Team-BHP - Honda to launch CBR650R sportbike in India soon

-   Superbikes & Imports (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/superbikes-imports/)
-   -   Honda to launch CBR650R sportbike in India soon (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/superbikes-imports/289905-honda-launch-cbr650r-sportbike-india-soon.html)

According to a media report, Honda is planning to introduce the new CBR650R in India soon. It is said that the sportbike could be launched in the coming weeks.

Honda to launch CBR650R sportbike in India soon-screenshot-20250114-142620.jpg

The Honda CBR650R is a fully-faired sportbike. It is powered by a 648cc, inline 4-cylinder engine that produces 94 BHP @ 12,000 rpm and 63 Nm @ 9,500 rpm. The engine is paired with a 6-speed gearbox via an E-Clutch.

In terms of features, the CBR650R is equipped with a 5-inch TFT instrument console with Bluetooth connectivity. Then there’s the E-Clutch, which eliminates the need to use the clutch while shifting or when coming to a halt.

Honda to launch CBR650R sportbike in India soon-20250114115008_c2.jpg

Reports suggest that Honda might also launch the naked version, the CB650R, alongside the CBR650R. It also uses the same 648cc engine paired with a 6-speed gearbox via an E-Clutch.

Source: Autocar India

Link to Team-BHP News

Teasers published - so this is definitely happening. In typical Honda fashion, the only question is the price.

Also per rumours- it will be the E-Clutch versions this time:

Honda to launch CBR650R sportbike in India soon-screenshot_20250114_135207_instagram.jpg

Honda to launch CBR650R sportbike in India soon-screenshot_20250114_155340_instagram.jpg

I seriously hope HMSI offers bikes like the Fireblade, CBR 600RR, CB 1000R and the Hornet 750 as well and if they sensibly are able to price then the CB/CBR 500 would be a wonderful thing to have on offer.

More than pricing, the horrendous big wing showroom experience awaits prospective customers. As usual, they will have zero idea regarding booking, availability, allotments and delivery dates. I had tried for the NX500 once and gave up. Plenty of customers will end up walking away after initial booking. The alloted numbers for india would also be very small, ensuring 100% booking for any exorbitant pricing.

I called the showroom a couple of days before. They've no idea about the motorbike itself. They said they'll call me back but didn't call me back. :(

The BigWing dealers in Bangalore seem to have no clue about these launches. They are interested only in selling CB 350 and CB 350 RS bikes and make some bucks on accessories. I was very keen to upgrade from my aging Duke 390. HMSI should revisit their showroom experience if they are planning to launch these outstanding machines. But I feel they will overprice them thus saving us from 'BigWing' showroom visit and experience!

Originally Posted by akshayhonda (Post 5910318)
I seriously hope HMSI offers bikes like the Fireblade, CBR 600RR, CB 1000R and the Hornet 750 as well and if they sensibly are able to price then the CB/CBR 500 would be a wonderful thing to have on offer.

The CB 1000 Hornet and the CB 750 Hornet are also coming in soon.

There is no 'Blade or baby 'Blade planned for India.

Originally Posted by anuragbagur (Post 5910467)
The BigWing dealers in Bangalore seem to have no clue about these launches.

I visited the Bangalore Bigwing showroom just yesterday to pick up my booking receipt for the CB650R. Pricing will play a crucial role on whether I go ahead with the purchase or not.

When I asked about the launch dates, they said that the bikes would be launched in March.

And today there's this teaser from Honda. I don't know what to think. Let's see if it is indeed March or sooner.

I had enquired last year at Big Wing Worli regarding launch of CBR 650R.

They had no clue when the bikes will be launched. The expected price discussed was around 10.44 L INR. And there were already more than 75 people interested with funds ready to buy as per the showroom person while Honda was selling only 50 units Pan India.

Don’t understand this strategy by Honda and Yamaha (for ignoring Indian big bike market completely). CBR 650R will be sold out once it get launched. Honda should capitalize the opportunity.

Originally Posted by Guru_Shikhar (Post 5910513)

CBR 650R will be sold out once it get launched. Honda should capitalize the opportunity.

Oh Don't worry they will, I am guessing a price of 10.99 lacs Ex-showroom. Thankfully the third sibling Kawasaki continues to be supportive of Indian Bike market.

Look at Ducati they are a premium brand but still are aspirational enough to launch 14 new models this year in India, and Honda can't even sell what they have already launched.

Originally Posted by TusharK (Post 5910260)
According to a media report, Honda is planning to introduce the new CBR650R in India soon. It is said that the sportbike could be launched in the coming weeks.

As much as I love the CBR650R, the 1000RR Fireblade I seriously wish Honda to relaunch the more relevant CBR250R, it was seriously a gem of a motorcycle, the looks, the ergonomics and that tasty liquid cooled engine with slick gearbox is what everyone loved about that bike.

If Honda relaunches the CBR250R even at a premium to say something like a Gixxer SF250 I would bite the bullet. I'm looking to buy a quarter litre somewhat economical motorcycle for myself since a long time and too sad Honda discontinued it after BS6, the second hand options for it are best avoided and spare parts availability is a big concern too.

I seriously hope somebody at HMSI is listening.

Thank you
Tony

There's a lot of press that companies get on relaunching motorcycles that were already on sale for a significant period of time. I for one don't think companies deserve this. This should be titled "Honda to relaunch..."

We all knew it was coming already from the last post, the one showing multiple bikes including CB1000R and that 160cc Adventure scooter.

Price, if I had to guess should be around 10L for the naked version, e-clutch included.

CBR 650R is priced 9.99 lakhs ex-showroom and CB 650R at 9.2 lakhs ex-showroom. If my guess is right, it was around 9.35 ex-showroom back in 2022 when it was stopped. A hike of around Rs. 55000/- .I am sure many will get this eyes closed. But he problem still remains - availability! Honda seems to have priced it just right in comparison with its closest rivals, namely the Daytona 660, GSX 8R, the Z900 and the Trident. The inline 4 advantage I suppose.

Launched!

I believe the CBR is priced competitively w.r.t to the Daytona 660 which is the only main competition.

But the CB650R may be priced half a segment higher than competition as usual -

Honda to launch CBR650R sportbike in India soon-img20250115wa0016.jpg

Honda to launch CBR650R sportbike in India soon-img20250115wa0017.jpg

Ya just came to post this, they have surprised me by launching it a lac cheaper then what I was anticpating. That said they way prices have been escalating, I would have been surprised for anything cheaper. So guess they have price it at par with market, so can't complain.

Watered down Daytona is the only competition and probably this would be more preferred with lower maintenance cost and being more reliable.