Old 17th October 2022, 19:20   #46

Re: The Black Ghost | My 2021 Ducati V4SP Review

Originally Posted by 100Kmphormore View Post
Thanks! As a “young boy” at 26 I love my freedom
Don't worry your time will come. Till then enjoy singlehood. Glad you resurrected this thread. I had a minor update on the V4SP. Can post it here.

In my quest to spruce up my bikes, I ordered a custom carbon fiber part for the V4SP. It is the tank cover and it is custom built with the lettering Panigale V4SP.

The Black Ghost | My 2021 Ducati V4SP Review-cf-.jpg

That's pretty much the only thing I did on the SP other than its usual first servicing. The rains in Delhi played havoc, and riding this bike means getting really dirty.

This is how dirty the bike gets in rain ride. Cleaning is such a pain

The Black Ghost | My 2021 Ducati V4SP Review-rain-ride.jpg
no_fear is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2022, 07:06   #47

Termilicious

I love aftermarket exhaust systems. A good aftermarket system does wonders for a motorbike, in terms of performance and heat management. With the weight reduction and increased HP, the bike is more fun to ride and you can really feel the power distribution, especially with BS6 emissions / noise regulations and the suppression of power.

On the other end of the spectrum, you can install the loudest exhaust, remove the DB killer, and instantly make yourself the most hated person in the neighborhood and a perennial target for cops, in your quest to look the coolest and get the attention of attractive ladies (always a pipe dream). I like to research exhaust systems and understand what it the best option for a bike. In case of the Ducati V4, there are 5 companies that make top notch exhausts. They are Akrapovic, Arrow, Mivv, SC Project and Termi. I was planning to install a full system for the V4SP. While the OEM exhausts are nice, they add a lot of weight to the bike and do not do justice to the V4 engine. The bike runs incredibly hot and a free flow exhaust system lowers the operating temperature and bumps up the HP several notches. So my quest for the right exhaust started by eliminating the current options.

I have the full system Akra installed on the V4S and I did not want to install the same product on the SP. Akra is discontinuing the current under fairing exhaust in favor of the new wheel barrow exhausts and significantly hiked prices. Arrow only makes half system and the product is fantastic, but not to my liking. That left Mivv, SC and Termi in the running. Having read up on all 3, I settled for the Termi. Ducati and Termignoni had a long standing historical relationship, which took a back seat in 2013 when Akra teamed up with Ducati for the 1199. I felt Termi is the right choice for the V4. Currently Termi offers several options and the most popular is the V4 Uscite exhaust. This has been installed in a few V4s in India. However my heart was set on the D20009400TTC system.

D20009400TTC Titanium Full System Reparto Corse WSBK Exhaust

Italians have a certain flair in naming things. It's either one word or a whole phrase. Termi is no exception. Each of their exhausts have long winded names. The D20009400TTC is more commonly known as the D200 WSBK, as it is a pure race exhaust and used by WSBK teams. The exhaust has a track approved 105 dB noise limit and is a potent addition to the bike. The header, link pipes and the mufflers are made of titanium, and the exhaust ends are fitted with gloss carbon fiber. The heat shields are also carbon fiber. It comes with the T800 upmap and the data cable. Since this is a race exhaust, there is no provision to install the license plate and the turn signals. To do that, I ordered a Rizoma Fox tail tidy which is specifically built for this Termi exhaust. The exhaust is hand crafted by 2 Temignoni technicians and each full system takes 4 months to complete. The product is in high demand and the wait time stretches to almost one year. Luckily, I had placed the order very early and received the exhaust in late October.

Installation of the exhaust meant taking off all the fairings, the header pipes, the O2 and lambda sensors and re-installing the new full system. It takes pretty much a full day to install this exhaust and then you plug in the upmap software and update the ECU. Having done all the hard work, I took the bike out for a ride and and thoroughly enjoyed the new addition. I believe as of now, my Ducati V4 is the only one in India installed with this particular exhaust system. A few pictures to show the work that was done, and the final product. I also installed Ducati Performance rear fender, alternator and swing arm covers. However due to the poor lighting conditions in my garage, they do not show up in the pictures properly.

The Termi logo appears blue as I did not remove the protective stickers on top of the logo.

The Black Ghost | My 2021 Ducati V4SP Review-img20221123wa0009.jpg

The Black Ghost | My 2021 Ducati V4SP Review-img20221123wa0008.jpg

The Black Ghost | My 2021 Ducati V4SP Review-img20221123wa0006.jpg

The Black Ghost | My 2021 Ducati V4SP Review-img20221123wa0003.jpg

The Black Ghost | My 2021 Ducati V4SP Review-img20221123wa0001.jpg

The three musketeers lined up - V4S, SP, R

The Black Ghost | My 2021 Ducati V4SP Review-img20221123wa0000.jpg

Last edited by no_fear : 23rd November 2022 at 07:30.
no_fear is offline   (33) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2022, 12:36   #48

Originally Posted by no_fear View Post
The Termi logo appears blue as I did not remove the protective stickers on top of the logo.
Absolutely termilicios and delicious no_fear! All your bikes are actually art pieces which wouldn’t look out of place in the living room

An Akrapovic full exhaust system for the Multistrada V4S is listed for ~INR 3.71 lacs plus taxes on the Ducati India site which claims to reduce weight by 5 kilos, +9 Hp and +6.9nm of torque. Curious to know the cost of the Termignoni full exhaust system on your V4SP if you don’t mind sharing.

Thank you.

Cyborg is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2022, 13:38   #49

Originally Posted by Cyborg View Post
Curious to know the cost of the Termignoni full exhaust system on your V4SP
The retail price is between USD / EUR 6,600 - 7,200. I got a discount and bought it overseas for EUR 6,000. With shipping costs + GST + customs duty (enriching the coffers of our government while draining mine), the total cost came to INR 8 lacs.

It is quite an exorbitant price, but it is value for money, if you compare the newest Akra wheelbarrow exhaust for the V4, an eye watering 9.6 lacs.

The termi exhaust weight 2.3 kg (OEM weighs 9.7kg), and bumps HP by 18. I need to run the SP on dyno to get a true reading.

The Multi V4S Akra price is quite digestible at 3.7 lacs. Why its 9.6 lacs for the V4 is beyond my comprehension.
no_fear is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2022, 14:02   #50

The Multi V4S Akra price is quite digestible at 3.7 lacs. Why its 9.6 lacs for the V4 is beyond my comprehension.
Probably it’s 9.6 lacs for your bike to keep it in proportion with the cost of your V4SP

The Akrapovic end can for the Multi costs INR 1.54 lacs plus taxes. Another question in simple terms from my side please (an elaborate answer would be more than welcome) - for example if the full system is a 10, what number would you give only the end can and similarly for the stock exhaust.

Would you classify only an end can as sound with no real gain except in weight.

Thanks again.

Last edited by Cyborg : 23rd November 2022 at 14:11.
Cyborg is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2022, 14:31   #51

Originally Posted by Cyborg View Post
Probably it’s 9.6 lacs for your bike to keep it in proportion with the cost of your V4SP what number would you give only the end can and similarly for the stock exhaust. Would you classify only an end can as sound with no real gain except in weight
@Cyborg - if you look at the new Multi V4S pricing, its 30 lacs ex showroom. Not too far from the V4S pricing. From that measure, 3.7 lacs is decent compared to 9.6 lacs.

The end can, honestly is not even worth Rs 1 lac. This is not just me, but the views of several owners, dealers and overseas distributors. The muffler is just a hollow tube and it does not require much engineering or rocket science. That's why end cans are easily replicated and sold as fakes in India.

For Akra - the max is 2 lacs for 2 mufflers and 8 lacs is for the pipes.

The header pipes are the most expensive as you need high quality steel or titanium to account for the engine heat and the compressed gasses. Also the header and link pipes are designed in a way that provides for back pressure to the engine. This needs good engineering and design as well as manufacturing.

Adding a slip on accounts for incremental HP and weight loss. But it does not help in true engine performance as you still have the cat con and the oem pipes.

OEM exhausts are valuable as some of them have the cat con built in.
no_fear is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 24th November 2022, 23:24   #52

Termilicious

D20009400TTC Titanium Full System Reparto Corse WSBK Exhaust
Wow!! That is one hot looking exhaust and bike.
Ever since I first saw this twin barrel exhaust design on Ducatis (I think 1199 Superleggera and Super sport came out with these first), I wanted to kiss the hands of the designer.

Absolutely smashing and super cool design for an exhaust system!!

Waiting to hear it in person now!!

Rachit
Rachit.K.Dogra is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st February 2023, 19:34   #53

The SP has been with me for 1 year and apart from the new exhaust, I haven't done much with it, other than some minor cosmetic stuff like a new windscreen.

I installed the WRS light smoked windscreen. I used Puig previously but prefer WRS due to the lighter weight and better aerodynamics. The fit and finish feels very premium. A better upgrade than the OEM screen which looks bulky and gets scratched very easily.

The Black Ghost | My 2021 Ducati V4SP Review-wrs.jpg

This Jan, Ducati Owners Club North India, Ducati Delhi and Ducati India organized a Sunday ride for Ducati owners.

My brother was in town, so the 2 of us rode on the V4S and SP, and met with the rest of the group at Gurgaon near the Ambience mall.

It was a full blown tamasha with over 200 bikers of all makes and models raising cacophony and comparing the bikes. The atmosphere was raucous but its nice to see a lot of bikes being ridden on a pleasant Sunday morning.

We were a group of 30 bikers, and went for a short ride from Gurgaon, along the Gurgaon Faridabad Road (GFR) and then onwards for breakfast at Malviya Nagar. It was a very pleasant and chill ride, with senior and mature riders.

Along with the DesertX, pretty much every Ducati model from 2014 - 2023 were present.

A few pictures attached of the ride event.

Morning line up

The Black Ghost | My 2021 Ducati V4SP Review-img20230211wa0082.jpg

The Black Ghost | My 2021 Ducati V4SP Review-img20230211wa0086.jpg

V4S and SP lined up

The Black Ghost | My 2021 Ducati V4SP Review-img20230211wa0092.jpg

A few front and side pics of the S and SP

The Black Ghost | My 2021 Ducati V4SP Review-img20230211wa0083.jpg

The Black Ghost | My 2021 Ducati V4SP Review-img20230211wa0062.jpg

The Black Ghost | My 2021 Ducati V4SP Review-img20230211wa0060.jpg

The Black Ghost | My 2021 Ducati V4SP Review-img20230211wa0054.jpg

The Black Ghost | My 2021 Ducati V4SP Review-v4s-carbon.jpg

Ending shot in front of the breakfast venue