Old 28th October 2024, 10:59   #31

Re: Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro

More detailed notes for this comparison please

I know the riding posture is more aggressive in the new 10R compared to the RR.
Had the chance to be riding a brand new 10R (bought by another member friend here and i am waiting for him to disclose it and not spoil it) back to back with my S1000 over the last 2-3 weekend rides and the thing that hits you about the 10R is the smoothness and refinement. That bike is addictively smooth.

The S1000 is a buzzy bike- thanks to no counter-balancer on the engine and it shows. For track rides, it is fine and traffic crawl is also ok, but if you doing the 80-120plus in lower gears, the BMW will leave your hands buzzing a decent bit. Yes, the 10R is a slightly more aggressive but not by much. As long as you do not put a lot of weight on the wrists, it is manageable. Then there is heat management- the S1000 is known to run hot and the ZX10R just does not heat that much. The japs have the heat management aced. Where the BMW shines is handling and braking. It stops on a dime and even though the 10R has Brembo M50s, they are no match for the BMW. On the handling front, again, not a difference of day and night but i have found the BMW to just tip in a little better and quicker in to corners. The overall paint and plastic quality is at par and not much to differentiate there.

With the price gap becoming narrower for the MY25 models, i see maybe more people walking in to the BMW showroom as it still has that slight aspirational appeal. Both bikes are fairly well equipped and my only real grouse with Kawasaki is the rubber brake lines. Should have come from the factory with those.

All 1000s are crazy accelerating machines and i hate this top speed/1st gear pull numbers that Instagram/Youtube is full of- you have to learn to respect these machines so as to not find yourself wrapped around a tree. Ego at home, right wrist under check and you will smile all the way on both the bikes.

Last edited by RohanDheman : 28th October 2024 at 11:17.
RohanDheman is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 28th October 2024, 11:16   #32

Originally Posted by abhi_tjet View Post
Well said!
Congratulations on the beast of a bike AtheK. Loved reading the review and the pre-story to find the bike.

My Multistrada heats like anything on a choc-a-bloc traffic and I can only imagine what will be the situation on a Panigale with much higher state of tune!
:
Thanks a ton Abhi!! Yes Ducati are prone to heat, we just can't get around that.

Originally Posted by Aditya View Post
Exceptional, unbiased & detailed ownership reviews of bikes have started going to our homepage reviews box. It's the ultimate stamp of trust from Team-BHP (as a platform) because lakhs of visitors every month check out reviews from there & make purchase decisions.

Your review has also been included here. Thank you so much for sharing .

Attachment 2674764
Thanks Aditya!

Originally Posted by SnS_12 View Post
Somehow, we never spoke about you buying a stock used end can. We biker humans are a funny bunch, we get a bike with stock exhaust and start looking for aftermarket exhausts. God, leads us to to a bike with aftermarket exhaust and here we go shopping for a stock exhaust

Congratulation's once again on a beautiful inline four rocket ship and as Krishna said your customization has only begun.
Such is life, but I like to have all the stock parts of my bike and that too in perfect condition, so that dent always kept standing out as a sore thumb. Still waiting for stock windshield to land at home, though I doubt it will ever go on bike. The last stock parts to procure are the end bars, though I am in no rush as I do not think the levers are going anywhere.

More detailed notes for this comparison please

I know the riding posture is more aggressive in the new 10R compared to the RR.
Rohan summed it up really well, ZX10R for me is a bike which is the most value for money. The heat is contained so well and lower gears are much more refined, though not by much, but definitely a bit better. It could be the height issue too, but I still find ZX10R way more committed then S1000RR, for your height it should be OK. Also the front of the 10R is a big put off for me, but then that is me, also the speedometer looks a bit dated now. While part sharing is great, Kawasaki should look at differentiating there top of the line bike. Also in ZX10R I feel the way you get tucked in, it restricts your field of view, which seems to be much better on S1K. Another thing that I really hated in 959 and still present in Zx10R is missing fuel indicator, not sure why they can't have it, the LCD panel on S1000RR is the most detailed and functional of all three.

Panigale continue to make life difficult for it's owners, I was on ride with a friend this weekend on his V4 and we stopped to refuel on a nice Saturday morning, his bike fan was running, which usually means temperature was above 104 degree, what was S1K showing, 82 degrees!!

When we stopped after the ride at toll to say bye, again his fan was running, while S1K showed 91 degree. There is a reason Ducati removed the temperature numbers on Panigale and moved to bars, they just don't want to give panic attacks to there buyers. The bike though looks amazing!!

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-whatsapp-image-20241028-11.15.33-am.jpeg

I have moved back to Akrapovic Carbon long can, the shorty was just too much to handle. The last ride with the shorty can, which you could hear almost from a Km away. Could be me but I felt it made bike a bit more buzzier and a bit Jerky as well. The Long can is absolutely smooth though, need to get a Carbon fibre exhaust hanger though, the stock foot peg one looks bad.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-whatsapp-image-20241026-12.08.46-pm.jpeg

Originally Posted by 14000rpm View Post
I was at BMW Museum and Welt 2 weeks ago in Munich and spent some time looking at the Motorad Portfolio past and present and wondered who BMW's buyers are for their sports bikes and why they choose BMW.

Guess I've got my answer now.

Great Review. Happy Riding.
Thank you, You should also look at there GS/GSA series they are Tourer favourites and sell in huge numbers.

Originally Posted by RohanDheman View Post
All 1000s are crazy accelerating machines and i hate this top speed/1st gear pull numbers that Instagram/Youtube is full of- you have to learn to respect these machines so as to not find your wrapped around a tree. Ego at home, right wrist under check and you will smile all the way on both the bikes.
Well said and compared, I think the gaps between litre class are very narrow now, and it should ideally be what pulls you, that should define the bike you want.

Most VFM Bike - ZX10R

Most Rounded Bike - S1000RR

Italian Beauty with Anger(heat) issues - Ducati V4

Not considering RSV4 as it is just too expensive and if you are a fanboy only then you will get it. R1 obviously has disappeared now.

Kawasaki as you clearly said is losing the price advantage, 1.4 lacs increase just for a new sticker job is crazy, but this probably is a way for them to adjust on the dollar increase. What this might do is that it might start pushing S1K numbers higher, with a 10 lac+ gap between Msport and V4S, we know why we are seeing so many BMW on our roads suddenly, it is kind of becoming the bike to go for the guys looking to enter the litre class category. The situation is such that though number of bikes are increasing it is so tough to get a good used bike in the market. I am sure BMW management is taking a note and I fear an imminent price hike coming for S1K also.

Last edited by AtheK : 28th October 2024 at 11:31.
AtheK is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st January 2025, 18:24   #33

Last week marked a year of ownership of the bike. It has been an amazing ownership till now and I have enjoyed every minute of riding this beast of a bike. Time though flies and it just feels like yesterday I got the bike home.

With every birthday a gift is in order, so to celebrate this moment I looked up at the list of pending mods on my mind from the thread, and priority was to get side panels in carbon fibre. Timing panned out and a friend was travelling to Thailand and luckily the part was in stock with RPM Carbon, so an order was placed, and the part was delivered to my friend in a week's time.

Here is the photo that I received from my friend when he received it.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-smile-lanna.jpeg

The name of the hotel seems apt, as it does bring a smile on your face when you know a new part is arriving.

I got the part with me next week, and this was the part which was kicking my OCD because of a small scratch on it, so as soon I got the part, I got to work of Installing the part.

The parts all ready to be unwrapped and go on bike.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-unboxing.jpeg

Seat removed

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-seat-removed.jpeg

Top Panel removed

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-top-tank-cover-removed.jpeg

It is not too tough a job and these are the only two parts that needed to be removed, just need to be careful while taking out the old panel to not break any clips. The clip holders are then used from old panel onto new Carbon Fiber panels.

Side Panel removed

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-panel-removed.jpeg

Old Panels.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-old-panels.jpeg

New Carbon Fiber Panel Installed

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-cf-panel-installed.jpeg

Closer look.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-closer-look.jpeg

After Installing though I realised it's been sometime the bike got a wash, so a birthday wash was in order, bike getting a nice wash after the Installation.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-bike-wash.jpeg

Here is the final product.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-final-product.jpeg

Another part that was long awaited was the Carbon Fiber Exhaust hangar, I got this as well when my brother came down from Switzerland and it was promptly installed on the bike.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-cf-hangar.jpeg

Few more carbon fibre parts are in my bucket list, the transformation has begun.

What is a birthday if the bike is not ridden and put through its paces, so we planned a longish ride on the day we got the bike hom. Luckily since it is 14th January it is a holiday and this gives me a chance to take the bike out on all the future birthdays also. We decided to visit a temple on Hassan road which was on our bucket list for very long. It's called Mavanuru Malleshwara Temple, and it is on a small hill top with the windmills in background, it gives us a good chance to click some photos close to the windmills as well.

So three of us started early morning and it was a very pleasant ride with a very little drizzle to accompany us through out the day, it never transformed into a full rain which made the ride that much more pleasant. First stop was to have breakfast at mayura, usually the stop here is Dhruvatare or Vaishali, but we decided to skip the normal and had a good meal at hotel Mayura a few kilometres ahead of the other two usually crowded places.

Bikes resting after a good 140 kilometres of non stop riding.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-bikes-resting.jpeg

Got a chance to experience sitting on the XR for first time and it is such a comfortable machine, I always thought it was a tad smaller than it actually ended up to be. The bike is pretty big and it shows when you sit on it. I was offered to ride the bike, but today being the birthday of my bike, I politely declined the offer as I wanted to ride my own bike all day long. In my next ride I will surely take up the offer and give you a brief review of how the bike rides.

We from there moved on and the roads were mainly highway and the tarmac is very good, so it is very easy to cover a lot of distance in a short span of time with capable machines. The temple is around a detour of 10 kilometres from the highway, and we encountered this nice waterbody, and we could not resist stopping to click a few photos.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-waterbody.jpeg

We then reached the hilltop and here are a couple of clicks just before getting to the temple.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-windmill-1.jpeg

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-windmill-2.jpeg

The partners in Crime

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-partners-crime.jpeg

The view from top is mesmerizing and you can hear the windmills, we spent a good amount of one hour just clicking photos and talking.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-windmills-3.jpeg

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-windmills-4.jpeg

RR & 10R

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-10r-rr.jpeg

RR & XR

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-rr-xr.jpeg

One rolling shot with a bit of editing.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-edited-rolling-shot.jpeg

The journey back was quick, we rode together till Neelmangala toll and I wanted to avoid traffic and also wanted to ride the bike a little longer so I took the STRR and reached home safe and sound. The others went back through city and told me that traffic was very less. Below is total distance covered in the day and bike continues to impress me by returning an impressive mileage of 17.8 Kmpl for a journey of around 460 kilometres.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-total-travelled.jpeg

This was then followed by a wash before realising that the tyres are gone.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-wash-return.jpeg

The bike has now done close to 6750 kilometres and when I got it, it was around 2900 kilometres, so I have got to ride it close to 4000 kilometers in a year. While I would have wanted to ride it more, my work commitments have reduced my riding time quite a bit. Next upgrade are going to be tyres and I have also moved back to stock exhaust.

Here is the last photo of the day with bike all washed up and shining before being put back on paddock to be next taken directly for a tyre swap.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-shining-again.jpeg

Until next time!

Last edited by AtheK : 21st January 2025 at 18:52.
AtheK is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2025, 11:56   #34

Originally Posted by AtheK View Post
and I have also moved back to stock exhaust.
Looking great! Those carbon bits are elevating the bike! May have missed some update, why the move back to stock exhaust?

wolfy is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2025, 14:10   #35

Hi @AtheK. 17.8 Kmpl !!
I literally had to zoom in the picture to believe. Simply astonishing figures. Is it because of Road mode or something else? I never got mileage more than 14.5 kmpl doing speeds around 80-100 kmph.

I even noticed the average speed you have maintained in that trip log around 93 kmph which means roads were quite nice. But still 17.8 kmpl.

Last edited by Torq-D : 23rd January 2025 at 14:13. Reason: Added few points.
Torq-D is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2025, 15:03   #36

Originally Posted by wolfy View Post
Looking great! Those carbon bits are elevating the bike! May have missed some update, why the move back to stock exhaust?
Thanks mate, ya carbon bits makes the bike pop a bit, I have planned few more parts for next birthday. Regarding move to stock exhaust, it is mainly because cops have been cracking hard from last couple of months, so I decided to move to stock exhaust for few months to avoid any headaches.

Originally Posted by Torq-D View Post
Hi @AtheK. 17.8 Kmpl !!
I literally had to zoom in the picture to believe. Simply astonishing figures. Is it because of Road mode or something else? I never got mileage more than 14.5 kmpl doing speeds around 80-100 kmph.

I even noticed the average speed you have maintained in that trip log around 93 kmph which means roads were quite nice. But still 17.8 kmpl.
This is something which has been a pleasant surprise for me from day one, the engine is just absolutely amazing. I am not one of those who rips the bike everytime I see open roads, so that helps as well. I have seen how mileage drops once you do that. I have been getting this mileage consistently from day one of ownership and lot of my friends do get surprised.

This trip I was mainly at dynamic pro, I switched to road mode in last part of the ride, but I hope I continue to get this average. For records Interceptor gives around 20-21 in city

Last edited by AtheK : 23rd January 2025 at 15:20.
AtheK is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2025, 17:13   #37

This is something which has been a pleasant surprise for me from day one, the engine is just absolutely amazing. I am not one of those who rips the bike every time I see open roads, so that helps as well. I have seen how mileage drops once you do that. I have been getting this mileage consistently from day one of ownership and lot of my friends do get surprised.

This trip I was mainly at dynamic pro, I switched to road mode in last part of the ride, but I hope I continue to get this average. For records Interceptor gives around 20-21 in city
That’s great news for me as well because I have had never expected same. At BIC even though I didn’t went WOT (being first track day), I got around 8 kmpl. My fellow rider friend who is riding in Red group gets around 5-6 kmpl.
I will try to keep my right wrist in check if I am lucky enough.

Last edited by Axe77 : 23rd January 2025 at 17:49. Reason: Typos
Old 24th January 2025, 18:05   #38

Congrats, what a fantastic bike, its a dream to own a bike like this someday ! You have summarised it perfectly, short answer is "no", when it comes to owning a liter class bike sports bike in India but deep down everyone wants to ride one. What a transformation you have done on the bike after buying, day and night difference. Again congrats and keep the pics coming. Ride safe !
Rahulkool is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th January 2025, 17:12   #39

As posted last time the bike tyres were smoked in my last ride and that demanded a change. I called up few of the regular places to source tyres and prices of tyres have really increased quite a bit. While I was checking on what to put a plan was formed to have a quick breakfast ride to cafe coffee day. I was initially not too keen but then one of our friends who is a photographer was joining in, and that means great photos, so I decided to have one last ride on the old tyres.

Since the distance is around 70 Kilometres up and down, I was sure tyre will hold up, so I quickly checked if it had lost any pressure after my last ride but they were holding well, so off we went on a Saturday. A friend recently picked up the limited edition 25th Anniversary Hayabusa and he joined as well, the bike does look striking in this colour. We got some good lighting and here are few clicks from the day.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-whatsapp-image-20250129-4.42.39-pm.jpeg

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-whatsapp-image-20250129-4.42.40-pm-1.jpeg

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-whatsapp-image-20250129-4.42.40-pm.jpeg

Posing on the Busa.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-whatsapp-image-20250129-4.42.40-pm-2.jpeg

Posing on the CBR

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-whatsapp-image-20250129-4.42.41-pm.jpeg

The lineup for the day!

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-whatsapp-image-20250129-4.42.40-pm-3.jpeg

It was a good ride, and we were back home soon, this is how the tyre looked when I returned and this meant only one thing, next ride had to be to get the tyre replaced.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-whatsapp-image-20250129-4.46.31-pm.jpeg

Got to know from Madhu Tyres that they had received a set of Pirelli Diabolo Rosso 3 a night before and they were good 12K Cheaper than Diabolo Rosso 4, so it was pretty much a non brainer as that extra 12K probably will get you a better time on track but on road and with our kind of riding It will serve well. The other two superbikes in the group both ZX10R and V4 have also been running the same tyre and they only had good things to say.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-whatsapp-image-20250129-4.46.33-pm.jpeg

Such was my anxiety to get the tyres replaced that I was the first person to reach Madhu's, and they were just opening to start cleaning the place, luckily they have a great customer lounge to sit and relax while they work on the bikes.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-whatsapp-image-20250129-4.48.24-pm-1.jpeg

The Front getting replaced.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-whatsapp-image-20250129-4.48.24-pm.jpeg

Balancing in Progress.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-whatsapp-image-20250129-4.46.33-pm-2.jpeg

The rear getting replaced.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-whatsapp-image-20250129-4.46.32-pm.jpeg

Finally, the change is done, and I think I am good for next 7000 Kms or so. The tyre was replaced at 6850 Kilometres, while the front still had tread and life left, owing to the age of the tyre I got them both replaced.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-whatsapp-image-20250129-4.46.32-pm-1.jpeg

Rode back home safe and sound, too early to comment on tyres as I have just ridden 30 Kilometres or so on them, so will take some time to give a better judgement. The bike was not washed after Saturday ride and with Sunday ride in the city, it just meant one thing, that the bike needed a good wash to bring it back to its glory shape.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-whatsapp-image-20250129-4.46.33-pm-1.jpeg

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-whatsapp-image-20250129-4.48.23-pm.jpeg

Originally Posted by Rahulkool View Post
Congrats, what a fantastic bike, What a transformation you have done on the bike after buying, day and night difference. Again congrats and keep the pics coming. Ride safe !
Thanks mate your bike also looks smashing and many congratulations on acquiring one of the best practical ADV bikes. I had the privilege of meeting your cousion (He did confirm Rahul name) so I am guess it was your cousin, if not then my apologies. We had some good conversation while the work on my bike bike continued and on his started.

Originally Posted by Torq-D View Post
That’s great news for me as well because I have had never expected same. At BIC even though I didn’t went WOT (being first track day), I got around 8 kmpl. My fellow rider friend who is riding in Red group gets around 5-6 kmpl.
I will try to keep my right wrist in check if I am lucky enough.
Ha Ha, but the fun of these bikes is definitely not to look at the mileage but what else you can do except looking at that. The city ride did take its toll and this is what it returned in city traffic, when return leg was heavy traffic.

Mark 13 - The Wolf - My BMW S1000RR Pro-whatsapp-image-20250129-4.57.48-pm.jpeg

I am going to sit tight for few months now and concentrate on riding the bike, next set of updates need to wait for few months at least which will most probably be some more carbon fibre parts!!

Until next time!
AtheK is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 30th January 2025, 11:20   #40

Awesome pictures @AtheK . Your suit really compliment the color of your ride. Yeah, you are right these bikes are not meant for mileage to be checked at all. But I must agree that S1KRR can be proved a good tourer given the mileage you are getting and the comfortable ergonomics as compared to other litre class bikes.
Old 31st January 2025, 10:48   #41

Thanks mate your bike also looks smashing and many congratulations on acquiring one of the best practical ADV bikes. I had the privilege of meeting your cousion (He did confirm Rahul name) so I am guess it was your cousin, if not then my apologies. We had some good conversation while the work on my bike bike continued and on his started.
Yes, he was talking to me on the phone. Discussing about his bike and type change he was getting done. He mentioned that there is a nice looking S1000RR is getting tyre change done too, he mentioned the color and sticker and i guessed it to be your bike
Rahulkool is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com