Volkswagen Taigun 52 14.65%
Something bigger like an XUV700, Harrier etc 121 34.08%
Other (please specify in your post) 10 2.82%
Voters: 355. You may not vote on this poll

Old 25th August 2022, 19:36   #106

Re: MG Astor vs MG Hector vs Hyundai Creta vs Kia Seltos vs others

Hi Folks,

I've narrowed with on Seltos vs Creta (Turbo Petrol, Automatic). I've been hearing that Seltos has tuned its suspension on the softer side to match / be better than Creta? I stay in Bangalore so, driving pleasure of out of question for me.

Just want a soft drive, esp. on patchy, bumpy roads. Is it true that the newest Seltos is better than Creta on the suspension front? If yes, I'll buy it, considering everything is almost the same, and waiting period is considerably lesser.
Old 27th August 2022, 12:54   #107
agm

Hello fellow BHPians!

Few days back had asked for your help as to which SUV I should buy with budget of 21L on road. I have increased my budget slightly by another lakh. Now I also have the option of XUV700 Petrol AX5 AT. Which will come just under 22lakhs on road. Mahindra SA has promised me to deliver the vehicle within 2 months. At worst case scenario they said it’ll get delayed by another month and will deliver the vehicle to me by November.

Do you think this is a better option in this price bracket or I should stick to Creta SXo IVT which I can get within a month(Navratri).

Old 27th August 2022, 16:01   #108

Originally Posted by agm View Post
Hello fellow BHPians!

Few days back had asked for your help as to which SUV I should buy with budget of 21L on road. I have increased my budget slightly by another lakh. Now I also have the option of XUV700 Petrol AX5 AT. Which will come just under 22lakhs on road. Mahindra SA has promised me to deliver the vehicle within 2 months. At worst case scenario they said it’ll get delayed by another month and will deliver the vehicle to me by November.

Do you think this is a better option in this price bracket or I should stick to Creta SXo IVT which I can get within a month(Navratri).

Well Creta and XUV700 belong to two different categories and both are quite capable vehicles in their own way. I own a Creta and I love it for its perfect size for my family of 2 adults and 2 kids. IVT It is easy to drive in city and good handler on highways which suits both me and my wife's sedate driving style. I never found any lack of power during quick overtake. Having said that we are sedate drivers so happy with sticking to our lane and reasonable speeds. Another good thing about Creta is that it has loads of features which are appreciated and enjoyed by my family. In nutshell, Creta IVT would be a fuss free compact SUV which would do the job for you and the passengers.

Coming to XUV7OO, I'd say that if you are looking for a 3 seater with some novelty factor of owning the latest hearthrob of driving enthusiasts and its size / features of AX5 suit your needs then you can consider it over Creta. Driving dynamics would be different (and I suppose may be better) than Creta but you might lose out on some fancy or safety features. If you are ok with these, then XUV7OO would be a better bet.

Another thing, did I get you right that you are getting SX(O) IVT delivery within a month of booking?
That's seems too good to be true. Till about few months ago it's waiting list was about 6-8+ months In Bangalore. If you manage to get it within a reasonable time in your city, then it sounds like a good deal!

Last edited by Aviator_guy : 27th August 2022 at 16:22.
Aviator_guy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th August 2022, 17:54   #109
agm

Originally Posted by Aviator_guy View Post
I own a Creta and I love it for its perfect size for my family of 2 adults and 2 kids. IVT It is easy to drive in city and good handler on highways which suits both me and my wife's sedate driving style. I never found any lack of power during quick overtake. Having said that we are sedate drivers so happy with sticking to our lane and reasonable speeds. Another good thing about Creta is that it has loads of features which are appreciated and enjoyed by my family. In nutshell, Creta IVT would be a fuss free compact SUV which would do the job for you and the passengers.

Another thing, did I get you right that you are getting SX(O) IVT delivery within a month of booking?
That's seems too good to be true. Till about few months ago it's waiting list was about 6-8+ months In Bangalore. If you manage to get it within a reasonable time in your city, then it sounds like a good deal!
That’s exactly why I’m in two minds. Size of Creta is perfect for my kind of usage. It’ll be driven mostly by me alone inside the city with few highway trips every year with family(3 of us). When I was looking for a new vehicle I also happen to test drive Kia Carens & Hyundai Alcazar. Both dealership said it can be delivered to me within a month(Caren’s in two weeks time). But just because of its share size I rejected it. Xuv700 is even bigger than both Carens and Alcazar. Though I also have i20, which can be used for city commute. That made me consider xuv700.

Also, have been reading about Creta facelift which is already made available in few markets and should come to our shores within 6months according to some reports. I don’t want to shell out more than 20lakhs now and then within 6months time feel bad about it once the New Creta is launched.

No! I have booked Creta IVT SXo back in June. It’s been more than two months already and will take another month for the dealer to get the vehicle. They’ve promised me to deliver it by Navratri(preferably 5th of October on Dussehra)
Old 27th August 2022, 18:07   #110

Originally Posted by agm View Post
That’s exactly why I’m in two minds. Size of Creta is perfect for my kind of usage.

Also, have been reading about Creta facelift which is already made available in few markets and should come to our shores within 6months according to some reports. I don’t want to shell out more than 20lakhs now and then within 6months time feel bad about it once the New Creta is launched.
If you can wait for facelift then do but there is no point feeling bad if you get a car now and facelift arrives soon afterwards. It is immenent that competition will launch new products and facelifts would come but if you plan to keep the car for long time, these things should not matter. Get the one you like and be happy driving it and make memories
If it's some solace, new models are going to be costly than current ones so your budget would be stretched again.

Last edited by Aviator_guy : 27th August 2022 at 18:13.
Aviator_guy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th August 2022, 16:48   #111

Originally Posted by Venky_Biker View Post
Hi Folks,

I've narrowed with on Seltos vs Creta (Turbo Petrol, Automatic). I've been hearing that Seltos has tuned its suspension on the softer side to match / be better than Creta? I stay in Bangalore so, driving pleasure of out of question for me.

Just want a soft drive, esp. on patchy, bumpy roads. Is it true that the newest Seltos is better than Creta on the suspension front? If yes, I'll buy it, considering everything is almost the same, and waiting period is considerably lesser.
Venky, I'd suggest add MG Astor also to your consideration list. It has most things and more which Creta and Seltos have but in addition it also gives you 5 star safety.
neeravp is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th August 2022, 18:07   #112

So many overlapping options but very few where anyone will put their money. Eg Creta is at top of sales charts along with Kia. If I had to choose among these then would go for Creta or VW option due to its classy styling.
Old 5th September 2022, 14:00   #113

Re: With a budget of ~25 lakh, Jeep Compass or MG Astor

Originally Posted by neeravp View Post
So now, I’m confused between the 3rd and the 4th option above. Should I go for the safe but expensive option 3 or try my luck with option 4?

I can stretch my budget upto 30 if it comes to it - 25 is not a hard limit. And I plan to keep this car for the next 4-5 years and then upgrade to 1 or 2 segments above.

I’d really appreciate some guidance from the members here. Thanks a lot!
I recently test drove Taigun GT and Jeep compass Limited petrol. I can safely say that Taigun is much better to drive than the Compass.
I would suggest go for Taigun GT as it is a great car to drive. You will have loads of fun driving it in the city and the highways. It has decent rear space, and has a sunroof (not panoramic though).
TDIRaghav is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th September 2022, 15:19   #114

Re: First Car Under 14 Lacs - Feature Loaded

Originally Posted by Lord_Cheezus View Post
Hi Everyone!

Car usage and buying factors -
I am looking to have a vehicle that has good features to make life easier and also a car that has a great look/road presence. Apart from the office trips of 10 to 20 kms daily, I am also looking at exploring nearby areas in Bangalore on the weekends, so adding 300 kms occasionally each month. So a total usage of around 500-700 kms per month maximum.

Budget and Cars Considered -
I am definitely more leaned towards SUVs or the bigger looking vehicles over Sedans and Hatchbacks.
My budget is 12-14 Lacs on road price. I can stretch by 1 Lac if I am convinced that it is worth it and I am also open to buying pre-owned cars if someone has a good recommendation or past experience. I am open to Diesel or Petrol and Manual or Automatic.

What catches my attention in a car is having a good touchscreen with GPS, sunroof, driving automations and good looking interiors apart from mileage etc.

1. Hyundai Venue
2. MG Astor

Really love the features, the automations and the interiors but the model that falls in my budget does not offer a panoramic sunroof :(
3. Renault Duster
I like the road presence and was always fascinated by it as a kid but it lacks features and interiors don't look that premium I guess
4. Kia Sonet
5. Kia Seltos
6. Tata Harrier (second hand)
7. Open to Suggestions

Strongly suggest to go with automatics only. Now, in the mentioned budget:
(a) If you absolutely need a CSUV, Brezza AT would be a good choice, followed by Sonet/Venue {safety of Korean cousins is unproven though}
(b) Since Toyota is most likely to announce price for Hyryder soon, better to wait and see if it fits your requirements
(c) If you enjoy the sedans (lot of us do!), suggest you check out used 4th Gen Honda City CVT automatic. And, if you can slightly stretch your budget, 5th Gen Honda City V CVT is gettable (please negotiate for discounts).

Good luck!
Old 5th September 2022, 15:37   #115

Re: Advice on Replacing my 2013 Etios Liva with Compact SUV/MPV

Originally Posted by KetanRindani View Post
Hi Fellow Car Enthusiasts!
  1. I want a car with great ground clearance, as roads in Mumbai are replete with speed breakers, potholes, craters and 'fault lines' where concrete meets asphalt.
  2. Wants great suspension - preferably soft - as am usedd to Toyota.
  3. PETROL ONLY - with Hybrid option - but Mild Hybrid only.
  4. Build quality is high priority, as it's only the second line of defence (after God's protection). 4 airbags are required - 6 are preferred.
  5. Prefer AT - torque converter or CVT. Wanna avoid DCT and certainly do not like AMT/AGS.
  6. If I have to settle for manual (hope not), the gear shifts must be smooth and well-slotted.
  7. Mileage should be at least 11 in Mumbai's peak hour traffic, with AC ON fulltime.
  8. I am used to Liva's rush of power from Gear # 2 - so need something that has good throttle - both in-city and out.
  9. Ingress/egress must be easy as my 85-year old father has had walking issues and finds it a challenge to get into and especially out of a car. So a low-set SUV/MPV is not preferred, but a high one too may be a challenge.
  10. I do not wanna go for peripheral brands no matter how promising their cars might be - Citroen, Renault, Nissan. In fact, even want to avoid the VW family and if possible, Kia and Hyundai. Poor buld quality overall.
  11. I kow that it leaves me with only: Toyota, Honda, Tata, Mahindra and Maruti.
  12. Wanna avoid Tata (except Harrier, but it's expensive). My parents nearly lost their lives when my elder brother's Indigo Marina caught fire at Saki Naka, Mumbai, due to some electrical issue and the car turned into a fossil in barely an hour. The flames went up 3 storeys high, inviting TV channel crew and 300 spectators - except the fire engines, as they were stuck in the late evening office hour rush.
  13. AC must be Auto, and separate vents for 2nd and 3rd rows - all roof-mounted.
  14. Service backup must be thoroughly dependable. I doubt if anyone other than Toyota and Honda can match up to that.
  15. Overall product quality must be accomplished (Muqammal, in Urdu).

BUDGET: On-road, before accessorizing it, INR 12 lakhs to 17 lakhs MAX.

Now my fellow Car-Adorers, please lend your valuable guidance so I make a wise, no-regret decision. Lastly, my heart says go for a tall SUV but my head says settle for a medium-highted MPV. What should I do?
Kudos for being very specific in your requirements. But, having owned a Toyota myself for a good 3+ years, I can see most of your requirements can be met only with a Toyota (or a Honda) Nothing wrong at all. My 2 cents:
1. Although it might be very challenging, if you can find a pre-owned Innova AT, it'd be great.
2. It's worth waiting for Hyryder price announcement; test-drive the vehicle please
3. XL6 AT can be a decent choice as well, again, a through test-drive, preferably with family will help decide.
4. Wild-card: A well-maintained XUV500 AT with low odo (if you manage to find a good example, can be a good choice. However, you'll have to do a through background check before finalizing the vehicle. Please refer TBHP use-car buying guide for reference).

Good Luck!
VikramCS is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th September 2022, 10:53   #116

Hi Everyone!

I am new here and am here to pick your brains to help me buy my first car in Bangalore!
Welcome to the forum!

I would recommend the Kia Sonet HTX diesel Auto. Fits into your budget and is a beast in its segment, excelling as an overall package. With petrol, there's the concern about DCT woes and a 3-cylinder engine that isn't the best in refinement. The torque converter paired with the smooth diesel engine is an excellent combination.

I have had the Diesel automatic for 6 months now and have so far enjoyed the vehicle and ownership experience. I'm not a heavy user and have clocked close to 3500kms so far. The engine is one of the most refined I've come across.

I'm assuming you're talking about the duster turbo, which has a killer engine. But everything else feels a decade old.
If it helps, I was in a conundrum about Seltos vs Sonet diesel, but Sonet has a bit more grunt given its compact size.

If you're hell bent on petrol, then it would be a choice between Sonet and the new Venue.
Old 7th September 2022, 18:30   #117

Re: Advice on Replacing my 2013 Etios Liva with Compact SUV/MPV

Originally Posted by VikramCS View Post
Kudos for being very specific in your requirements. But, having owned a Toyota myself for a good 3+ years, I can see most of your requirements can be met only with a Toyota (or a Honda) Nothing wrong at all. My 2 cents:
1. Although it might be very challenging, if you can find a pre-owned Innova AT, it'd be great.
2. It's worth waiting for Hyryder price announcement; test-drive the vehicle please
3. XL6 AT can be a decent choice as well, again, a through test-drive, preferably with family will help decide.
4. Wild-card: A well-maintained XUV500 AT with low odo (if you manage to find a good example, can be a good choice. However, you'll have to do a through background check before finalizing the vehicle. Please refer TBHP use-car buying guide for reference).

Good Luck!
Thanks VikramCS!
  1. I have shortlisted the Ertiga ZXi+ and Creta S-iMT.
  2. XL6 ruled out as I cannot travel in it with 5 pax + luggage, as the 2nd row has captain seats.
  3. Creta's rear AC cranes its neck eagerly onto the middle pax ankles. And there's hardly any air throw. Driving is fun though.
  4. CYRUS MISTRY ACCIDENT: After shortlisting the Ertiga & Creta, I am wondering if these two cars are safe. Only Mahindra and Tata seem sturdy. Of course, we will not be driving at such speeds or dangerously.
  5. Is Maruti's Heartect technology really safe as they claim? Do they really have side crumple zones?
  6. Creta feels tough, but is it really tough or just cosmetically so?

I am thoroughly enjoying the car selection process, but want to bring it to a close soon, so I can finally get to driving the much-awaited 'whichever-model'!

Suggestions welcome.
Old 7th September 2022, 18:56   #118

1. Hyundai Venue
2. MG Astor

Really love the features, the automations and the interiors but the model that falls in my budget does not offer a panoramic sunroof :(
3. Renault Duster
I like the road presence and was always fascinated by it as a kid but it lacks features and interiors don't look that premium I guess
4. Kia Sonet
5. Kia Seltos
6. Tata Harrier (second hand)
7. Open to Suggestions

[/u].
Reading all your requirements, it looks like you will have to settle with the Koreaan duo. Either a Creta / Seltos are the only two to my knowledge that can fit your requirements. You may incline more towards Kia since Seltos will meet the more fancy requirements than the creta. But then, it's possible that your budget may go upwards. Understandably these are neither value for money nor safer cars.
Old 8th September 2022, 14:22   #119

Originally Posted by bajoseph04 View Post
Reading all your requirements, it looks like you will have to settle with the Koreaan duo. Either a Creta / Seltos are the only two to my knowledge that can fit your requirements. You may incline more towards Kia since Seltos will meet the more fancy requirements than the creta. But then, it's possible that your budget may go upwards. Understandably these are neither value for money nor safer cars.
I also agree with this opinion. Charts won't lie and Creta and Seltos bring so much value on the table and hard to beat. Another thing I want to mention, there is one full segment difference between lower variants and top variants in both Creta and Seltos. If you can stretch your budget, go for SX(O) 1.4 DCT in Creta or GTX+ 1.4 DCT in Seltos. Except ADAS, top variants have all nice to have features which really steps up cabin experience
Old 10th September 2022, 16:04   #120

Re: With a budget of ~25 lakh, Jeep Compass or MG Astor

Originally Posted by neeravp View Post
Hello guys,

This is my first post here on Team-BHP. Have been an avid follower of the forum for years now. The passion and attention to detail of members here is unmatched. I trust posts here more than expert reviews I read elsewhere on popular car blogs.

Now coming to my question -

I’m a 40 year old with a teenage daughter and a wife. The three of us are the ones who generally travel in our car. My parents are with us only occasionally. I currently drive a pre-owned XUV500 which I’ve used for 6 years our of 10 it has been used overall. I and my family absolutely love it and I know I don’t need to go into why owners love their XUV500s.

However, given the age of the car and the hard and long clutch in my manual, driving in bumper-to-bumper Mumbai traffic is really hurting my left leg bad. I’m out in the market looking for a car somewhere in the range of 20-25 lakhs. I’ve shortlisted the following cars:

1. Taigun GT+

I like the Taigun but my daughter wants a panaromic sunroof. That’s the only thing that she looks for. Hence, this option is out

2. Harrier top model

This one feels almost similar to my XUV500, which is great. Just that the car is too large (again similar to XUV500) and hence difficult to drive in a city. Also, all the driver controls and material inside felt cheap.

3. Jeep Petrol Limited
All of us loved this one.
Smaller dimensions, large sunroof, premium cabin and excellent to drive. Only negative is the price.

4. MG Astor top model

I’ve added this one to my list just now, yet to TD. This one seems like a good combination of everything I’m looking for. Small dimensions (as compared to my XUV500), large sunroof, premium cabin and also well within my budget. Just that I’m not sure if things are as good as they seem, especially given it’s a Chinese brand. I also don’t see a crash test rating.

So now, I’m confused between the 3rd and the 4th option above. Should I go for the safe but expensive option 3 or try my luck with option 4?

I can stretch my budget upto 30 if it comes to it - 25 is not a hard limit. And I plan to keep this car for the next 4-5 years and then upgrade to 1 or 2 segments above.

I’d really appreciate some guidance from the members here. Thanks a lot!
Thanks guys for all the suggestions and tips. Like I said, the brain said go for MG Astor while the heart said Jeep Compass. I listened to the heart and got myself a Jeep Compass Petrol AT Model S (O2). Couldn't have been happier with the decision, no post-purchase dissonance so far

MG Astor vs MG Hector vs Hyundai Creta vs Kia Seltos vs others-img_9135.jpg
neeravp is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com