Old 24th April 2010, 01:11   #2146

Originally Posted by benzinblut View Post
The car is washed by our watchman so no problem of washing it daily. The cloth is replaced when its about to lose its softness. His wash is really good and if i use a light hand with a soft cloth after he has done his job, the paint really shines.

Where can i get the duster? I hope it has good life unlike the ones we get at the signal. I am looking for a good one and so is a friend of mine.

About wax, yes basic wax is what I need. Dont want any wax with even mild rubbing compound. Waxpol carnuba is good but its too cumbersome Using it will automatically result in a lesser frequent waxing . I think TW hardshell should be the one. Awaiting sohails report on that.
Washing the car every day is not recommended unless you use distilled water type water. If you detail your car with a polish and a sealant (wax or synthetic) you should be OK with gently dusting it. Our water leaves a residue on the paint which builds up. Your car willl shine (without depth) but your MF towel will not run on the surface since the surface becomes sticky. Use a spray detailer to get the smooth surface back between waxing. Remember smoother the surface of the car the cleaner it is and truer is the shine.

The best wax to use is the pure wax. It typically will not have any polishing agents. But that also assumes that you have prepared the surface of the car. Just rubbing the wax will not give you the shine you desire.If the surface is prepared pure wax is not difficult to apply and buff off. You will only need patience. Good wax should last 3 months only if you do not let your watchman wash it every day. You should ask him to gently dust it wth a MF duster. I find our desi Jopasu (on Ebay) is quite good.

Hope you have two cloths to clean. One for the wheels and one for the body.

Rgds
Old 24th April 2010, 10:04   #2147

Originally Posted by Garipagol View Post
Washing the car every day is not recommended unless you use distilled water type water. If you detail your car with a polish and a sealant (wax or synthetic) you should be OK with gently dusting it. Our water leaves a residue on the paint which builds up. Your car willl shine (without depth) but your MF towel will not run on the surface since the surface becomes sticky. Use a spray detailer to get the smooth surface back between waxing. Remember smoother the surface of the car the cleaner it is and truer is the shine.

The best wax to use is the pure wax. It typically will not have any polishing agents. But that also assumes that you have prepared the surface of the car. Just rubbing the wax will not give you the shine you desire.If the surface is prepared pure wax is not difficult to apply and buff off. You will only need patience. Good wax should last 3 months only if you do not let your watchman wash it every day. You should ask him to gently dust it wth a MF duster. I find our desi Jopasu (on Ebay) is quite good.

Hope you have two cloths to clean. One for the wheels and one for the body.

Rgds
Hey carcrazy (i guess thats what garipagol means?)

Water being used to wash the car is municipal water. Its soft water and is very clean. Its not distilled water but I think it fits into your definition of 'distilled type water'. Daily wash is only with this water wihout any shampoo. The watchman uses a differnt cloth for wheels. After washing the car, he cleans it dry, so there should be no residue left after a wash. I have also observed that because its cleaned daily, there is not much effort required during a wash. The wheels are also very clean.

These are my practices. I am ready to stop getting the car washed daily and swith over to a duster/MF towel on alternated days if thats better than what I do. I have availabiliy of getting the car water washed daily and wax it as required. Please let me know your suggestions based on this.

that pure wax is the best wax sans polishing agents. I have used waxpol carnuba wax. But its too hard to buff off. You mentioned that iIf the surface is prepared pure wax is not difficult to apply and buff off. how can one prepare the surface?
Old 24th April 2010, 10:33   #2148

@ Sohail99 : Bhai what about techwax 2.0 or TW hard shell wax , are they pure waxes ???
Old 24th April 2010, 11:46   #2149

Hey carcrazy (i guess thats what garipagol means?)

These are my practices. I am ready to stop getting the car washed daily and swith over to a duster/MF towel on alternated days if thats better than what I do. I have availabiliy of getting the car water washed daily and wax it as required. Please let me know your suggestions based on this.

that pure wax is the best wax sans polishing agents. I have used waxpol carnuba wax. But its too hard to buff off. You mentioned that iIf the surface is prepared pure wax is not difficult to apply and buff off. how can one prepare the surface?
Get hold of Jopasu duster, it available very near to your house. I will PM you the Jospasu vashi sales guy number. You can either buy the duster or there is a whole set, which has been recommended on T-BHP by number of people. Check a thread named "Jopasu duster- A Mini Review". It contains duster microfiber cloth and lot of stuff, good for daily use. You can fetch more details on the thread.

I guess you car washing is tempted because its readily available, sounds similar to my dad. Since he gets free wash for his car he gets it done every day. I have quarreled with him so many times that not to get it washed every day but he wont budge :-(. Anyways to cut it short. Wash the car only twice/thrice a week. Get hold of jopasu duster to wipe in between washes. And hence wax car at less frequent interval. I read sohail's research. How about 3M liquid wax , isnt it a pure wax ? Any Idea?
Old 24th April 2010, 12:04   #2150

Originally Posted by mailmishra View Post
Get hold of Jopasu duster, it available very near to your house. I will PM you the Jospasu vashi sales guy number. You can either buy the duster or there is a whole set, which has been recommended on T-BHP by number of people. Check a thread named "Jopasu duster- A Mini Review". It contains duster microfiber cloth and lot of stuff, good for daily use. You can fetch more details on the thread.

I guess you car washing is tempted because its readily available, sounds similar to my dad. Since he gets free wash for his car he gets it done every day. I have quarreled with him so many times that not to get it washed every day but he wont budge :-(. Anyways to cut it short. Wash the car only twice/thrice a week. Get hold of jopasu duster to wipe in between washes. And hence wax car at less frequent interval. I read sohail's research. How about 3M liquid wax , isnt it a pure wax ? Any Idea?
Thanks amit. Got the number!

My car wash is readily available but its definitely not free. Will try over a month to substitute car wash with dusting on alternate days. May be the watchman gets some relief.

About 3M liquid wax: I am not sure. May be Sohail can help on this!
Old 24th April 2010, 14:29   #2151

Surface is prepared by claying(with the help of detailing clay) and paint cleaning agents!

and then polishing(glazing).

Glaze is a non abrasive polish that enriches the paint color beneath the clear coat!

most important is claying! paint cleaning agents(I use Meguiars deep crystal cleaner) are optional but I make it a point to use them!

Originally Posted by NOTORIOUS View Post
@ Sohail99 : Bhai what about techwax 2.0 or TW hard shell wax , are they pure waxes ???
NXT Tech Wax2.0 is a Pure Wax with mild paint cleaners(not polishers)

About 3M liquid wax: I am not sure. May be Sohail can help on this!
You can check out this thread - http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...t-india-3.html

This is what the 3M website says regarding 3M liquid wax
3M™ Premium Liquid Wax
Clear coat wax, safe for use on all cured paint finishes. May be used by hand or by orbital polisher. Removes road film or light oxidation, (rust). Produces high luster on all automotive paints.
but Hyundai bodyshop guys use this wax after rubbing and wet sanding the painted panel!
Old 24th April 2010, 16:11   #2152

thats strange! must name it polish rather then wax!!F1 wax n waxpol seems good options,turtle wax too!
Old 24th April 2010, 17:35   #2153

Originally Posted by sohail99 View Post
Surface is prepared by claying(with the help of detailing clay) and paint cleaning agents!

and then polishing(glazing).

Glaze is a non abrasive polish that enriches the paint color beneath the clear coat!

most important is claying! paint cleaning agents(I use Meguiars deep crystal cleaner) are optional but I make it a point to use them!
What is the locally available glaze ???

NXT Tech Wax2.0 is a Pure Wax with mild paint cleaners(not polishers)
So can it be use regularle say once a month ????
Old 24th April 2010, 20:24   #2154

This doubt is to all you detailing gurus out there.
I had waxed my car using waxpol carnauba wax a couple of weeks back. I am planning to get Silicone glaze polish from Amway for polishing my car. I have read that polishing has to be done before waxing. Now the question is how to remove the applied layer of wax. I believe the layer of wax is still there as i can see water beeding happening. Should i really remove the coat of wax before using the silicon glaze polish?
Or can i just apply the polish over the layer of wax and then apply one more coat of wax ?
Please advise !
Old 24th April 2010, 20:33   #2155

Originally Posted by janitha View Post
Please elaborate. Being fascinated by the result after using Techwax 2 (thanks mkh) managed to get two more bottles which I received today!
Sorry for the late reply. Was out of town.
Comparing Techwax2 and Mothers Pure California Gold carnuba Wax

A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-table.jpg

A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-img_3412.jpg

Very useful info from the packing of a wash mitt. Found the instructions to be really helpful.

A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-img_3387.jpg

Havnt tried this yet

A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-img_3377.jpg

Got this duster from a local shop selling chinese good for Rs.70!! Seems to do a good job of removing dust.

A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-img_3379.jpg

A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-img_3380.jpg

A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-img_3381.jpg
Old 24th April 2010, 20:41   #2156

Beware of anything Chinese. Along with dust, paint also may go after some tries.Better to use quality products rather than going for cheap products like these. Damages are irreversible.

Last edited by poloman : 24th April 2010 at 20:42.
Old 24th April 2010, 21:02   #2157

The duster has just plain cotton fibres . So it should not harm the paint.Anyways this is for my old santro. Have got a California duster in its packing for the new one! Thanks for the advice.
Old 24th April 2010, 21:24   #2158

Originally Posted by NOTORIOUS View Post
What is the locally available glaze ???

So can it be use regularle say once a month ????
Locally available glaze is 'Amway Silicon Glaze'

and yea! using TechWax once a month is perfectly OK!

I use it like 2-3 times a month lol!

Originally Posted by _raviShankar_ View Post
This doubt is to all you detailing gurus out there.
I had waxed my car using waxpol carnauba wax a couple of weeks back. I am planning to get Silicone glaze polish from Amway for polishing my car. I have read that polishing has to be done before waxing. Now the question is how to remove the applied layer of wax. I believe the layer of wax is still there as i can see water beeding happening. Should i really remove the coat of wax before using the silicon glaze polish?
Or can i just apply the polish over the layer of wax and then apply one more coat of wax ?
Please advise !
You need to remove the wax coat in order for the glaze to work!

one way to remove wax is 'claying'
it effectively removes existing wax coat!

another way is, by use of polishes and paint cleaners!

>Remove wax
>apply silicon glaze and work it in the paint!
Don't apply the glaze and leave it there to dry!

You have to work the glaze on the panel for sometime for it to penetrate the clear and nourish the paint beneath!

and glaze in no way affects the clearcoat, it just enhances the paint glow!(kinda like what moisturizing cream does to a dry skin)

after you've worked in the glaze, wipe with a clean MF towel immediately

and then Wax as usual!

EDIT - here I found an article on how to remove existing wax coat - http://www.properautocare.com/remexwaxorse.html

@-NUT-case

amazing comparison there man!

will have to try Mothers carnuba wax now! Thanks for the feedback!

and waiting to see the magic of Megs show car glaze! do post pics!

Last edited by sohail99 : 24th April 2010 at 21:33.
Old 24th April 2010, 21:54   #2159

NOTE - When the dealership guys say 'Teflon', they are talking about waxing!!(which you can do yourself, with more dedication and care)
+ they use 3M liquid wax which I feel is not that durable
Sohail, Teflon actually is Du Pont's offering so no where can 3M be used if they talk of Teflon. Teflon has becoming synonymous with Car Detailing like Casio for Keyboards, Campa for Colas, Jeep for Jeep type Vehicles etc.

People may be fooled when they go for Teflon Coating, the actual process and products may differ and Du Pont may not be used at all.

DuPont? Teflon® fluoropolymers

Though Teflon isn't recommended by TBHP but still if someone goes for the same, please check for Du Pont.

Last edited by tsk13 : 24th April 2010 at 22:00.
Old 24th April 2010, 22:03   #2160

@ sohail99 : Thanks a lot for the quick response man.
So i will have to get myself a claying kit or a paint cleaner. Are there any locally available claying kits or paint cleaners ?
You had mentioned about working the glaze on the panel. Do we see a difference on the surface while working on it ? I am asking this because i need to know how much work will be enough for the glaze to take its effect on the underlying paint.