Tata Harrier 61 13.41%
MG Hector 6 1.32%
Mahindra XUV500 17 3.74%
Other (please specify in your post) 34 7.47%
Voters: 455. You may not vote on this poll

Old 21st May 2023, 22:23   #151

Re: Compact SUV | 15-18 lakhs budget | Taigun, Creta, Seltos?

Originally Posted by Ordinaryme View Post
Hey man.. thanks for acknowledging my post as well. Since you've test ridden the smaller cars, from a personal point of view, do you feel these SUVs are worth the 4-5 lakhs premium over the sub compact segment? Over the long run, it might not feel like a huge amount; but then, an initial 30% additional cost is always going to pinch, right?
To be honest, I didn't feel much of a difference because my test drives were mostly in the city with traffic (whenever I test drove). So it was more of a test of how the ride comfort was, was I feeling comfortable as a driver, was it very evident that the car was going over a bumpy road or potholes etc.

But as for car's performance and thrill, it all depends on the engine. Most of the bigger cars have bigger engines compared to small cars. Though some bigger cars too have same 1L engine. Then if the engine is turbo charged or not etc. All these things matter when it comes to the thrill of driving the car in my opinion.

One of the biggest factor for me was 3 cylinder engine vs 4 cylinder engines. Like Nexon had a 3 cylinder one and hence more noise compared to a 4 cylinder one. I have already been driving a 4 cylinder one so wanted to stick to it.

As Bijims mentioned, the biggest difference is in the space and comfort when comparing bigger and smaller cars. I will recommend trying out Venue and then trying out Creta whenever you got to the showroom next. You will be able to distinguish the difference instantly.

As for me, one of the biggest reason to increase my budget and move away from a sub compact SUV was the panoramic sun roof and the rear seat comfort. None of the smaller cars had it. I am going to keep the car for a long period of time so definitely didn't want to have regrets.
Old 4th June 2023, 23:20   #152

Re: VW Taigun vs Skoda Kushaq vs Hyundai Creta vs Kia Seltos vs others

I went ahead and trimmed my options to just Seltos and Taigun 1L, since the Seltos HTX and the the Taigun topline are both priced almost the same. (Didn't really like the looks of the Creta)

Having driven the WagonR my entire life, I honestly couldn't really differentiate between the two. They both were smooth and felt premium. In fact, I felt the Seltos did better with handling and gear shifting than the Taigun somehow. It could be maybe because I TD on city roads.

Moving on to interiors and space - Seltos is way ahead of the Taigun. Taigun might be spacious in itself, but compared to Seltos, its way too narrow. With all the tech inside, Seltos just felt more luxurious.

Coming to an important factor- Safety and build quality issues. Now Taigun is obviously 5 star rated and I've read and heard that Seltos isn't safety rated.. But can I rule out Seltos based on this factor? Is it a deal breaker for you guys? Please do let me know.

Overall, after the TD of Seltos, I felt that Taigun might just be a premium Sonet/Venue, and just a tad less practical for a semi luxury car.

Does all this feel like I'm blindsided a little, or does it feel I'm not looking at the right angles? Would appreciate all the views.
Old 5th June 2023, 05:06   #153

Infractions: 0/2 (19)

Originally Posted by Ordinaryme View Post
I went ahead and trimmed my options to just Seltos and Taigun 1L, since the Seltos HTX and the the Taigun topline are both priced almost the same. (Didn't really like the looks of the Creta)

Having driven the WagonR my entire life, I honestly couldn't really differentiate between the two. They both were smooth and felt premium. In fact, I felt the Seltos did better with handling and gear shifting than the Taigun somehow. It could be maybe because I TD on city roads.

Moving on to interiors and space - Seltos is way ahead of the Taigun. Taigun might be spacious in itself, but compared to Seltos, its way too narrow. With all the tech inside, Seltos just felt more luxurious.

Coming to an important factor- Safety and build quality issues. Now Taigun is obviously 5 star rated and I've read and heard that Seltos isn't safety rated.. But can I rule out Seltos based on this factor? Is it a deal breaker for you guys? Please do let me know.

Overall, after the TD of Seltos, I felt that Taigun might just be a premium Sonet/Venue, and just a tad less practical for a semi luxury car.

Does all this feel like I'm blindsided a little, or does it feel I'm not looking at the right angles? Would appreciate all the views.
The Seltos is 3-star rated by GNCAP whereas the Taigun is 5-star rated, However, the Seltos comes with 6 airbags and all requisite active and passive safety features as standard and offers a more complete product, Ideally the Seltos and Creta offer the best overall value in this segment.

The other factor you need to consider now is the upcoming Seltos facelift, with the same due in a month or so, you would be driving an older generation, that too this close to launch, however, Kia is offering great discounts on the Seltos to clear up the inventory, So it is a matter of either get the best deal now and don't worry about the facelift or If you do indeed wait for the facelift, prices will surely be much higher than what they are now but with a few additional addons, The Taigun, however, will always be an option as it hardly sells numbers.

So, take a decision depending on your priorities and you would be good to go.
bijims is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th October 2023, 13:18   #154

What car under 20L

Dear MOD, pl merge this post if should not be here, Thanks

Hello Friends,
I need your suggestion for the new cars.

Little about my current drives- My current garage is parked with a 2011 Chevrolet Beat, a 2014 Tata Zest, and a 2023 Renault Kiger. All are petrol.
My primary daily driver is the Beat with 1.2 Petrol + LPG. while I am very happy with the car, recently I started facing a hard clutch issue so gave it to the garage, G.V. automobile in Ravet, for the clutch change. After a day, they returned my car in a horrible condition.
1. The clutch paddle position is in the air. you need to literally keep your left foot in the air to operate it.
2. The steering pump is not working so it is difficult to part the vehicle, forget about driving.
3. when you press the clutch, the engine rpm goes all the way up to 3000 rpm. when I raised this with G.V.Auto, he said the accelerator wire is at fault.

I asked him to take the car back and return it in proper shape the way handed over to him. For the past 4 days, he is still doing the job. Every time I called him the same answer " Sir, work is completed, only trial pending. We will deliver today".
I know he has done something irreparable now. So the itching to buy a new car has started strongly now.

Straight to the point...
Requirements...
- Must be automatic (No AMT's)
- Preferably diesel as my daily running is almost 60 KM
- SUV
- at 4 star GNCAP
- Mostly running in the city and occasional highway driving
- Should have the latest technologies. I prefer to keep the car for the next 10-12 years and so would not want to feel outdated after 5-6 years in today's world where tech in cars changes every day
- Budget around 20 L

Shortlisted cars

- Tata Nexon which meets all the requirements.
- VW Taigun
- Tata Harrier - I know it is way out of the above figure. But when I saw it in the showroom, that #dark is just a love at first site. I could not take my eyes off her towards Nexon.

- MG Hector - Loos Macho but outside does not appeal as like as harrier and the mileage stories around are scary.

My queries -
What is your opinion on Nexon DCA? Many of my fellow bhpian are taking deliveries here, pl share your views on DCA particularly. My wife's Kiger CVT works like a charm both in the city and on the highway. How good/bad is DCA with respect to CVT practically?

Is it worth spending a few more and going for Harrier Adventure+A? I can do it but then need to go for a huge loan.

Any other option here, pl suggest.
Old 29th October 2023, 13:44   #155

Re: What car under 20L

Originally Posted by satish.gawai View Post
[b]

Requirements...
- Must be automatic (No AMT's)
- Preferably diesel as my daily running is almost 60 KM
- SUV
- at 4 star GNCAP
- Mostly running in the city and occasional highway driving
- Should have the latest technologies.
You can consider Maruti Grand Vitara-
It meets all your requirements, SUV(as per current standards & demand), automatic, 4-star safety rating(for its smaller sibling Brezza which can be extrapolated to Grand Vitara too I suppose), good fuel efficiency, trusted service support and resale value and under 20 lacs.
It's not diesel but have a good fuel efficiency. If you can shell out some more, then can opt for a strong hybrid variant with even better fuel economics.
It's also fitted with all the gizmos, bells & whistles and the hybrid is here to stay.
I strongly believe instead of EVs, it's the hybrids which have the potential to thrive in India.
Hope it helps
Thankyou
thebonedoc is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th October 2023, 10:30   #156

[b]
Shortlisted cars

- Tata Nexon which meets all the requirements.
- VW Taigun
- Tata Harrier
- MG Hector
For 60km a day running I wouldn't recommend Taigun since you yourself said Diesel is preferable. Of the rest, Nexon looks out of place in this comparison as it is a segment below in terms of space. Not ideal if you want to keep for 10-12 years. Do consider adding XUV700 to the mix.

I would personally choose XUV700 over Hector over Harrier. You won't be wrong to choose any of these 3.
nvssudheer is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th October 2023, 16:17   #157

Originally Posted by thebonedoc View Post
You can consider Maruti Grand Vitara-
It meets all your requirements, SUV(as per current standards & demand),
I strongly believe instead of EVs, it's the hybrids which have the potential to thrive in India.
Hope it helps
Thankyou
Thanks thebonedoc. I saw Grand Vitara of colleague but it doest feel that premium for that asking price. Hybrid is good but again the battery is questionable how long it will work and what will the cost after that. But I will test drive it for sure.

Originally Posted by nvssudheer View Post
Of the rest, Nexon looks out of place in this comparison as it is a segment below in terms of space. Not ideal if you want to keep for 10-12 years. Do consider adding XUV700 to the mix.

I would personally choose XUV700 over Hector over Harrier. You won't be wrong to choose any of these 3.
Thanks nvssudheer,
I kept Nexon in the list since it fits my budget. but you rightly said that it is one segment below. XUV 700 is a good option. Any idea which varient will be most suitable in my case which will have decent list of features + AT.

Thank you.
satish.gawai is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th October 2023, 16:32   #158

Any idea which varient will be most suitable in my case which will have decent list of features + AT
AX3 has only 2 airbags, AX5 misses out on ADAS and reverse camera

I am surprised they are not giving reverse camera on a car that costs over 20 lakhs

At least it gets 4 airbags and panoramic sunroof. AX7 is very expensive and is a 7 seater, so I would suggest AX5 but you might want to get a reverse camera fitted.
nvssudheer is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st October 2023, 11:28   #159

Originally Posted by nvssudheer View Post
AX3 has only 2 airbags, AX5 misses out on ADAS and reverse camera

At least it gets 4 airbags and panoramic sunroof. AX7 is very expensive and is a 7 seater, so I would suggest AX5 but you might want to get a reverse camera fitted.
AX5 doesn't feel VFM. It is more or less a 20 lakh ex-showroom with no camera/ADAS and only 4 airbags, no (A)cruise control and no 360-degree camera.
The advantage of the XUV700 is that it has a sorted engine and transmission.
Old 24th May 2024, 18:34   #160

How do all of these stack up now in 2024 with the facelifted versions or additional variants introduced by all these manufacturers?
What’s a VFM and a safe (safety and less downtime in garage) pick in the 1.5l segment around 25lacs OTR.

We are looking to upgrade and looking for a Petrol AT with the usage being 80% city and 20% highway.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com