re: Honda Civic : Maintenance, Service Costs and Must dos Quote:
Originally Posted by satyamkaushik Can you give me some tips for better fuel efficiency ? |
The odo in mine is now at 1,12,402 kms (1.8S-AT 2007).
The Civic-AT will give insane FE based on driving techniques on highways (one reason is the tall 5th gear).
I regularly get 13 ~ 17 kmpl on the highways at steady speeds between 85 ~ 95 kmph with little braking.
I do not do much City driving but I get very poor FE inside city, around 9+ kmpl only.
You can browse this thread from the start for many more tips, (if you have the patience and the time for this very long thread!) Quote:
Originally Posted by satyamkaushik Every time i take my car to them, it will be driving fine but when i give it to them, either they'll give me a call that sir we have encountered with a issue with your car and it needs a part replacement.
The average bill i pay for servicing is around 20 k. |
All my services after 40K with the exact amounts I paid are here in this thread.
My experience is that it takes very less to maintain a Honda, so I think you are getting ripped off.
I have never replaced any major-part in '1+lakh kms/5 years' except for the front brake rotors which anyway is a wear-and-tear item.
I am a friendly customer at the Madurai TVSundaram-Honda(TVS) dealer for more than eleven years (my previous car was a 1999 Honda-City), so they 'will-not/cannot' cheat me! Quote:
Originally Posted by sumeethaldankar He mentioned that the assembly for power steering needed to be ovehauled and repaired or replaced.For replace it would have been 50K and for repair 14K as of now.
Honda Reliablity ha.Can't believe that i am getting the HPS overhauled at just 39K. I had plans to keep this car for 10 years atleast.Seems that may be get a bit difficult.Top of it i haven't even driven the car so much.Bought it at ~37K. Selling iit off would mean a blow of 1-2 lacs. |
Very sorry to hear this, I have always been very proud of owning a Honda, and my experience thus far has been good.
I too plan to hold this car for 10 years/2 lakh kms, and so far it is 'par for the course'. Quote:
Originally Posted by sumeethaldankar The bad news continues for me.The power steering pump and rack both have a leak while the PS has a major leak the rack has a minor one.For PS 10.5 K + tax and for the rack 12.5K + tax.Total damage for 'now' is ~25K including std service.And that's not the end.My car has been diagnosed
with the below.
Weak Suspension
Minor boot cuts (5k)
Play in the ball joints
Sound from front wheel bearings(~18K)
Weak Battery
Remote key not functioning
Honda anyone..is it my bad luck..i have driven this car less than 3K and am being faced with so many problems.Don't think i will be able to make it last for the next 10 years.It will bleed me dry of my hard earned money. |
But, can you find out Why did this all happen?
I don't think it happened 'randomly'.
I think yours was pre-owned, so maybe the car was abused earlier?
Last edited by manim : 30th July 2012 at 19:51.
|