Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 10th November 2018, 10:07   #16

Re: EICMA 2018: Honda unveils the new CBR 650 'R'

Originally Posted by Nithesh_M View Post
- Y S Guleria, Senior Vice President, sales and marketing at Honda Motorcycle and Scooter India Pvt (HMSI).

We will introduce the CBR650R in India by the end of FY19.
https://www.financialexpress.com/ind...-hmsi/1376624/

A bump in the price is expected to an already overpriced motorcycle. I was planning to buy a CBR650F by mid 2019. This adds more confusion whether i will be able to manage that extra EMI.

New Fireblade inspired styling is something to die for. I loved the styling of new Ninja 650. I'm glad CBR650 got similar treatment. However there is one thing that has disappointed me, Still they offer the same single piece exhaust system. Adding a slipon wouldn't be easy, requiring cutting and welding stock pipe. I also hope they have managed to reduce the mid RPM range engine buzz that current CBR650F owners have reported.
Old 10th November 2018, 20:59   #17

Even at 8.0l ex showroom it will still remain the only fully faired inline 4 this side of 10 lakhs OTR.

Anyway I did some math yesterday and this is based solely on the US Powersports website pricing difference between the outgoing 2018 CB650F and the pricing of the 2019 CB650R.
2018: CB650F = $8249
2019: CB650R = $8899

That's a $650 premium between the old bike and the new bike which roughly translates to 47k INR in today's exchange rate. I will now have to wait and see the difference in Thai Baht where the bike is manufactured. Usually their pricing is directly proportional to HMSI's pricing when you use the conversion factors.

But yes, there's a good chance the 2019 CBR650F will retail between 7.8-8.0 lakhs ex showroom considering the extra goodies it has to offer and the fact that all automotive companies have hiked or are hiking the pricing across their range due to increased factory overheads.
Nithesh_M is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 11th November 2018, 08:26   #18

This is just great.

I know looks are subjective, but I feel among the Japanese faired rockets, the Honda bikes look the best. It is the combination of small things like the- gaps in the fairing which shows glimpses of the engine and the 4 pipes, the dual lamps, the clean tight narrow fairing and the great fuss free rear end.
The introduction of TFT console and the dual channel ABS is a welcome move.

I used to have the baby CBR250, for a bit and loved it. If I were in India, I would have surely plonked my dough on the new 650R. I just hope that they offer the matt black (which I drool for), the gloss full red and an other option. Also, the pricing has to be right, will have to wait and see I guess.

Cheerio!.
Old 11th November 2018, 21:19   #19

Originally Posted by Nithesh_M View Post
But yes, there's a good chance the 2019 CBR650F will retail between 7.8-8.0 lakhs ex showroom considering the extra goodies it has to offer and the fact that all automotive companies have hiked or are hiking the pricing across their range due to increased factory overheads.
Best of luck to Honda to compete with Kawasaki Z900 / Striple if they launch at this absurd pricing. Its still a 600cc class machine - at the price of a 800/900cc machine.
Old 12th November 2018, 12:42   #20

They aren't looking to sell more than 30 units a month. Much like they did with the cbr150r where they imported only 200 engines each month and only imported the same number next month if all 200 units of bike were sold out. I used to play detective at Zaubacorp on all imported motorbikes that's how i noticed the link between sales and imports.

Like the AT(50 units per year?) these big displacement bikes are imported in small numbers so there is hardly any inventory that goes unsold for over 2 months.

The old 650F had no problem managing 20-30 units a month even though it was billed as "overpriced". With the added features I doubt HMSI will have trouble managing the same target. The old 650Fs service bills make it the most inexpensive bike to own in the long term. My 8 year old 250R sometimes manages a bigger bill than what I've seen around here for the 650F. I remember reading that the front alloy wheel on the 650F costs about 11k while its Green rival charges 3 times as much for the same. People might think the big displacement bikes hovering right above its price range is VFM but when you compare the spares and service charges its night and day!
Nithesh_M is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 1st December 2018, 20:25   #21

As previously expected, the R model now costs about INR 36000 rupees more than the outgoing F model in Thailand. So expect the Indian bike to be sitting just shy of 8 lakhs ex showroom this March.

Deliveries have begun for the 650F in Thailand(where its manufactured).

attached price list of outgoing 2018 CBR650F and the new 2019 CBR650R in Thailand today: Pic source: BigWing Honda Phuket.
EICMA 2018: Honda unveils the new CBR 650 'R'-47028531_3666019276749981_4019739267616997376_o.jpg  

EICMA 2018: Honda unveils the new CBR 650 'R'-47106561_3667628356589073_7595359829992931328_n.jpg  

EICMA 2018: Honda unveils the new CBR 650 'R'-47105255_3666019296749979_7761947773020143616_o.jpg  

EICMA 2018: Honda unveils the new CBR 650 'R'-47173796_3666019340083308_4128082746826293248_o.jpg  

EICMA 2018: Honda unveils the new CBR 650 'R'-45267297_3626926340659275_708502353518526464_n.jpg  

EICMA 2018: Honda unveils the new CBR 650 'R'-47315371_3666386720046570_2832681281337163776_o.jpg  

Old 8th December 2018, 15:35   #22

Current 650F vs 2019 650R. The parts are interchangeable to some extent but the costs entailed for current owners would be better invested into trading current bike for new.

Old 11th December 2018, 15:08   #23

Looks so nice, a perfect upgrade from current bike. If only Honda can price it a little more sensibly, this bike can do some real good numbers for them in India.
Old 1st February 2019, 01:39   #24

The much awaited 'sound' of the CBR 650R -

CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2019, 13:49   #25

Hmmm, that inline 4 deserves a better sound.
Old 6th February 2019, 08:30   #26

Reviews start coming in now, after a media ride in Spain -

CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th February 2019, 13:03   #27

I had booked a CBR650F back in November, but a short while later the showroom told me that it had been discontinued in favour of the new CBR650R. Instead of waiting for a new bike whose specs hadn't been announced yet, I cancelled the booking and went for a Z900, which was delivered within a couple of weeks of booking. Looking at the price now, in spite of the added features I'm glad I chose the Z900 in the end.

I had initially chosen the 650F because it was slightly cheaper and I thought the power jump from a Duke 390 to a Z900 would be too high for me. But with the linear power delivery of the Z900, that wasn't an issue and I was at home with the Z900 within a couple of weeks. I'm more of a bare-bones kind of person, so while the CBR650R has a nice LCD display and traction control, I'm happier with the added performance of the Z900 (and at least in my area, the better service and parts availability).
The_Mad_Hatter is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th February 2019, 14:22   #28

Now bookings open. To be priced under 8 lakhs -

Revealed at 2018 EICMA , NEW Honda CBR650R arrives in India – Bookings open!

New Delhi, February 20, 2019
  • Born for the Rush: High revving four-cylinder engine at heart for powerful performance
  • Total control: Synergy of racing pedigree with mindful pragmatism of a road bike
  • Adding the extra ‘R’ to CBR: Echoes of hard-edged Fireblade styling with an attitude of its own
  • Leads the way: Full LED lighting outlining aggressive angles
  • Bookings open at Honda ‘Wing World’ dealerships across 22 cities @ Rs. 15,000
  • With Make-in-India advantage, CBR650R will be attractively priced under Rs. 8 lacs

New Delhi, February 20, 2019: The wait is over for enthusiasts chasing the rush of racetracks! Honda Motorcycle & Scooter India Pvt. Ltd. today announced bookings open for its new model CBR650R in the sports middleweight segment.

Revealed at the 2018 EICMA Show in Milan, the CBR650R replaces CBR650F under Honda’s sports middleweight line up. Drawn directly from Fireblade Super Sports style – and adding something extra all its own – the 2019 CBR650R indicates a potent shot of sporty ability designed to be explored, used and enjoyed on the street.

Speaking on how CBR650R will expand fun biking to next level in India, Mr. Yadvinder Singh Guleria, Senior Vice President - Sales and Marketing, Honda Motorcycle and Scooter India Pvt. Ltd said, “Less than 2 weeks after the national launch of CB300R, Honda is proud to unleash its second global blockbuster in the middle-weight segment under the Silver Wing-mark umbrella. After the 2019 global fun model line-up unveil in EICMA, Honda has now opened bookings for its new middle-weight sports machine CBR650R in India too. With an aggressive Fireblade inspired bodywork, strong dose of CBR sporting intent & intense power, Honda’s Make-in-India CBR650R will entice fun bikers of India like never before!

CBR650R – The beast on track!

Unleash Your Racing Spirit: The new CBR650R comes equipped with a powerful 649cc liquid cooled four-cylinder, DOHC 16-valve engine, for an enriched high tuned performance

Total Control: From rapid downshifting to smoothly controlled corner entry, the Assist/Slipper Clutch allows you to confidently experience the thrills of the CBR650R while Honda Selectable Torque Control (HSTC) maintains rear wheel traction and can be switched off should the rider choose to.

Sharper Chassis: As a high-revving sports machine lives in the turns, the CBR650R’s chassis is 6kg lighter than its predecessor for faster side-to-side steering agility. The new, adjustable 41 mm Showa Separate Fork Function (SFF) USD forks offer superior suspension response.

Enhanced Braking: Always Ready to race, the CBR650R also allows easy pauses with enhanced braking. The dual radial-mount calipers match a single-piston rear caliper for improved balance. The dual channel ABS maintains smooth control in wet or dry conditions

Roaring Wild: The 4 exhaust downpipes sweep together around the front of the engine, and the specially designed muffler delivers an electrifying roar, giving the rider a unique symphony flagging off every ride!

Fireblade DNA Bleeding Passion: Taking cues directly from the Fireblade, CBR650R features new styling with its sharp, aggressive lines and extended side fairings plus super-short rear section. Modern full LED lighting with a narrow dual headlamp akin to the Fireblade and a digital LCD display enhance its bold looks. The view forward is pure sports; the handlebars clip-on below the top yoke and the instruments feature a Gear Position and Shift Up indicator.

The CBR650R will be available in 2 vibrant colours - Grand Prix Red & Gunpowder Black Metallic. Bookings are now open from Honda exclusive Wing World outlets across India at just Rs. 15,000 (refer Annexure).

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 20th February 2019 at 14:30.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 20th February 2019, 19:30   #29

It is good to know that Honda, like Kawasaki, is bringing its latest models to India. Hope that CBR 400R 2019 version makes its entry soon.
Old 20th February 2019, 19:40   #30

Interesting to note that the press release says the Showa SFF USDs are adjustable. Some American magazines also said they were adjustable at the Spanish test rides but majority of other riders said its non adjustable and it doesn't mention the preload adjustment on any international website.