Old 4th January 2021, 10:27   #1726

Re: VW Polo - Maintenance and Service cost and dos/don'ts

Originally Posted by TheGearBox View Post
I am getting the smell of petrol in the cabin of my 2011 Polo 1.6 MPI. The service center has ascertained the reason to be a leaky fuel line. They are quoting Rs 12k to replace it. Any economical alternatives?
Update. Took the car to a local garage where they applied some Araldite to plug the leak. This fix worked for some time, but the petrol smell returned after a few days, although it is fainter this time.
Old 4th January 2021, 13:03   #1727

[quote=TheGearBox;4969158 they applied some Araldite to plug the leak.[/QUOTE]

I suspect that "ordinary" epoxy resins are not petrol proof. Suggest you ask Google about this, unless a specialist answers here.
Old 15th January 2021, 14:09   #1728

My VW Ameo 1.2 MPI is due for 4th year service. Posting in this thread for better visibility.
I have a few points for which I need suggestions from the members here-
  • Last month, I had to add some battery water to the coolant as it was lingering just below MIN mark. Should I get the whole coolant solution replaced in this service? Or, should I just ask them to top it up till MAX?
  • In the Owner’s manual, tyre rotation is suggested by interchanging the front and rear tyres on their respective sides. Should I go for this tyre rotation exercise at service centre? Or, is it avoidable?
  • What else should I pay attention to in this service, given that the car is 4 years old and has done 37k kms. Like brakes, belt, consumables, etc.
Thanks in advance!
Old 15th January 2021, 16:52   #1729

My Polo 1.2 TDI engine RPM stuck at 1500 after 30 minutes drive. It stays for 1 minute at 1500 before coming to 800 eventhough the vehicle is idle. This is causing jerk while driving less than 1500 RPM some times. Anyone can help me to understand the issue? Recently I have changed the Vacuum Hose (damaged by Rodent) which is connected to Boost Pressure Converter. This problem observed after this Vacuum Hose change only.

Last edited by msiva75 : 15th January 2021 at 16:53.
Old 18th January 2021, 11:57   #1730

Originally Posted by neeraj08 View Post
My VW Ameo 1.2 MPI is due for 4th year service. -
  • Last month, I had to add some battery water to the coolant as it was lingering just below MIN mark. Should I get the whole coolant solution replaced in this service? Or, should I just ask them to top it up till MAX?
  • In the Owner’s manual, tyre rotation is suggested by interchanging the front and rear tyres on their respective sides. Should I go for this tyre rotation exercise at service centre? Or, is it avoidable?
  • What else should I pay attention to in this service, given that the car is 4 years old and has done 37k kms. Like brakes, belt, consumables, etc.
Thanks in advance!
Adding Distilled Water to Coolant is totally fine unless you stay in sub-zero temperature zone where chances of water freezing inside Radiator are there.

Do Rotate the tires - this will give even wear to all 4 and extend overall life.

At 37,000kms, nothing to worry in a VW- just avail the service scheduled as per their standards.
KkVaidya is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st January 2021, 00:10   #1731

Hey all! My 1.5 TDi Highline has covered 55k kms in the last 4.5 years. Just got the annual service done recently at a FNG where I've been servicing for close to 3 years now. A few weeks after the service, the two central A/C vents stopped throwing out air almost completely. No amount of increasing the blower speed, changing the air flow direction using the buttons on the ACC could help restore the functionality.

Checked the vents to see if there was any issue, but the flow control and vent direction control work fine. Turns out the issue is with the motor inside which controls vane opening and closing. The FNG has manually made some adjustments to ensure that all 4 vents on the dashboard throw air. However, the trade off is that the blower cannot be redirected to the windshield, foot area etc using the buttons on the AC panel.

While this is something that I can live with temporarily, I don't like leaving issues lingering in my vehicle. Tried searching the forum for similar issues but it seems like the problem has been faced by a few BHPians (only on Ventos surprisingly) around 4 or 5 years ago. All BHPian posts indicate that the replacement / repair of parts to fix the issue was done under warranty.

Has any one had any similar experiences with their Polo? If you have any suggestions or could throw some light on what the exact issue could be, it'd be of great help. Thanks!
Old 1st February 2021, 23:05   #1732

Originally Posted by kaush666 View Post

Has any one had any similar experiences with their Polo? If you have any suggestions or could throw some light on what the exact issue could be, it'd be of great help. Thanks!
I have the exact same issue in my 2013 manufactured polo, this issue comes because of a cam like thingy which gets stuck, the work of the cam is to change the airflow form center vents to some other place. Volkswagen later changed the design later on, from cam like thingy to gear like design.

In order to access this cam, you have to lie down on the floor of the car(driver side, legs out, head just under the steering wheel) and look just above towards the bottom of the dashboard. Little bit towards left direction, towards the the bottom part of the center ac vents.

I got this information 3 year ago when i inquired about it from a friend who works in the auto industry. Instead of replacing i just fix it everytime it happens.

I have a video as well but it's in Hindi, but anyways i am attaching it, will make a better one tomorrow and send it to you.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/9fn34sytKVEv4bU18
yesyeswe is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 27th February 2021, 18:17   #1733

Im looking at picking up a pre-owned Polo GT TSI here in Bangalore and with a working budget looking at at 2015 / 2016 model. The GT TSI would be my daily driver. Any indication on a price point as well would be much appreciated.

I love cars ! I cant just settle for anything. I did a bit of research and liked the GT TSI as a hatchback. The dynamics of the car look good with a few good horses as well. A bit cramped in the rear seating but I can live with that.

The advice I would like to get is what I need to look at before buying a pre-owned GT TSI. Im thinking mileage below the 45k mark should be alright. How are the service costs of this car as I really do not want to be spending too much on service etc.

And finally, good idea or not to take the plunge for a pre-owned VW Polo GT TSI?

Old 4th March 2021, 09:54   #1734

So here we go again.

I had recommended a friend to go in for a Vento TSi back in 2017, after suffering a bad product (read lemon). But through lots of loaner cars and time given to the dealer in Pune, I got my car back. Now after 7 years of ownership my 2014 Volkswagen is doing pretty good.

This is regarding my friends TSi. Last week during the service they diagnosed a problem with faulty leads and transformer and they informed that those parts need to be changed, because of sulphation on the fuel leads and transformer. Transformer being the major expense so they cleaned it and put it back but the leads broke. Now apparently the car is doing fine - which he is not sure about.

1) Even though he has purchased extended warranty - isnt this a part failure, I mean how can you have sulphation to the point of breakage in a 3 year - 25000km run car? The dealer says this is not covered in the ever so expensive extended warranty.

2) Ok I know about the gearbox, throttle body, jerking, software, etc many more problems that I faced through. So is this a new thing that can go wrong? to the large list of failures already present. What is wrong with VW?

3)This is the biggest bummer, if I actually try to post an official email throw the customer care, the people just redirect me to the dealer. So VW is not listening and does'nt want to listen.

Is there a way to get through to them, or is it just going to be paying through our noses so VW can run experimental tests on our cars to get data at our costs to developtheir future products?
Old 4th March 2021, 14:53   #1735

Originally Posted by Quarter Mile View Post

And finally, good idea or not to take the plunge for a pre-owned VW Polo GT TSI?

The earlier batches of gt tsi had the infamous gearbox and mechatronics failure resulting in complete gearbox getting changed under warranty or people getting six digits bill from the service center.

Nowadays we don't hear about the issue anymore but still look for a car that's under warranty for peace of mind, volkswagen offers pretty long warranties nowadays so look for a car that's under one, if you manage to find one try to get the extended warranty if it's possible.

Moreover you can even look at the polo turbo edition which costs around 8 lakhs on the road, will have standard 4 years of warranty, extended warranty of 2 years, and you can extended it even more for 2 years(i am doubtful about this though) so 8 years of warranty! The new engine is pretty fast and reliable too, only downer is that it's a manual.
yesyeswe is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 4th March 2021, 21:49   #1736

After completing 4 years of extended warranty coverage last year, I had given my Polo 1.2 MPI to Gomechanic for scheduled yearly service last week. My experience with their Thane West workshop was really good.

Yesterday when I was on my way to office, I noticed check engine warning on the MID. After living with an ABS warning light for most of the lockdown days, this had a devastating effect on my mind. I carefully navigated my car to office basement as there was no abnormal behaviour from vehicle in any manner. Initial search on google and team bhp showed that it can be of multiple failure reason like Oxygen sensors, spark plugs etc. During the course of my commute was contemplating taking an oath to go for only Toyota as replacement when I hunt for my next car. The recent thread about cars with ODO above 2 Lacs where most cars have done only routine service and replacement also reinstated this thought. During the day I stumbled upon a video on YouTube showing citing similar warning light on a Polo and in that case culprit was the fuel cap not properly closed by pump attendent after refuel. This made me run to the basement and check the fuel cap. It seemed a bit loose than usual. After closing it tightly, I started the vehicle. Boom! The warning is gone.

First of all, I am flabbergasted that such a small thing is linked with something like check engine warning. This experience reinforced my belief that an OBD2 sensor is a must to live peacefully with this car. I am sure that if I had given it to VW service center, consider their reputation they would have surely raised some part replacement quotation.
WhiteFang is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 5th March 2021, 16:15   #1737

Another ABS sensor failure in my car...! Looks like VW's main parts sale income is from this unsuspecting part. Most customers have faced this issue and replacement of all four sensors in 5 years is not uncommon.

Some have moved on to next cycle of replacement. The company has not put any efforts in root causing what is causing this failure and keep scamming the customers. 5K for a single sensor replacement and that too, this often, is day light robbery.
poloman is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th March 2021, 16:25   #1738

Originally Posted by poloman View Post
5K for a single sensor replacement and that too, this often, is day light robbery.
Highly recommend looking elsewhere as it is a simple OEM component for which you do not need to visit the service centre. I got mine serviced and repaired from Motofyx, there are other independant garages and tune-up shops that will happily do the work for a whole lot less.
VW Polo - Maintenance and Service cost and dos/don'ts-poloabs.jpeg  

ankur_fox is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th March 2021, 16:59   #1739

Originally Posted by poloman View Post
Another ABS sensor failure in my car...! 5K for a single sensor replacement and that too, this often, is day light robbery.
I have replaced all -4- sensors from Gomechanic during my last service. 3100 per sensor including labour.
They have used all OEM parts and I had verified the part numbers. This was third time my vehicle's ABS sensor failed in last 5 years. The first two times, I got it replaced under extended warranty.
I honestly think, by spending 5k with VW, you will not get anything for the extra money spent.

VW Polo - Maintenance and Service cost and dos/don'ts-img20210213wa00192.jpg
Old 5th March 2021, 17:06   #1740

Originally Posted by WhiteFang View Post
I had verified the part numbers.
Can I ask how do you do that?