Other (please specify in your post) 6 3.59%
Voters: 167. You may not vote on this poll

Old 27th January 2024, 21:49   #16

Re: Kia Sonet Facelift vs Tata Nexon vs Hyundai Venue vs Others

Originally Posted by sachin_cs View Post
True, the D-iMT comes with tan interiors but surprisingly the petrol HTX iMT comes with white fabric seats. Don't know who does such product planning, or is it a way to push customers to opt for higher variants.
Ah ! This has been the usual stuff with Hyundai and now Kia cars ! Their features distribution logic is beyond anyone.

About the higher variants thing , it is true with all the manufacturers; because that’s were their core profits lie.

Having said that , somehow Kia has striked the right balance for Sonet with the HTX variant , especially for the automatics. Cannot say the same for it’s cousin , the Venue.
ashvek3141 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th January 2024, 03:02   #17

Sonet in Diesel AT guise any day for me though I feel it's overpriced now at 19L OTR, Hyd while I'd prefer Venue N-Line or Brezza if I'm willing to go for Petrol AT.

If Nexon, I'd skip the ICE variants and get the EV variant.

After looking at the prices of every sub 4m C-SUV, now I feel sedans are better-priced and also offer better rear seat comfort than these so-called hatchbacks on stilts. One can get a Verna SX IVT for 17.5L with all bells and whistles though it misses out on ADAS and ventilated seats, which is not that important for me, or a Honda City VX CVT at a similar price.

Or I'd skip this segment and get Creta S(O) D AT/IVT or Seltos HTX D AT/IVT, which is priced at least a lakh or two more than Sonet X-Line D AT and has features that I need in these two cars.
Old 2nd April 2024, 18:35   #18

Upgrading to C(Jacked up Hatchbacks)SUV from 8 years old Tata Tiago XT Petrol

Hi Folks, I am looking to upgrade from my 8 years old Tata Tiago XT Petrol to CSUV. From so many years I am suggesting car to everybody on my list who are looking for some upgrade, but when it comes to choosing it for my own I end up in such a dilemma which literally make my head explode.

I have clocked almost 67,000 kms in span of 8 years with Tata's handful issues, when I say handful I mean a lot. Still I have an emotional bond with my car like all of us have.
I share a very special bond with my car where I carried it from showroom like a baby nurtured, pampered and made her 8 years old kid.

My daily usage is 20-25 kms a day 8 of which are covered with traffic jams
There are few cars on my mind in 12-14 lacs bracket so lets get started:

Requirements: Fuel Economy, Automatic Gearbox, Decent GC, Sunroof, Good space for occasionally 5.

Options 1-Tata Nexon Pure S AMT: With the recent update Tata Motors have made Nexon very likeable LEDs all around, sunroof, good infotainment system, decent GC. Concerning about 3 cylinder 1.2 unit and the most importantly AMT. Though never got chance to experience AMT in New Nexon as only DCA's are available for TD.

Option 2-Maruti Suzuki Brezza ZXI AT: Brezza is a handsome spacious car even gives a glimpse a bigger car(all thanks to the rear quarter glass) while sitting behind, Loaded with Sunroof, LED headlamps, reliable TC AT gearbox and the smoothest 1.5 unit which I feel will be upgrade from current 3 pots of Tiago.

Option 3-Kia Sonet G1.0 T-GDi 6iMT: If I am planning to upgrade from Manual to Automatic I do not want to slot the gear by myself, thus unable to think it is perfect for me. Also while browsing found out the Kia India website shows car prices in Dollars for fraction of seconds before showing INR

Option 4- Hyundai Venue S 1.0 DCT: As Hyundai Venue is good car the only downside I believe is the absense of sunroof at the price point which is approximately 13,40,000 or-road dellhi

Option 5-Mahindra Bolero Neo : While many of us will be wondering why on earth is Bolero Neo on this list which is only down to the point where it looks menacing. I can ignore the fact that there is no sunroof, no Automatic gearbox, no LEDs. Just buy and put some 18 inch or 20 inch wheels if mad like me and boy-o-boy it looks humungous compared to other cars in same price also cannot ignore the fact that is only available in Diesel MT 1.5 3 cylinder unit, and in Delhi diesels are dying.

Looking for inputs
Kia Sonet Facelift vs Tata Nexon vs Hyundai Venue vs Others-whatsapp-image-20240402-4.51.19-pm-1.jpeg  

Kia Sonet Facelift vs Tata Nexon vs Hyundai Venue vs Others-whatsapp-image-20240402-4.51.19-pm.jpeg  

Last edited by ank_bhp : 2nd April 2024 at 18:38.
Old 2nd April 2024, 18:44   #19

Re: Upgrading to C(Jacked up Hatchbacks)SUV from 8 years old Tata Tiago XT Petrol

If you say you have faced niggles with your Tiago in just 67k kms, then I think it is time for you to reward yourself with some trouble free ownership by getting the Brezza. The engine will outlast the ones in all the other competitors, parts will be cheap and always available, toque converter is the best auto box in terms of long term reliability and the car is one of Maruti’s more robust ones out there
IshaanIan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd April 2024, 18:58   #20

Re: Upgrading to C(Jacked up Hatchbacks)SUV from 8 years old Tata Tiago XT Petrol

Firstly, there is no case whatsoever for Bolero Neo.

Coming to your short list, Brezza ZXi AT makes most sense with the smoothest and most reliable engine and gearbox. Ideal for city driving, no turbo lag to worry about, and far better fuel efficiency than Venue/Sonet.

However, Brezza has typically Maruti average interiors and its prices have risen a lot over time. The car is not exactly VFM anymore. The Honda City V CVT costs about the same after discounts, and provides a far more spacious and premium cabin, more equipment and better street cred. The engine is better, drive is smoother, and the package is equally reliable.
Shreyans_Jain is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd April 2024, 21:47   #21

Originally Posted by IshaanIan View Post
If you say you have faced niggles with your Tiago in just 67k kms, then I think it is time for you to reward yourself with some trouble free ownership by getting the Brezza. The engine will outlast the ones in all the other competitors, parts will be cheap and always available, toque converter is the best auto box in terms of long term reliability and the car is one of Maruti’s more robust ones out there
Thanks for the input brother in no means Brezza is non deserving.

Originally Posted by Shreyans_Jain View Post
Firstly, there is no case whatsoever for Bolero Neo.

Coming to your short list, Brezza ZXi AT makes most sense with the smoothest and most reliable engine and gearbox. Ideal for city driving, no turbo lag to worry about, and far better fuel efficiency than Venue/Sonet.

However, Brezza has typically Maruti average interiors and its prices have risen a lot over time. The car is not exactly VFM anymore. The Honda City V CVT costs about the same after discounts, and provides a far more spacious and premium cabin, more equipment and better street cred. The engine is better, drive is smoother, and the package is equally reliable.
Thank you for input, Maruti's interior quality is same as an decade old car from Maruti Suzuki
Not sure if I want to drive sedan now. As I am looking for high commanding position while driving.
Old 28th April 2024, 00:50   #22

Looking for an ideal car for 12lakhs OTR

Hey everyone,

Our family, consisting of three members, currently owns a 2012 Maruti Omni (CNG) with 200,000 kilometers on the odometer (yes, you read that right ).

We're currently in the market for a car around the 12 lakh mark, and while we're open to pre-owned cars, we mostly prefer the new car buying experience.

The car will primarily be used for commuting to college, so about 90% of the usage will be in the city, with occasional long vacations once a month. Since we're accustomed to the CNG Omni, we're looking for a car that offers decent mileage, at least 12+ kmpl with a light foot in Bangalore city traffic. While we assume most modern cars would come with decent features, we're particularly interested in purchasing the most value-for-money (VFM) option.

Requirements:
1.Sunroof
2.Fuel efficiency of 12+ kmpl
3.Hassle-free ownership and relatively low maintenance cost
4.6 Airbags minimum
5. decent ground clearance

Options considered:

1.Kia Sonet G1.2 5MT HTK(o): This car ticks all the boxes for us. The interiors felt premium, loaded with tech, and suits my college-going persona.Right under the budget, If someone here has this engine variant would like to know how it feels as we couldn't test drive this specific engine variant, we tried the GTX+ DCT and fell in love with the car and the engine. However, we're unsure if it's worth spending an extra 4 lakhs.

2.Hyundai Venue 1.2 S(O): While the car didn't appeal to us as much as the Sonet did, the interior felt a bit too bland for our liking. However, the quality of materials was impressive, and the dealer is offering a 50k discount on the 2023 model, making it a good value proposition.

3.Maruti Suzuki Fronx: The car looks premium from the outside, but that's about it. The interior feels somewhat "cheap" compared to the Sonet and Venue. We test drove the manual variant, and it felt like a typical Maruti, somewhat bland.

4.Brezza: We're yet to visit the MS Arena showroom as this car is not available at Nexa. However, online reviews suggest that it has similar negatives as the Fronx.

5.Kia Sonet HTX 7DCT: We absolutely fell in love with this car. The engine is exceptional, and the refinements and gear shifts were so smooth that we hardly felt them. However, it's over our budget by 4 lakhs due to the tax laws in Bangalore (cars priced over 10 lakhs ex-showroom are taxed higher). So, we're seeking your expert opinion on whether it's worth stretching for this variant.

We're also open to other suggestions and pre-owned models. Looking forward to your advice!
fearswag16 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th May 2024, 16:57   #23

Originally Posted by ank_bhp View Post
Hi Folks, I am looking to upgrade from my 8 years old Tata Tiago XT Petrol to CSUV. From so many years I am suggesting car to everybody on my list who are looking for some upgrade, but when it comes to choosing it for my own I end up in such a dilemma which literally make my head explode.

I have clocked almost 67,000 kms in span of 8 years with Tata's handful issues, when I say handful I mean a lot. Still I have an emotional bond with my car like all of us have.
I share a very special bond with my car where I carried it from showroom like a baby nurtured, pampered and made her 8 years old kid.

My daily usage is 20-25 kms a day 8 of which are covered with traffic jams
There are few cars on my mind in 12-14 lacs bracket so lets get started:

Requirements: Fuel Economy, Automatic Gearbox, Decent GC, Sunroof, Good space for occasionally 5.

Options 1-Tata Nexon Pure S AMT: With the recent update Tata Motors have made Nexon very likeable LEDs all around, sunroof, good infotainment system, decent GC. Concerning about 3 cylinder 1.2 unit and the most importantly AMT. Though never got chance to experience AMT in New Nexon as only DCA's are available for TD.

Option 2-Maruti Suzuki Brezza ZXI AT: Brezza is a handsome spacious car even gives a glimpse a bigger car(all thanks to the rear quarter glass) while sitting behind, Loaded with Sunroof, LED headlamps, reliable TC AT gearbox and the smoothest 1.5 unit which I feel will be upgrade from current 3 pots of Tiago.

Option 3-Kia Sonet G1.0 T-GDi 6iMT: If I am planning to upgrade from Manual to Automatic I do not want to slot the gear by myself, thus unable to think it is perfect for me. Also while browsing found out the Kia India website shows car prices in Dollars for fraction of seconds before showing INR

Option 4- Hyundai Venue S 1.0 DCT: As Hyundai Venue is good car the only downside I believe is the absense of sunroof at the price point which is approximately 13,40,000 or-road dellhi

Option 5-Mahindra Bolero Neo : While many of us will be wondering why on earth is Bolero Neo on this list which is only down to the point where it looks menacing. I can ignore the fact that there is no sunroof, no Automatic gearbox, no LEDs. Just buy and put some 18 inch or 20 inch wheels if mad like me and boy-o-boy it looks humungous compared to other cars in same price also cannot ignore the fact that is only available in Diesel MT 1.5 3 cylinder unit, and in Delhi diesels are dying.

Looking for inputs
Happy to introduce our new member replacing 8 years old Tata Tiago with Kia Sonet HTX iMT T-GDI.
For me Kia Sonet is everything and more, I found it most VFM amongst the above lot.
Kia Sonet Facelift vs Tata Nexon vs Hyundai Venue vs Others-kia-sonet.jpeg  

Kia Sonet Facelift vs Tata Nexon vs Hyundai Venue vs Others-kia-sonet-2.jpeg  

ank_bhp is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th June 2024, 23:28   #24

What new car under 13L in 2024, spoiled with options?

Hello all Bhpians, need your expert opinion we are in a bit of a dilemma, we recently sold our Ritz Zdi 2016 diesel with 1.6L km bought used in 2019, and started looking for a worthy replacement for this workhorse for context we have a Hycross hybrid bought in 2023 and Vento tdi DSG 2018 we are mainly looking for small to mid-size car preference is diesel and automatic under 13L ex-showroom for local use mostly but as we start looking for options we got even more confused let me explain.
Here are the Options considered:
1. Baleno/Glanza Alpha Amt: The most value for money with the current discount comes under 11L on the road with the current discount it is even cheaper than the new Swift amt top model, the only con is its light build and low seating position still its strong contender.
2. The new Swift 2024:Perfect car for our use but the Baleno which is more spacious, has more features, and turns out to be much cheaper overall than Swift, hence we have to drop the Swift.
3. Kia Sonet Htx Diesel automatic: Great package overall it has everything we wanted it’s diesel, automatic has all the bells and whistles like ventilated seats, leather seats, and sunshades it’s the top contender only negative is it’s the higher overall price which on road comes to be around 5L more compared to Baleno.
4 Creta diesel manual base model E: Why not look one segment above It is under 13 L ex-showroom, and blows everything mentioned above in terms of space, comfort and driving dynamics only con is it comes barebones and is manual.
5 Fronx: Dropped because it’s similar to baleno and when compared baleno turns out to be much cheaper overall.
6.Xuv 3xo: Dropped because of its hideous looks poor after-sales service and lack of good engine transmission options under 13L.
We are mainly confused between Baleno, SONET, and Creta e diesel manuals as they are in the same price category each with its unique plus point and negative, we are more inclined towards Baleno and Sonet as they seem to be more suited for our needs which is around 80kms of daily local city commute.
Please provide your valuable suggestions, thank you.
Old 19th June 2024, 06:45   #25

Re: What new car under 13L in 2024, spoiled with options?

Originally Posted by manofinfinity View Post
We are mainly confused between Baleno, SONET, and Creta e diesel manuals as they are in the same price category each with its unique plus point and negative, we are more inclined towards Baleno and Sonet as they seem to be more suited for our needs which is around 80kms of daily local city commute.
Please provide your valuable suggestions, thank you.
Considering the price gap and your intended usage, I'd suggest the Baleno. Do multiple test drives before biting the bullet. Even though the gearbox is well tuned for an AMT, shifts are noticeable when driven hard. If you're okay with that, it is a great city car to have. Another option you should consider is the Amaze CVT (petrol).

Kia Sonet is also a good choice, but since you already have better cars to take up highway duties, it will be wiser to go with a hatchback. Avoid the Creta. An automatic is a must for 80 km of city driving.
Old 19th June 2024, 08:42   #26

Originally Posted by manofinfinity View Post
looking for a worthy replacement for this workhorse for context we have a Hycross hybrid bought in 2023 and Vento tdi DSG 2018 we are mainly looking for small to mid-size car preference is diesel and automatic under 13L ex-showroom for local use mostly ….

our needs which is around 80kms of daily local city commute.
Why don’t you consider EV? By design it is superior AT, low cost of running in city condition, silent cabin and a new experience compared to regular ICE cars. Tiago EV LR or punch EV you can consider.
Old 26th August 2024, 20:33   #27

Originally Posted by sirius View Post
Why don’t you consider EV?
+1. Punch EV makes a great city beater easily doing 18 KM/day without any worries.

Amongst your choices I would rate Baleno>Sonet>Creta

Baleno, as we all know id a great city car, good efficiency & driving in city traffic blunts any impact the lower performance may have.
Sonet, as you said is a perfect package "SarvaGunSampann" so to say, but do you really want to spend the extra 5L on a beater?
Creta E is too barebones and you already have the Hycross.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com