View Poll Results: Which one to choose?
Jeep Compass Diesel Auto 100 46.51%
Hyundai Tucson Diesel Auto 115 53.49%
Voters: 215. You may not vote on this poll

Old 30th November 2021, 17:02   #31

Re: Confused between the Jeep Compass and Hyundai Tucson

Tucson because its more reliable also diesel with 8 speed auto is amazing.

Compass has too many issues hence not recommended.

That being said Tucson looks dated and not 30 lakh INR SUV.

So neither gets overall recommend. Instead look into pre owned segment or increase budget to include Fortuner or decrease budget and get XUV 700.
heydj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th November 2021, 22:47   #32

Hi pms, having test driven both Tucson and Compass, the head is in favor of the Tucson and the heart is with the Compass.

The Tucson is more spacious, has a bigger boot, is more reliable, and cheaper to buy and own. It's a no brainer in either GLS or GL(O) trim.

The Compass on the other hand looks more handsome, has better quality interiors, and more feel-good features.

It comes down to the type of personal statement you want to make.

If you are an out and out family man with a corporate/executive bent of mind, please consider the Tucson. But if you are more young at heart with a rebellious/adventurous streak, the Compass would be better suited.
Pyrotek is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st December 2021, 19:37   #33

I can't vote yet, but my vote will go for Tucson. I recently purchased a Tucson GLS 2WD Diesel in Bangalore, just clocked 2500Kms in the past 3 weeks, and thoroughly enjoying the car, coming from a 6-year-old Verna Petrol AT.

It is evident from all the comments on this thread that if you were to make the decision by just the facts, the Tucson wins. Hyundai's trust, the technical specifications of the Tucson, the fit and finish, the excellent service+warranty options - all lead to Tucson.

If you put all the facts aside, your decision will solely be based on the looks. Do you like the look of the Tucson or the Compass? What does your family think? You (and your family) are going to live with this car for 7-8 years, so you'll have to think about this.

All the best with your purchase!

MOD NOTE - Car / Manufacturer / Brand specific meets or groups are not encouraged on Team-BHP as it limits participation of fellow enthusiasts and dents the wonderful camaraderie of Team-BHP. Thanks for support and understanding.

Last edited by Sheel : 1st December 2021 at 19:55. Reason: Mod note attached.
Bangaloreyoda is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st December 2021, 21:01   #34

I vote for Tucson out of the two (just overall better package) but would really encourage you to wait for facelift Tiguan and the new generation Tucson. That said, I collated few dimensions of similar segment cars (you can ignore the City as it gives me a good reference point since I own it) which I posted on Tiguan specific thread here (VW to launch Tiguan 5-seater SUV in 2021)

For ease, just sharing the table here:
Confused between the Jeep Compass and Hyundai Tucson-screenshot-20211201-1.53.39-pm.png

Note: MODS, please remove table if it comes under duplicate category.
neel911 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 1st December 2021, 22:23   #35

Just check if you are still able to book the current generation Tucson. We have booked the Elantra and they say they are doubtful of manufacturing it. We might not get it at all. New generation probably will be a little more expensive. For us, new Gen Elantra is a big no for its exterior styling
vinya_jag is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd December 2021, 07:25   #36

Originally Posted by vinya_jag View Post
Just check if you are still able to book the current generation Tucson. We have booked the Elantra and they say they are doubtful of manufacturing it. We might not get it at all. New generation probably will be a little more expensive. For us, new Gen Elantra is a big no for its exterior styling
I was able to book and my vehicle is already here. It took 10 days for the vehicle to come.

Dealer did mention that they don’t manufacture new stock in Dec. they ask all dealers on the plan and only manufacture those. When I booked, he showed me number of vehicles available in each Color (as per an email from Hyundai) and he said no more will be made till end of this year
rave20 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd December 2021, 12:08   #37
pms

No issues on the availability of Tucson. New gen Tucson is expected mid 2022 as per my SA, but he isn't so sure about it.

Thanks a lot for the overwhelming responses! Poll results show a clear indication towards Tucson. I have decided to wait a bit, couple more months and meanwhile check on the new Tiguan. As usual heart is inclined towards Compass and head to Tucson. I dont see much follow up for Tucson whereas I get multiple calls for Alcazar booking for a TD I took 2 months back!

On the other hand Jeep SA (from KHT Prime dealership) has been very pro-active and following up with me every week. When I informed him about the issues related to Compass reported on various forums, he is of the opinion that their dealership has minimal complaints as they do TD of every new vehicle for 20-30Kms to detect & rectify any issues before delivery. Sounded not so convincing and Jeep after sales experience is still a grey area.

To top it all SA mentioned they are going to increase prices by 40K for the top trims, it clearly shows the monopoly. There is no clear competition for Compass at the moment and that whole 25-40 Lacs range has hardly any vehicles once you start the search. On one side of spectrum you have the problem of plenty and other side hardly any

Skoda Karoq could have been a good competitor. Looking forward to check on the Tiguan now and take a decision in couple of months.
Old 3rd December 2021, 23:04   #38

I am in the same boat, had the urge to splurge and upgrade to premium car upto 40L. I had created a seperate thread on this topic. My heart was set on Compass but would have had to compromise on space and somewhat slow gearbox. Upon suggestions from fellow bhpians I am going to wait for new Tucson, Kodiaq and Jeep Meridian, fingers crossed.
ScorpWarp is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th December 2021, 18:31   #39

I wanted an AWD at around 30 lacs budget.
So, the only options were Compass, Tucson, XUV7OO and Isuzu D-Max V-Cross.

Did not consider Tiguan as it is Petrol and costs significantly more than the above.
Did not wish to wait for the new Tucson as it is at least 6 months away and I could not wait that long.

XUV7OO was rejected due to long waiting period.
Isuzu was rejected as it is too big.

Test drove Compass and Tucson.
While interiors of Compass are definitely better than Tucson, I did not feel that the interiors of Tucson were a letdown or too old/boring.
However, in terms of internal space Compass felt small and a segment lower than Tucson.

So, have booked the Tucson.

Last edited by desidino : 17th December 2021 at 18:33.
desidino is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th December 2021, 19:52   #40

Here are my findings

1. Engine Drivability - Tucson Diesel
2. Build quality - Compass
3. Handling - Compass
4. Ride quality - Tucson at low speeds
5. Ergonomics - Compass
6. Space - Tucson
7. ASS - Tucson
8. Reliability - Tucson except recent engine fire issues across the globe on petrol version
9. Safety - Compass

Final verdict - Compass is the better one out of two

Last edited by Jaggu : 18th December 2021 at 11:26. Reason: Please use report post to notify mod team.
Turbojet is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 21st February 2022, 11:54   #41

Originally Posted by yd_gli View Post
I am going to go against the grain here. I have been in the market for an SUV for a while now. I have test driven all versions of the Compass, Tucson, Harrier, C5, Endeavor (while it was on sale) and the Thar. Here is where things stand:
If you're spending that much, take some additional time, save up if you need to and buy a Fortuner. Nothing comes close. The rest are all just SUV marketing gimmicks.

My suggestion: Keep the City until it goes to the grave and use it as a beater. Buy a Thar, used Hexa to satisfy your SUV craving. You'll save a huge chunk of cash too by this option. If you don't like either of them, buy a Harrier. The road presence, ruggedness and space will at least make you feel like you're driving an SUV. Again you'll save a chunk of cash.
Totally agreed to your point. Almost all cars in market today being called SUV are in reality overgrown cars with SUV body shape. (In my view, no offence to anyone please).

Fortuner or Endeavour is proper SUV. Thar & Gurkha can also be considered.

My only 2 choices are 1. Fortuner 2. Thar.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com