Old 25th October 2023, 15:19   #16

Re: VW Ameo DSG Failure | Rs. 5.8 lakh replacement quote!

Originally Posted by shancz View Post
Adding some queries to the above points :

1. Is it possible that with the 1.0 TSi-AT being manufactured locally, they've moved all DSG related stuff out of India and the DSG in this case has to be imported from overseas, hence the ridiculous price ?
2. Also that they don't repair any DSG related stuff and just replace the unit ? IIRC I have read this in some thread on the forum.
I once had the pain of repairing a broken DQ250 on my ex Jetta. The mechatronics alone cost Rs. 1.99 Lacs. . Hope you can now relate to the pricing!

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 25th October 2023 at 15:50. Reason: Minor typo.
Sam.k is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th November 2023, 13:54   #17

Originally Posted by Rajeevraj View Post
Engineering Exponents in Whitefield Bangalore. I did it for my Vento TSI last year
Hi Rajeevraj,

Did you notice any change in the gearbox behavior post changing the GB and Mechatronics oil?

Today I gave my Vento for 7th service at VW Hyderabad and asked the ASC to change both the oils. They wanted me to sign an undertaking that they would not be responsible for any gear shift changes or GB functioning post changing the oil. They opined that the gearbox is functioning normally and changing the oils will definitely change the gearbox shifts.

I am now confused.

Any leads on independent garages in Hyderabad who can perform this would be appreciated. (or) Next time when I travel to Bangalore, I will have fix an appointment with Engineering Exponents.
Old 14th November 2023, 20:15   #18

Originally Posted by cormodore View Post
Hi Rajeevraj,

Did you notice any change in the gearbox behavior post changing the GB and Mechatronics oil?

Today I gave my Vento for 7th service at VW Hyderabad and asked the ASC to change both the oils. They wanted me to sign an undertaking that they would not be responsible for any gear shift changes or GB functioning post changing the oil. They opined that the gearbox is functioning normally and changing the oils will definitely change the gearbox shifts.

I am now confused.

Any leads on independent garages in Hyderabad who can perform this would be appreciated. (or) Next time when I travel to Bangalore, I will have fix an appointment with Engineering Exponents.
You will not feel any change unless you were facing issues prior to the oil change and in all honesty, you shouldn’t feel any change.

Post both the oils are replaced, there is a process to plug in the scanner and recalibrate the GB. You will hear a lot of ‘kat-kat’ sounds denoting a gear shift. This is the recalibration setting. This is mandatory.

Please ask your VW ASC to show you the SOP for Mechatronics and GB oil change. And there is no need to sign anything at all.

Would suggest you move away from this ASC as they themselves don’t seem confident of carrying out a simple task.

Raj
Desmosedici is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 14th November 2023, 21:33   #19

Originally Posted by cormodore View Post
Hi Rajeevraj,

I did a ecu and tcu remap also in the same visit. So would not be able to comment any change due to the oil change alone. Obviously there was a significant change due to the remap. Ideally if the gearbox is functioning fine, I don't think you will feel any difference. I am not sure if the service center even has a proper SOP for it. This is something best done in a highly competent reliable center outside of the VW service centers.
Rajeevraj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th November 2023, 08:55   #20

Absolute horror. My sister owns a Volkswagen Virtus 1.5 GT Plus DSG and this post send shivers through our spine. We always ridicule people who choose Maruti products with poor safety ratings but horror experience like this move people away from Skoda - Volkswagen.
Old 17th November 2023, 13:40   #21

This is the reason why many people all over the world call these service centers as "stealerships". Their solution to every problem is to just replace the entire component. Which is purely an incompetent way to deal with the matter.

Recently, my Audi A6 had minor jerks in bumper to bumper traffic. I assumed that the adaptation of my gearbox could have gone wrong. I got the adaptation done from Audi Mumbai West and the jerks were still there. They couldn't figure out the reason for it and just wrote "gearbox needs complete replacement" on my service record. I fought with them and asked them to take it off. Because they had no viable reason to write that my gearbox had any issues, in fact, it was recently rebuilt by me. I was one hundred percent sure that there was nothing mechanically wrong with the entire component.

After pursuing them for a few days, they finally edited the line and wrote "gearbox needs further inspection due to jerks". Funnily enough, the jerks disappeared the moment I changed transmission and engine mounts.

Hence, I came to the conclusion that most of these people are just lethargic with zero diagnostic skills. All they want is to just make the customer replace the component and send them heavy bills.

Now the fun part, I was given a verbal quote of close to 10-12 lakhs plus GST. Haha

Please get it fixed from an independent Automatic Transmission specialist.
bigbearddriver is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th November 2023, 19:02   #22

Originally Posted by Rajeevraj View Post
Engineering Exponents in Whitefield Bangalore. I did it for my Vento TSI last year
While I have come across international Škoda forums recommending GB oil change of the sealed DQ200 unit, I haven’t come across such in India. I do have a few queries & would be grateful for your opinion: 1. Did you change only the GB oil or you changed the mechatronics oil as well . 2. At what interval did you get the oils changed

I have a Škoda 1.8TSI FROM 2018 & Whitefield is just a short drive away for me, hence am curious. Touchwood, I have had no issues with my car which is currently showing 38,000 km on the odometer and is stage 1 remapped by harmonixx

Last edited by graaja : 17th November 2023 at 20:37. Reason: Fixing quoted text
Old 18th November 2023, 19:01   #23

I don't get this, Since 2005 VW group has introduced India specific models choosing the wrong type of DSG - the DQ 200. This was not suitable for hot and humid India + our stop-go traffic makes it worst. There are ample instances of premature failure followed by huge service bills.

Then came the Volkswagen Dieselgate scandal in 2017 - for years they had intentionally engineered a deception programming in their TDI engines to activate their emissions controls only during laboratory emissions testing. This was nothing short of a criminal act, I would like to call them devious cunning white-collared cheats.

Unfortunately DQ 200 is still being offered in newer models, Taigun, Kushaq etc. May be it is an improved version but our urban traffic has also worsened over the years, average speed in most Indian cities have dropped to 24 km/hr or less, which again is detrimental for the DSG. Yet VW wants to push the same old notorious tech in Indian cars. Is this intentional or they just don't care?

Now we are also realizing that they have no intention of repairs even if the fault is minor, even when they have the capability of repairs, they won't, they simply want to replace the whole GB. All this adds up to my accusation of them being devious cunning white-collared cheats.

And yet we have VW fanboys going ga ga over GT badging or would fall flat for that sweet sounding Polo horn, I don't really get this.

Last edited by Chewbacca : 18th November 2023 at 19:03.
Chewbacca is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th November 2023, 20:07   #24

Originally Posted by amitmanjul View Post
1. Did you change only the GB oil or you changed the mechatronics oil as well . 2. At what interval did you get the oils changed
Yes both Dsg and mechatronix oils were changed. It can be drained and changed. Requires proper skills to do it. I don't know if there is a recommended interval. My car was around 9 years when it was changed.
Rajeevraj is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th November 2023, 10:31   #25

Originally Posted by amitmanjul View Post
While I have come across international Škoda forums recommending GB oil change of the sealed DQ200 unit, I haven’t come across such in India. I do have a few queries & would be grateful for your opinion: 1. Did you change only the GB oil or you changed the mechatronics oil as well . 2. At what interval did you get the oils changed

I have a Škoda 1.8TSI FROM 2018 & Whitefield is just a short drive away for me, hence am curious. Touchwood, I have had no issues with my car which is currently showing 38,000 km on the odometer and is stage 1 remapped by harmonixx
I did it for my 2015 1.8 Tsi few months ago when it was around 52000kms.

This is more of preventive maintenance. There is no guide as the gb and mechatronics are supposed to be sealed for life but this aint the case. Even in colder european climate, there have been several cases where people have replaced the oil periodically since there are errors shown however the car is running fine after the oil change and no further errors.

Comparatively, our hot weather and b2b traffic takes a toll and increases the temperature thereby leading to faster oil degradation.

My 2 cents - change around 40k kms should be good for the health of the gb and mechatronics.

Please be present when this is being done. Ensure proper quantity is being filled (refer posts above)

Raj
Desmosedici is offline   (1) Thanks