|
Advanced Search |
Go to Page... |
Search this Thread | 24,706 views |
3rd July 2023, 13:15 | #1 |
BHPian Join Date: Nov 2019 Location: Goa
| Kia Sonet saved me in a head-on accident, declared total loss | Which SUV to buy? https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/offic...ml#post5352735 (Kia Sonet : Official Review) Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine that I shall be returning to this thread in just a year of purchasing my car, the Sonet D AT. In a very unfortunate event that happened 2 weeks back, I met with a very serious accident with my car wherein I crashed head-on into one of the cement pillars of a flyover. I wouldn't like to divulge much into the details of this as it pains me even to recollect the event and the fact the car is nearly beyond repair. I am really thankful to the almighty and my well-wishers that I managed to come out with minors bruises, given the kind of impact it was! I simply cannot stress enough the importance of belting up, having maximum number of airbags and more importantly a structurally well-built car. Also, whatever is the debate regarding the supposedly poor safety ratings of Kia cars; all I can say is, it's the SONET which saved me from this horrific accident. If it was for any other car, say the likes of Maruti Suzuki; I wouldn't have been sitting and writing this post. I really hope GNCAP test the Sonet / Venue and be done with the bad air about the suspicious "poor ratings" thing. I'm pretty sure it'll score a 4 stars , if not more. Aside, the insurance claim formalities have begun and going by the initial estimate submitted by Kia, it looks to be a case of TOTAL LOSS! I am awaiting the official decision from the insurance company though. Coming to the main part now - THE DILEMMA, yet AGAIN ! There is no denying the fact that the SONET D AT was a 'complete' car for me! Totally worthy upgrade from my Swift ZDi. I thoroughly enjoyed driving it for last 1 year and 11,500 KMS. It was a pure enthusiast car, for me at least. Needless to say, it was VFM too. Sadly, the same model has gotten expensive by over 1.20 L in last one year, majorly to blame the RDE norms. Sigh! My current garage stands as under, 1. 2015, Hyundai Creta SX+ P MT - 8 years, Driven for 72,000 kms and absolutely in love with it. The car is Stage 1+ tuned by Wold Moto and I have spruced it up with aftermarket rims , wider tires, dual tone paint job, etc. Leaving aside the feature set, which anyway weren't upto the 2015 standards back then; this car is pure joy to own. Ofcourse, there were a few share of niggle and issues that come with the early-adopters; but they were all resolved duly and to my satisfaction by the ASS. - I had plans of replacing this car with something better, maybe the 2023/4 Creta Facelift or the 5-seater SUV from Mahindra (XUV500) sometime next year; but now with this conundrum of the Sonet, Idk what to do. However, it stays for now, for how long? Idk. 2. 2020 MS Ignis Sigma - 2.5 Years, Driven for 35,000 kms. This is my wifey's car and a very basic one at that! This is her 1st car when she learnt driving about 3 years ago and hence went in for a very basic / cheap car, just to start with. Having said that, I absolutely detest driving this car! No offence to the Ignis owners and I also don't mean that it doesn't drive well. It's good, pretty good actually for it's size and that 1.2 L motor under the hood. But, it lacks all the features that I'm used too; even the basic ones! The Sonet had spoilt me with the feel-good features and possibly this is the reason why I don't enjoy this car that much. Aside, my parents too find it difficult to use this car as it's too low for their liking (and mine too) given the fact that we've been used to high seating cars since 2007! But again, for just the sheer driving thing, it's - For the very reason, I had plans of replacing this car with something like an EV and that would have kinda completed our garage - 1 NA Petrol , 1 Turbo-Diesel & 1 EV.. I was actually eyeing the Tiago .EV or even the upcoming Punch .EV. Alas, sometimes things don't really go how you plan! Anyway, now coming to the big question - Which car to fill in for the SONET? Below are the thoughts that are running through my head currently. Idk if I'm thinking rationally yet. But it is, what it is. My requirements - 1. PURE automatic (TC, DCT, CVT - absolute last option) 2. High seating - Hence an SUV only, maybe. 3. Good looking 4. Fun to drive 5. Fuel type - BIG Question! - I just LOVE turbo-diesels!! However, this was easier about a year ago to pick one! But now which the stringent norms and some ridiculous govt. policies, I'm not quite sure if it would be a right move to go in for a diesel now. I had actually got the Sonet thinking that I would retain it for as long as I can, without a thought of selling it even after 10 years. But now I'm just confused about this as we simply cannot foresee what our beloved govt. has in store for the diesel car lovers. Cars in consideration - 1. Kia Sonet D AT - Needless to say how much I love this car! But the story is different a year later. Aside, from getting expensive by over a lakh INR, it has also lost some key features like the rear centre armrest! I cannot comprehend, why would Kia do such a stupid thing with such a basic feature? - Aside, Idk what changes have been done to the 1.5 L CRDi engine with the new RDE norms which focus primarily on emissions and the fuel efficiency? Are the new BS-6.2 engines just as good to drive as the ones before? Are they tamed down to boost efficiency? Furthermore, now even the 1.5 L engines need a Urea top up unlike before. 2. Nexon Facelift - Off late Nexon has been selling like hot cakes, even beating the segment leader - MS Brezza. And all of this inspite of MS launching an updated Brezza. Really speaks volumes about this car. However, I do feel that the primary reason for masses going for this car is the solid 5-stars safety rating more than anything else. - No PURE Diesel Auto is a big downer here. Having said that , there are rumours that the facelift will come with better automatics. The 1.2 L turbo-petrol DCT looks to be happening, but nothing on the Diesel TC yet; which I doubt if it will ever happen. - A major con with the turbo-petrol DCT's is the abysmal FE's that we see for enthusiast-driving and even city driving conditions. I am simply not used to seeing single digit FE figures, EVER! even my Creta return healthy FE figures for it's size. - The launch is also not certain yet. TML is still in the testing phases. 3. TATA Punch .EV - Like I mentioned above, I have been eyeing an EV in the garage and the Punch makes perfect sense. Given the spy shots and updates, seems like TATA is loading the Punch with some good features. - Also, given the pricing of earlier EV's, I presume TATA will do a decent job here. No denying the fact that EV's are still very expensive. - Having said that, this will come with the cons associated with EV's like the range anxiety, charging availability on road trips, etc. As opposed to regular ICE's, the EV's need proper planning for long road trips and this becomes all the more difficult when one is travelling with family. - I still feel we're not quite ready to have an EV as our 1st or even 2nd car. Just my thought though. 4. Mahindra THAR D AT - This is not a car, it's an EMOTION! - Possibly the YOLO thing kicked-in after the chain of events, or possibly I'm not thinking straight. However, this will blow up my budget by significant amounts though! - Also, not that I didn't have an option of Thar when I picked up the Sonet a year ago, but we had just 2 cars in the garage back then; and both needed to be of proper utility. Cars like Thar generally negate that, as they are purely for lifestyle purpose. To me, THAR is strictly a 2-seater. I cannot see my elderly parents climbing into the back seat. - Anyway, I'm still not completely ruling this out. But yes, budget is definitely a concern here. - Also, if I end up picking the Thar, then the Ignis will definitely need a replacement ASAP. Like I said, it not quite what I (and my parents) enjoy driving / driven around. So ya, this is all that I'm considering for now as replacement and possible replacement plan for the other cars in my garage. This accident has really taken a toll - mentally , physically and financially. But then, there is only so much that you can do other than just accepting what it is and moving on; hoping for something good to happen in the future. I would appreciate your inputs to help me in my dilemma, yet again and if possible also help to add in a few other options that I can consider. |
(17) Thanks |
The following 17 BHPians Thank ashvek3141 for this useful post: | chinmaypillay, Clayton Crasto, DHARM, digitalnirvana, GTO, GwD, InControl, Kkumar, KuvamBansal, NarediAni7518, Omkar, One, RaceCyborg, sanjayrozario, Shreyas Aterkar, TurboSheikh, WhiteSierra |
|
3rd July 2023, 14:12 | #2 | |
BHPian | Re: Which AT Compact SUV for me? Quote:
Since your Sonet had met with an accident, can I suggest you getting another one albeit in GTX+ D AT trim, which has better features than your HTX D AT and gets 6 airbags as well. Also, I can see that you got connected to the Sonet's engine+gearbox combo. And, getting a Thar D AT is also a good option unless your parents are satisfied with it. Mod Note : Please quote ONLY the relevant bits of a post. Quoting a full, long post inconveniences our mobile readers. Last edited by graaja : 4th July 2023 at 07:00. Reason: Trimming quoted text | |
(1) Thanks |
The following BHPian Thanks car_guy1998 for this useful post: | ashvek3141 |
3rd July 2023, 18:29 | #3 | |
BANNED Join Date: Aug 2022 Location: Muscat
| Re: Which AT Compact SUV for me? Quote:
Now, moving to the future, If you can manage with these two cars for 2-3 months, I think the Nexon Facelift will be a good option for you, considering it gets a DCA with a 1.2 Litre petrol engine, I doubt if the Diesel will get a better gearbox even with the facelift and will most likely continue with the AMT, but if you need a car quickly I have got quite an interesting proposition for you, I know the Seltos facelift is around the corner, but dealers are giving out the top of the line X-Line Seltos Diesel ATs at around 2 lakhs discount if you can get your hands on one now, or at least book one for delivery later, you could get an upgrade from your Sonet at just a small price hike. Or, considering it's similar in size to the Creta you can avoid >4 metre SUVs altogether and get a Jimny or Thar, even a facelift Nexon EV would be a good option. If you need any help getting your hands on a current-gen Kia Seltos at good discounts, I can help, you can DM me anytime! Moreover, your first reviews of the Sonet D-AT were the ones that encouraged us to get the X-Line and HTX Diesel ATs for our family members and a great thank you for that!, we have also booked an X-Line Diesel AT for my uncle and already pre-booked the Seltos facelift as well!, so any help wit Kia, I would be glad to help! Hope this Helps! | |
(6) Thanks |
The following 6 BHPians Thank bijims for this useful post: | anivy, ashvek3141, digitalnirvana, Himalayan_Ice, RaceCyborg, yedukrishnan199 |
4th July 2023, 06:28 | #4 | |
BHPian | Re: Which AT Compact SUV for me? Quote:
Mod Note : Please quote ONLY the relevant bits of a post. Quoting a full, long post inconveniences our mobile readers. Last edited by graaja : 4th July 2023 at 07:00. Reason: Trimming quoted text | |
(3) Thanks |
The following 3 BHPians Thank mgastor2022grey for this useful post: | ashvek3141, InControl, kmrjt1 |
5th July 2023, 14:02 | #5 |
Team-BHP Support | Re: Kia Sonet saved me in a head-on accident, declared total loss | Which SUV to buy? ashvek3141, glad to hear you are okay! There are 100 different variables which determine your safety in a crash, the GNCAP is but one of them (luck is another big one). Moving your query out to a new thread. Last edited by GTO : 5th July 2023 at 14:03. |
(20) Thanks |
The following 20 BHPians Thank GTO for this useful post: | Acharya, amoi, Arjun Bharadwaj, ashvek3141, black_and_red, Cyborg, digitalnirvana, fhdowntheline, GhostGrid, kmrjt1, Lone Ranger, NTO, puneetakhouri, RaceCyborg, rr_zen, sandeepmdas, Sebring, The21st, vishnurp99, WalterWhite |
5th July 2023, 14:19 | #6 | |||
BHPian Join Date: Feb 2006 Location: Bangalore
| Re: Kia Sonet saved me in a head-on accident, declared total loss | Which SUV to buy? Quote:
Since the Sonet has been a great experience for you, why not buy it again? 1.2 Lakh increase seems small if you consider that you like the car and if fits your needs and also helped you survive the crash. | |||
(4) Thanks |
The following 4 BHPians Thank sudeepg for this useful post: | ashvek3141, epiccross, Googix, Himalayan_Ice |
6th July 2023, 12:17 | #7 | |
BHPian | Re: Kia Sonet saved me in a head-on accident, declared total loss | Which SUV to buy? Quote:
https://www.globalncap.org/safercarsforindia | |
(6) Thanks |
The following 6 BHPians Thank jessie007 for this useful post: | AGupta, ashvek3141, baarish84, d-g-p, Googix, subie_socal |
6th July 2023, 13:04 | #8 | |
BHPian Join Date: Mar 2017 Location: Bangalore
| Re: Kia Sonet saved me in a head-on accident, declared total loss | Which SUV to buy? Good to know you are safe. Drive safe whatever car you buy next . Quote:
Another word on the seat comfort is its under thigh support. Cars costing way more mess up the under thigh support and there are so many examples. The Nexon's seats are sofa level. I got the Nexon for all the reasons mentioned and not for the 5-star or dairy milk rating. On your next car hunt, you can surely consider the Nexon, but surely do not expect Kia/Hyundai/Honda level refinement, fit and finish . | |
(6) Thanks |
The following 6 BHPians Thank Nalin1 for this useful post: | AKINA, ashvek3141, MinivanDriver, rroy92, Seenz, subie_socal |
6th July 2023, 13:52 | #9 |
BHPian Join Date: Sep 2022 Location: KL-01/MH-16
| Re: Kia Sonet saved me in a head-on accident, declared total loss | Which SUV to buy? Sorry to hear about your accident. But as long as one is safe and healthy then it’s a good thing. Coming on to your dilemma, I think Nexon is an excellent choice. Since you were happy with Sonet why don’t you go for it again. Also you can check up the Seltos facelift. From safety and comfort point of view Kushaq as well as Taigun can also be considered. |
(1) Thanks |
The following BHPian Thanks Kkumar for this useful post: | ashvek3141 |
6th July 2023, 17:36 | #10 | |
BHPian | Re: Kia Sonet saved me in a head-on accident, declared total loss | Which SUV to buy? Quote:
Ignoring the point 5, just based on points 1 to 4 and adding safety as a point as you are looking for it, 1. Honda Elevate CVT 2. Skoda Kushaq TC/DSG 3. VW Taigun TC/DSG Not including Nexon because of AMT which you don't want. Skoda and VW twins are the safest tested cars in India as of now. Fun to drive. Good looking. Honda Elevate is expected to be a no-nonsense workhorse from Honda's stable. The reliable plain Jane. Test drive in early August to see if it suits you. All the best. Last edited by Arwin07 : 6th July 2023 at 17:44. | |
(2) Thanks |
The following 2 BHPians Thank Arwin07 for this useful post: | ashvek3141, Naveen_1176 |
6th July 2023, 18:14 | #11 | ||
BHPian Join Date: Aug 2021 Location: Pune
| Re: Kia Sonet saved me in a head-on accident, declared total loss | Which SUV to buy? Quote:
2. Nexon Facelift 3. TATA Punch .EV - You can't go wrong with these siblings from Tata Motors stable. Nexon with the DCA would be absolute killer to drive. Punch in EV avatar will be pleasure. But I would prefer Nexon here as you will need a proper replacement for Creta at sometime for long hauls. Ignis can be a beater and city car, while it can never be entrusted with Highway duty - This is my personal verdict 4. Mahindra THAR D AT - Kindly stay clear from this beast untill you are a true off-roader. It's neither a family carrier nor a city driver or a highway driver in proper form. It's appearance can be tempting and menacing, but its drive on any of the situations above will be absymal when compared to your choices. I would suggest you to have a look at Harrier and Safari from Tata stables. Check the MG Astor or ZS EV Avatar - a very feature rich car, ruled out by me only for its budget. Stay clear from VW/Skoda twins due to the DSG. | ||
(2) Thanks |
The following 2 BHPians Thank ssathiyanarayan for this useful post: | ashvek3141, kmrjt1 |
|
6th July 2023, 19:45 | #12 | ||||||||
BHPian Join Date: Nov 2019 Location: Goa
| Re: Kia Sonet saved me in a head-on accident, declared total loss | Which SUV to buy? Firstly, thank you so much everyone for you kind concern and wishes. I was lucky enough to survive the crash with a minor bruises only, which have nearly healed now. God is great! Also, thank you for you suggestions / inputs regarding my query. Highly appreciate! I'll just try to respond cumulatively as majority of the suggestions more or less in-line. Quote:
- Idk if I should be considering the DCT now. 2. Nexon facelift - 2nd in consideration here. BUT the only downer is the turbo-petrol ! This engine coupled with a DCT will give abysmal efficiency. Anyway, this is stilll considered nonetheless. 3. Elevate / Harrier / Safari and the likes - These are too big cars to consider as a replacement for the Sonet. Like I mentioned above , the Creta will need a replacement in a year or two for sure and these cars (read >4 m / proper SUV's) will need to be considered. Special thanks to the stupid "norms" against the diesel car, the options have narrowed down like crazy! 4. Punch .EV - I think the Punch .EV is still 6-7 months away as there is no concrete news yet regarding the launch. Also, I think TML MD mentioned in some interview that they're supposedly next EV will come by end of THIS FY. So I'm presuming it to happen next year ONLY. 5. Coming to the BIG question now - THE THAR! - Seems like, I will have to shelve the plans this time too. With all my excitement I called home the TD vehicle of D AT Convertible today. Took a longish TD on my regular road here along with my Dad and Wifey. Mum wasn't even interested in the TD. - It was only me driving the car, Dad and wifey weren't quite keen and they chose to be driven sitting behind. Needless to say they didn't quite enjoy the vehicle! - All the cons or rather inherent nature of the THAR showed up and the my family members weren't quite impressed with it. - My wife who was big fan of THAR all this while wasn't quite impressed with the ride and was upset with the bouncy ride particularly. - I too found it a wee bit cumbersome to drive though. Of course , I know what to expect. But coming from soft driving cars like Creta and Sonet; this one's a big change. But I can live with it, as long as my family was convinced. - Dad found it extremely difficult to get into the back seat. Wifey wasn't very comfortable either. - Anyway, it's 1 against 3. Difficult to convince them for paying even 16 L (RWD variant), let alone the 4x4 . THAR has to wait, this time too. | ||||||||
() Thanks |
6th July 2023, 21:31 | #13 | |
Senior - BHPian Join Date: Dec 2007 Location: Mysore
There are people who wear no helmet and walk away from a bad motorcycle accident. There are also people who die despite being belted up in an S-Class. I'm sure you agree that an S-Class is the safer place to be. | |
(4) Thanks |
The following 4 BHPians Thank McLaren Rulez for this useful post: | ashvek3141, AYP, Roy.S, rx100 |
6th July 2023, 22:19 | #14 |
Senior - BHPian | Re: Kia Sonet saved me in a head-on accident, declared total loss | Which SUV to buy? I have mixed feeling reading this. I am glad you escaped such a deadly accident with minor Injuries. It's sad to see car being total loss but I am also happy cos I have same car and model and this gives me hope the build quality might be better than we thought. Anyways, so Thar is out. Nexon face-lift and Elevate price announcements are around the corner so lesse if they fit into tour budget. You are right, Nexon dct will give abysmal FE. My brother has Nexon petrol and it never goes above 10-11 in FE and his is manual. Still, keep it in the list till face-lift is out. My favorite recommendation is just get the Sonet D-AT again. You know the car inside out. You know the engine and gearbox combo is tough to beat and such fun to drive. Plus the decent FE it gives even in Sports mode. You won't be happy with Nexon after living with Sonet for sure. 1 lac increase in price is livable for peace of mind you will get. Diesels aren't going anywhere for next 5-7 years atleast so don't worry about that. Full scale ev implementation may still take more than a decade. My 2nd recommendation will be Seltos IMT diesel. Seltos D-AT will be more than your budget I believe. But IMT diesel will be near abouts. I recently drove friends and it's quite easy to drive. No clutch so most bothersome part is omitted and shifting gears was quite easy. Last edited by harry10 : 6th July 2023 at 22:20. |
(1) Thanks |
The following BHPian Thanks harry10 for this useful post: | ashvek3141 |
6th July 2023, 23:11 | #15 |
BHPian Join Date: Mar 2022 Location: Mumbai
| Re: Kia Sonet saved me in a head-on accident, declared total loss | Which SUV to buy? Head on collisions may go down badly in so many ways, glad that Sonet showed its metal when mattered. I will recommend VW crossover twins in their top trim. Taigun / Kushaq are one of the only few similar sized crossovers compared with Sonet (just over 4m). 1.5 dsg are proper automatic variants , which are fun to drive as well. Also, they carry officially 5star safety rating. You may consider to have Creta replacement now itself with VW twins and get a small EV for city runs if needed. |
() Thanks |