Re: New VW Taigun GT Plus or Pre-owned VW T-Roc? Quote:
Originally Posted by shancz |
Oh, I never knew that Tata's DCA was better. Thanks for the share, I'll just pray to god that I never have to use my DSG fund Quote:
Originally Posted by anb The T-Roc is like a cheaper Audi while Taigun is a like more expensive Polo. If expensive spares and delays in service is not an issue, I'd opt for the T-Roc. |
Totally agree. The only downside is the rear legroom. Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO Mod Note: Poll added to spice things up . Voted for the Used T-Roc! It's a superior car and 1-year old means it's pretty much brand new. Go for the extended warranty and you'll have piece-of-the-mind for a few years. Post that, any good independent garage can take care of your CBU. |
Noted. I'd definitely buy EW if I decide to go ahead with the T-roc. I'm looking for a used T-roc either in the shade of Rivenna Blue or Curcuma Yellow, which is currently not available in my state. Quote:
Originally Posted by TDIRaghav Having driven both the cars recently, let me share the pros and cons:
Taigun:
Pros
1. Great to drive
2. Can seat 5, feels more spacious than inside
Cons
1. Interiors are not premium enough for a 22 lakh car
2. Although subjective, doesn’t look as good as the T-Roc
T-Roc:
Pros
1. Great to drive
2. Premium cabin
3. Looks better than Taigun
Cons
1. Strictly four seater
2. Feels cramped at the rear
Personally, I would pick the T-Roc over Taigun any day. |
I totally agree with whatever you said above. The only downside is the rear legroom for the T-roc and the fairly tall transmission tunnel. Quote:
Originally Posted by Sankar Between a discontinued (in India) pre-owned VW and an in-production VW I would choose the latter. In this particular case it is easier to choose the taigun because it gets the same powertrain as the t-roc and is cheaper. What is the USP of the t-roc if VW were to bring in another batch? None. Taigun GT took that spot. Its not a VW GTI or a Skoda RS.
Edit: I should rephrase the underlined as - What is the USP for VW to bring in another batch of t-rocs when they sell taigun here? |
Yes, that's also true.
Would the GTI arrive in the Indian market anytime soon? If yes, I don't mind waiting Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr ST Hi,
I can relate to your query since we travelled through the same area in our Tiguan Allspace which has a similar suspension characteristic to T- Roc. My choice would be Taigun since the road construction will take minimum 2-3 years to get completed. Taigun has a better suspension for irregular roads, it's cheaper, and you get a 5-star rated car with the colour of your choice. Hope this helps.
Regards |
Thanks for sharing your view. Yes, I also found Taigun to be much more comfy and when it comes to the potholes in our roads, Taigun would be the pick eyes closed. Quote:
Originally Posted by royalbeat I will be biased to say go with T-Roc. TDIRaghav has summed it up really well here. I was in my hometown and my brother showed me listing for a 2 year old T-Roc going for 22 lacs+ and it surprised me as well. However since I own a T-Roc I can see why it might be commanding such prices in pre-worshipped market:
1. Excellent build quality
2. Huge potential to modify
3. Looks, although are subjective. Everyone who has spoken to me about this car has always complimented its looks
I had an AC gas leakage issue right at the start of the ownership. There was a pin sized hole in the AC unit which made it lose cooling within a month. Downtown VW took 2 days to detect and solve the issue. I have not faced any problem wrt parts availability but yes it is one of the things that I am not 100% sure about as to how things will pan out in case such a situation arises.
To conclude, I will buy T-Roc again if I had to make this decision today. |
Thanks for sharing your views. I'm having a hard time making up my mind as both of these vehicles have their own pros and cons.
Is it possible to have the navigation show up in the instrument cluster through an after-market fitment? Any idea? I always end up missing certain turns while I'm the navigator on road trips Quote:
Originally Posted by aditya969 T-Roc! Simply because driving performance is an important factor for you, as I gather. Having owned a T-Roc for close to 2 years now, I can safely say I have not spent much at all on maintenance and parts. Yes, the parts are a tad expensive, but then premium does come at a cost and I have wrapped my head around this.
The interior plastic does disappoint but you get used to it and can live with it purely because the T-Roc makes up in driving dynamics and behavior. Once out on the open road, there is really no car which is so tightly set-up south of 25 Lakhs which can offer you a good driving experience.
The Taigun on the other hand is a good product as well but not really an enthusiasts preference IMHO. The way the chassis is set up and its driving dynamics are more on the softer side and although the engine will make sure you have fun given how free-revving it is, the dynamics will slightly disappoint.
The T-Roc also comes with a massive Panoramic sunroof and ADAS tech, which is likely to be more commonly found in the cars of the future, which will not give you the feeling of missing out on features. All in all, go for the T-Roc!! |
Thanks for sharing your views. I guess they removed ADAS from the 2021 variant. I'm not sure. Could someone confirm?
Also, the 2021 variant comes with c-type charging ports compared to normal USB ports on the 2020 variant. Is there any way to get it swapped on the 2020 variant? |