Old 7th February 2024, 11:47   #1

Issues with my 11-year old Hyundai i20 AT

First of all thanks for stopping by.

The car in question is an i-Gen i20, Sports AT, 2012 Aug registration, Petrol. It has completed about 57K kilometers till date. It was purchased used from a good used car dealership in Mid Oct 2023. So far I've driven it about 550 Kilometers, majority in city with traffic.

It was checked by a mechanic before purchasing (This mechanic is a friend of a taxi driver, who has become like a family member, and we rely on him for any local trips), he said the car slightly goes towards the left, 1 of the tail lights had water in it, but works (not a deal breaker), AC cooling was poor. Other than that the car was mechanically fit.

Since I don't know about the service history & since this is my first vehicle, I have felt a few issues. Also I may not be very tech savvy, so some component terms may have been named incorrectly, kindly bear with me.

Before that, following things were done so far
-Wheel Alignment (Day of purchase)
-Wheel balance (Day of purchase)
-Wheel rotation (Day of Purchase, found out 1 of the wheel had 4 punctures lol but tyre guy said that the tyre has lot of life left)
-Front brake disc cleaning, apologies I dont know the exact name but the silver part which usually looks rusty (About a month back)
-Rear tyres change to Bridgestone Sturdo (About 1.5 months back, since 1 had 4 punctures, found out a fifth one & both were nearly 5 years old, decided to get rid of them)
-Installation of JK Tyre TPMS (About 1.5 months back)
-Coolant changed to Castrol, as previously Abro was used and it looked diluted (Around November 2023)
-4 Spark Plugs changed & 1 ignition coil replaced as it was dead, engine had no effect when it was disconnected (Around November)
-GPS Tracker installed, gives live location 24*7, ignition alerts and all (Possibly in November or December) Details & Review here : https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modif...ry-review.html (Trak N Tell Car Tracking Accessory | Review)

No other electrical accessories were installed (Android, Dashcam and all)

Now am facing the following issues,
1. AC is extremely poor performing (I do have a complete AC servicing scheduled in the coming few weeks, where the entire dashboard will be opened and it will be cleaned thoroughly, as am sure it was never shown love by the previous owner)
2. I feel the car wobbles/dances for some time after going through poth-holes, I am not sure if it is normal or abnormal as this is my first vehicle & don't have any means to tell if it needs some fixing or not (I drive not more than 40 kmph, thanks to city traffic, but I can feel the car wobbling after it goes through any uneven patch for some time and I can feel it on all 4 corners)
3. Since it is nearly 11+ years old, should I get the brake oil & gear oil changed? (The mechanic who changed the coolant said not required & let it run as it is, but I am concerned as I plan to keep the car for the next few years)
4. The engine temperature gauge once crossed above 90 degrees, possibly crossed it by 2-2.5mm, 93-94 degrees? (5 people were in the car with AC on which wasn't effective & it was being driven by a hired driver on "L" gear, he advised to get the radiator checked & we switched off the AC for rest of the journey. I did visit my trusted workshop who cleaned the radiator? by spraying it with water, altough we haven't seen the temperature cross 90 mark after that, but I have a question, should I get the radiator flushed once for better performance?)
5. I happened to see the cabin filters, they were simply thin metal (mosquito net types) & not the usual paper ones I've seen like the engine filter types, with folds & flaps. I'm sure this technology must have been a pioneer in 2012, but is it possible to use those paper filters in the car, or the mosquito net type thing is the only option available? I personally think the mosquito net cannot filter fine dust particles which the paper filter will be able to filter out, hence the question.
6. The mileage I've calculated on full tank to full tank method came to 6-6.2 km/l, majority city driving. I am not sure if it is a good mileage or a poor mileage, I use a very light foot to drive (Not crossing 40-45 kmph) no hard accelerations, is it possible that car will perform better or bit better if AC, Radiator flush work is done? or is it something I've to live with, since the dealer said anywhere between 10 to 14 kilometers a liter. Do note AC is on 95% of the times when driving with temperature set to 22-23, altough it doesn't perform very good lol.
7. Headlight throw is very poor, giving no confidence to drive in the evenings even with high beam, hence I don't take the car out after sunset & prefer morning/daytime driving. What possible alternative headlights/bulbs can I look at which give a decent throw and doesn't blind the person on the receiving side?
8. Not very happy with the speaker performance as I like music while driving (played through USB Stick), not that its poor quality but I feel it can be improved drastically as I feel 1 of the speakers in the rear (Rear right) sounds very low, kindly suggest some decent speakers without blowing the bank. Not interested in installing any android unit, fine with the stock music player, please suggest accordingly. I'm not looking for anything that can pierce the ears, but something sweet & decent enough.
9. Brakes altough feels very smooth does not give the confidence, I don't slam the brakes but I feel the braking is a bit laggy, comes to the same question, should I get brake oil replaced?
10. Acceleration feels laggy, is it normal for automatics or something that can be improved? (The mechanic who changed coolant said can't do anything in automatics as it self decides). I feel the car struggles after 40-45, and takes some time to respond to the acceleration, I feel like by the time it reaches the speed of 60 from 40 its time to brake so why bother speeding.
11. Currently it has Exide battery & the charge ring shows white (Needs charging), spoke to the mechanic who said it is fine & will charge as I use the car, I did ask him to check it for its health in January this year. Battery was purchased in Jan 2023 by previous owner probably, I did not get the warranty card/invoice during the purchase, my question is should I get it replaced or simply checked? Car starts with 1 self in 1-1.5 seconds.
12. Co-passenger door has started to make some weird noise when opening & closing, as if some metal is bending, wasn't present before
13. Sometimes I can experience this noise, for the same reason brakes were cleaned, altough the noise is still present at times but the frequency of occurrence has reduced, is it part and parcel of automatics?

Thank you for stopping by & thanks in advance for your replies, before replying I'd like to repeat, I don't have something to compare to, this is my first car, all things I mentioned are based on my own experience, I'm happy to listen to all feedback which can improve the cars performance.

One more thing, since many will point out, Engine oil change is planned at 1000 kilometers, not sure if flush is required or not. Dealer advised to get it changed after running 1,000 kms, am not sure which oil was used in the past, I plan to use a good one alongwith air filter change.

-montsa007

Last edited by montsa007 : 7th February 2024 at 11:52.
montsa007 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 7th February 2024, 12:24   #2

Re: Issues with my 11-year old Hyundai i20 AT

Originally Posted by montsa007 View Post
Since I don't know about the service history & since this is my first vehicle
Don't buy a 10-year old used car next time . Stick to something newer, even if it's from a segment lower.

Now am facing the following issues
What you need is a great independent mechanic. Go to Sunil Shanbagh at Dadar. He won't give you a quick turnaround time; he takes his own time to repair & fix, but his work is good & his workshop is honest.

Or you can search within the Team-BHP Directory for mechanics closer to you.

Would suggest searching through the Team-BHP archives for car maintenance tips & advice. As a car owner, you need to stay informed.

The mileage I've calculated on full tank to full tank method came to 6-6.2 km/l, majority city driving
6 - 7 kmpl is standard for Hyundai 1.2L ATs.

All 10-year old cars will have niggles, issues & problems. You will have to learn to live with some of them, and only fix the crucial ones. When you go to a good indie mechanic, also evaluate whether it's worth spending money on this car. Shouldn't be throwing good money after bad. Or just swap it for a newer Maruti hatchback (even if from a lower segment). They are the best for 1st-time car buyers in the used market.
GTO is offline   (29) Thanks
Old 7th February 2024, 12:47   #3

Don't buy a 10-year old used car next time . Stick to something newer, even if it's from a segment lower.
Thanks, I did not consider this when buying the vehicle, had a budget of 3-3.5L, the only options available in automatics were i10/20, Figo. Did not look at Marutis due to poor build quality.

What you need is a great independent mechanic. Go to Sunil Shanbagh at Dadar. He won't give you a quick turnaround time; he takes his own time to repair & fix, but his work is good & his workshop is honest.

Or you can search within the Team-BHP Directory for mechanics closer to you.

Would suggest searching through the Team-BHP archives for car maintenance tips & advice. As a car owner, you need to stay informed.
Sure I do have 1 mechanic friend who won't take me for a ride, but knowing what all needs fixing helps , Dadar will be a bit too far to be honest, I even had Motofyx call me only to know they have 1 workshop in Chembur, they do offer free pickup & drop but I'd prefer getting the work done in front of my eyes & Chembur feels like an entirely different planet. Will browse through the maintenance tips threads.

All 10-year old cars will have niggles, issues & problems. You will have to learn to live with some of them, and only fix the crucial ones. When you go to a good indie mechanic, also evaluate whether it's worth spending money on this car. Shouldn't be throwing good money after bad. Or just swap it for a newer Maruti hatchback (even if from a lower segment). They are the best for 1st-time car buyers in the used market.
Didn't knew that 6-7 is a norm, I went by the dealers word of 10-14 kmpl & was a bit disappointed when FE turned out at 6, but I guess thats okay as I was mentally prepared for upto 5. I do stick to basic repair/maintenance & nothing fancy, the 2 mechanics (1 who checked the car before purchase & my friend recommend the same, as long as it works let it, only invest if anything is critical). No doubt Maruti is a good car for first time buyers, the idea of poor build quality is something I am not able to digest.

Thank you for the inputs once again .
montsa007 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th February 2024, 13:36   #4

Now am facing the following issues,
-montsa007
1. Get the AC condensor cleaned. You will need to remove the front bumper for this. Do not use high pressure water. You will be shocked by the amount of black muck that will come out of the Radiator and Condenser fins. Use some soap and soft brush to agitate the dirt on the fins and rinse off again. You will see huge improvement in AC performance provided the refrigerant is available in the required quantity. Do this before opening the dashboard for cleaning the evaporator coil. IMO, it is not needed if the cabin air filter/AC filter was cleaned when needed.

Stock AC filter is mesh type. Please paper type is available. Go for Valeo or Purolator brands
https://boodmo.com/catalog/part-filt...aner-39314930/
https://boodmo.com/catalog/part-cabin_filter-42965785/

2. Most likely more than one shock absorbers are shot.

3. Yes. Get them changed. Since it is AT , see this video. It has all the details you need about the AT fluid and filter

4. Answer to number 1 should solve this issue as well.

5. Product link for better cabin filter provided in 1 above

6. Do not know about mileage. But check and replace Air filter. A dirty air filter is number one cause for low pickup and mileage. If Air filter is new, get the MAP sensor cleaned.

Note- The top of the air filter will look clean. Look at the bottom part of the air filter for the actual dirt!

7. You can upgrade to better bulbs from Philips/Osram. Are the Headlamp glasses have optical clarity?

8. I cannot suggest much here.

9. Check the brakes for jamming. Clean and lube the caliper slide pins with proper caliper grease. Maybe some pics of the brakes will help

10. Check point 6 above

11. Top up distilled water and drive for a few days. If the battery health is good, it should go back to green.

12. Should be a small fix at any service center

13. Check point 9 above

Do not use flush.
Use a good quality engine oil from Shell/Mobil
sagarpadaki is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 7th February 2024, 13:36   #5

What your car needs is a simple mechanical restoration. 11 years on mumbai roads is enough abuse for any vehicle. If you can visit Navi Mumbai then fellow Bhpian Noel runs a workshop called Nelly Auto. You can drop by and have him check your car. Most things mentioned are simple running repairs. Noel +919930078218 can definitely help you with that.
asit.kulkarni93 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 7th February 2024, 13:50   #6

Step 1 - Get all fluids changed, Engine Oil, Transmission Oil and filter, brake fluid flush, AC flush and fill, Fuel filter, spark plugs, AC belt, Timing belt.

Step 2 - All things that need lubrication(greasing) need to be lubricated. Brake caliper Pins, hinges, linkages etc. Ensure ALL bolts are torqued to spec. This is what I feel gets missed out everytime. Raju Mechanic, who has learnt from an ustaad 21 years ago thinks that the oil pan bolt and the filter need to be torqued to 800Nm and the wheel bolts to 1500 Nm

Step 3 - All rubber parts that are cracked, replace without question.

Step 4 - Alignment/balancing at a REPUTED shop.

Drive for some time, let the drive cycle do the self check. If needed, do the italian tune up in the manual mode.

You WILL feel a noticeable difference.
Manoj2268 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 7th February 2024, 14:29   #7

Thank you for the prompt and detailed reply,

Originally Posted by sagarpadaki View Post
1. Get the AC condensor cleaned. You will need to remove the front bumper for this. Do not use high pressure water. You will be shocked by the amount of black muck that will come out of the Radiator and Condenser fins. Use some soap and soft brush to agitate the dirt on the fins and rinse off again. You will see huge improvement in AC performance provided the refrigerant is available in the required quantity. Do this before opening the dashboard for cleaning the evaporator coil. IMO, it is not needed if the cabin air filter/AC filter was cleaned when needed.

Stock AC filter is mesh type. Please paper type is available. Go for Valeo or Purolator brands
https://boodmo.com/catalog/part-filt...aner-39314930/
https://boodmo.com/catalog/part-cabin_filter-42965785/
Thanks a bunch, I've ordered the Valeo ones from Boodmo promptly alongwith an Engine Air Filter from Mobis. Will get the cabin filter fitted when AC servicing is being done. I have seen a few videos where dashboard is opened and the internals are cleaned, so am prepared to see lot of (not so good) stuff coming out from there. 1 more question, will those paper filters be fitted inside the mesh filter, or its just the paper filter on its own? (Asking since I saw some car videos where a tray holds that paper filter, kind of like double filtration)

2. Most likely more than one shock absorbers are shot.
I do remember the tyre alignment guy telling me that front right suspension is weak and will soon need replacing, it was day 1 I did not understand much, maybe its time. Will keep this in the checkup list when visiting my workshop guy. I'm sure 500 kilometers driving is nothing compared to people who have clocked in 5-6 digits, they can definitely tell what is wrong and what is not the moment they step in. But I sometimes feel like am sitting in a child's cradle after going through the pothole lol, thats how it feels.

3. Yes. Get them changed. Since it is AT , see this video. It has all the details you need about the AT fluid and filter
https://www.Youtube.com/watch?v=VuUUGSDNbOM
I have watched the video almost 3 to 4 times in the past , the part where he overtakes a creta and says "Usko malum nahi hai peeche se kaun aa raha hai" and nods his head (Creta guy does not know who is coming from behind) is hilarious, but yes this video did help as its the exact same car with major servicing, which resulted in me asking many doubts about changing the other oils alongwith engine oil. Will ask workshop guy to do this as well.

4. Answer to number 1 should solve this issue as well.
Cool, I had a hunch that these might be related and relieved to know this will take care of the issue.

6. Do not know about mileage. But check and replace Air filter. A dirty air filter is number one cause for low pickup and mileage. If Air filter is new, get the MAP sensor cleaned.

Note- The top of the air filter will look clean. Look at the bottom part of the air filter for the actual dirt!
I'm not sure what is a map sensor, will ask the workshop guy to check it. It was checked when the radiator was cleaned, he said it is fine now, have cleaned and re-fitted it, since he is a reliable guy I took his word and did not dig deep. As for air filter, just now ordered it alongwith the cabin filter from boodmo, its a cheap part, so replacing it every few months is not much of a concern.

7. You can upgrade to better bulbs from Philips/Osram. Are the Headlamp glasses have optical clarity?
I'm not sure what you mean by "have optical clarity", the headlights look clean, are not hazy/scratched or yellowed. They are not a 10/10 but I'd say 8.5-9/10 at least. But the road illumination is not very good.

9. Check the brakes for jamming. Clean and lube the caliper slide pins with proper caliper grease. Maybe some pics of the brakes will help
Brakes don't feel like they get jammed anywhere when applying in moving car, the internal pedal is smooth and car stops fine as well, but I feel it lags a bit at times, possibly it has to do with how I apply the brakes. Will add this in the to-do list when visiting my workshop guy (Checking lubrication, slide and stuff).

11. Top up distilled water and drive for a few days. If the battery health is good, it should go back to green.
Will ask workshop guy to check it, will have to be present there, I wasn't present the last time car was serviced, but this time will get the servicing done in front of my eyes.

13. Check point 9 above
I'm more than happy to share pics of the brakes, any reference photo of what am i clicking will help.

Do not use flush.
Use a good quality engine oil from Shell/Mobil
Sure, will use them, as these are on the expensive side (considering brand) but have heard they last longer and love the engine well. A few extra bucks on essential components does not hurt if it ensures reliability.

Thanks again for prompt and detailed response am sure I have a bunch of pointers to work with.
Old 7th February 2024, 14:38   #8

Originally Posted by asit.kulkarni93 View Post
What your car needs is a simple mechanical restoration. 11 years on mumbai roads is enough abuse for any vehicle. If you can visit Navi Mumbai then fellow Bhpian Noel runs a workshop called Nelly Auto. You can drop by and have him check your car. Most things mentioned are simple running repairs. Noel +919930078218 can definitely help you with that.
I stay in the western line mate, Navi Mumbai is a different league for me. Altough I visit Thane at times and stay there for a few days, I'll keep this guy in mind to get the vehicle serviced if I'm there.
-m007

P.S. - Every time I take out the car on Mumbai roads, feels like am abusing it lol, such are the roads. It could be a brand new car or a 20 year old Maruti 800, Mumbai roads spare no one.
Originally Posted by Manoj2268 View Post
Step 1 - Get all fluids changed, Engine Oil, Transmission Oil and filter, brake fluid flush, AC flush and fill, Fuel filter, spark plugs, AC belt, Timing belt.

Step 2 - All things that need lubrication(greasing) need to be lubricated. Brake caliper Pins, hinges, linkages etc. Ensure ALL bolts are torqued to spec. This is what I feel gets missed out everytime. Raju Mechanic, who has learnt from an ustaad 21 years ago thinks that the oil pan bolt and the filter need to be torqued to 800Nm and the wheel bolts to 1500 Nm

Step 3 - All rubber parts that are cracked, replace without question.

Step 4 - Alignment/balancing at a REPUTED shop.

Drive for some time, let the drive cycle do the self check. If needed, do the italian tune up in the manual mode.

You WILL feel a noticeable difference.

Some of the things of Step 1 have already been done (Spark Plugs, Coolant)

I will get the timing belt checked (Has done 57k Kms so far), brake-engine-gear oil replaced, radiator flush is planned alongwith the other oil replacements.
What is AC Flush and AC Belt? (Wont this be a part of full AC Servicing?)

The Step 4 is already done. I am not sure who is Raju Mechanic here in Step 2?

Added the Setp 3 in to-do list.

Apologies, not sure what is an Italian Tune up in Manual mode?, I have no plans to do drag races or compete with someone ha ha, am too old for that.

-m007

Last edited by montsa007 : 7th February 2024 at 14:39.
Old 7th February 2024, 14:44   #9

Thank you for the prompt and detailed reply,

Thanks a bunch, I've ordered the Valeo ones from Boodmo promptly alongwith an Engine Air Filter from Mobis. Will get the cabin filter fitted when AC servicing is being done. I have seen a few videos where dashboard is opened and the internals are cleaned, so am prepared to see lot of (not so good) stuff coming out from there. 1 more question, will those paper filters be fitted inside the mesh filter, or its just the paper filter on its own? (Asking since I saw some car videos where a tray holds that paper filter, kind of like double filtration)
No, the whole filter assembly will go in as it is. Remove the mesh filters and insert the new paper filters. They come with the black frame if you have observed the pics

I do remember the tyre alignment guy telling me that front right suspension is weak and will soon need replacing, it was day 1 I did not understand much, maybe its time. Will keep this in the checkup list when visiting my workshop guy. I'm sure 500 kilometers driving is nothing compared to people who have clocked in 5-6 digits, they can definitely tell what is wrong and what is not the moment they step in. But I sometimes feel like am sitting in a child's cradle after going through the pothole lol, thats how it feels.
Once the car is on a lift it will be easy to identify leaking shock absorbers

I have watched the video almost 3 to 4 times in the past , the part where he overtakes a creta and says "Usko malum nahi hai peeche se kaun aa raha hai" and nods his head (Creta guy does not know who is coming from behind) is hilarious, but yes this video did help as its the exact same car with major servicing, which resulted in me asking many doubts about changing the other oils alongwith engine oil. Will ask workshop guy to do this as well.

Cool, I had a hunch that these might be related and relieved to know this will take care of the issue.
I'm not sure what is a map sensor, will ask the workshop guy to check it. It was checked when the radiator was cleaned, he said it is fine now, have cleaned and re-fitted it, since he is a reliable guy I took his word and did not dig deep. As for air filter, just now ordered it alongwith the cabin filter from boodmo, its a cheap part, so replacing it every few months is not much of a concern.
MAP is Mass Air Flow Sensor. It is just upstream next to the air filter box.

Change air filter every 10k kms.

I'm not sure what you mean by "have optical clarity", the headlights look clean, are not hazy/scratched or yellowed. They are not a 10/10 but I'd say 8.5-9/10 at least. But the road illumination is not very good.
That is good enough optical clarity. A new set of Osram nightbreakers or Philips Xtreme vision should provide you improvement in light throw.

Brakes don't feel like they get jammed anywhere when applying in moving car, the internal pedal is smooth and car stops fine as well, but I feel it lags a bit at times, possibly it has to do with how I apply the brakes. Will add this in the to-do list when visiting my workshop guy (Checking lubrication, slide and stuff).

Will ask workshop guy to check it, will have to be present there, I wasn't present the last time car was serviced, but this time will get the servicing done in front of my eyes.

I'm more than happy to share pics of the brakes, any reference photo of what am i clicking will help.
Once the Mechanic opens up the brake assembly, it will be possible to judge the condition of the brakes

Sure, will use them, as these are on the expensive side (considering brand) but have heard they last longer and love the engine well. A few extra bucks on essential components does not hurt if it ensures reliability.

Thanks again for prompt and detailed response am sure I have a bunch of pointers to work with.

Do not go overboard with an expensive engine oil. I would suggest this
https://www.amazon.in/Shell-Helix-5W...1zcF9hdGY&th=1
sagarpadaki is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th February 2024, 15:16   #10

I will get the timing belt checked (Has done 57k Kms so far), brake-engine-gear oil replaced, radiator flush is planned alongwith the other oil replacements.
What is AC Flush and AC Belt? (Wont this be a part of full AC Servicing?)

The Step 4 is already done. I am not sure who is Raju Mechanic here in Step 2?

Added the Setp 3 in to-do list.

Apologies, not sure what is an Italian Tune up in Manual mode?, I have no plans to do drag races or compete with someone ha ha, am too old for that.

-m007
AC/Alternator Belt is the local lingo for serpentine belt. I'd change that if the car is 7+ years old.

Raju mechanic is a generic term for a mechanic who thinks that all nuts and bolts need to be tightened to the max possible torque.

Italian tune up is the method of revving/driving the car to 4,5K RPM after the car has warmed up for some distance on empty highway.(gaadi kheench ke chalana)
Manoj2268 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 7th February 2024, 15:17   #11

One more tip.

When replacing the cabin air filter, blow compressed air in the area where the filter goes in. Any loose dust will be pushed out. Then fit the new filter.
sagarpadaki is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th February 2024, 15:22   #12

Originally Posted by Manoj2268 View Post
AC/Alternator Belt is the local lingo for serpentine belt. I'd change that if the car is 7+ years old.

Raju mechanic is a generic term for a mechanic who thinks that all nuts and bolts need to be tightened to the max possible torque.

Italian tune up is the method of revving/driving the car to 4,5K RPM after the car has warmed up for some distance on empty highway.(gaadi kheench ke chalana)
Lol, I doubt I'll ever do the italian tune up, I barely cross the 3K RPM Mark, since its an automatic gears change on their own.
Will add the alternator belt in the checkup list.
Originally Posted by sagarpadaki View Post
One more tip.

When replacing the cabin air filter, blow compressed air in the area where the filter goes in. Any loose dust will be pushed out. Then fit the new filter.
Will the complete ac servicing not take care of it?, since the whole module from the dashboard will be taken off?
Will store the cabin filters in the boot and ask the AC Servicing guys to fit it on the day of service.

Also a query, you've advised against engine flush, any particular reason?

Last edited by montsa007 : 7th February 2024 at 15:26.
Old 7th February 2024, 16:30   #13

Will the complete ac servicing not take care of it?, since the whole module from the dashboard will be taken off?
Will store the cabin filters in the boot and ask the AC Servicing guys to fit it on the day of service.

Also a query, you've advised against engine flush, any particular reason?
Yes, it will be taken care in complete AC servicing.
My suggestion is to first get the AC condenser cleaned with soap and water first before you go for the dashboard removal step. The reason I say this this since you mentioned that car overheated a bit as well, I strongly suspect a choked condenser and radiator which is not allowing proper airflow over the fins.

Flush is not needed unless you know there is a sludge buildup in the engine. A good engine oil will take care of dissolving the sludge to some extent. Do a early oil change, maybe at 3000 kms. Here the engine oil itself will act as flush.

Another reason is, when you add flush and drain oil, some amount of flush mixed oil will remain in the engine sump and compartments. When you add fresh oil, the residual flush mixed old oil will degrade the fresh oil as well. If you indeed want to do flush, use a cheap new oil after flush, run for 50 kms, drain the oil. Fill in fresh oil and new filter. This way, you will ensure that there is no residual flush in the system

Last edited by sagarpadaki : 7th February 2024 at 16:33.
sagarpadaki is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th February 2024, 18:16   #14

Is this true for the newer 3rd gen 1.2l cvt i20s too?
Old 8th February 2024, 20:52   #15

First of all thanks for stopping by.

The car in question is an i-Gen i20, Sports AT, 2012 Aug registration, Petrol. It has completed about 57K kilometers till date.

-Front brake disc cleaning, apologies I dont know the exact name but the silver part which usually looks rusty (About a month back)
-Coolant changed to Castrol, as previously Abro was used and it looked diluted (Around November 2023)
-4 Spark Plugs changed & 1 ignition coil replaced as it was dead, engine had no effect when it was disconnected (Around November)

1. AC is extremely poor performing (I do have a complete AC servicing scheduled in the coming few weeks, where the entire dashboard will be opened and it will be cleaned thoroughly, as am sure it was never shown love by the previous owner)
4. The engine temperature gauge once crossed above 90 degrees, possibly crossed it by 2-2.5mm, 93-94 degrees?

6. The mileage I've calculated on full tank to full tank method came to 6-6.2 km/l, majority city driving.
10. Acceleration feels laggy, is it normal for automatics or something that can be improved? I feel the car struggles after 40-45, and takes some time to respond to the acceleration, I feel like by the time it reaches the speed of 60 from 40 its time to brake so why bother speeding.

7. Headlight throw is very poor, giving no confidence to drive in the evenings even with high beam.

https://www.Youtube.com/watch?v=gKV0AE3HjZQ

-montsa007

Most of what you said point to a very poorly maintained car. My first own-car was a used one(I was the 5th owner!). It was a 2006 Maruti Esteem that I purchased in 2016 and sold in 2022. The car was in my ownership from its 9th year till its 16th year. I sold it after doing it re-registration for almost the same price I purchased it for, after using it for 50K kilometers(from 70K to 120K in odo). Replaced it with an AMT automatic. In said ownership period, I did a lot a maintenance and wear and tear replacement. The car was bullet proof in terms of reliability.

Coming to your car, 1) and 4) can both happen if your radiator fan(or its thermostat controller) is not working/ not working at all speeds. Normally these fans run at low and high speeds, depending on AC usage/engine temperature. If the AC cools well if the car is moving above 40 kmph, but poorly when stationary or at low speed, I would suspect the radiator fan. Also please check if the coolant has any oily film, indicating oil getting mixed in coolant.

6) and 10) could be related and be caused by a lot of things. If a regular oil/filter/spark plug change is not improving both, you needs to dig deeper.
Since your car has done only 57K in odo, lets assume this is not wear and tear of piston/valves.

You see, a non turbo petrol engine is quite simple mechanically. There is fuel/air metering(maintaining correct air-fuel ratio AFR), and then there is the ignition system(providing a good high voltage spark at the correct time to burn the air fuel mixture). Power and fuel efficiency both suffer if AFR is wrong.

The simplest(and cheapest) way to see if fuel metering is good is to get a PUC check done. Costs 100-200 bucks I guess and is legally required to be done once every six months anyway. The PUC result will show unburned HC, CO2, CO, O2 levels. If both the above systems are functioning as they should, unburned HC and CO(carbon monoxide) should be significantly below the max limit. O2 levels should not be too high. Any deviation indicates the car is running too rich or too lean air fuel ratio. Unburned HC could indicate issues with ignition system(spark plug, distributor). If possible, post the PUC result here.

For an old car, a stitch in time saves nine. As a corollary, prolonged neglect will make diagnosing issues a pain, as you would have too many small problems(insignificant) covering up the real culprit. You may want to consider the possibility of selling the car and replacing it with another pre-owned one with service records, preferably at the authorized service station if you are not satisfied with the car's performance even after multiple rounds of service/diagnostics/repair.

AntPaul is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com