Team-BHP > What Car? > SUVs, MUVs & 4x4s
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 21st February 2024, 20:54   #1

Is the Jimny a good choice to learn offroading?

I am looking for a car on which I can learn and take it off-road as well in future as I gain confidence.

I've looked at plenty of options but the Jimny slightly stands out for me due to following
  • Small and compact (probably easier to learn and drive on narrow roads, city traffic)
  • Maruti Suzuki service network
  • Decent comfort in city and highways despite being a 4x4
  • Extremely capable off-roader

I am not an absolute newbie. I have driven our family car - Nexon(automatic) occasionally for smaller distances and I've had my driving classes. I definitely need more practice.

Normally I'm advised to not take a new car if I plan on learning with it. But I am confident that I will take it off-road as I've done a fair bit of it on my motorcycle and I love it.

My usage will be primarily the city, quarterly high way runs of around 1000kms. Since we already have a Nexon, I am okay with not having another car that offers comfort and agility. I live alone and will probably be driving this alone for the most part.

I've got a quote of 15.27 lacs in Pune for Alpha MT. As this will be my first car that I'd purchase with my own money, I'd like to have your opinion on following:
  1. Is it worth it at 15.27 (insurance, extended warranty included) or I must wait some more expecting the prices to be dropped further as the sales are declining ?
  2. Would Jimny be a good choice in the long run for me ?
  3. Should I really choose to not go for a new car and try getting a second hand Thar at comparable/lesser cost?
nh1922 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 21st February 2024, 22:00   #2
Distinguished - BHPian

re: Is the Jimny a good choice to learn offroading?