Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 21st March 2012, 09:05   #3031
BHPian

re: Honda Civic : Maintenance, Service Costs and Must dos

During my recent trip to Madras on the GQ, in certain curves while the car was turning, for the first time I heard a mild howling sound from outside.

First I thought that one of the windows is slightly open, but I found none were open.

In a second such event, I realized that the howling sound is coming from the tyres at another curve; I could hear the sound even though the windows were fully closed and the CD was playing at a moderate volume.

Any idea if this normal? Should I change the tyres?

The equipment has done 39,700 kms - and there are two punctures in one of the wheels. In most of these curves, I normally turn at a speed of about 120-130 kmph (that's what I've been doing for 4 years now so this speed is not new).

Any feedback would be useful. Thanks.
Old 21st March 2012, 10:37   #3032
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempelhof View Post
In a second such event, I realized that the howling sound is coming from the tyres at another curve; I could hear the sound even though the windows were fully closed and the CD was playing at a moderate volume.

The noise doesnt seem normal. If you have the stock good years on your ride, they are known for road noise after 20-25k on the clock. If the tires still have enough tread left for 5-7k kms, keep driving the car for about 5k kms and then get them changed. But ideal life of these tire is 35-40k kms, especially considering they wear out more at rear in civic because of soft suspension, the alignment of which goes out real quick.

Quote:
In most of these curves, I normally turn at a speed of about 120-130 kmph