Old 12th March 2022, 19:17   #526

Re: ECU Remaps : About Tools, Software & Tuners!

Originally Posted by Taha Mir View Post

The dealer asked me to drive 50 kms or so for the map to fully kick in. I've driven almost 200 kms but the issuer still remains. This definitely is not normal, should I be expecting this issue to resolve itself?
Well am not a owner of TDCI but i have been driving my remapped sx4 ddis for about 63K kms.
Post remap the car felt much more eager and smoother and was very linear, the change in pick up and character is definitely felt.
The car is smoother at idle, injector noise prevalent earlier became more smoother, infact many people who sit in my car ask me if its a petrol car.
There should definitely not me any jerks etc in a good map.Any changes that have to take place will take place immediately after a remap,you have driven almost 200 kms thats a good enough period to update any driver specific maps.
I would suggest you speak to quantum and raise your issues. If your not happy then kindly choose some other tuner.A tuner worth his salt will definitely accommodate any customer requests and work on the map to make it as per reasonable expectations.
In my case i had WOLF work with me on my map and finally we settled on what i felt was matching my expectations.This was done with no fuss and stellar support from wolf each time i approached them.
scorpian is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th March 2022, 19:27   #527

Here comes the main part, the RPMs are jerky from 1500 to 1800 rpm on light throttle (while in gear and neutral) which makes the entire car shake. It's non existent if I'm accelerating through that rev range. (Almost feels like a misfire)
It could be hardware issue too. At times, post remap the previously unknown issue becomes evident. I suggest you to get in touch with Akshay, GT Tunerz Delhi. I believe Hyderabad quantum dealer is his sub dealer.
Dr.Naren is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th March 2022, 07:03   #528

It’s been over 5 years and 86000 kms with my Ford Ecosport 1.5 TDCi, and was toying with the idea of replacing it with a sedan. But this car is still fun to drive and trouble free - given the uncertainty of fuel price rises, I think it makes financial sense to hold on to the car.

To spruce things up though, I am thinking of going in for a remap, and have few doubts regarding the same.

• After a remap, will the authorised service centre reset it to stock on next service? Or do we instruct them to leave it as it is?
  • In case the ASC does reset it, will the tuner charge again for a remap?
  • I have zeroed in on Wolf Moto, given the positive reviews and recommendations from other forum members. What will be approximate cost for a Stage I remap of the Ford 1.5 TDCi?
  • Are there any precautions we have to take/observe, or do we drive as usual post the remap?

Since I am a non-technical person, a few pointers on the above questions would be appreciated, so that I know what to expect when I call Wolf.
Old 13th March 2022, 10:32   #529

Originally Posted by Pequod View Post
[*]After a remap, will the authorised service centre reset it to stock on next service? Or do we instruct them to leave it as it is?
Service centre would not reset it to stock during every service. It is possible only if there is ECU map update by Ford, very unlikely now.

[*]In case the ASC does reset it, will the tuner charge again for a remap?
You can check this with the tuner. Most of the tuners would not charge for flashing the same map again.

[*]I have zeroed in on Wolf Moto, given the positive reviews and recommendations from other forum members. What will be approximate cost for a Stage I remap of the Ford 1.5 TDCi?
I think Wolf charges 25-28k

[*]Are there any precautions we have to take/observe, or do we drive as usual post the remap?
Nothing as such. Do not skip on routine maintenance
Old 17th March 2022, 14:43   #530

Originally Posted by Dr.Naren View Post
It could be hardware issue too. At times, post remap the previously unknown issue becomes evident. I suggest you to get in touch with Akshay, GT Tunerz Delhi. I believe Hyderabad quantum dealer is his sub dealer.
Went back to my quantum dealer, they tried unplugging the EGR valve for a total delete but it made no difference. Cold starts still have jerky unstable idle for few secs and car bucks under light throttle between 1.5-1.8k rpm.
They advised me to get EGR and intake manifold cleaned. I'll be doing that soon and see if it helps.
In either case, I'm most likely going to flash it back to stock and get a remap from wolf!
Old 17th March 2022, 18:52   #531

Went back to my quantum dealer, they tried unplugging the EGR valve for a total delete but it made no difference. Cold starts still have jerky unstable idle for few secs and car bucks under light throttle between 1.5-1.8k rpm.
They advised me to get EGR and intake manifold cleaned. I'll be doing that soon and see if it helps.
In either case, I'm most likely going to flash it back to stock and get a remap from wolf!
EGR is anyway not open during engine idle rpm, so it will not make a difference.
The intake plumbing clamps tend to become loose over time on the TDCi engine. When I first got my Aspire remapped, I hardly felt any difference and they tightened all the clamps for the intake plumbing and after that, it actually did make a difference. Surprise was that after 30k kms, it had again become loose. Since the boost pressure passes through these pipes, it is better to have them checked regularly.
Your car being run less than a lakh kms, I don't think EGR or Intake manifold cleaning is required yet, although it will be partially clogged which is normal on a diesel with EGR active.

Last edited by tharian : 17th March 2022 at 19:16.
tharian is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 22nd March 2022, 10:20   #532

Dr. Naren, I got a few questions I'll be glad if you answered them,
I'm looking to tune my 1.6 crdi Elantra automatic and lost in a whirlpool of doubts.

1. I don't want my car to run rich, how do I know this is not the case after tuning?

2. I want to try all this on my own buy the hardware and go crazy make mistakes without frying my ECU, how bad will that get can I revert it to my stock map?

3. The available maps I've been looking for are etuners and superchips but being from Kolkata I don't think I'd get a dyno run option, will wolf moto be better?

4. What I'm looking for in my remap is that I want to make peak power early so that with part throttle I can overtake crazy without burning a lot of fuel. So around 2500 rpm and max torque by 3500 rpm can I request the tuner to do this for me? Is that recommended? Does my above logic work? Does the tuner keep on upgrading the map according to my liking for the same cost?

5. Lastly, the car comes with an eco mode, so what happens when I put the car in that does it just goes back the stock power figures?

I've taken the easy route and instead of researching myself gonna borrow the forums expertise. I'm open to any help and suggestions. Grazie!
Old 23rd March 2022, 23:33   #533

Originally Posted by TechSavvy View Post
1. I don't want my car to run rich, how do I know this is not the case after tuning?
Check if the car smokes heavily post remap

2. I want to try all this on my own buy the hardware and go crazy make mistakes without frying my ECU, how bad will that get can I revert it to my stock map?
Forget frying the ECU, you would end up blowing turbo, engine, and gearbox too with DIY remap experiments

3. The available maps I've been looking for are etuners and superchips but being from Kolkata I don't think I'd get a dyno run option, will wolf moto be better?
I personally believe in timings more than dyno. Best is to time in gear acceleration / roll on and compare stock vs remap. Ask the tuner for dragy / V-Box numbers.

4. What I'm looking for in my remap is that I want to make peak power early so that with part throttle I can overtake crazy without burning a lot of fuel. So around 2500 rpm and max torque by 3500 rpm can I request the tuner to do this for me? Is that recommended? Does my above logic work? Does the tuner keep on upgrading the map according to my liking for the same cost?
Talk to the tuner about your concerns. Only few tuners offer free updates these days.

5. Lastly, the car comes with an eco mode, so what happens when I put the car in that does it just goes back the stock power figures?
No it won't.
Dr.Naren is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th April 2022, 15:21   #534

I have a very basic question regarding maps. I have a 2.0 TDI Jetta and got it recently stage 1 tuned. Is it necessary to change the Air Filter post remap?
Old 7th April 2022, 19:57   #535

Originally Posted by blogslogger View Post

I have a very basic question regarding maps. I have a 2.0 TDI Jetta and got it recently stage 1 tuned. Is it necessary to change the Air Filter post remap?
Change the filter if it is dirty. Few tuners suggest to get BMC or K & N stock replacement filters, but not worth it.
Old 7th April 2022, 22:01   #536

I have a Ford Figo 2013 model Diesel, run 65k kms. No mechanical issues as of date. Is it too late to get a remap? I am looking for improved low and mid.

Location is Bangalore,so which one would be recommended? What would be the suggested process or checks I should follow to have a Successful remap?

MaSh
Old 8th April 2022, 00:58   #537

Originally Posted by mashmash View Post
I have a Ford Figo 2013 model Diesel, run 65k kms. No mechanical issues as of date. Is it too late to get a remap? I am looking for improved low and mid.
You can go ahead with the remap

Location is Bangalore,so which one would be recommended?
I would suggest Wolf moto remap. You can get it done from Engineering Exponents, Bangalore.

What would be the suggested process or checks I should follow to have a Successful remap?
Remap makes a huge difference in Figo. Best is to time and compare the in-gear acceleration, say 40-100 kmph in 3rd gear for your car.
Old 8th April 2022, 01:43   #538

You can go ahead with the remap

I would suggest Wolf moto remap. You can get it done from Engineering Exponents, Bangalore.

Remap makes a huge difference in Figo. Best is to time and compare the in-gear acceleration, say 40-100 kmph in 3rd gear for your car.
Awesome, thank you so much. I am planning to start this project in June. So would be reaching out to you on and off the the forum.

MaSh
Old 8th April 2022, 23:20   #539

Change the filter if it is dirty. Few tuners suggest to get BMC or K & N stock replacement filters, but not worth it.
Thanks doc. I was informed that not changing the filter would 'choke' the turbo since they run in high state of tune and that would be very costly in the future. Just wanted to know if there is any merit in that.
Old 23rd April 2022, 22:06   #540

Originally Posted by blogslogger View Post
Thanks doc. I was informed that not changing the filter would 'choke' the turbo since they run in high state of tune and that would be very costly in the future. Just wanted to know if there is any merit in that.
Looks like the tuner just wants to sell the filter or has no proper knowledge on the subject. I was running even Stage 3 setup on OE filter. Stock replacement filters have negligible gains.