Old 4th June 2022, 13:39   #1

Underbody hit | Help me in assessing the damage

Creating new post as I am not sure where to post this( may be narrow escape thread?).
@Mods please merge with with suitable thread.

I had heart in mouth moment today in HSR, Bangalore. This is 2nd misfortune with my Zest this month (already) .
first one here : https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techn...-identify.html (Strange mechanical object in my car got dislodged | Help me identify it)

I was taking left turn having a park on left hand side. Some construction work was going on for park, I could see the sand on road but was not aware of rocks, just after the sand. Right at T junction, in front there were car parked in front of house, two tires of the cars on road ( This has become normal, no matter what area you live). I could not take big turn because of cars and did not assume worst , the presence of rocks, and rocks were not small.

Red markers are rock in below picture.

Underbody hit | Help me in assessing the damage-turn.png

The outcome:

Underbody hit | Help me in assessing the damage-20220604_110855.jpg
Underbody hit | Help me in assessing the damage-20220604_110903.jpg
Underbody hit | Help me in assessing the damage-20220604_110916.jpg

If you follow the white marker on road in above pictures, road is quite narrow, only one lane. my back left tire right above the left white line.
Right side white line can be seen in last pic to gauge the width of road.

Speed was slow, not more than 10 km/h , I heard loud noise and then dragging of stone. Stopped the car, tried to move the rock but could not.
Had to use jack to remove the stone.
I t was very big and should not have been thrown on road.

was trying to check the damage then I got to know that sharp edge of stone was just few inches away from fuel tank.

Some deep scratches have been marked and running board is almost ruined.

Underbody hit | Help me in assessing the damage-20220604_112817.jpg
Underbody hit | Help me in assessing the damage-20220604_112826.jpg
Underbody hit | Help me in assessing the damage-20220604_113050.jpg

I compared the Right hand side to asses the situation, did not find much difference other than scratches.

Right side :

Underbody hit | Help me in assessing the damage-20220604_112926.jpg
Underbody hit | Help me in assessing the damage-20220604_112935.jpg

Shall I visit ASC or go for wheel alignment.
I drove the car home (1-2 km ) and did not find anything strange.
Not sure about high speed behavior yet.

Last edited by Sheel : 6th June 2022 at 14:48. Reason: Removing the rant bit, can be discussed at an appropriate thread. Thanks.
KumarS is offline   (6) Thanks Received Infraction
Old 6th June 2022, 07:50   #2

re: Underbody hit | Help me in assessing the damage

It's hard to assess the damage from close-up photos. But, considering the situation you've explained, I'm guessing the damage should just be superficial.

Don't fret, enjoy the car and watch for boulders in sand next time.
Also, the thread title says the tank is pierced?

Last edited by Sheel : 6th June 2022 at 13:02. Reason: Typo.
dhanushs is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th June 2022, 09:56   #3

Going by the pictures, you don't have any damage apart from the scrape marks, which can be painted over to prevent rust. Your fuel tank was not touched, so the thread title is misleading. Since the (IMO mild) impact happened on the mounting point of the rear suspension trailing arm, the worst that can happen is a slight change in rear wheel alignment. Any good wheel alignment shop with a machine that can check 4-wheel alignment can do it, but I'd strongly recommend that you have the alignment checked out (and corrected if required) with the best shop in Bangalore to my knowledge, which is (Madhus Tyre Centre - Wilson Garden, Bangalore).

Last edited by SS-Traveller : 6th June 2022 at 10:01.
SS-Traveller is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 6th June 2022, 12:30   #4

Title should be Missed Piercing the Fuel Tank

The damage seems to be scratches to the running board which can be painted. Check with ASC for the alignment and any damages to the suspension. But before that, do you see any wobbling at the rear or a difference in the ride when you drive after this accident?
saisree is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th June 2022, 13:32   #5

As others,have pointed out, looks like you got,very lucky. Mostly just some scrapes.

As for the alignment go with SS Travellers advise. Unless the car drives differently there is probably nothing wrong, but it makes sense to get it checked out.

Jeroen
Jeroen is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 6th June 2022, 13:56   #6

Originally Posted by KumarS View Post

I had heart in mouth moment today in HSR, Bangalore. This is 2nd misfortune with my Zest this month (already) .
Happened to me right next to my place at night. Just curse and move on. Get it checked and fixed if you think it is serious. I don't think there would be any serious damage to the chassis at 10 kmph, but get a FNG or a service advisor to look at it.
mvadg is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th June 2022, 13:57   #7

I was looking for the 'pierced fuel tank'...as stated in the title.
saket77 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th June 2022, 14:06   #8

Originally Posted by saisree View Post
Title should be Missed Piercing the Fuel Tank
Originally Posted by Jeroen View Post
As for the alignment go with SS Travellers advise.

Jeroen
Same Day I drove at slow speed and next day with moderate city speed with passenger at rear, no difference observed so relieved as of now. Madhu Tyres visit is next in card .
I was more worried about suspension setup.

Thanks for reminding to paint the scratched part to avoid rust.

Originally Posted by dhanushs View Post
Also, the thread title says the tank is pierced?
Originally Posted by SS-Traveller View Post
. Your fuel tank was not touched, so the thread title is misleading.
And
Sorry For confusion, Title had "narrow escape " in the beginning , seems Mods did some magic here.

@Mods, Please change the title to Underbody hit | Help me in assessing the damage

was trying to check the damage then I got to know that sharp edge of stone was just few inches away from fuel tank.

Some deep scratches have been marked and running board is almost ruined.
Originally Posted by saket77 View Post
I was looking for the 'pierced fuel tank'...as stated in the title.
Sorry for disappointment.

I have suggested to change the title as Original had "Narrow Escape"

Last edited by Turbanator : 6th June 2022 at 14:20. Reason: Back to back posts
KumarS is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th June 2022, 14:38   #9

Z
******************Rant***************

There were interesting discussion on Emigrating to a Foreign Land thread.
People bashing others who compared the other nation with our.

I agree with people who want to move, not for money but for ease of living and peace of mind, moving to other nation(well , good nations ,there are plenty) is the better way. Even country like Malaysia has better infra and one can lead good life without worrying 100s of thing. We are not paying any less taxes than other nationalities.

Just for driving a car, we need to think much, the high speed dumpers, BMTC buses who owns the road and signals, --------- The advertisement frames on medians, people crossing road. I am sure I can add 20 more things here.
1>Sir, recommend to at least have the alignment checked. The rubber bushings are generally tough and after all, its a TATA.

2>Driving in London/NY downtown is no less scary, with pedestrians and pelican lights and cyclists & so on!

One interesting rule in UK Highway code : "Drivers must leave at least 1.5m when overtaking a cyclist"
Try overtaking a cyclist on an uphill B Road and suddenly you'll appreciate the desi style "Bhai, side please"-Honk!
Old 6th June 2022, 15:11   #10

Re: Underbody hit | Help me in assessing the damage

Sir, while the stone looks quite big, the damage it has inflicted looks minimal. Apart from scratches, there is no big difference (from pics). If I were you, would just take it showroom, hover it on the hydraulic and check the underbelly once. It's just to rule out any leakages or misalignment to the axle. Please share us an update.
Old 9th June 2022, 21:18   #11

If the car is driving normal nothing to worry, if you want to be cautious just keep a look on the tyres that side if they have any unusual wear after couple of 100 kms. But doesn't seem to be a major hit.
Jaggu is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 12:37   #12

Although this seems superficial but damage is damage. Had it been me, I would've had sleepless nights thinking my car is no longer as it came from the factory. That's the poor condition of our infrastructure here. I suggest you take it up with the Municipal Corporation of your city. That is not the place for a boulder and seek damages. After all, you're paying huge taxes and these are the basic things you have the right to seek redressal for. Taxes are collected for all these infrastructural developments only.
Old 13th June 2022, 12:33   #13

Lucky overall. Just keep driving, nothing to check.

Unless you hear a new abnormal noise, or car pulls to any side or there is abnormal tire wear on a particular wheel after a week or so.

Cars are built strong and generally will take such a hit in it's stride, especially at low speed.
ACM is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com