MG Hector Plus 2 0.67%
Hyundai Alcazar 9 3.02%
Other (please specify in your post) 7 2.35%
Voters: 298. You may not vote on this poll

Old 20th August 2023, 16:52   #16

Re: Maruti Invicto vs Toyota Innova Hycross vs Mahindra XUV700 vs Others

I voted other but it may be a bit misleading. I will buy Hycross or Crysta but only pre-owned and once the used car market has settled down.
Old 20th August 2023, 16:54   #17

My choice would be Kia carens.

Offers lot more space per buck along with that tasty 1.5 ltr turbo petrol and various options for auto including imt & DCT.
Old 20th August 2023, 17:32   #18

I voted for Innova Crysta with my money as I own the Innova Crysta ZX AT Aug-21 model.

I keep cars for long (10+ years). I also own a 2012 Fiat Linea which was a segment benchmark with long features list. You can read the 11-year old ownership summary in this (Experience of maintaining a Fiat Linea 1.3L MJD over 11 years & 88000 km) thread.

My belief is that as more electronic gizmoz and feature cars are added, it makes them very attractive but at the same time their surface area of potential failures increases with added electronics. And from Linea experience, I believe that it would be costly and difficult to maintain the car in terms of electronic features.

Where I am in my personal and professional life as a 42 year old, today my priority order is a) Reliability, b)Ease of ownership, c) Ride quality, d)Brand, e) power. Electronics and Gizmos - while desirable, comes much down the pecking order and can only be tie breaker.

That is why I bought Toyoyta Innova Crysta ZX Diesel AT in 2021 and I and my family truely love it for the comfort, FAST highway cruising ability and ofcourse I love it for the Power, Torque and AT and it has automatic AC and Apple Carplay with 7 airbags - all that I would need. I would very well keep it for longest time.

However, 10 year younger version of myself (with no kids or ageing parents) would not have gone for Crysta as I would not value the utility which I value today. In that case, I would have likely gone for XUV700.

I am super duper happy with my current choice of Crysta ZX AT- I put my money where my mouth is.

PS. I realized later that Crysta does not have AT anymore.
In that case, my vote would be with Innova Hycross.
daretodream is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th August 2023, 18:06   #19

I own the Hycross and also voted for it.

While upgrading from the 1st gen Innova, my 2nd preference was the XUV700, but I was reluctant due to the perception around its reliability. However, it is a fantastic car with almost everything going for it. Apart from its reliability, it’s two other drawbacks are DPF issues for Diesel (rather all Diesels) and poor mileage for Petrol.

Hycross addresses all three primary issues but at the expense of poorer interior quality and music system. It complements this with better seating space, boot space, and ride quality.

I consider the Invicto as a lower variant of the Hycross, as I own the ZX(O). I don’t mind the Maruti badge, but I prefer buying the top variant available so Invicto will always lose out to the Hycross.

Crysta in its current avatar is too dated and is only available as a manual diesel. So a no. However, a used BS4 diesel automatic might score higher than every other car here except the Hycross/Invicto twins.

The only other car I’d seriously consider buying from this list is the Scorpio-N. However, like GTO said, it’ll lose out to the XUV700 every single time.

The other cars- Safari, Hector, and Alcazar have at least one deal breaker (reliability,no diesel-auto, 2nd row space respectively). Id consider the lower end cars (Carens, XL6) or higher end cars(Kodiaq, Fortuner, Meridian, Gloster, used Endeavour) before these cars.
Old 20th August 2023, 19:16   #20

Voted for Toyota Innova Hycross.

Peace of mind, hybrid, Toyota after sales and service is better than Maruti which has more low-cost orientation in service centers, something that reflects in quality of manpower they employ. Government hates diesel, for reasons best known to them, and this takes away all diesel cars for me. Turbo petrols aren't the best when it comes to efficiency and no point in having a car and then watching agonizingly low efficiency figures.

No wonder, Toyota is minting money with Innova Hycross with helping hand from Innova Crysta. Currently I have a 2012 Innova, still runs like new, hence the natural trust towards Toyota helps it earn my vote here.
aaggoswami is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th August 2023, 19:26   #21

I can't vote yet, but if i could, I'd vote for the Hycross.
Toyota reliability, good features and impressive styling steals the deal.

A close second for me would be the XUV700.
Old 20th August 2023, 21:29   #22

Hycross wins this comparison as this is the only car which can actually seat 7 adults. Its more fuel efficient and is a more practical car to be with for a longer time. Its a Toyota so its resale will also be much higher which makes it a value for money car.
Old 20th August 2023, 21:49   #23

Well, this is an interesting poll! I have voted for Innova Hycross, Keeping in mind the sheer comfort it provides on all three rows and the QDR. I almost booked a Hycross a few months back but had to hold off the purchase due to some unforeseen financial constraints. I will pick the Hycross/Crysta anyday over its competitors, though the pricing is premium.
Old 20th August 2023, 23:05   #24

Just check the sales numbers and answer will be evident. An expensive car like Hycross is way above others. You have an easy and a reliable answer.
Old 20th August 2023, 23:10   #25

I have driven most of these cars and own some of them, 2015 Innova ZX (just sold), 2023 Innova Hycross Hybrid ZX (similar to Suzuki Invicto) and 2022 Kia Carens Diesel Auto (similar to Hyundai Alcazar).

Personally, I think there are 3 distinct categories within the cars mentioned here.

1) Large MUVs ~ 4,700-4,800mm - read Hycross and Invicto
2) 3-row SUVs ~ 4,600mm - read XUV 700, Scorpio N, Tata Safari and MG Hector Plus
3) Cheaper 4,500mm SUV/MUV - read Kia Carens and Hyundai Alcazar

There is definitely price overlap among these categories, but I think people generally know what they want based on their primary use case.

I've also done an in-depth comparison of Hycross vs. Invicto on the main Invicto review page (Maruti Invicto Review) if you want a detailed comparison and verdict.

Originally Posted by RahulNagaraj View Post
• Innova Hycross has more features. Missing on the Maruti are Ottoman seats, ADAS, fore & aft adjustment levers on the second-row seatbacks, foglamps, 9-speaker JBL system etc.
- Hycross would be my second choice (very close 2nd choice). It's a great MPV, quick, efficient, spacious & practical. I'd buy the Hycross over the Invicto for the Toyota badge & the additional features that the top variant gets.
TL;DR version - I recommend the Invicto Alpha+ variant over top Hycross variants, because the feature differential is not that much for the money you will save, i.e. around 2-3 lakhs on-road. However, at the lower end, I won't recommend the Invicto base model (Zeta+) and there the Hycross VX is the winner without a doubt now that it comes with 6 airbags.

See this thread for more details. (Maruti Invicto Review)

On the 3-row SUV front - XUV 700 is the undisputed overall winner. You have a variant, powertrain and drivetrain to satisfy any of your requirements (read - petrol vs. diesel, AT vs. MT, AWD vs. FWD etc.).

For a cheaper 3-row option I recommend Kia Carens over Alcazar, XL7/Ertiga etc. because its much more practical and feature loaded. Such a well packaged car it is, if you can overlook its quirky exterior styling which not everyone might be a fan of. None of these cars are Global-NCAP "safe", so there's that.

Signing off with the delivery photos of the similar colored vehicles. Kia just looks so much better finished inside out than the Toyota, at 15 lakhs cheaper (fifteen!!). Also, I'm now realizing that 4 of the last 7 cars we have bought is some shade of blue!
Maruti Invicto vs Toyota Innova Hycross vs Mahindra XUV700 vs Others-carens-diesel-auto.jpg  

Maruti Invicto vs Toyota Innova Hycross vs Mahindra XUV700 vs Others-hycross-zx.jpg  

Last edited by inwester : 20th August 2023 at 23:32.
inwester is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st August 2023, 00:32   #26

Voted for Hycross.
Nothing beats it as a 7 seater. Perfect car for large families. Great badge value and service as well. Other options are also good but as 5+2 only. Reliability and consistency is also an issue with Indian brands. Hector is my other choice, a good package except FE.
Old 21st August 2023, 03:44   #27

Voted for XUV 700.

Great product - affordable price. Mahindra service eager to please which helps counter niggles.

2nd choice - Invicto and would upgrade tires once out of the showroom. one cannot go wrong with Maruti in the country today.
Old 21st August 2023, 08:20   #28

Voted for Scorpio-N because I did end up buying one over all the other choices. Rugged, 4X4, well-tuned engine, comfortable seats and desi. To be honest, I bought the Scorpio-N instead of the XUV700 because I could get it sooner. I would have picked up the XUV700 just as easily.

A big NO! to Safari and Alcazar. They are terrible. I don't like the how the Hector looks, but I think one can live with it.
Old 21st August 2023, 11:10   #29

Voted of Hycross for the:

- Reliability and peace of mind
- Practicality and utilization of every nooks and corner of car
- Seating options+ Ottoman
- Hybrid powertrain future proofs any regulatory (mis)innovation by Govt.

Although XUV7oo is very close (or better) to Hycross in many aspects except the reliability.
Old 24th August 2023, 18:12   #30

Rather left field but I have the Gurkha 5-door on my radar especially since it is likely to have all 3 front-facing rows.