Old 24th June 2015, 12:48   #6691

re: Honda Civic : Maintenance, Service Costs and Must dos

Originally Posted by patron View Post
1. The gear shift has become hard off late. Even though it shifts smoothly, I have to put a little bit extra pressure to move it from P to D. (I guess DSG has spoilt me). Any way to get this back to original smoothness?

3. The gear indicator on the S mode has stopped working. Is this repairable or do I need to change the entire console?

5. The engine noise has increased a bit over time. Even though it is not earth shattering, should I be worried? Anything specific that can be done?
1. No problems on my AT so far

3. You mean the manual-paddle-shift-gear-indicator alone has gone blank?

5. Maybe after the next service and oil change the sound may reduce.

My AT still feels brand-new at 8+ years and 1,42,000 kms+
Old 24th June 2015, 13:29   #6692

Can anyone drop in a picture of the AC relay?
Old 24th June 2015, 16:24   #6693

One question. Wanted to get Aux input done in my 2007 Civic.
Will this Aux input unit only support iPod/mp3 players etc?
Will it support USB drives? If not is there a way around to get to that?
Planning to get this done over the weekend at wagen werkz by bhpian jatinpatel.

Old 24th June 2015, 18:05   #6694

Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
That looks like AC water to me.
To confirm, wait for like 10-15 mins to see if water dripping stops.
Hi Akshay, Yes it was AC water. Didn't took chances though and went to "Automech Garage in Koramangala, Bangalore" (recommended by BHPians in past posts) for inspection.

Confirmed by Mr. Naveen that this is AC water only.
Didn't charged for the inspection also

Thanks guys for the inputs.
Old 24th June 2015, 23:25   #6695

Originally Posted by 1lokesh View Post
One question. Wanted to get Aux input done in my 2007 Civic.
Will this Aux input unit only support iPod/mp3 players etc?
Will it support USB drives? If not is there a way around to get to that?
Planning to get this done over the weekend at wagen werkz by bhpian jatinpatel.

There is an option available to add both aux-in as well as USB support. I got just the Aux input done for Rs 1500. Been two years now, no complaints.
Old 25th June 2015, 09:45   #6696

Can someone please point out the AC relay? Any idea where I can find it in Delhi? Is it available OTC or I need to go to Honda A.S.S?
Honda Civic : Maintenance, Service Costs and Must dos-unnamed7.jpg  

Last edited by coolkurt : 25th June 2015 at 09:47.
Old 25th June 2015, 09:57   #6697

Originally Posted by coolkurt View Post
Can someone please point out the AC relay? Any idea where I can find it in Delhi? Is it available OTC or I need to go to Honda A.S.S?
This should be it. Had this in my car and had forgotten about it. This was replaced as well in my car after a ac overhaul last year. Kindly check the nos. You will get this with a ac repair garage.
Honda Civic : Maintenance, Service Costs and Must dos-1435206361909.jpg  

Last edited by sumeethaldankar : 25th June 2015 at 09:59.
sumeethaldankar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th June 2015, 12:28   #6698

There is an option available to add both aux-in as well as USB support. I got just the Aux input done for Rs 1500. Been two years now, no complaints.
Did you add USB too? Do you know how to add the same? Is it just an adapter to connect to back of head-unit or requires a complex procedure?

That AC relay costs ~ $26 which would come around to roughly 1600Rs, so use it as a reference if you get it changed. Honda may even quote a 5 figure amount for AC repair
XtremeTorque is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th June 2015, 14:54   #6699

Originally Posted by XtremeTorque View Post
Did you add USB too? Do you know how to add the same? Is it just an adapter to connect to back of head-unit or requires a complex procedure?

That AC relay costs ~ $26 which would come around to roughly 1600Rs, so use it as a reference if you get it changed. Honda may even quote a 5 figure amount for AC repair
No I didn't add the USB. But there are reputed auto shops here who do the modification to the HU wherein both Aux in and USB support is made available.

They took out my HU and made the necessary modifications to add a Aux port. Now all I need to do is connect an Aux wire and I'm good to go.
Old 25th June 2015, 15:06   #6700

The relay at Honda should be around 900 to 1200 bucks. I got it from the garage for around 300 bucks.
Old 25th June 2015, 17:00   #6701

I have a 2006 Civic AT and have been hinting for a Aux and USB inout option to my car for a long time. A solution that doesn't involve usage of FM transmitters. Can you let me know how you got it done and from where? I am based out of Bangalore. Thanks.
Old 25th June 2015, 22:43   #6702

Originally Posted by arun-t View Post

I have a 2006 Civic AT and have been hinting for a Aux and USB inout option to my car for a long time. A solution that doesn't involve usage of FM transmitters. Can you let me know how you got it done and from where? I am based out of Bangalore. Thanks.
I got only the Aux done as it was cheaper and I don't care for a USB port. I got it done at Automatic. Its a pretty reputed shop in Delhi. He had quoted arnd 9k for both as they install a seperate accessory for the same. I got only the Aux done for 1.5k. Big price difference.

I think any reputed car audio accessories place can do the needful for you.
Old 26th June 2015, 11:42   #6703

Its time to replace the brake pads for my civic. Came accross Brake Pads for Honda Civic - Delphi
Have anyone use this pads ?
Old 26th June 2015, 13:40   #6704

Anyone has done USB option for earlier model of Civic ? Would love to have this feature if it's charged reasonably. I got a quote of 4.5k for the setup. Obviously it didn't justify the cost. Any inputs ?
Old 26th June 2015, 21:36   #6705

Anyone knows which bluetooth obd reader should I get for a 2007 Civic? Does the common Elm27 works with first gen Civic?

saurabhkum, have you got both facelift and earlier Civic? What were the additions in facelifted Civic? If you indeed have both cars with you, you could possibly remove the HU and compare side-by-side. As far as I know, there's some unused ports on back of first gen Civic here. So some sort of adapter cable may be available to add usb support. I've been looking to add the same too and came across a lot of such adapters to add usb option to Civic, but not sure if the HU in Indian Civics support these adapters..
XtremeTorque is offline   (1) Thanks