Hello everyone, first of all thank you to the mods for accepting me into the forum, it was a 4 year struggle. Forgive me if there are any typos since this is my 1st write up on TeamBHP.

Yes back in 2009 i had an agv lid.
How it all began
I got my 2 wheeler license as soon as I was 18 and like any college going kid started pestering my parents for a bike. Coming from humble backgrounds they outright rejected the idea and also never allowed me to touch the Kinetic that we had at home (partially because I had crashed a friends luna onto it

), 90s kids days you can say.

When saddle bags werent a norm.
Finally I somehow managed to convince them and got a bike, the mighty Yamaha R15, mighty for those days when other options were Karizma or P220 both with Bikini fairings. Years passed I used to ride a lot, tour a lot, and it became everything to me from grocery runs to doing 900 kms in 12 hours to come home once a month. Lets talk about the r15 on another day.

At the Hosur McD
Why the ZX14r
During my r15 days I was in Chennai and was a frequent visitor to MMRT also known as the Irungatukotai Race track. It was here that I saw and rode some mean machines thanks to a cousin who was into Racing cars and bikes, also here got the taste of the GTR and the EVO x.
After completing my Engineering specialised in Automobiles, I landed up a job in a BPO courtesy my amazing grades. Somehow I did good and managed to save quite a lot in 3 years and since I never had a car I saved more travelling by bike. Come 2016 and the urge to finally get my own superbike which was always in the back of my head was hitting me daily. By now I had shifted to pune where everyday you will see quite a few big bikes no matter what. I started looking around showrooms, never wanted a Benelli or a Harley. I wanted a proper sports bike but there was one main criteria, I needed a comfortable pillion seat. Reluctantly went to triumph checked and rode the Daytona, they were welcoming and this guy Ganesh the SA many might know him here amazing chap helped a lot. Pillion comfort was not at all present, and even the seat position was too aggressive to take touring. Next went to Kawasaki where I tried the Z800 and Z1000 but I didn’t want a naked so out of the picture, went to the Suzuki showroom and saw the Busa, my was sold on it and since I had already ridden it i knew that this bike is meant to be taken cross country, like literally. Then a thought came as to if I am considering the Busa why not look at its arch rival. Went back to Kawasaki and they said no TD bike for the 14r anywhere in India, till date I doubt there has been a Test ride bike available for the big Z.
I had a friend who owned the 14 and I had ridden it about a year back and I knew how nimble it was. Spoke to my parents and got the go ahead. It was a very fast decision and I hadn’t actually looked at adventure tourers, I never thought much of them but now looks like I need a adv390 just for the heck of it. Anyways booked the bike sometime in mid January and was promised a bike by 1st week of February, remember the 14r is not at all a seller so they had one in stock in Chennai which was despatched since it was the same group operating Pune Bangalore Chennai Kawasaki showrooms back then (Khivraj). Also got news that the 2016 ohlins model is coming with Brembo brakes and better emission compliance but costed more than a Lakh. Gave it a miss and went ahead with the last bike in stock.
The SA Akash whom I now know very well was very informative and continuously gave me updates on the bikes location, February 7th I went to have the 1st look of the bike and I made it a point to check thoroughly. But I missed something here which even the Great service PDI team at Khivraj missed

(more on that later). Took delivery on the 15th.

Delivery Day
I had already purchased riding gear etc, and by evening the bike was home. Next day I decided to ride to Ahmednagar since I wanted to get familiar with the power of the bike, took it slow and went solo, on the way back a friend decided to accompany me as a pillion, he was comfortable and rest assured I was happy that my decision on the big Z was good. One gripe though was in traffic the pillions legs will get fried because of the the exhaust, shoes wont melt but they get terribly hot.

1k in 4 days
What Next
Since it’s a low selling big bike, aftermarket accessories weren’t available easily, so ordered frame sliders windscreen and spools for it and left for India Bike Week 2016.
1st heartbreak was when I completed the bike week ride and took a rest stop at my house Belgaum. While getting ready to leave back to Pune I was taking the bike out from the driveway, I put it on the side stand and unfortunately it slipped and fell, no frame sliders remember? I was even scared to lift it up thinking about the damages but then other than a scratched mirror and a scratched headlamp fairing there was nothing.

Cousins
2nd disappointment,I have said about the big goof up about the PDI by Khivraj so heres what happened, the Mumbai dealership was in troubled waters and had taken money from quite a few people and was not delivering bikes, one of these guys was a friend of mine from Chennai, he drove down to Mumbai and rode away with the display 14r from the showroom. The whole fiasco has been reported by many. So he came to meet me in Pune, by now I had secured myself a job with Ducati Pune. When he parked his bike along with mine I noticed a difference in the front tyre pattern. Upon closer inspection I found my tyre was mounted the wrong way around. And I had never even realized it. Called up the dealer and told them the issue. They offered a free rotation, which I said ok to upon one condition. Since the bike had done around 4k kms (half tyre life) in the wrong direction the rubber and inner steel wires will already be in tension by rotation on that particular direction I asked them to give a written letter on their letterhead that they are carrying out the said rotation and take guarantee that nothing will happen to the tyre, they outright denied it. I requested for a replacement tyre which they denied again. Approached higher ups and finally got the replacement done.

Have a close look at the tyres.
General Maintenance
The 1st service was the only service I did at after which I lost all faith in them due to the tyre issue.
Made friends with a Garage that does superbikes in Pune and got all services done from them under my watch. Later worked with them too which made life a lot more easier.

It costs around 7 to 9k depending on how they charge labour. To give a brief idea
Motul 300v 1100 per litre. We need 4.2 litres. = 5500
Oil Filter OEM costs around 600 and K&N comes to 1400
Airfilter I have installed a BMC lifetime filter which costed 8k and hence has to only be cleaned every service.
Chain Lube depends on what you use.
My 1st set of tyres wore out at 9k kms and since Bridgestone isn’t available I had to go for Metzeler. Since the bike rides on 190 section rear which again was difficult to find in 2016 went in for m5 instead of m7. The m5 lasted around 6k kms of extreme riding from pune to belgaum every week and then Bangalore. Infact I clocked around 500 kms around bangalore city in a week. Unfortunately a big nail punctured the rear and was unrepairable no matter how many plugs. Also I was worried of its reliability at high speeds hence decided to change the tyre at Joes along with the service.

Remember the r15 pic above? Same place different year.
The 3rd service at 15k kms was carried out at Joes Garage in Bangalore. That man knows bikes left right and center. He tuned the suspension replaced all fluids and also balanced the tyres all for a labour charge that’s less than 50% of what they charge in Pune. This time I got the M7rr which costed me almost the same as the m5 which again was a big surprise since the tyres were freshly baked and a month old.

Entering Tamil Nadu
Since October 2017 I have been settled in Belgaum with monthly runs to Pune and rides to Bangalore Chennai Pondicherry Goa etc. I’ve gotten so used to the bike that I do the oil changes on my own and clean the filters too myself.

The Bijapur Trip
On a recent trip to Bijapur I misjudged the life of the tyres and the rear tyred shredded off while returning back, there was no air loss but the strings came off and damaged the rear fender and number plate. I didn’t realize it until the damage was done because I was riding in rain and couldn’t feel anything. Reached home and was disheartened looking at it. Ordered replacement tyres went for Michelin Road 5 costed about 31k. These are the absolute best tyres that I have ever ridden on.

With the M4 exhaust I had for a while
The bike is a looker, she will make heads turn no matter what. Even on the stock silencer when it hardly makes any noise people turn around. Comparatively smaller than the big league adv tourers but it has a place of its own.

Do you get what i Mean?

Siblings yet so different.
Dhoom bike? Racing aah? Company Testing? these are the few questions I get when i am touring, more so in a village near pondicherry a huge mob gathered around me and a police patrol jeep in fact stopped and chased the people away thinking some fights on.While in the city the only questions i get is kitne ka hai and mileage kya hai.

Passing off time in Lockdown
Due to covid19 I got the opportunity to strip all the fairings off and clean up the radiator and the reservoir tank. Also learnt DIY’s on the zx forums about gutting the Catalytic converter which is housed the the mid pipe, did that too. All that remains is to ride it.
The headlights on the bike are amazing but since I do a lot of night rides I wanted brighter illumination. I ordered LED’s by Cyclops and installed them. Though they look bright there is no throw. Later read somewhere that LED bulbs do more bad than good when housed in projectors. Next ordered FE retrofit HID bulbs just one pair to try them out since they are expensive. The intensity and the throw is amazing. Will order another pair once the lockdown is over.
Right now the odo reads a shade over 28k which is not bad for a 4 year old bike. Looking forward to writing a few detailed travelogues as and when possible.

Ram Mount Charger and Handle Bar Risers Visible.
Whats on the Bike
1.Its got a puig screen installed in the 2nd month of ownership.
2. Puig r12 frame sliders and puig Spools.
3. Ram fork stem mount for phone
4. Rear tail tidy from Ali Express
5. Auto cut off Mobile Charger Plug and Play
6. Led Low Beam Cyclops
7. HID Fast Bright FE Retrofit
8. Two brothers Black Series Exhaust
9. 1 inch bar risers
10. Aftermarket tail light with integrated indicators, because of the tyre issue had to change.
Future upcoming Mods
1. Zero Gravity Touring Windscreen
2. Givi Top Box Mount with base Plate
3. Givi v47 Top Box
4. Givi Side case carriers te4106
5. Givi Side Cases ST609
All the above parts are in order and avaiting delivery. Will post pics when installed.
Smaller but significant things of the 14r
The bike is heavy does crazy power wheelies but never had a tank slapper. Everyone on international forums say that it isn’t necessary.
The bike accepts basically fuel from any place never knocked once or felt low on power.
Don’t ever try to lean then 14 too much else you will scrape the lower fairing before anything else. I know since I have replaced the lower right
I made the mistake of mounting saddle bags on it for the past 3 years and cracked my rear fairings, doesn’t bother me much but if you have a big bike don’t do it.
You are bound to do crazy speeds no matter what, i did it once and then once i got the feels and chills never again, now im more sedate and slow.
The 14r is forgiving but only to a limit so never put off traction control unless you are Ricky Gadson.
The 14r heats less than a d390 in city trust me. It wont fry your thighs but will fry your pillions feet.
You can use it for commuting to work and it wont skip a beat. 6th gear and 40kmph is easily doable.
The bike has a small panel in the front of the tank under which sits the air box. Whenever you remove the panel be careful to not break the plugs inside, also this panel has one bolt on each side which directly connects to the AIRBOX. Always keep an eye out on this since the bolts screw into well nuts made of rubber which are prone to breaking and falling in the airbox due to regular strain on it. Many engines have been lost due to this and Kawasaki has failed to acknowledge this design flaw or come out with a solution. Only option is to replace the well nuts every year.
The fuel filter can be replaced but is not available as a part in Kawasaki, you can procure it from outside, if anyone on the forum uses a 14r and requires one can PM me.
The bike doesn’t chew up brake pads but once in 10k I have changed mine gone with EBC sintered. Cost around 13k a set for all 3 pairs.
Due to the long rides I have installed a throttle cramp buster helps on highway runs.
The mirrors are foldable and very easily adjustable with a very good field of view.
The bike has a required tyre pressure of 42 both front and rear.
The 22 litre tank is good for 350kms with little to spare under highway conditions averaging around 90 kmph.
The fuel efficiency drops considerably when you wring open the throttle, the worst i have got is 9.2 and the best is 27.9
My advise to other superbike owners:
In the 4 years of riding this big bike along with many others I have learnt a few things,
1. Never give your bike to someone who isn’t used to big bikes.
2. Garages will fleece you, if you don’t mind getting your hands dirty try getting the required tools and do minor repairs on your own, nothing will go wrong and even if they do you have enough material on the internet to help you out.
3. Always maintain tyre pressure, these soft compound tyres will go bald in the middle or sides or form a plateau within a few hundred kms of riding on wrong pressures.
4. Get suspension tuned by someone who knows the work or do it yourself by learning online, suspension tuning is something that is very
essential for a big bike else riding it can be uncomfortable and a nightmare in corners.
5. Don’t hesitate to call up your service head for doubts instead of calling the RSA everytime.
6. If you aren’t riding for a long time try to drain the fuel and disconnect batteries and put the bike on front and rear paddock stands to prevent flat spots.
7. Replacement panels aren’t cheap, if you have cracked panels and don’t want to replace them Araldite helps a lot. I have cracked tail panels due to saddle bags and since the crac isn’t visible I used araldite to cover it up.
8. Keep a check on coolant levels, these big bikes heat up a lot and many a times spill out coolant due to overheating and you wont even know it.
9. Never put LED bulbs in Projector units, they are useless.
10. Always wear the right safety gear and a tight helmet with the dring tightened.
Some Pics for Viewing Pleasure, Good wallpapers too.
I am sorry if I have missed out on anything. Will add up points as and when I remember. This ownership review is the result of my forum request getting approved. Please point out any mistakes and ask me anything you want to know.
Next comes the Ownership review of my beloved 11 year old r15 which has clocked close to 1.5 lakh kms.