1.2L Petrol + 5MT 6 5.17%
1.2L Petrol + 5AMT 5 4.31%
1.0L Turbo-Petrol + 5MT 20 17.24%
1.0L Turbo-Petrol + 6AT 84 72.41%
Voters: 116. You may not vote on this poll

Old 23rd June 2024, 08:41   #1

Toyota Urban Cruiser Taisor | Which engine + gearbox combination would you buy?

We recently drove the Toyota Urban Cruiser Taisor (Review link) which is essentially a badge engineered version of the Maruti Fronx. Both these cars are going to be bringing good numbers for both the brands and will prove to be important cars in the Indian car market. In fact, the Maruti Fronx was the highest-selling Nexa model in April 2024 and the cumulative sales since its launch have crossed the 1.5 lakh unit mark. Clearly, there’s a lot of interest and demand for these crossovers.

The Toyota Urban Cruiser Taisor is available in six variants with prices starting from Rs 7.74 lakh and going up to Rs. 13.04 lakh (ex-showroom). You have 2 petrol engine options – a naturally aspirated 1.2L and a turbocharged 1.0L. There’s also a CNG option with the 1.2L naturally aspirated petrol. You can find more details in the sheet below.

Toyota Urban Cruiser Taisor | Which engine + gearbox combination would you buy?-toyotataisorenginepoll12.jpg

1.2L Naturally Aspirated Petrol

Toyota Urban Cruiser Taisor | Which engine + gearbox combination would you buy?-d27_exciting_800x550px.jpg

This is the familiar K12 series engine from Maruti that makes 89 BHP. It’s available with the base and mid variants and has been a popular engine in Maruti cars. The main focus with this engine is refinement, linear power delivery and easy to drive nature. The free-revving nature of this engine is appreciated by many drivers. It’s available with a 5-speed MT and a 5-speed AMT automatic options. You can also have this engine with a factory fitted CNG, but that’s only on the base variant.

1.0L Turbocharged Petrol

Toyota Urban Cruiser Taisor | Which engine + gearbox combination would you buy?-2024_toyota_taisor_interior_16.jpg

The other option is the 1.0L, 3-cylinder turbocharged petrol engine that’s available with the top-end G and V variants. It makes 99 BHP and 148 Nm of torque and is available with a 5-speed MT and a 6-speed torque converter automatic transmission. There’s a good amount of performance available on tap and will keep most owners happy. It offers good drivability and while the claimed fuel efficiency numbers are good, you have to be careful with the throttle to achieve anything close to that. Read our detailed drive report here.

So if were to buy a Toyota Urban Cruiser Taisor, which engine and gearbox combination would you pick & why?

Last edited by Omkar : 23rd June 2024 at 08:44.
Omkar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd June 2024, 09:22   #2

Infractions: 0/2 (19)
Re: Toyota Urban Cruiser Taisor | Which engine + gearbox combination would you buy?

I would go for the 1.0L Turbo-Petrol + 6AT as we prefer ATs now and it is the most powerful option of the lot with a proper 6-speed AT unlike the AMT offered on the 1.2L models, Moreover the performance provided will more than justify the price. Additionally, the Turbo Petrol models cost the same as the Fronx, and with a Toyota badge, that makes it even more worth it!
bijims is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd June 2024, 09:39   #3

Re: Toyota Urban Cruiser Taisor | Which engine + gearbox combination would you buy?

Depends upon my usage. For city - 1.2L AMT and for the highways the 1.0L Turbo MT
Old 23rd June 2024, 10:43   #4

First of all, I will decide on my cap as to what the car is actually worth (in my eyes and in this hyper inflated car market scene), being a Baleno dervied car, the top money I would spend on such a thing will be 10 Lakhs at most, 10-13 will be Nexon, Venue, Sonet range and 13-18ish will be Creta, Seltos range, for me atleast, people are happily spending 23 Lakhs on Creta while I won't get sleep if I even think of going there for Creta but to each their own.

Now for that money, 1.2 NA is the engine I will get and I think it is a fair deal, that is a very capable and refined engine, suited for most people, I would happily buy one of the lower variants with Manual Turbo Petrol for the price of higher variant with NA engine, but Toyota provides no such options.
Rocketscience is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd June 2024, 12:10   #5

Not voting - The Taisor is out of my radar because the Torque Converter AT is available only on the top trims. Even the Rumion AT is available at that price point I guess.
Old 23rd June 2024, 14:29   #6

If I have to buy a Taisor/Fronx, my choice would be the 1.0L Turbo with 6 speed AT. It could either be the G or V variant (Alpha or the Zeta in Fronx). One of the biggest grouse is the lack of a few features that I think are important rather than ornamental. The 1.2L variants don't come with rear wash-wipe in either manual or AMT guise. It's a must have for a hatchback or a SUV due to their upright rear windshield. Had the Delta +(O) come with rear wash wipe, my choice would have been the AMT in corresponding one in Taisor. But missing rear wash-wipe is a deal breaker for me.

I would also like to state that both the twins are not worth the money they command for top end automatic. If I have to invest so much as to buy a top end, I might as well stretch and pick up a Brezza top end automatic with a better platform and simpler NA engine. At my place, top end Fronx automatic is for just over 15 lacs and Brezza ZXI+ is for 16.4 lacs. A difference of 1.25 lacs would mean a little more EMI.
Old 23rd June 2024, 15:05   #7

Toyota Urban Cruiser Taisor 1.0L turbo petrol with MT would be my pick.
Old 24th June 2024, 08:35   #8

Recently drove the Glanza AMT and one needs different kind of patience to keep up with the gear changes. My choice would be 1.0 Turbo AT for ease of driving in the city and also occasional highway drives if I'm traveling alone since we already have a XUV 700 Diesel MT for family use.
Old 24th June 2024, 08:59   #9

The prices of the 1.0 turbo petrol overlap with many variants of the XUV 3XO. Both manual as well as automatic. The Mahindra offers a much safer and sturdier package with better cabin space, build quality and ride and handling. I’ll pick that any day over this decked up Baleno.
Shreyans_Jain is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 24th June 2024, 09:25   #10

Neither of them, I would rather buy a 1.2L NA Baleno which offers better features than the Fronx at the same price point.
Another issue I’ve is with the AMT, I don’t think I’ll ever touch one, but to get a 6AT TC I need to compromise on the engine, a 3 pot is a definite no for me.
B-Taurus is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th July 2024, 11:44   #11

This sits in the range where by paying less or more I will get equivalent or better car. I would rather pick altroz racer R1 for the turbo manual taisor, which gives me better boot space and dynamics. Gc is not an issue. For the automatic variants of turbo petrol, XUV 3XO offer better vfm by paying a little more. But if I'm held at a gunpoint to pick one variant, it would be the turbo manual of taisor.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com