its optimal temperature. I've also noticed that I need to pull the choke in order to start and keep the engine running till it heats up. This was something I would not have to do till a year ago. After this it runs very smoothly without any noise/jerks/stalling.

Can anyone throw more light on the probable cause of this problem, and solution for the same? Thanks.
Got servicing done by MASS last week. Cleaned carb/diaphragms with injector spray, checked spark plug, timing, vacuum pipes, and just about everything.
But the problem still persists on cold morning starts, even on Petrol, with violent jerks and the soundworks under the hood. Can't seem to figure out whats wrong all of a sudden.
help.
Old 19th January 2012, 22:33   #299

Got servicing done by MASS last week. Cleaned carb/diaphragms with injector spray, checked spark plug, timing, vacuum pipes, and just about everything.
But the problem still persists on cold morning starts, even on Petrol, with violent jerks and the soundworks under the hood. Can't seem to figure out whats wrong all of a sudden.
help.
Cold engine need a good strong spark to burn fuel, I sense a weak spark in your plugs which is causing this problem. Check the spark plug wires one by one. Take one wire and connect digital multimeter (set it to diode mode) probe to each end. If reading is more than 15 then replace that plug wire. Ideal value of small wire is 0 and not more than 3 for long ones. Replacing all the 4 plug wires is better.

Also check the continuity in plugs by connecting the probe on each ends of plugs, this time reading should be 0 or 1, nothing more than that.

Zen and the art of maintaining it-0311_122646.jpg
Old 21st January 2012, 22:11   #300

Originally Posted by Hashim View Post
Cold engine need a good strong spark to burn fuel, I sense a weak spark in your plugs which is causing this problem. Check the spark plug wires one by one. Take one wire and connect digital multimeter (set it to diode mode) probe to each end. If reading is more than 15 then replace that plug wire. Ideal value of small wire is 0 and not more than 3 for long ones. Replacing all the 4 plug wires is better.

Also check the continuity in plugs by connecting the probe on each ends of plugs, this time reading should be 0 or 1, nothing more than that.

Attachment 874155
Thanks, but if that's the case, it should happen even on cold start with LPG. Also, starting is not the problem, its the jerkiness AFTER starting. However, I'll check with the MASS if they have done what u have recommended.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com