(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
I havent tried them yet :(
Nice article, i have one question, when I go for long drive I sometimes pour water on the engine to cool it. I do not know wheather it is good. Can any one help me on this?
when I go for long drive I sometimes pour water on the engine to cool it
|
What car!! Why would you do that?
Originally Posted by udaydesai
(Post 672796)
Nice article, i have one question, when I go for long drive I sometimes pour water on the engine to cool it. I do not know wheather it is good. Can any one help me on this? |
Dont think this is good.
Any metal heated to high temperatures and cooled 'suddenly' is subjected to a lot of stress.
Originally Posted by CrAzY dRiVeR
(Post 672981)
Dont think this is good.
Any metal heated to high temperatures and cooled 'suddenly' is subjected to a lot of stress. |
I have MFPI maruti ZEN 2002, I agree the any metal if hot and cooled by pouring water is subjected to stress, But guide me its just a habit that i pour water on engine and also on radiator.what sort of problem will i come across if i do so. also now I had stop pouring water on engine. I did sak Maruti service person, he said nothing happens. kindly guide me on this.
you mean you pour water on the hood panel.. and not on the engine block i hope. pouring on the engine block can affect (short) some electrical connections.
pouring on the hood will affect the paint i am sure.. the metal and the paint layer will contract at different rates due sudden temperature drop.. can result in pealing, oxidation marks in the long run..
in any case, unless your temperature gauge shows the engine overheated u don't need any explicit cooling i think.
Please let me know if any of you tried the service here? I am planing to take my Ford 2000 Model for a exterior treatment, as I see lot of swirl marks and if I can see very very tiny holes on the body where paint has eaten up. I love the color of the car which is "Tarmuline Green" as Ford India says other wise the ride is in too good condition.
Please advise what type of detailing stuff that I should go far.
which place in bangalore & who is the contact person (if any)
what kind of treatment should I opt for?
what would be the approx cost?
Thanks in advance
Originally Posted by udaydesai
(Post 673933)
I have MFPI maruti ZEN 2002, I agree the any metal if hot and cooled by pouring water is subjected to stress, But guide me its just a habit that i pour water on engine and also on radiator.what sort of problem will i come across if i do so. also now I had stop pouring water on engine. I did sak Maruti service person, he said nothing happens. kindly guide me on this. |
I think you picked it seeing old mahindra jeep drivers stopping onc ein a while and filling up radiators.
no, you have a technologically advanced car and you don't need to do any circus, plus you may actually be harming your car.
even if it gets overheated (which needs a trip to the mechanic anyway), putting normal temperature water in radiator will take care of the cooling (provided the water circuit is working)
Originally Posted by Rudra Sen
(Post 379997)
|
Guys, does anyone have the updated website address for tpc3 care? The one listed above has gone down.
Originally Posted by moralfibre
(Post 702274)
Guys, does anyone have the updated website address for tpc3 care? The one listed above has gone down. |
Check this one out:
Turtle Wax - Home
I recently took my Lancer (black colour) on a drive on the highway and the front (bonnet, bumper, grille) got splattered with insects. This is a common phenomenon that vehicles plying on the highways are subjected to.
Now, I've been having some trouble getting these bug marks off the car. They're somehow stuck to the paint like glue and are not coming off easily. Is there any way to clean up the car without damaging the paintjob?
Also, can any preventive measures be taken when going on the highway to avoid this situation? Maybe some coating on the front that prevents the bugs from sticking?
Originally Posted by razor4077
(Post 705306)
Now, I've been having some trouble getting these bug marks off the car. They're somehow stuck to the paint like glue and are not coming off easily. Is there any way to clean up the car without damaging the paintjob? |
Use car shampoo in concentrate form. Add a little water and soak those areas. Keep it for some time and wash it down with a proper shampoo wash.
Carry out this process in cool shaded area only. Quote:
Also, can any preventive measures be taken when going on the highway to avoid this situation? Maybe some coating on the front that prevents the bugs from sticking?
|
Nothing you can do to prevent this. Also wash AC condensor with pressurized (light) water. You can be sure of stuck insects there too.
Bug splats, to remove Rudra is spot on with his instruction.
To add, earlier your remove easier it will be, if you wait for a week before you wash then its double trouble. Another observation, waxing helps to an extend to reduce the glue effect.
Avoid early morns and twilight hours as much as possible, especially when the route has open fields on either sides :D which is not practical.
The other day I saw the chap at a service station buy 2 sachets of shampoo and proceed to wash the entire car instead of the regular oil soap they use, is this dangerous ?
Also what frequency are you guys using the car shampoo? My daily routine is water wipe and wash.
Originally Posted by razor4077
(Post 705306)
Also, can any preventive measures be taken when going on the highway to avoid this situation? Maybe some coating on the front that prevents the bugs from sticking? |
actually, this claims to help. not sure if you can find something similar in india though.
Rain-X: Bug & Tar Protective Shield
I have a can of this (or something similar), and I always remember to put it only after a long drive when I see bugs on the front bumper stupid:.