re: Black Smoke from my Turbo-Diesel engine | EDIT: Now fixed Hello All,
Thank you for all the valuable inputs. I was travelling for a few weeks and could not get back faster.
I paid a visit to the TASS and my mechanic who takes care of the car for years told me not to leave it in the showroom as the TASS is not really interested in getting to the root of the problem and will start opening up the entire piece by piece and get me a huge bill. He told me a bill of 2.8 Lakhs was provided to another 2005 innova user with similar issue and and he resonated the steps that were mentioned by svsantosh here as his suspected issues.
I then decided to turn to my FNG who maintains our 2003 Fiat Palio 1.2 NV.
I had the turbo checked and MAF sensor tested and they were all fine with soot however around them and was cleaned. There was no issue or error code that popped up either on the screen.
Hoses all appeared fine as well and no oil leaks either.
Based on svsantosh's comprehensive checklist, here are my inline comments:
1) Change all 4 injectors, they are past their prime. - They were inspected and i got the history from my dad who said they were changed at 2.1 Lakhs KMS when I was outside the country for a couple years and injectors were good to go.
2) Change fuel filter, air filter. - these were done at 3.03 Lakh KMS.
3) Remove and inspect and clear MAP, MAF. Mostly the MAP is covered in soot, post a pic here. Inspect Camshaft censor while at it, clean all sensors with isopropyl, google for it. - MAP and MAF had soot and were cleaned as well. My mechanic forgot to take pics before cleaning.
4) Remove intercooler and tie one end with a plastic cover and many rubber bands, and make it erect and fill diesel from top, soak for 1-2 hours, drain, fill with petrol, sock, drain, wash with tap pressure water, dry and refit. - He performed this action as well.
5) Remove Inlet manifold - inspect & decarbon it and spray the inlet with abundant WD40 or brake cleaner and de-gunk the valves. - This is where the culprit was actually. There was a lot of gunk that was choking the inlet. Have some videos that i will upload later.
6) Remove cat-con - wash from the 'wrong' way, exit side, with ton of water. Do it until water comes out nearly clean. While at it, clean the entire exhaust. - This step was skipped for now. Will be done along with step 8 in next month or so.
7) Remove EGR, blank... err, clean it and refit. - EGR was dirty as hell and was cleaned and fit again.
8) Please flush the engine with a proper engine flush and then drive it with a cheap oil again for 5-10 kms, and then again fill it with a good grade oil. 3Lacs is enough to have a ton of debris inside the mating surfaces and can stress the combustion cycle. - We didn't do this step yet as we wanted to see if the above addressed the issue to a certain extent first and it has reduced the smoke issue significantly. We will be planning to a complete engine flush next month. There was a ton of debris here that was cleaned up but a complete flush is to be done. One of the points that my FNG mechanic mentioned was the ASS generally dont a complete flush and he recommended that whenever there is change in timing belt, as a thumb rule, tires, brakepads, discs, injector clean, EGR check and complete engine flush/ decarbonization should be done to increase the longetivity.
He mentioned he as a taxi driver whose 2009 Innova has run beyond 10L Kms and still going strong and he does the above activities with the FNG every 1L KMS no matter what.
Thank you all for the help and i will post a few videos of the gunk on youtube and share the link later this week.
Last edited by moralfibre : 21st August 2024 at 20:52.
|