Old 15th January 2009, 00:38   #496

Originally Posted by Bull_Twin View Post
No idea if its Turbo hose or what.. but its orange or red colour. The vehicle didnt accept any acceleration and if accelerator is pressed it gives loud hsssss noise.
Have a look at this thread , There is a red colored rubber hose in the picture is it the same ?

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...er-tubing.html

IMHO If it is purely rubber failure then not a serious issue , Ask service center to tighten the metal clamps properly so the rubber hose does not slip.
Changing Turbo charger is not advisable just for rubber failure because factory fitted parts are always better , other with more experience and knowledge may advice here.

Originally Posted by Bull_Twin View Post
Another issue which has been reported earlier by many guys is drifting towards left when break is applied. Hope these are not serious.
Drifting towards left is serious , It does not happen at normal speeds and indicates that break pressure is unequal please get it checked and rectified.
Old 15th January 2009, 01:03   #497

On revving I head "popping" sounds from somewhere behind the dashboard. I have checked sound is not from engine. So the most likely candidate is air bubbles in water circuit. I think this happened while changing thermostat.
Any harmful effects of the same?
Old 31st January 2009, 00:05   #498

tsk1979

Its 9pm, on the highway, I see the service light coming on. It stays for 2 seconds, and then goes away. Happens a few times.
Call up the dealer helpline. and he says not to worry.

jkdas

Saw service light on for a sec or so. I knew why; was on tsk1979 mode for 3-4days. I get 13kmpl

Back to my driving style. Red lining on lower gears helped push the carbon out after a week.
The service Light was on for 1-2 seconds.. Is it something serious or theres nothing to worry?

Even a slight 'khat' while driving.. reminds me of Team-BHP's Safari niggle list..
Thanks for making us aware of these issues....

Cheeeeers..
Old 31st January 2009, 00:44   #499

Well service light can come for a number of reasons. It could be something mundane like fuel clogging, fixable by high revving, something serious like common rail failure or injector problem(which is the case for mine)
Old 31st January 2009, 00:48   #500

I have noticed my cars service coming on once since I have owned it.
And as it came only once I have not really bothered about it

Just praying that even if it does again, it should not be serious and covered under warranty
Old 31st January 2009, 00:53   #501

Normally if there is a problem the service light comes on again and again, and you can often cause it to come on at will since you get to know at what rpm's etc., it comes on.
In your case it came on just once, so don't worry. Just ask them to clear error code at service.
Old 31st January 2009, 10:39   #502

If the service light comes on even for a sec, it will be logged by the ECU, ask the T.A.S.S to check using their Diag tool and if it comes frequently or the frequency increases for the same logged DTC, chances of failure of that particular component in the near future are high, get it replaced under warranty.

If its only once, no worries.
Old 31st January 2009, 11:02   #503

Is it OK for the service light to come on before the engine is switched on? In mine, it comes on along with the glow-plug indicator and switches off when the GPI goes off.
Old 31st January 2009, 11:14   #504

I think that should be normal as this is how it happens in my beast.

My beast is currently off to corbett ( my bro has taken it)
Once he comes back I will take it straight to the service center for a checkup
Old 31st January 2009, 14:52   #505

hi guys, i think this is the right thread to post this query of mine:

i am from mumbai & we have a safari 2.2 VX 4x2 which we purchased around november 2007. now since my brother who uses this vehicle is shifting, he wants to sell this vehicle. a very close friend of my dad is interested & he is quoting a price of 7.2 lakhs.

now ours is a top end version which is bought for almost 13 lakhs. the SUV has run 45,000 kms. it has never been in an accident and is almost scratchless, kudos to my brother!
so is the quoted price ok?

problems rectified recently by the A.S.S:

* AC evaporator coil replaced
* rear right window was jammed, rectified
* dashboard was rattling, rectified

current issues:

* boot door and front passenger door still rattles.
* DVD screens dont work, was rectified, again conked off.
* slight squeaking can be heard sometimes from the front suspension over rough roads.

now since this person is my dad's friend, he has not been kept in dark & is aware of all these issues.

kindly advise. thanks.

Last edited by raj_5004 : 31st January 2009 at 14:54.
Old 31st January 2009, 16:21   #506

Normally if there is a problem the service light comes on again and again, and you can often cause it to come on at will since you get to know at what rpm's etc., it comes on.
In your case it came on just once, so don't worry. Just ask them to clear error code at service.
I had it twice. Both when I was on a get more mileage drive (didnt drive above 2k for 50-100kms). The instant I saw the service light, I revved to red lines. Saw lot of smoke when i did that and I hence presume it was coz of carbon clogging.

Originally Posted by dadu View Post
If the service light comes on even for a sec, it will be logged by the ECU, ask the T.A.S.S to check using their Diag tool and if it comes frequently or the frequency increases for the same logged DTC, chances of failure of that particular component in the near future are high, get it replaced under warranty.

If its only once, no worries.
I have to ask them to reset it?

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Is it OK for the service light to come on before the engine is switched on? In mine, it comes on along with the glow-plug indicator and switches off when the GPI goes off.
I guess it like an engine check you have with MPFI cars.
Old 31st January 2009, 17:08   #507

Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
I have to ask them to reset it?
They will clear it after reading the code generated.
Old 31st January 2009, 18:13   #508

Service Light

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
That's just normal, its just a System Self Test before you start the engine.

Old 4th February 2009, 11:34   #509

Got this twice!

I unlock the Safari, get in and crank!

No lights, no power,nothing! BLANK!

Try unlocking/locking via remote: no use.

I wait few minutes and things are back to normal but all gets reset (head unit settings etc)

Whats happening?
Old 4th February 2009, 11:39   #510

^^Must be something to do with the Immobiliser module,jkd