Old 28th October 2009, 20:57   #106

Originally Posted by rideon View Post
Areeb,
Page 77 of the owners manual documents the TATA recommended speeds during running in.
The 4th gear has 90km/hr
Should the run-in specs not be in terms of RPM only, irrelevant of the gear (and consequently speed)?

Originally Posted by sbhaduri View Post
Hey adc you remember, great. It was planned for 29th initially but these SBI guys you know.They are just very slow.My patience just ran out and I got them running today after speaking to their GM.Hopefully the loan process will be over tomoroow and further 2 days time for delivery.The car has reached from Pune and waiting at Dealer stock yard.
I am in an almost similar situation. HDFC has not yet processed my loan application (it has been 5 days now) and my vehicle is due in Bangalore on Friday/Saturday
Old 28th October 2009, 21:24   #107

Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
It is not 50kmph!

(Phew! Close one!!!)

Not sure how this might sound, but to hell with the KMPH, just keep the rev below 2k. With the new ECU software, the turbo kicks in at 1000-1100 RPM, so all is good. (Previously, turbo used to kick in only after 2000RPM).

So, as long as you are within the RPM band, drive on!
Woohoo!! That is super great news indeed! You simply made my day and the days to come!! Thank you!

Originally Posted by rideon View Post
Areeb,

Page 77 of the owners manual documents the TATA recommended speeds during running in.
The 4th gear has 90km/hr
Thanks Raktim, I should have read the manual! Will mug it up over the weekend!!

JK,

Yup, 1000 - 1100. The idling RPM is 900RPM and once I reach 1100 the turbo starts pooling (what a beautiful sound it is!).
Hell yeah!! The smooth whistle breeze that gives you a feeling of serenity and pure power!

Last edited by alexnazim : 28th October 2009 at 21:30.
Old 29th October 2009, 19:31   #108

1. Anyone has any idea on how much do the white head lights for the safari cost? Also, are they legal to use?

2. I read a lot about waiting for a minute after starting turbo engines and before shutting them off. Does that also hold true for the 2009 Safari DICOR 2.2 VTT?

Last edited by alexnazim : 29th October 2009 at 19:39.
Old 29th October 2009, 20:33   #109

1. White head light? You mean HID's? If so, I believe they are 10,000INR +/- for the ones from Philip.

2. Yes, absolutely.
Old 29th October 2009, 22:03   #110

1. White head light? You mean HID's? If so, I believe they are 10,000INR +/- for the ones from Philip.

2. Yes, absolutely.
Thanks buddy! I better read the manual before I screw something up.
Old 30th October 2009, 22:27   #111

Sorry to hijack the thread guys,

I found a Tata Safari 3.0 VX (4X4) 2005 model but run only 20K, owner was honest (only phone talk) to admit reverse camera not working, vehicle is in chennai so I have to travel from coimbatore to have a look at it, between what would be the fair price it at all the beast is as per mentoined?

He also sait it has
ABS
Power steering
Centralised locking
Radio/CD/MP3
Electric windows
Leather interior
Alloy rims
Tinted Glass
Airbag(s)
Xenon headlights
Trailer coupling
Split/Folding rear seats
Rear center arm rest
Fog lamps
4-Wheel drive
Electric mirrors
Alarm system

Not sure about 2005 model having ABS, again gurus confirm.
Old 31st October 2009, 19:26   #112

Rusted New Safari alloted to me

Guys my dream of enjoying the weekend with my bull is shattered courtesy our Tata Motors.They had sent a car for me which was full of defects and which i fortunately found out as i checked the car before it went for registration.

To start with the car had rusts all around with defective head lamp, weatherstrip and reworked rear tail gate.To top it all they forgot to fit one part viz. rubber beading and have kept it in the car for the customer to fit maybe.

I have complained to their top management and expecting their reply as their Territory Manager Sales was very rude and not at all co operative.

Thanks to TBHP and this forum which made me check the car before it went for registration.

Sorry Alexnazim for hijacking your thread and posting in it.

Note: Moderator if it is not allowed kindly shift my post to a relevant thread.

Shantanu

Alexnazim congratulations!!!! Is your Safari Mountain Green in Colour.It is not very clear from the picture you have uploaded.

I have booked a Mountain green LX and am waiting for delivery.
Old 31st October 2009, 23:48   #113

To start with the car had rusts all around with defective head lamp, weatherstrip and reworked rear tail gate.To top it all they forgot to fit one part viz. rubber beading and have kept it in the car for the customer to fit maybe.
This is really shocking and sad! What exactly do you mean when you say rusts all around and 'reworked' tail gate? Could you manage to take any pics of the defective areas? Please escalate to the highest level possible.
Old 1st November 2009, 02:10   #114

No worries about posting your question here! I am glad you did that!

A 2005 "Obsolete engine", well I learnt that term here itself! It just might be a pain almost 5 years, the Safari is highly prone to rust, also that model drinks diesel like college best friends drinking at a bachelors party where the booze is on the house!

My advice, be careful.

Those models were the reason why there were 3000 Safaris vs 30,000 Scorpios.

There's one thing about TATA, they improve over time, which means unless they don't launch 3-4 versions of a vehicle, don't buy it!

However, if it is like new with everything you mentioned I'll tag it between 2.5L to 2.75L maybe less. But I would recommend, don't buy a Safari that old if you'll use it for daily use! You can buy it for weekend adventures with college buddies.

Originally Posted by Makesh View Post
Sorry to hijack the thread guys,

I found a Tata Safari 3.0 VX (4X4) 2005 model but run only 20K, owner was honest (only phone talk) to admit reverse camera not working, vehicle is in chennai so I have to travel from coimbatore to have a look at it, between what would be the fair price it at all the beast is as per mentoined?

He also sait it has
ABS
Power steering
Centralised locking
Radio/CD/MP3
Electric windows
Leather interior
Alloy rims
Tinted Glass
Airbag(s)
Xenon headlights
Trailer coupling
Split/Folding rear seats
Rear center arm rest
Fog lamps
4-Wheel drive
Electric mirrors
Alarm system

Not sure about 2005 model having ABS, again gurus confirm.
Old 1st November 2009, 02:29   #115

Guys my dream of enjoying the weekend with my bull is shattered courtesy our Tata Motors.They had sent a car for me which was full of defects and which i fortunately found out as i checked the car before it went for registration.

I have complained to their top management and expecting their reply as their Territory Manager Sales was very rude and not at all co operative.

Thanks to TBHP and this forum which made me check the car before it went for registration.

Sorry Alexnazim for hijacking your thread and posting in it.

Note: Moderator if it is not allowed kindly shift my post to a relevant thread.

Shantanu
Dude, no worries about posting your problem here! I am glad you did that.

Really sorry to hear about what happened, trust me it is the same everywhere. You just cannot have anything as planned with TAS, they always manage to surprise you!

You need to have loads of patience and time while you are at it. Buying from TAS should be rated as a top level adventure sport!

Anyways, you'll forget all this once your Beast is home! The sound of turbo is nothing less than Serenity!

My advice, be patient and ask them to get a new vehicle. Inspect it inside out and agree to sign papers only when you are satisfied. Till then you can stay tuned and update yourself with heaps of knowledge through team BHP!

Just a funny line to make you smile, the last time I went to TAS to get fog lamps installed, the TAS people opened my Beast's hood and flocked around the ECU as if it was a toy discussing it like two girls talking about a new barbie in the toy store! What they were discussing had nothing to do with the fog lamps and no they were not looking at the fuses/relays that are also located that side! Till date I couldn't figure out the reason why!!

Originally Posted by cool_dube View Post
This is really shocking and sad! What exactly do you mean when you say rusts all around and 'reworked' tail gate? Could you manage to take any pics of the defective areas? Please escalate to the highest level possible.
That sure works. Drop in a line in the complaints section at www.tatasafaridicor.com. Also, once to pick up your Beast rate them like 3/4 in the feedback form, it'll get escallated automatically!

P.S: Oops: Forgot to multiquote, mods please merge and forgive the back to back posts.

P.P.S: @Makesh: By the way the features you have listed in your post are standard in a VX.

Last edited by alexnazim : 1st November 2009 at 02:42.
Old 1st November 2009, 09:52   #116

Thanks Alexnazim and Cool_dube. Yes i have taken lots of snaps of the defective portions around 30 snaps.Made them into a very nice presentation and mailed to top shots at Tata Motors, along with a long mail.I am from the industry itself and have access to the email id's and mobile nos. of their top shots.Shot of my mail to their Vice Chairman, Executive Director, GM Sales,GM Customer Care, Kolkata RM Sales and GM Service.I received a few calls yesterday but waiting for any concrete reply from their Sales personnel. Also have an appointment lined up with their RM Sales tomorrow to voice my grievance in person.

Though the dealer was very supportive,what irked me was the attitude of the TML sales Manager who called me to settle the issue.Find below the mail sent to them.I am not sure whether i am allowed to attach the snaps.If i am then i shall post the snaps of the defective parts as well.

I believe myself to be truly lucky to be a part of this forum.Had i not been it would have been quite possible that i would not have checked the car before it went for registration, and then there was nothing that could have been done.
Dear Sir

This is to bring into your notice the unjust meted out to undersigned regarding my Purchase of Safari Dicor 2.2

I had put in my hard earned money to buy my cherished and long awaited dream the Safari.

However it seems TML and its dealers are hell bent on killing the product and its prospective customers.

I booked my car on 10th October 09 and completed my full payment of 8.5Lacs INR yesterday as today 30/10/09 was the delivery date (after a waiting period of 20 days). Unfortunately the car allotted to me was full of defects as would be evident in my attached photographs which have been aptly named.

The car has rusts all around the body shell and the fit and finish is quite poor, as a result I did not accept the car and rejected the same before it went for registration at RTO.Please refer the attached photographs.

On contacting and meeting your TM Mr.XXX today at the RD Motors Kolkata Showroom, the response was quite negative. He wants me to cancel my booking and again go for a fresh booking the next month for reasons best known to him.

The dealer M/S RD Motors has been very very supportive mainly Mr.Kumar Ghosh(Corporate Manager) and Mr.Anup Chakraborty(GM Sales).They have agreed to again order for the same variant of Safari and asked me to wait but they have the following apprehensions :

1)Special discount of 20K offered in October may not be there in Nov 09
2) They are not sure whether the 2nd Safari they receive from TML plant will be free from these defects.If the 2nd car comes defective as well then they will have 2 nos. Safari LX and only 1.5 months to sell them before the year end. So they do not want to take risk.

3)Your Mr.XXX TML TM repeatedly asked me to wait for 15-20 days more till such time the next car arrives and the matter would be decided then only.Upon enquiring as to why should I suffer without any fault on my part even after paying the entire cost of the car, his reply was quite negative in order to steer me towards cancelling the order.

Here I had gone with great hopes to meet him upon his request that I would be offered some apologies and compensation for waiting again for 15-20 days but all I got was a royal ignore and negativity.

In the light of the above may I request your intervention and help for either of the following :

1) Delivery of a new defect free Safari car after waiting again for 15 days without any increase in price(even if your discount scheme changes and price increased).

2) Compensation in terms of interest for 8.5 Lacs for 15 days or till the time car is delivered to me. OR no compensation with an apology letter from TML in TML letterhead for the rusted car offered to me and subsequent delay till the arrival of next car.

Further may I please request you to direct your Despatch / PDI Section at your Plant to carry out PDI of the cars properly before the same is dispatched to your dealers.It would be very evident from my Photographs that the car was not checked properly at the end of assembly line nor at the PDI section and neither at the dispatch section.Such kind of unchecked product when offered to the customer shakes the confidence and trust the customer has on the company and its products in this case Tata Motors Ltd.

Car details : Tata Safari Dicor 2.2 LX 4x2, Mountain Green
VIN No. MAT4030669NJ10000

Awaiting for your positive help in anticipation.

Yours Truly,

Shantanu Bhaduri

Last edited by Eddy : 1st November 2009 at 12:18. Reason: Please remove the formatting tags & do not copy from an external editor. Thanks
Old 1st November 2009, 10:51   #117

^^ You may need to edit your post to clear the formatting issues.

Do not paste the content from word or other applications that uses high level formatting. You can still use notepad I believe.

EDIT: Just realized this, Do we have a time off by one hour on this forum!! I just posted this (@~10.51) and the post shows 0951 hours!! Looks like we are entering DST while others getting off

Last edited by Ketan : 1st November 2009 at 10:56.
Old 1st November 2009, 14:05   #118

Shantanu - This is a good, strong e-mail and I hope it jolts these buggers back to reality where the customer is still king and will not tolerate such gross negligence for a (arguably) premium vehicle. It is for this very reason I have clearly told the dealer that I would not make the balance (bank has already disbursed the loan amount to the dealer) payment till I have inspected the car thoroughly and am satisfied with it.

That said, it is actually surprising that a September manufactured car is rusted!! Which exact areas were rusted? Underbody? Edges? It would help if you can share some snaps that you took.
Old 1st November 2009, 20:22   #119

@ Cool_dube: attaching the pics. They are self explanatory. If you need any help plz pm me.

Shantanu

Originally Posted by cool_dube View Post
Shantanu - This is a good, strong e-mail
=========
It would help if you can share some snaps that you took.
Need Advice: New Safari 2.2 LX VTT or Safari 2008 3.0 Top Model?-damaged-carpet-due-water-entry.jpg  

Need Advice: New Safari 2.2 LX VTT or Safari 2008 3.0 Top Model?-improperly-fitted-cowl-top-cover.jpg  

Need Advice: New Safari 2.2 LX VTT or Safari 2008 3.0 Top Model?-loose-rubber-panel-left-car-part-not-fitted-rear-door.jpg  

Need Advice: New Safari 2.2 LX VTT or Safari 2008 3.0 Top Model?-no-initials-pdi-all-ok-sticker.jpg  

Need Advice: New Safari 2.2 LX VTT or Safari 2008 3.0 Top Model?-rear-door-fouling-body-molding.jpg  

Need Advice: New Safari 2.2 LX VTT or Safari 2008 3.0 Top Model?-rear-spoiler-reworked-paint-defect.jpg  

Need Advice: New Safari 2.2 LX VTT or Safari 2008 3.0 Top Model?-reworked-repaired-tail-gate-improper-surface-finishwavy-surface.jpg  

Need Advice: New Safari 2.2 LX VTT or Safari 2008 3.0 Top Model?-rust-accumulated-tailgate-weatherstrip.jpg  

Need Advice: New Safari 2.2 LX VTT or Safari 2008 3.0 Top Model?-rust-body-paneljump-seat-glass.jpg  

Need Advice: New Safari 2.2 LX VTT or Safari 2008 3.0 Top Model?-rust-body-paneljump-seat-glass1.jpg  

Need Advice: New Safari 2.2 LX VTT or Safari 2008 3.0 Top Model?-rust-powder-rear-bumper.jpg  

Need Advice: New Safari 2.2 LX VTT or Safari 2008 3.0 Top Model?-rust-powder-tailgate-portion.jpg  

Need Advice: New Safari 2.2 LX VTT or Safari 2008 3.0 Top Model?-rust-body-panel.jpg  

Need Advice: New Safari 2.2 LX VTT or Safari 2008 3.0 Top Model?-rust-door-panel1.jpg  

Need Advice: New Safari 2.2 LX VTT or Safari 2008 3.0 Top Model?-rust-door-panel.jpg  

Need Advice: New Safari 2.2 LX VTT or Safari 2008 3.0 Top Model?-rust-door-panel2.jpg  

Need Advice: New Safari 2.2 LX VTT or Safari 2008 3.0 Top Model?-water-entry-defective-weather-strip.jpg  

Need Advice: New Safari 2.2 LX VTT or Safari 2008 3.0 Top Model?-reworked-open-door-weatherstrip.jpg  

Need Advice: New Safari 2.2 LX VTT or Safari 2008 3.0 Top Model?-water-entryfoggy-head-lamp.jpg  

Old 2nd November 2009, 01:31   #120

Originally Posted by alexnazim View Post
Price Quoted:
5: Teflon Coating - 7K
Price sounds almost double. Look at tata customer support website- TML recommended price is about 4k for this. I got mine done (03/2009) for about 4k + taxes. It was "waxoyl" - tata approved paint protection stuff.

-BJ