Old 20th March 2015, 17:19   #1396

re: All about diesel engine oils

Details of Castrol Magnetic Diesel engine oil & it’s availability in Bangalore.

All about diesel engine oils-s1.jpg
All about diesel engine oils-cimg3075.jpg
Old 20th March 2015, 19:23   #1397

Originally Posted by narendra.vw View Post

Attachment 1351425
Attachment 1351426
Not a very good oil from my experience. My Swift D felt better with Shell HX6 and Castrol GTX D.
I miss the Shell HX6 which is no more available in Kolkata.
archat68 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st March 2015, 09:17   #1398

This is the third paid service of my Dzire Diesel(old). The service center guys are quoting Rs. 7000. They are using Indian Oil Servo Diesel engine oil 15w40 in all old swifts. They use Servo Futura Synth in the new swift. Earlier they used to go for Castrol Gtx. Do not know why they have stopped using it.

I have zeroed in on one engine oil after reading many posts on this forum-Mobil 1300 15w40.

Should I go for Mobil 1300 after purchasing from the dealer? Or should I trust Maruti authorized service as everyone else does? The only concern is-Recently a gang was arrested by the police for selling spurious Castrol brand engine oils here. Fake engine oils are banal in these areas.

Can I go for mobil engine oil from the company dealer without any worries?

Kindly advise,
Thanks in advance,
Ashok.
Old 21st March 2015, 10:27   #1399

All about Diesel engine oils

Originally Posted by Ashok Naik View Post

This is the third paid service of my Dzire Diesel(old). The service center guys are quoting Rs. 7000. They are using Indian Oil Servo Diesel engine oil 15w40 in all old swifts. They use Servo Futura Synth in the new swift. Earlier they used to go for Castrol Gtx. Do not know why they have stopped using it.

I have zeroed in on one engine oil after reading many posts on this forum-Mobil 1300 15w40.

Should I go for Mobil 1300 after purchasing from the dealer? Or should I trust Maruti authorized service as everyone else does? The only concern is-Recently a gang was arrested by the police for selling spurious Castrol brand engine oils here. Fake engine oils are banal in these areas.

Can I go for mobil engine oil from the company dealer without any worries?

Kindly advise,

Thanks in advance,

Ashok.

Maruti used Shell 5W40 fully synthetic oil in the Ciaz third Service. And I was charged 5655 INR.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/showpost.php?p=3666653

7K for the Dezire looks on the higher side. Other than the usual 3rd service requirements , did your car need anything additional to be done ?!

Last edited by speedsatya : 21st March 2015 at 10:28.
speedsatya is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st March 2015, 11:21   #1400

CF ? That's pretty low grade compared to the CI (plus) ones that are in use nowadays.
Eddy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd March 2015, 11:41   #1401

Originally Posted by speedsatya View Post
Maruti used Shell 5W40 fully synthetic oil in the Ciaz third Service. And I was charged 5655 INR.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/showpost.php?p=3666653

7K for the Dezire looks on the higher side. Other than the usual 3rd service requirements , did your car need anything additional to be done ?!
Thanks speedsatya,
The dzire will be going for its 6th service. 3 free services+2 paid services after that. The advisor is suggesting EGR cleaning and engine flushing at only 50k kms. That is why I want to buy all the necessary things as engine oil, coolant and do it on my own at any garage.

Can I buy engine oil from the mobil dealer without any worries?

Ashok.
Old 30th March 2015, 17:37   #1402

Originally Posted by csateesh View Post
@sreerknair

Yes this is the best brew for any diesel heart in India and yes this is the Delvac 1 that everyone has been raving about

How does it perform (Delvac 1) - I have been using it for almost a 1 lakh kms in my CRDi and 20 k kms in my VDi and only think I can say is Wow !!

Pls. try it and post your feedback

Hi csateesh,

Sorry for the late reply. I was busy with some work and some personal issues. I had changed the oil to Delvac 1 from mineral oil. Somehow I was not comfortable with the mineral oil.

After changing to Delvac 1, I took the car for a long drive - some 3000 KMs and changes I noticed are -

1) Engine became less noisy after changing to Delvac 1
2) Mileage increased by at least 1 KM/L
3) The engine temperature gauge is back to its initial range (it was above the normal range I am used to once those guys poured in the mineral oil)
Old 30th March 2015, 23:08   #1403

Don't use this in Diesel Engines , Practically all engines today are CRDi Engines and API CH4 is minimum in most , CI4+ oils are easily available in market.
amitk26 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st March 2015, 08:17   #1404

Thanks for the advice. I was planning to use the oil for my TDI. Plan dropped & my old TATA Mobile(non Turbo) made use of it.
Old 31st March 2015, 09:03   #1405

Originally Posted by sreerknair View Post
Hi csateesh,

1) Engine became less noisy after changing to Delvac 1
2) Mileage increased by at least 1 KM/L
3) The engine temperature gauge is back to its initial range (it was above the normal range I am used to once those guys poured in the mineral oil)
@ sreerknair - Engine noise going down is definitely a known outcome of Delvac 1 - Mileage may be placebo effect but you could confirm them in the upcoming fills but would agree on the positive trend for sure

Take it for a spin on the highway and provide your feedback. I guess this is where it shines through - In gear acceleration is much better

Am glad to joined the bandwagon of Delvac 1 users
csateesh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd April 2015, 13:08   #1406

Hello friends, Please help me out. I have to get my swift diesel serviced at 20k kms. I wish to use the mobil Delvac 1 as the engine oil, but the dealers here in delhi are forcing me to use mobil 1 only. They are warning me of warranty lapse if I use the mobil delvac 1 as it is not on the maruti 's list of prescribed oils. As far as I know , the mobil 1 fully synthetic is primarily for petrol engines & lacks the detergent properties of mobil delvac 1.
Friends please help me out , how to deal with this matter.
Old 2nd April 2015, 14:15   #1407

Originally Posted by piyush78 View Post
Hello friends, Please help me out. I have to get my swift diesel serviced at 20k kms. I wish to use the mobil Delvac 1 as the engine oil, but the dealers here in delhi are forcing me to use mobil 1 only.
You can use the Delvac 1 AFAIK as it meets the specifications of DDiS. Ask the SA to show you the rules for using which oil is recommended.

IIRC if the said oil meets the specifications mentioned in the owners manual you are free to use it whatsoever.

Do shoot a mail to the higher up's as this just to get commission.
a4anurag is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd April 2015, 14:38   #1408

Friends please help me out , how to deal with this matter.
Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
You can use the Delvac 1 AFAIK as it meets the specifications of DDiS. Ask the SA to show you the rules for using which oil is recommended.
Show him this page from the owner's manual:

All about diesel engine oils-swiftdiesel.jpg

Mobil Delvac 1 is 5W40, so should be allowed without any hassles at all.

Vikram
comfortablynumb is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd April 2015, 14:41   #1409

I wish to use the mobil Delvac 1 as the engine oil,
but the dealers here in delhi are forcing me to use mobil 1 only. They are warning me of warranty lapse if I use the mobil delvac 1 as it is not on the maruti 's list of prescribed oils.
piyush78 - Ask them write the following in the job card - Customer provided oil - Mobil Delvac 1 - 5w40 meeting API CI+ standards and execute the job.

You could also register a complaint with MASS right away and let them be dealt with a iron hand.

But never agree to Mobil 1 5w50
csateesh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd April 2015, 14:45   #1410

@narendra.vw; It is a poor diesel oil - only API-CF. Looks like a rebadged Petrol oil API-SN! Also, its a semi synth.