Old 30th January 2022, 12:40   #1

Ford's DPF issue regenerated, even after the official recall!

Even after Ford's official Recall regarding DPF issue in all the BS6 engines.
I am still facing a similar issue within 1k kilometer of driving after my recall. This is really unacceptable.
please find attached images for your reference.
Ford really needs to do something about it! They can’t expect people living in cities to drive endlessly on highways for miles just to clear the filter.
and the problem is, Highway driving doesn't solve it either.

What are we supposed to do?
Do we have to live with it forever?
Why is ford not able to resolve this issue?
[ATTACH=WhatsApp Image 20220130 at 12.36.22 PM 1.jpeg]Ford's DPF issue regenerated, even after the official recall!-whatsapp-image-20220130-12.36.22-pm.jpeg[/ATTACH]
Ford's DPF issue regenerated, even after the official recall!-whatsapp-image-20220130-12.36.22-pm-1.jpeg  

DeadlyD is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th January 2022, 13:47   #2

re: Ford's DPF issue regenerated, even after the official recall!

Originally Posted by DeadlyD View Post
Even after Ford's official Recall regarding DPF issue in all the BS6 engines.
I am still facing a similar issue within 1k kilometer of driving after my recall. This is really unacceptable.
please find attached images for your reference.
Ford really needs to do something about it! They can’t expect people living in cities to drive endlessly on highways for miles just to clear the filter.
and the problem is, Highway driving doesn't solve it either.
Before anything, please do mention your driving habits, how frequently this occurs and what has changed after the recall. If you are just getting a warning to regenerate the DPF, then I am afraid thats how it is going to be. You should have kept this in mind before buying the diesel variant. Short city drives where the engine doesnt warm up or the engine is kept at low revs would not even provide an option for regeneration. When you say that highway driving doesnt solve the problem, do you subject the engine to higher revs in lower gears or just normal highway driving?

Last edited by audioholic : 30th January 2022 at 13:48.
audioholic is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th January 2022, 14:43   #3

I have been driving for 9 years now. My driving habits are very mileage oriented and I have never revved my car above 2100 rpm in city driving.
Surprisingly, I never had such kind of warnings in my Odometer before the recall. I wonder how they started coming right after the recall!
Old 30th January 2022, 15:17   #4

My driving habits are very mileage oriented and I have never revved my car above 2100 rpm in city driving.
This can be one of the contributing factors. Upshifting early and then lugging the engine will lead to more soot generation and clog the DPF faster. In addition to that, if you arent revving the engine high enough, the exhaust gas pressure and the temperature will never reach a point where it would clear up the DPF. Hence you also have to change your driving style a bit.

Surprisingly, I never had such kind of warnings in my Odometer before the recall.
I do not know how it was before the recall, but every car with DPF will have some way to indicate that it needs regeneration and this is how it would be in your car. I suggest you read more on the operation of the DPF and then perhaps it might help you out a bit.
audioholic is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 30th January 2022, 19:33   #5

Re: Ford's DPF issue regenerated, even after the official recall!

I have been driving for 9 years now. My driving habits are very mileage oriented and I have never revved my car above 2100 rpm in city driving.
That is the worst use case for a DPF equipped car. Periodically take it onto the highway and drive it at some reasonable speeds, and higher RPM than you do.
hserus is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th February 2022, 12:39   #6

I have completed 10000 km on another 1.5L BS6 diesel with numerous complaints of DPF clogging.

I haven't had a single instance where I had dpf errors. I think driving style is a huge factor.

More than getting the engine to 3000+ rpm, it requires being at 2000-2500 rpm for hours together every 1000 km. Luckily, I drive 400 km on highways for every 1000 km, which is about 7-8 hours of 2000-2500 rpm cruising.

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 10th February 2022 at 12:41.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th April 2022, 02:26   #7

I drive EcoSport BS6 diesel, and my car was also one of the recalled vehicles. After the recall and parts replacement my car's drivability actually improved a lot and I have not faced DPF issue from last 8000 Kms. Please note 70% of my drive is in bumper to bumper city traffic.

I have noticed one important behavior in my car observing this issue closely. Sharing the same here, so that fellow members facing the issue can get some understanding.

We all know that more soot will build up during city driving. If you do so continuously, at every 200-300 Kms (depends on soot build up) your car's ECU will trigger auto regeneration. During this process your throttle response would become little sluggish, but the difference is very nominal, so most people cant feel it during normal city driving condition. During auto regen process, if you check your RPM gauge when your car stops at any signal you will suddenly find needle at 900 RPM (TDCI idles at 750 RPM). So you can know that your car is in auto regeneration mode. Now if you check, your instantaneous fuel efficiency also drops too much compare to normal driving condition. Now this process takes anywhere between 15 to 25 minutes. Only thing you need to ensure during this process is to keep the engine running and drive normally. After some time auto regeneration will be finished and your idle RPM will come down to normal 750 RPM. Now the main part is, since there is no warning light or massage of this process in instrument cluster most people turn off the engine before the process is completed (in general city rides are for short time), and soot inside the filter is not cleared properly. After 2 or 3 failed auto regeneration attempt by ECU, when soot level in filter increases your car shows "Exhaust Filter Overloaded" massage.

I have myself tried the same and have not faced DPF clogging issue from more than 8000 Kms. Some more points about this auto regen process in my Ford Ecosport are as below.

1) Auto regeneration only triggers when engine temperature reaches at half way mark.
2) If soot level in DPF filter is high, auto regen will be triggered once you get some empty road and drive the car at steady RPM in 4th or 5th gear for half a minute.
3) If auto regen was interrupted by turning off the engine (this is the only way to stop it), ECU will trigger it again once the condition of point no. 1 & 2 are met.
4) As per my understanding, by this process soot level inside DPF filter is reduced by huge margin and you are ready to go for some more days.

Hope it helps
Pratiksm is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th June 2022, 23:35   #8

I own a Ford Freestyle (Diesel) BS-VI 2020 model and car is getting bothersome due to repeated DPF issue.

Until about 8700 kms there was no DPF issue.All this time I was driving normally.It was only after replacing the Catalytic Convertor under voluntary emission recall in March,2022, I experienced the DPF issue for the 1st time at 10,150 kms i.e. within 1450 kms after changing the Catalytic Convertor. I got it cleaned at 10,224 kms via static regeneration at service centre.Thereafter, at 10,650 kms. for the 2nd time which I got cleaned at about 11000 kms, and lately, at 11391 kms.

I rarely drive short distances and most of the running is a one way drive of about 90 plus kilometers at around 1500-2000 rpm with a couple of stops in between.

The question here is that why during first 8700 kms there was not any DPF issue? Why after changing the CATCON the frequency of DPF warning is increasing despite there being no change in the driving style.?

I am now contemplating taking a legal action against Ford India and I'm relying on the owner manual (2019 print) which says that the soot that gathers inside the filter is cleaned through passive and active regeneration which occur automatically and require no action from the driver.

There is no mention about any particular driving style or maintaining any particular RPM/Speed in the owners manual to clear the filter.It appears that Ford itself didn't know about addressing this issue during the first initial months after the rollout of BS VI norms.

Since many members on this forum must be lawyers, I request you to kindly guide me if I should take a legal recourse. The car is turning into a white elephant by the day.

escape velocity is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th July 2022, 21:59   #9

Ford India has announced another Field Service Action/Recall program for ES/Figo/Asp/FS manufactured from Aug 19 - Aug 21 (22E06)

Areas of concerns;
1. Updation of emission norms
2. DPF efficiency
3. Correction of oil life related issues

Action;
1. Change of Catalytic Converter
2. Change of Exhaust Gas O2 sensor
3. Updation to latest firmware of PCM

I am planning to get my Eco Sport TDCI, 2021 checked as well, post previous recall.

Fellow Ford Owners can check their eligibility below;

https://www.india.ford.com/owner/field-service-actions/
witwat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th July 2022, 23:04   #10

Sorry to hear about all these problems. I am curious, does the owner manual mention anything about driving style, or the need for high revving?

Jeroen
Old 14th January 2023, 14:21   #11

Originally Posted by Jeroen View Post
Sorry to hear about all these problems. I am curious, does the owner manual mention anything about driving style, or the need for high revving?

Jeroen
My Ford Freestyle (Diesel 2020 BS-VI) owner manual (2019 print) reads 'that the soot that gathers inside the filter is cleaned through passive and active regeneration which occur automatically and require no action from the driver.'

At the time, there was no mention about drive to clean, drive above 2500 rpm,drive at >60 kmph etc. Don't you think Ford kept the consumers in dark during initial launch if BS VI vehicles.?

Can it be a sufficient ground for taking Ford to Court as even after 2nd recall the DPF issue doesn't seem to go away?

escape velocity is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st March 2023, 20:38   #12

I would be really grateful if somebody could help me out with this.
We have a Ecosport Diesel BS6 bought in Nov 2020, the car has run almost 26,000 kms and has only just undergone it's third service. We had received a letter from Ford regarding the recall last year, around December. I checked the vehicles VIN on the website and it shows the code "22E06".
The car has been amazing till date and has seen a good mix of city and highway driving. Only once did the "drive to clean" prompt pop up and it went away after some highway driving.
My queries are:
1. What will the recall change in the car?
2. Can I opt not to get the changes done?
3. I have read that there have been issues following the parts replacement, if anybody has any insight regarding this, please share.

Thank you

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com