Old 8th March 2021, 18:32   #31

Re: When do brake discs require replacement?

If milage is not relevant no one can offer warranty, i think milage is a great concern for every parts, since the wear and tear is calculated based on usage. Every manufacturer assess warranty on Every parts based on usage, if it is failed prematurely it'll be subjected to warranty claim.
Old 8th March 2021, 21:24   #32

Originally Posted by R2D2 View Post
That's not true.

Uneven brake pad/shoe wear is caused by sticking calipers or shoes as the case may be. Rear brake shoe or pad wear can also be caused by a stuck parking brake lever

Remember brake force is distributed, depending on a preset front to rear brake force distribution ratio or bias, to all wheels by a brake pressure distribution valve.
Yes that is the principle , but i have made this observation from experience , do try yourself observing the brake pads of cars having basic abs systems. Typically cars below the Rs 15 lakh bracket , the pads which are closer to the pressure distributor will have lesser thickness . For example skoda rapid or vw vento/polo has brake distributor on the left side and the pads on the left front will be the ones with least thickness .

Last edited by bblost : 8th March 2021 at 21:36. Reason: fixed the tag
Old 9th March 2021, 00:09   #33

Don’t worry about cost. Brakes are a matter of life and death. Depends on the car and driving conditions. In my GT TSI I had discs and pads replaced at 8000, 16000, 24,000 and 32000. Believe me it was not slimmable either
Old 9th March 2021, 00:24   #34

Originally Posted by hamhaj16 View Post
If milage is not relevant no one can offer warranty, i think milage is a great concern for every parts, since the wear and tear is calculated based on usage. Every manufacturer assess warranty on Every parts based on usage, if it is failed prematurely it'll be subjected to warranty claim.
I don’t know how warranty works in India. But in general any normal wear and tear is excluded from warranty. E.g. tyres. Nobody can guarantee how long tyres last. Or a clutch, or a battery, or for that matter brake pads, rotors or brake drums. Depends completely on driving style.

The tricky thing here is how do you account for unusual wear and tear not attributable to the driving style.

Jeroen
Old 9th March 2021, 02:06   #35

That's where the warranty claim works. Although clutch, suspensions, brakes are vital parts of a vehicle, it's manufacturers obligatory to build to last. Otherwise they may end up in lose. They cannot simply giveaway warranty. If they're saying 1 lakh km or 3 years warranty, they mean it.
Old 9th March 2021, 05:39   #36

Originally Posted by rageshgr View Post
Don’t worry about cost. Brakes are a matter of life and death. Depends on the car and driving conditions. In my GT TSI I had discs and pads replaced at 8000, 16000, 24,000 and 32000. Believe me it was not slimmable either
Were you replacing discs also at those kms.That's just excessive.
shrjun is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th March 2021, 07:10   #37

I agree that one shouldn't worry about cost when it comes to safety. However, I'm afraid that you're being taken for a ride. Changing discs every 8000 km's seems excessive!
BackInTheFold is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th March 2021, 08:36   #38

Originally Posted by hamhaj16 View Post
Wear and tear items are excluded from warranty for e.g. clutch, brake pads, rotors, wiper blades, tyres among others. It's all specified in the warranty statement.

Originally Posted by Malluspec View Post
Yes that is the principle , but i have made this observation from experience , do try yourself observing the brake pads of cars having basic abs systems. Typically cars below the Rs 15 lakh bracket , the pads which are closer to the pressure distributor will have lesser thickness . For example skoda rapid or vw vento/polo has brake distributor on the left side and the pads on the left front will be the ones with least thickness .
What is "basic" ABS? I don't think price is a factor here. You can't have high brake force variances on the left and right wheel brakes. It may be model specific thing after all the Vento and Rapid are basically the same VAG car with a different badge and name. I've been observing car brake systems since the M800 in the '80s.

Last edited by R2D2 : 9th March 2021 at 08:38.
Old 9th March 2021, 18:39   #39

Totally agree on the subject of braking importance and relative expense. I would never preach trying a bodge to save a few rupees on brakes. Yet your brake rotors seem mind-bogglingly short lived, unless you really spend a lot of time drifting or some such. Since you’re saying they weren’t skimmable I’m assuming you checked them and they really did need replacement? If it kept happening every 8,000 kms I strongly suspect there was something else very wrong, to wear them down like that. This is definitely far from normal wear and tear for rotors.

@OP: Fwiw, changing pads is no big deal. If they’re worn, you may as well swap and 30,000 kms is not too bad for pads. For discs it’s definitely on the low side though. We just changed the discs for the first time on our 17 year old Alto which has done 1.2L kms. My Celerio AMT which was just sold at 30,000 kms had no such issues either.

Last edited by RT13 : 9th March 2021 at 18:41.
RT13 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th March 2021, 21:16   #40

Originally Posted by Malluspec View Post
The pads which are closer to the brake/abs control unit get wear earlier as those are the ones getting the greatest pressure from the master cylinder and hence this is a common phenomenon, not anything to be worried about.
Is this your own inference or you can backup with some authentic resources?

To me this seem to violate Pascal's law, upon which mechanism of hydraulic braking is based.

Quoting a random article Link
Pascal’s principle, also called Pascal’s law, in fluid (gas or liquid) mechanics, statement that, in a fluid at rest in a closed container, a pressure change in one part is transmitted without loss to every portion of the fluid and to the walls of the container.

Last edited by fordday : 9th March 2021 at 21:17. Reason: added info
fordday is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th March 2021, 21:22   #41

Originally Posted by fordday View Post
Is this your own inference or you can backup with some authentic resources?

To me this seem to violate Pascal's law, upon which mechanism of hydraulic braking is based.

Quoting a random article Link

Yes my own inference based on my short experience only . Maybe model specific like you told . I have observed this on my swift also , but not as big a difference as in the polo/rapid models .
Malluspec is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th March 2021, 19:13   #42

Originally Posted by shrjun View Post
Were you replacing discs also at those kms.That's just excessive.
Originally Posted by BackInTheFold View Post
I agree that one shouldn't worry about cost when it comes to safety. However, I'm afraid that you're being taken for a ride. Changing discs every 8000 km's seems excessive!
Hmm. No I saw the discs they were not skimmable
Old 13th March 2021, 19:42   #43

Hmm. No I saw the discs they were not skimmable
There is probably something else wrong that is affecting disc life.Even pads don't need to be changed in 8k kms ,let alone the discs.
Old 17th March 2021, 13:48   #44

I had changed disc pads 4 times in my swift Dzire in 83000 Kms, before it was sold. The first set of disc pads lasted for 20000kms which was the longest. Before you think I was duped by the SA at the service center, I can assure you, I wasn't. Infact the SA is a good friend of mine and each time I approved the replacement after inspecting the worn out disc pads myself. The last time I visited the service center for the 80000kms service, the SA told me that the disc rotors were good enough for another 6000-7000 Kms.

But, as far as I remember, I had to change the disc rotors in my alto relatively early at around 40000 kms. So was the case in the Palio 1.6 that we owned. I don't remember the exact mileage when the disc rotors were changed, but it was quite early is what I can say. What I have noticed from my personal experience and others is that the vehicles with low running/usage tend to experience issues with brake disc rotors more often. Due to low running, the brake discs are subjected to pitting, which makes the disc rotor surface quite abrasive. This not only damages the brake pads, eventually the toll in taken on the disc rotors as well. This is one of the reasons for early replacement of brake disc rotors IMO.
Old 17th March 2021, 14:37   #45

I have a 2010 make i20 petrol which has run 1.4 lac KM. The brake pads used to wear out by 25K KMs. On few occasions there was juddering under braking - mostly when the brake pads were finished/out of shape and the pin was scraping against the disc. There were instances where small stones got stuck between the pad and disc, causing circular marks on the disc.

For all these issues, the Hyundai dealership skimmed the disc in a lathe on 3 different occasions before they were finally replaced at 1.25Lac KM mark. By that time the discs were thinner and could not be skimmed safely (Chances of disc breaking was high with further skimming).

The only way brake discs/pads go bad quickly is due to poor alignment of brake pads/discs. This could be because of improper tightening of pins/nuts, or when foreign body gets between pad and disc, external impact, or support pins falling off/getting loose with prolonged runs on rough roads.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com