Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 30th July 2010, 14:44   #2431
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holyghost View Post
What is the price of Front Brake Pads for 2.2? I removed them yesterday to check the status of the pads and it doesn't look like it will last for another 500KM. I noticed the pads on the inner side of the discs are the ones which are worn out much more than the outer ones. Is this normal?

And is it okay if I change them myself. It looks like a pretty straight forward job, Pulling out the old pads and putting in the new ones.
Some differences will be there in their wear, I would say swap them for longevity, you can change it yourself as long as you dont forget about the locks on it.

Do you have your own toolset or do you take help from a local workshop for this.
Old 30th July 2010, 16:27   #2432

Safari engine trouble

Hi all, I am new to team bhp & writing this post with reference to my Tata Safari Dicor 2.2 EX that has been given for addressing the following problems:

a) Heavy knocking of engine with a Krrrr….noise whilst you accelerate in any gear had been observed just a day prior to the car being handed over to the service centre.

b) Sometimes during starting the glow plug, sedimenter indicator & the service lamp (all 3 yellow lamps) don’t come on except all other indicators (in red). The engine cranks but doesn’t fire. After several attempts of re-inserting the ignition key, the yellow indicators come back to life by default, and the engine starts.