Old 4th February 2023, 20:08   #1

VW Polo GT TSI not cranking - ASC says DSG failure!!

I have a 2016 Polo Gt Tsi which has run about 42,000 kms.

Yesterday when I tried to start the car, the starter didn't crank.

All lights on the console would come on and then turn off like how it does normally.

No noise from the starter at all.

I installed a new battery last week, so it's not a battery issue. (I would have heard that clicking sound if it was a battery issue)

Since VW couldn't collect the car on the same day, I contacted my local mechanic, who did some workaround and connected a wire which i presume was to the starter and then told me that if the "P" in the gearbox indicator was blinking then the car wont start and the work around was to keep the car in "P", turn the ignition on and the open the bonnet and touch that wire to one of the batteries terminals. This cranks the engine and after that the blinking "P" goes away

So after that the car drives like it normally does. No gear shifting issues no knocking, no jerky shift. In short the gearbox works fine.

Today i drove it to VW after using that hack, and the SA calls back after a few hours saying its a mechatronic issue.

He still hasnt given me a quote but i bet its going to cost me my left kidney

So the question to all experts is, are they taking me for a ride?

If the DSG is faulty then shouldnt i get gear shift issues?

And have you seen a case when a so called DSG failure prevents the car from starting?

Last edited by nova9 : 4th February 2023 at 20:13.
nova9 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 5th February 2023, 09:10   #2

re: VW Polo GT TSI not cranking - ASC says DSG failure!!

Hi, it appears to be a sensor issue. If it is a DSG issue, you will not be able to shift smoothly and there will be jerkiness in shifting between first and reverse gears.

Kindly witness the scan [when they run it] and you will get a clear picture of the issue.

Goodluck

EDIT - A new battery could also be the culprit, please check the battery threshold voltage.
headers is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 6th February 2023, 13:15   #3

re: VW Polo GT TSI not cranking - ASC says DSG failure!!

First up, hope the new battery has the same rating as required for the Polo? Anything lesser and the starter won't have enough voltage to power up.

As for the possibility of the DSG failure tied to the car not starting, that's a rare occurrence to me atleast. The linkage I can possibly derive is the "selector level assembly" failure if it is really the root cause. The primary function of the assembly is related to the Hall Sensors of the selector lever which register the position and make it available to the mechatronic unit via the CAN bus. If the control unit detects no selector lever position due to a malfunction of the sensors or the solenoid, then the starter mechanism could assume (via some signal) that the clutches are actually opened, and hence may not complete the cranking operation.
JoshMachine is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 6th February 2023, 22:18   #4

Re: VW Polo GT TSI not cranking - ASC says DSG failure!!

Originally Posted by headers View Post
Hi, it appears to be a sensor issue. If it is a DSG issue, you will not be able to shift smoothly and there will be jerkiness in shifting between first and reverse gears.

Kindly witness the scan [when they run it] and you will get a clear picture of the issue.

Goodluck

EDIT - A new battery could also be the culprit, please check the battery threshold voltage.
If the car is not started using the workaround, i mentioned earlier, the scanner isnt able to detect the mechatronic unit (TCM)

When i start the car using the work around the unit gets detected.

Screen shot of the error code below
VW Polo GT TSI not cranking - ASC says DSG failure!!-20230206_133841.jpg

They still insist its a mechatronic failure.

Does the above shed any clarity?
Old 6th February 2023, 23:54   #5

Originally Posted by nova9 View Post
If the car is not started using the workaround, i mentioned earlier, the scanner isnt able to detect the mechatronic unit (TCM)

Sorry, can’t read those codes. Do you know what showed up?

Jeroen
Old 7th February 2023, 01:05   #6

OK, managed to get a sharper image.

All I see is a U010100 error code. That is an network error code, meaning the TCM has lost control with the rest of the network.

https://www.obd-codes.com/u0101

This is an electronic network fault and nothing to do with the DSG as such.

I would make sure the battery is ok. Test for capacity, not just voltage! Check the battery connectors, take them off, clean them and reconnect. Check the mass strap. Check all connector especially those of the ECU and TCM and all CAN related connector. Pull them apart and re-insert. Check all wiring for chaffing, rat bites and so. If you’re lucky, that might fix the problem.

However, if it doesn’t it is bad news: it will require a lot of experience and knowledge to trouble shoot this code.

Just google OBD U0101 and you will see various pages on this very code. It is a generic code, available on many different brands. Each implementation might be slightly different, but in all cases it means there is no communication with the TCM. Which usually means the CAN is somehow down/not working.

Ask your technician, the mechantronic and the TCM are not one and the same.

Good luck

Jeroen

Last edited by Jeroen : 7th February 2023 at 01:12.
Jeroen is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 7th February 2023, 02:33   #7

Originally Posted by Jeroen View Post
Sorry, can’t read those codes. Do you know what showed up?

Jeroen
6088 U010100 Lost Communication with TCM ( 00101101 active/static)
Old 7th February 2023, 07:34   #8

According to this video it could be an issue with "mechatronics valve body". Listen from 17:30, he had tested the terminals and connections and still the error shows up. There is a second part to this video where everythings fixed after the mechatronics change. However, thats the last resort. Like fellow Bhpians have said, check the battery and all the connections. I wonder if the dealer technicians would be prudent with this. So I would recommend to take the car to a competent VW expert for a thorough check. Before that, since the error popped up after changing the battery, try reverting to the OEM battery and see if there is any luck while the car is still at the dealer.

Last edited by corvus corax : 7th February 2023 at 07:35.
corvus corax is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th February 2023, 20:53   #9

Originally Posted by corvus corax View Post
https://Youtu.be/hkE0FgCnJzI
According to this video it could be an issue with "mechatronics valve body". Listen from 17:30, he had tested the terminals and connections and still the error shows up. There is a second part to this video where everythings fixed after the mechatronics change. However, thats the last resort. Like fellow Bhpians have said, check the battery and all the connections. I wonder if the dealer technicians would be prudent with this. So I would recommend to take the car to a competent VW expert for a thorough check. Before that, since the error popped up after changing the battery, try reverting to the OEM battery and see if there is any luck while the car is still at the dealer.
I dont have the OEM battery as this is the third battery in 6 years. The OEM lasted 2 years after which i installed an exide battery in 2018. That battery worked till about last week. I replaced it with another exide battery with the same model number and specs, so i doubt it could be due to the battery. I specifically asked the advisor at VW if the battery could be the cause to which he replied in the negative.

These guys dont want to even waste a minute trying to see if there is another issue. Replace the mechatronic is the only reply they give, so finally i caved in and ordered it. The wait time is 1 month

So the car is lying in my parking waiting for the part to arrive , apparently from "Germany"
nova9 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 7th February 2023, 20:58   #10

I dont have the OEM battery as this is the third battery in 6 years. The OEM lasted 2 years after which i installed an exide battery in 2018. That battery worked till about last week. I replaced it with another exide battery with the same model number and specs, so i doubt it could be due to the battery. I specifically asked the advisor at VW if the battery could be the cause to which he replied in the negative.

These guys dont want to even waste a minute trying to see if there is another issue. Replace the mechatronic is the only reply they give, so finally i caved in and ordered it. The wait time is 1 month

So the car is lying in my parking waiting for the part to arrive , apparently from "Germany"
Its sad that no one wants to or has the time to properly diagnose the issue. They just want to get it over with and replace the item. I am guessing it will cost you over a lac to get this fixed.

Stories like this scare me!
Traveler is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th February 2023, 01:59   #11

Originally Posted by Traveler View Post
Its sad that no one wants to or has the time to properly diagnose the issue. They just want to get it over with and replace the item. I am guessing it will cost you over a lac to get this fixed.

Stories like this scare me!
Yes, paid the full Rs.83,500 for the mechatronics unit in advance or else they won't even order the part for you. Labor and other miscellaneous items would bring the bill to approx Rs.1,06,000 is what the advisor quoted.

And the irony is that the day I left the car for diagnosis as to why the car wouldn't start, I also got a call from a guy there working in the body shop asking me if i would like to touch up the scratches on the rear bumper and also get the car polished... talk about misplaced priorities. .
nova9 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 1st March 2023, 19:17   #12

VW ASC in India is just not good enough. From the discussions I have had , I realized that German technology is too complicated for these technicians. Even with all the trainings they just don't get it. I am not saying its any different with other brands but you feel more with the VAG ASC.

I hope your issue get's resolved with this, if possible get opinion from other ASC's too in your city. I assume there are no rat bite issues, just have a thorough look.
NJ_9 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st March 2023, 20:10   #13

This is the case every single time in VW/skoda ASCs. They don't even diagnose the issue properly. They just start smacking their lips when such complaints arrive as they so conveniently get a "bakra" for mechatronics/gear shifter replacement. When my rapid(TC) faced a similar issue due to a rat, I was lucky to find a competent FNG through which I ordered a second hand gear shifter from a scrapyard in Gujarat. But even after replacing it the problem would persist and shifter wouldn't move. Then we had to check the entire wiring make repairs wherever they were cut by rodents and also there was an issue with earthing of the car(I am not much proficient in electrical parts/understanding so can't explain in detail).
All this was diagnosed by a mechanic who works in a exotic car garage in the gulf and I was lucky that a friend of mine had good contact with him. Asked him to have a look when he came for his sister's marriage. But skoda just said replace gearbox all will be sorted 100%. When I went back to them and asked if they had checked wiring, etc they were just mum. I lost it and went on a ranting spree. A couple of potential kushaq dsg customer dropped their plans. They met me outside and has a chat with me over tea. I asked them to go for TC over dsg if they wanted one.
All and all these cars are a hoot to drive, nothing else come close to it. But the policies over warranty must change asap. Dsg should come with 10 year warranty like European countries or China for that matter.
I have a feeling a competent FNG would have saved you a lot of money but I totally understand your decision of wanting to get your car working as soon as possible. Kindly keep an eye over what other repairs will be undertaken under the guise of mechatronics failure. They might shoot the bill upto 1.5 lacs or more saying it's part of the solution. Keep a firm tab.
Hope you get to drive the car soon
Laidbackakki is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 1st March 2023, 20:37   #14

@Nova9

I’m a GT TSI owner since 2016 and have had my fair share of problems.

I’m sure that your issues aren’t DSG related but battery or something connected/else related.

A DSG error would’ve thrown up jerky shifts to either odd or even gears and the shift indicators would’ve been flashing constantly. During my DSG failure the car started & I drove 10 very anxious & jerky kms to the ASS.

IMHO - Please try to check battery with the tong tester at the battery shop or referring to another dealer for their opinion.
Old 2nd March 2023, 06:53   #15

Attachment 2415709

They still insist its a mechatronic failure.

Does the above shed any clarity?
Seems to be a CAN related issue. You should take a look at the gateway module for this. It's unlikely to be a faulty mechatronic/TCM.

Originally Posted by Jeroen View Post
Ask your technician, the mechantronic and the TCM are not one and the same.
In the case of the DQ200 it is one and the same.
Viraat13 is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com