Old 26th August 2010, 18:56   #1576

Originally Posted by gd1418 View Post
It shall be my pleasure.. I've my very very serious doubts about the warranty issue..

I don't know if anyone from M&M sees this and if at all it is seen then surely must be thick-skinned not to react.

There is an exclusive Scorpio owners only forum on Yahoo consisting of active 500 members. Mahindra_Scorpio : Mahindra Scorpio

Members here have escalated issues of Scorpio and ASC related problems right upto Pawan Goenka & Anand Mahindra, eliciting responses.
Its has been almost a week since I raised some issues to the Mumbai Mahindra office and Customer care no revert.

I dont want to go to Mr. Goenka again, but if i get no response by the weekend I guess I will write a mail to him and tweet Anand Mahindra (even though earlier Tweets fell on deaf ears).
Old 26th August 2010, 23:37   #1577

This self-healing Scorpio of mine didn't manage a self-repair of its dented oil filter! (http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...ml#post2043913).
Old 28th August 2010, 12:59   #1578

Originally Posted by SS-Traveller View Post
This self-healing Scorpio of mine didn't manage a self-repair of its dented oil filter! (http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...#post2043913).
Any one in M&M, are you listening, pls enable the feature ASAP.
Old 28th August 2010, 17:35   #1579

OK, after some hard efforts (and a thanks to a list of fellow T-BHPans who PMd me with the right contacts in M&M) I got to speak to some serious people from M&M today. Not over phone, rather they come over and met me in person. After some lengthy discussions and few TDs on my Scorp, I can probably make out the disconnect. The problem is that M&M isn’t getting quality technical feedbacks on these issues. I pulled out a list of issues on behalf of other T-BHPans and showed it to them and they were surprised. Unfortunately, T-BHP isn’t a forum they seem to be following, rather their facebook community on Scorpio, which evidently lacks real technical feedbacks.

I'm planning to forward this 100+ page scorpio thread to these folks.

MODs, please let me know if I shouldn’t be doing that.

I asked them if they would be interested in having a T-BHP meet with us and they agreed. Now folks, let me know if that is something that I should push for. I'm in Pune and we could organize something close by if required.
Old 28th August 2010, 17:44   #1580

Originally Posted by CasperRider View Post
I'm planning to forward this 100+ page scorpio thread to these folks.
Wonderful ! at least and at last, we can be heard and seen !

Appreciate your efforts, casper rider. Good going !
Old 28th August 2010, 20:39   #1581

Originally Posted by m_upreti View Post
Any one in M&M, are you listening, pls enable the feature ASAP.
LOL...
...I can probably make out the disconnect. The problem is that M&M isn’t getting quality technical feedbacks on these issues.
Indeed, there's a serious disconnect between the technical people at M&M and the people they train for the dealer service centres. I spent the day today at Koncept Automobiles, getting my Scorpio looked at more closely than I usually do at the workshop. So here's what I found:
1. Apart from the problem of someone botching up my oil filter (http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...ml#post2043913), someone had also botched up the bolts of the air filter - the bolts had slipped and wouldn't open.I got a complete air filter box replaced under warranty.
2. I wanted the prop shaft U-joints greased - there are grease nipples on all the joints for that very purpose. There was no grease gun in the workshop, and I was told greasing is not required there at all, since it is not a part of servicing a vehicle.
3. The type of oil filter removal tool that Spike described does not exist in the workshop - and the mechanics haven't even heard of such a thing!
Originally Posted by SPIKE ARRESTOR View Post
I am attaching a pic of the service tool used for oil filter removal.
Mahindra Scorpio : Issues & Solutions-1.jpg
4. The mechanics are ITI-trained and qualified - the minimum requirement to get that job. They are not even aware of the differences between engine oils for diesel & petrol engines, never mind what a CH4 engine oil might be.
5. The helpline guy who came to replace my burst oil filter yesterday complained about why the wheel nuts are "overtightened" with a pneumatic wrench. His take on this is Itna tight nahin hona chahiye (this should not be so tight). He is not even aware how tight the wheel nuts should be, and looked at me like I'd dropped in from Mars when I asked how much torque. Torque? Woh kya hai?

CasperRider, I do hope whoever in M&M you forward this to reads the above inputs too.
Old 29th August 2010, 13:08   #1582

@SS-Traveller, yes most M&M A$$ has their technical staff with basic ITI education and many of them are really new. While M&M had a great leap with Scorpio, their service methods inherited from that of Jeeps and Boleros. Trial and error is an officially recommended method in their failure root cause flow.

Now that the folks at M&M may be listening, let's see how it goes.
Old 30th August 2010, 11:10   #1583

@SS-Traveller, yes most M&M A$$ has their technical staff with basic ITI education and many of them are really new. While M&M had a great leap with Scorpio, their service methods inherited from that of Jeeps and Boleros. Trial and error is an officially recommended method in their failure root cause flow.

Now that the folks at M&M may be listening, let's see how it goes.
I am not sure anyone is listening, they are too busy in future plans that they let the existing customers suffer.

I have sent another reminder to the Mahindra Customer Care today, by evening if I dont get a response I may have to escalate this again to the top management .
Old 31st August 2010, 15:49   #1584

Warranty Question

Guys the service manual says that the Scorpio's warranty is valid for 2 years or 50,000 km, whichever occurs earlier. However, it doesn't specify whether the two years are counted from:

1. Manufacturing date
2. Date of Purchase
3. Date of delivery or
4. Date of registration

Which one is it? The rep on the Scorpio helpline is clueless.
Old 31st August 2010, 15:53   #1585

1. Manufacturing date
2. Date of Purchase
3. Date of delivery or
4. Date of registration
Points 2,3 and 4 would all happen on the same day, at-least in my case it was the same day. Hence I would say the date of delivery would be appropriate.

Last edited by rjstyles69 : 31st August 2010 at 15:55.
Old 31st August 2010, 16:24   #1586

Guys just wanted to post these information for all related to ride height and wheel alignment data ,
for Scorpio ride height, please refer to this post,
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/2048541-post388.html
and alignment data for 4wd
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/2049689-post390.html

Hope this helps who ever is having problem related to wheel alignment.

-Pramod
Old 31st August 2010, 18:03   #1587

Originally Posted by rjstyles69 View Post
Points 2,3 and 4 would all happen on the same day, at-least in my case it was the same day. Hence I would say the date of delivery would be appropriate.
They will try to use the earliest date - the date of purchase.

Manufacture date is something for the OEM, not for us - w.r.t warranty claims. A buyer could get a vehicle well after actual manufacture. Even otherwise, the time taken for delivery to showroom from factory cannot be attributed to delay from buyer.
Registration may happen later too (After delivery)
The vehicle will not be delivered unless it is purchased.

That leaves out only the purchase date. And most times, delivery & purchase dates would be the same / differ by a day or 2 depending on holidays).

Last edited by condor : 31st August 2010 at 18:07.
Old 31st August 2010, 20:01   #1588

Originally Posted by condor View Post
They will try to use the earliest date - the date of purchase.

Manufacture date is something for the OEM, not for us - w.r.t warranty claims. A buyer could get a vehicle well after actual manufacture. Even otherwise, the time taken for delivery to showroom from factory cannot be attributed to delay from buyer.
Registration may happen later too (After delivery)
The vehicle will not be delivered unless it is purchased.

That leaves out only the purchase date. And most times, delivery & purchase dates would be the same / differ by a day or 2 depending on holidays).
Parwath that's why I mentioned points 2,3 and 4.

2. Date of Purchase
3. Date of delivery or
4. Date of registration
I generally would make it a point to have all these on the same date/day. Saves me the headache of going back to the dealer again. Something that I had demanded while making the purchase, wanted the invoice date same as the delivery date/registration date.
Dates could vary when it comes registration and delivery but either ways , the warranty date commences from the time you drive your car out of the dealership. My warranty booklet has the delivery date on it.

Last edited by rjstyles69 : 31st August 2010 at 20:02.
Old 1st September 2010, 14:52   #1589

After a week of very detailed investigation, I got my beast back two days back. Did the TD and the beast was as good as a brand new one. M&M personally assumed me that they have taken care of every problem. However day one, I brought he vehicle to office in was in the parking lot for almost 12 hrs. When I switched on the ignition, the VMS started shouting saying, “Oil pressure is low” and the oil warning light was ON. Opened the bonnet and checked the oil level, and it looked fine (they had just replaced the oil after the 20K service). When I start the engine, the oil warning light goes away. I called up the service guy and he asked me to use it as usual if the light is going away after the Engine start. I’m now concerned as the VMS yells at me every time I switch on the vehicle. Any guesses? I didnt touch it after that
Old 1st September 2010, 17:37   #1590

After a week of very detailed investigation, I got my beast back two days back. Did the TD and the beast was as good as a brand new one. M&M personally assumed me that they have taken care of every problem. However day one, I brought he vehicle to office in was in the parking lot for almost 12 hrs. When I switched on the ignition, the VMS started shouting saying, “Oil pressure is low” and the oil warning light was ON. Opened the bonnet and checked the oil level, and it looked fine (they had just replaced the oil after the 20K service). When I start the engine, the oil warning light goes away. I called up the service guy and he asked me to use it as usual if the light is going away after the Engine start. I’m now concerned as the VMS yells at me every time I switch on the vehicle. Any guesses? I didnt touch it after that
Nothing surprising that the beast tends to behave in front of the the manufacturer and their associates, unfortunately the buyers never seem to get a hang at taming it to 100 % satisfaction.

I got another issue today, the AC refuses to throw air anywhere except the windshield (demister) probably the Scorpio thinks that it needs to be at that position only since it has been demisting the glass for the past 1 month due to incessant rains in Mumbai, one sunny day today and it refuses to cool me.