Old 5th May 2024, 19:38   #16

Re: Ford Endeavour Replacement | Merc GLC Vs BMW X3 Vs old stock X3 M40i

I was in the same situation a while back to upgrade my X1. I paused the same for a while as the new X3 is on the way. Fyi there is another X3 M40i version called Special edition. It is almost same as that of M40I minus few features but I was given a price lower than X1. Yes. The only issue is that it comes only in one colour which is black. Don't worry too much about the new X3. The m40 will take few years or this may be the last M40i. This was launched only last year so it's not possible to have a new m40 or m50I that soon.
sgmuser is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th May 2024, 19:47   #17

I would echo GTO’s thoughts. I have the X3 M40i and it’s terrific. I just did a 1000 km trip and no bent rims, no tyre issues. Ride was beautiful not too soft not too stiff. Adaptive dampers really help even though the tyre is 20 inch ! I drove myself for 530km each way and never tired. It pulls like no other in the segment. And just love the iDrive 7 ! If you can shell out 10 lac more then X5 is worth it too. But I liked the X5 diesel more than the petrol. Petrol, the M tuned M40i is just another animal.
And as a bonus NO annoying speed chimes at 80 and 120.

Last edited by XDriver : 5th May 2024 at 19:49.
XDriver is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th May 2024, 20:29   #18

Take the X3 M40i. That powertrain combination blows everything out of the water. Don't worry about the new generation of X3 arriving in a few months. BMW's HMI (along with most other manufacturers) is declining generation-by-generation and I highly doubt that the sparkle factor of a big touchscreen coming in the new X3 will make it a more pleasant prospect to live with in the new run.
rb003 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th May 2024, 21:45   #19

If I may ask, what was the reason for selling your Endeavour 3.2L? That engine was a power house and could smoke the fortuner at that time (not now because fortuner has more power). This is coming from a fortuner owner.

In my opinion, get an X3 M40i if possible and you can stretch your budget. GLC 63 AMG can also be a good option considering you are looking for power and luxury too.
martand1400 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th May 2024, 22:22   #20

The X3 M40i would be my pick. Saw one zoom past me just today near Chanakyapuri and boy, was she a sight for sore eyes

On another note, perhaps, you can also consider a pre-owned Audi Q7. A 3.0 L V6 with 335 hp and 500Nm of torque, coupled with air suspension, ought to be an equally good contender. Plus, discounts ought to be plentiful at the four rings. Here's one for you from BBT if you're interested.

Happy Shopping!

Last edited by mugen_pinaki27 : 5th May 2024 at 22:26.
mugen_pinaki27 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th May 2024, 10:13   #21

Thank you everyone for your valuable suggestions and feedback. Looks like I am back to square one with X5 and GLC (once again) entering the race.
Well the GLC was always there as first among equals. Why equal as whatever you may call, I would still consider GLC as facelift rather than generation change primary because of exterior shape which remains unchanged (discounting length increase)
That way even Land Rover called 2019 Discovery Sport as generation changed due to change in platform but hey Land Rover (and also Mercedes) please do not fool we buyers by your marketing skills, we need more than that for a generation change.
Long and short, I still call GLC as facelift and hence cannot give a big premium but surely a strong contender.

X5 is not only beyond my budget, I also find it too big for my use which includes daily commute, not to mention the parking woes. My Fortuner or Endeavour were big but not as big as X5 (width, Turning radius)
Coming to budget, let me reveal the cat here, X5 xdrive40i xline after discount (only goodwill, corporate discount here) is almost 20% (of its on road price) costlier than X3 M40i which is under consideration.

Originally Posted by Varun_HexaGuy View Post

Also, if I may ask, what are the kind of discounts that are being offered on the same?
Please try to work out from my statement above. I will present the details once things are little firmed up.

Originally Posted by Shreyans_Jain View Post
Pls especially consider the large alloys, the low profile tires and the spare tire situation.
Yes that's indeed a concern specially when you are coming from large SUV like Endeavour. Will try to get use to it with change in driving habits may be.

The closest options in a realistic budget are the Kodiaq and Grand Cherokee. The upcoming new Kodiaq is not far away, and can be considered. Kodiaq is the perfect all rounder SUV.
As said in my opening statement, I did consider Jeep Compass but not others. Also as stated in my previous reply Kodiaq was ruled out due to new model already revealed. Grand Cherokee looked compromise on Engine size/Power.

As you have managed to find great deals with BMW, have you scouted for the same at Audi?
Yes I did scout for Q3 when I was thinking about X1 but not now as Q5 interiors (or even Q7) was a big no for me. Q3 is still good.

limit options to the Meridian and the super competent XUV700 AWD top model. Or even the Innova HyCross ZX(O).
Well we had XUV500 (2012-2017) and did not had very good experience. Innova Hycross is people mover and we are just three in our family. Also to be very honest do not like as a SUV (length to height proportion)

Originally Posted by sknair View Post
I narrowed my choice to GLC 300 for various reasons and have been driving to different places in the last couple of months. you can see some of the details in my ownership thread here
Thanks. Yes I went through your ownership thread. Infact your thread reminded me that I should start shopping as I sold the Endeavour in January itself but was delaying my decision to festive season later this year.

Originally Posted by XDriver View Post
I just did a 1000 km trip and no bent rims, no tyre issues.
Thanks. I have read your ownership review too and also sent you a private message. It would be good if you reply.

Last edited by Wanderers : 6th May 2024 at 10:36.
Wanderers is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th May 2024, 13:06   #22

I picked up a used Ford Endy 3.2 4*4 AT after Ford left India and it was worth taking that risk as I got a well-maintained one from another Bhpian and I'm munching miles on it like never before. I understand it's very difficult to find a replacement for this beast.

If you are not in a hurry, why not wait for the updated Endeavour to launch in India? I know it will be expensive (since imported), but in the budget you are looking for. Unless you want a real upgrade to premium brands, I think you should wait for the updated Endeavour (or Everest).
saleem_k is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th May 2024, 13:48   #23

How about a Lexus? Jags are also an option maybe?
suryaj1990 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th May 2024, 19:32   #24

Very hard to get the feel of Endeavour in these cars, but still I will recommend you to go for BMW X3 m40i, it’s a good fast SUV in the segment. Cannot be compared to GLC in terms of features and interiors as the GLC is far ahead.

Last edited by KarthikK : 7th May 2024 at 19:42. Reason: Capitalizing the car and brand names
pragvanshsaini is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th May 2024, 11:20   #25

X3M40i eyes closed. Among the last of the 'affordable' beasts. Drive it carefully and I don't think it will suffer the way the M340i eats tyres. Check our mobike008's thread - he doesn't take any extra care as such, yet still speaks very highly of it.

X5 is just too big I feel like a Bandra (W) condo on wheels . Alternatively, if you can wait AND are bold enough to plonk big money on a CBU Ford, then wait for the Everest.

Last edited by itwasntme : 8th May 2024 at 11:22.
itwasntme is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th May 2024, 12:31   #26

Originally Posted by Wanderers View Post
Thank you everyone for your valuable suggestions and feedback. Looks like I am back to square one with X5 and GLC (once again) entering the race.

As said in my opening statement, I did consider Jeep Compass but not others. Also as stated in my previous reply Kodiaq was ruled out due to new model already revealed. Grand Cherokee looked compromise on Engine size/Power.

Well we had XUV500 (2012-2017) and did not had very good experience.
Going by what you said, by elimination, seems you are left with just the GLC. For good and for bad.

Grand Cherokee engine is the same size as GLC and X3 30i. 2000cc 4 cylinder turbo petrol. Actually makes more power than both of them at about 270bhp, vs 250 something bhp for the Germans. Of course, driving feel is different.

I am suggesting the upcoming new generation Kodiaq, not the current car. Makes sense to wait for it.

As an Endeavour user, you may not appreciate the sheer convenience of the fat tires that your car has. My Hexa comes with 235/55R19 tires, and sidewall height is about the same or more than all of the cars in consideration here. I have lost count of the number of time I have had to change tires. All of them due to sidewall bulges and failures. Tires have been the second biggest experience in my 150k + km ownership, second only to diesel itself. And the cost part is secondary. So many trips have been affected due to tire issues. You can never travel long distance peacefully, it’s always in the back of your mind that you’ll hit a pothole at speed or run over a random stone somewhere and have a blowout. Tires with proper thick sidewall are an absolute must for travelling cross country in India. This is a critical but overlooked criteria, as aftermarket changes are not a solution for everyone

Also, don’t let your past experience with XUV500 keep you from considering the 700. The new car is a different animal altogether and is brilliant.

At the end of the day, there is no like for like car you can buy. You have to compromise somewhere. Considering you are buying specifically for long distance use and touring with family, it is better to err on the side of caution and practicality.

Last edited by Shreyans_Jain : 8th May 2024 at 12:40.
Shreyans_Jain is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th May 2024, 11:04   #27

Once again thank you all fellow BHPians for your valuable suggestions and comments. Here is the latest update on my decision on new car.

Finals

The final decision was between GLC and X3 M40i. I continued my discussion with both the cars dealer making each aware that I am in final stage of decision and looking for best offer and value proposition. As we all are aware about Mercedes being very transparent in their offerings and pricing and that there is no room for any further negotiation on it, whereas BMW still goes the traditional way. For the given price X3 M40i carried much more value proposition that the GLC. Also X3 M40i sat much higher on price band giving the feeling of car from a segment above, at an additional cost of only Rs 4.5 Lakhs. So yes, X3 M40i emerged as the final choice but things did not go as planned.

Disappointing Result

Ford Endeavour Replacement | Merc GLC Vs BMW X3 Vs old stock X3 M40i-4f77d4c5b2594b9b87e0a56988963e01.jpeg

This was the display car in question which was offer to me. Although I started negotiating with dealer much earlier, I was in two minds and thus I was sitting much higher on negotiation table, looking for more discount, BRI for 3rd & 4th year and basic service package for 3 years. I was in touch with general manager and was told that for further discount they would need to go to management as they only have approval for what they offered to me. Although they never said no to my demand, they did advised me to pay the token money as there was one more buyer looking for same car. But I was firm on my ask and continued to push them for discount. By the time they could arrange for more discount the car was booked by other buyer, which the dealer informed me as soon as they had received the booking amount. Felt sad after call, maybe I pushed them too hard, never mind GLC is the car for me and even called the Mercedes sales person for meeting. I felt disappointed as if I missed a big opportunity and was unable to console myself without knowing very soon things would turn better.

Replay for Victory

Late afternoon, I received the call from BMW dealer that they have a same color X3 M40i at factory and if I confirm the booking, they can order the same for me. Before I asked for my discount, the sales guy upfront informed me that they have approval from management to increase the discount by a lakh and include some accessories, but BRI and BSI package were ruled out. BRI and BSI accounted for Rs 2.5 lakhs, which I let go and made the booking. The VIN number was too be shared before dispatch and indeed I got the VIN number next day. Well, it was same spec and color with manufacturing date of 30-Jun-23, which was much later than the display car, I gave my go ahead. Currently the car is in transit and expected to reach by coming weekend. Earlier I had planned to take the new car by first week of June but looks like I would get it home as soon as possible. I don’t like the wait game.

So yes the final decision is X3 M40i and look forward to your valuable comments on PDI, things to keep in mind and important stuff such as tyre upgrade (tubeless). I would take BRI later on but not planning for service package as my running would be 7K-8K per year max. The car includes velour mat but looking for suggestion on other accessories, ceramic coating or PPF. Thanks.

Last edited by Wanderers : 13th May 2024 at 11:13.
Wanderers is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 15th May 2024, 09:11   #28

Shucks, I got directed from my thread after your post as I never knew this thread existed.

Congratulations and glad that you decided on the X3M40i. If I had seen this thread before, I would have "influenced " you to choose the X3M40i as honestly speaking, the cars that you shortlisted do not hold a candle to this car from many key perspectives.

I have driven several of its competitors like the GLC300, Audi Q3, Audi Q5, Audi SQ5 and none of these cars gave me the "joy" that the X3M40i gives.

The only car that is probably better is the Porsche Macan GTS (not the base models which is lower in power than X3M40i) but, it's several levels above in price point.

Audi SQ5 is the closest to the X3M40i from a performance aspect but, neither the engine nor the handling feels special.

X3/X3M40i is the bread and butter of BMW here in the US and their largest selling product. Fan following of X3M40i is unprecedented (Recommend you to join the Facebook X3M40i forum, Bimmer Forums to learn more about this particular car as it's an highly active forum and a great source to learn more about this model). Besides, every car reviewer on YT worth their salt has been only showering praises about this car.

We get 3-years service package free and 4-years warranty is also included. My warranty expires in January 2025 and I have no plans to extend the warranty as until now the car has been bullet proof and there has been zero issues with the car (including zero rattles which I see with some Indian version).

I have literally spent $0 in my 40-months and 55,000kms of ownership and hope you too get the same experience.

To summarize, I can assure you that you bought yourself into a "pleasurable package" that will not only do regular chores with aplomb but, also thrill you on a daily basis with it's performance like no other car at this price point. Sorry for gushing so much but, trust me, it's worth all the gushing. lol!

Congratulations again and Wish you 1000's of miles of Happy & Safe Driving. !!!

Mobike008

Last edited by mobike008 : 15th May 2024 at 09:17.
mobike008 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 21st May 2024, 10:26   #29

The final update. Got the car delivered yesterday afternoon. Did the PDI last week before final payment. Have driven 100 km so far but can’t say much as still trying to run in the car in initial breaking period.

Ford Endeavour Replacement | Merc GLC Vs BMW X3 Vs old stock X3 M40i-7b46e198b84b4d30acac8ccb78381a99.jpeg

Also got to know from dealer than the display car which was booked by someone else has been cancelled. Nevertheless it was good for me as I got newer car directly from factory.

Will try to share ownership experience as and when possible. Thanks again for your valuable inputs on my car purchase. It does help a lot.
Wanderers is offline   (6) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com